Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Nicor Solutions

Phone: (888) 636-1789 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 3042, Naperville, IL 60566 http://www.nicorsolutions.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Nicor Solutions provides monthly energy budgets to residential and commercial customers. Located in Naperville, IL, this company serves all of northern Illinois and is backed by SouthStar Energy.  SouthStar Energy Services has provided economical and reliable natural gas service to consumers for more than 15 years, offering customers transportation and supply services, a variety of pricing and contract options, asset management services, risk management and financial services, and a number of value-added offerings.  Nicor Solutions is a sister company to the home warranty company Nicor Home Solutions, and customers of Nicor Solutions are eligible for discounts and other benefits through Nicor Home Solutions.

Nicor Solutions helps residential and small business customers budget their energy costs. We do this by offering a billing option that makes monthly energy costs more predictable and unexpectedly high bills a thing of the past for customers who receive their service from Nicor Gas.  In addition to their fixed rate plans, they are partnered with Nicor Advanced Energy, which has adjustable plans.  Nicor Solutions and its sister companies mentioned are not the same company as Nicor Gas. They are affiliates and their prices are not regulated by the Illinois Commerce Commission. Customers are not required to buy products or services from Nicor Solutions or its sister companies in order to receive the same quality of service from their utility.

Visit the website for Nicor Solutions to learn more about their fixed rate plans, view their list of affiliated companies and partnerships, and arrange for a fixed rate monthly energy bill.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nicor Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nicor Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Nicor Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 07/12/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary Blank, Product Operations Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Blank, Product Operations Mgr.
Related Businesses
Nicor Advanced Energy
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies Natural Gas Distribution (NAICS: 221210)

Additional Information

Nicor Solutions is not the same company as Nicor Gas. It is an affiliate and its prices are not regulated by the Illinois Commerce Commission. Customers are not required to buy products or services from Nicor Solutions in order to receive the same level of service from Nicor Gas.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Nicor Solutions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 3042

    Naperville, IL 60566

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has misleading advertising practices. I received an card in the mail indicating I should go to their website to find out more information about their budget billing. They requested information to determine my monthly rate, but it actually signed me up for their services without telling me the monthly rate until after the fact. This is deceptive. I've now been charged a $50 fee to cancel my services once I realized that this was not the budget payment through Nicor directly. To date they have over charged me nearly $200 versus what I would have paid Nicor directly. The use of Nicor in their name is misleading and deceptive. It is meant to help them perpetrate fraud against consumers. They fraudulently advertise an online inquiry process that is actually a registration for their program.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my over payment and cancellation fee refunded. I would like the company to be held accountable for their fraudulent and deceptive advertising and business practices.

Business Response: Nicor Solutions made several attempts to reach this customer with little success.  A letter has been sent requesting the customer respond no later than August 16, 2016 or the complaint will be closed. 

7/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business entered into a solutions contract. In October 2015 they demanded a payment of $213.59 to be made to them through NICOR. I made this payment the day before the demanded date. The company has responded in the following way: 1. Company never credited the $213.59 2. Company demanded more money 3. Company terminated the contract on which Iproperly paid 4. Company put me into collections with a collection agency 5. Company's demand exceeds the amount it paid to the gas bill (which is what the agreement was to handle).

Desired Settlement: Since the company never credited the $213.59 paid in exact precise compliance with its demand, I demand the credit. I also demand that the company remediate the issue. since Company breached its agreement, I consider the agreement void ab initio and repudiated by company. I demand that the collection agency be dismissed and the amount credited out.

Business Response:

The customer's first bill for the Fixed Bill Plan was dated 8-7-15.  No payment was received until after the 10-6-15 bill.  The October payment of $213.59 referenced in the complaint was processed 10-15-15 with $184.61 going to the utility for the customer's outstanding balance that was transferred to the customer's current account, leaving $28.98 to be applied to the customer's Nicor Solutions balance of $322.59.  No additional payments have been received from the customer.

Responses for items listed in complaint:
1.  The October payment of $213.59 referenced in the complaint was processed 10-15-15 with $184.61 going to the utility for the customer's outstanding balance that was transferred to the customer's current account, leaving $28.98 to be applied to the customer's Nicor Solutions balance of $322.59.
2.  The customer's balance exceeded the amount paid by $351.53.
3.  The customer's contract was terminated due to non-payment per the terms and conditions of the contract.
4.  Customer's outstanding balance is subject to normal collection activity.
5.  The customer's contract was for $105.94 per month for the 12 months of the contract.  Customer was billed for 3 months before the contract was canceled due to non-payment.

A Nicor Solutions representative spoke with Mr. ******* and attempted to explain that the referenced payment was applied to his past due Nicor Gas balance which left a small portion of the payment amount to apply to his Nicor Solutions past due balance.  It appears that Mr. ********* past due Nicor Gas balance was due to amounts he owed for other Nicor Gas accounts/addresses that the utility has transferred to his current account.  Mr. ******* refused to accept the explanation, advised he was going to file a law suit against both Nicor Gas and Nicor Solutions and disconnected the call.

Nicor Solutions is closing this complaint because the customer refuses to accept the explanation and to discuss the issue further.  Mr. ********* account is subject to Nicor Solutions normal collection and write-off activity.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1. The business is engaging in a fraud, and incollusion with NICOR.  It sent out a writing promising X, and NICOR GAS - a tightly affiliated sister company - converted payments for its own benefit.

2. The business' response was on the order of: "We won't do anything for you at all.  Tough luck.  Pay us our windfall or our bill collectors will wreck your credit."  this is not working with a dissatisfied consumer, who followed the written PROMISE of the business and was flouted.  It does not matter if NICOR Gas had a bill on ANOTHER ACCOUNT for which it seized the money.  No notice was given because NICOR Solutions and NICOR Gas colluded to gather a windfall by creating an illusory breach of agreement, allowing Solutions to seize extra money.

3. I demand BBB Arbitration.  This issue is one where the fraud can be proved.

4. If the business wishes to discuss an alternative solution to BBB Arbitration, I am all ears.  However, it is non-productive to simply say, "Tough luck - we got you" - and that is to what the company's response boils down.

 

***I DEMAND BBB ARBITRATION***

 

Sincerely,

**** *******

2/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I never signed up for Nicor Home solutions (I have had Nicor gas since 9/2010). When I spoke to a rep on 1/13/16 she said they do not keep signatures on file for more than 3 years. I explained I am renting my home and would not take out this kind of service, since internal repairs (eg: broken gas pipe) would be my landlords responsibility. I was told they would cancel the service. I then received a bill for $48.57. I spoke with ********* on 2/18/16 and he was very rude, he told me it was not his fault I "do not know how to read my gas bill" and laughed at me., He was not willing to work with me to resolve the issue. I asked that he refund or at least take the $48.57 from my bill and he stated he would not do that. I am a disabled senior, living on a fixed income, and feel that I was some how scammed into adding this to my bill. I do not understand all the charges on my gas bill, I just discovered this when I applied for energy assistance. I keep all my bills and told him that I have proof of how much we have been charged over the years. His amount was much lower than the paper bills we show. I would like this reported because I feel there are many other people out there who have this added to their bill, without even knowing that it was done. This rep did not seem to care that I did not know how this was added to my gas bill. I felt I had no choice but to tell ********* that I would go to the media and attorney to help me with this situation, he (again) laughed and said well do that then. I also feel that using the name Nicor is deceiving because it looks as if it is part of Nicor Gas bill. Which in fact it is just an affiliate which is not regulated . I was told they are not regulated by the Nicor Gas representative, *****.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least the $48.57 taken off my bill, the money returned to me, and all the money I have paid over the last 5+ years refunded to me.

Business Response: This is not a Nicor Solutions issue.  This appears to be a complaint for Nicor HOME Solution.  This individual has never had a contract with Nicor Solutions.  Please remove this from Nicor Solutions records and reassign it to Nicor HOME Solutions, also know as Nicor Services.

2/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from Nicor Solutions, which unbeknownst to me is not the same as Nicor *** (despite having the exact same company logo on the literature), which gave information about a fixed monthly price for ***. I have been on plans such as this in the past, not through a *** company, where I pay a fixed amount over a period of time and after that period of time there is a 'true-up' where I would either pay the difference of a shortage or receive a bill credit for over payment. It has been 1 year (or almost) that I signed up for this 'service' and have paid $1,332 ($111 per month), while my bills have been $757.11 over the same period. I have been watching my bills to make sure I was not 'upside down' and now that I am at the 12 month mark, I called Nicor (***) and was told that I had an agreement with Nicor Solutions and that there was no overpayment on my account (with Nicor ***). I was connected to Nicor Solutions and told that basically my overpayments are not recoverable and that I should have read the online T's&C's. I was also told that the companies are clearly different and was told that is states that online - I have yet to see where Nicor Solutions clearly says it is not Nicor *** on it's website - I do see the same two tone leaf logo proudly displayed exactly where the Nicor *** logo is displayed on their page. I feel that I have been seriously misled - the same company name (Nicor), same logo and come to find out, they are owned by the same company (AGL Resources) - this is all very deceptive in my opinion. I would like to have the difference in what I paid vs. what I used ($574.89) credited to my account - given that they are owned by the same parent company I see this as a very fair an equitable resolution.

Desired Settlement: I am simply asking for what is right. I would like to have the difference in what I paid (12x$111 = $1,332) vs. what I used ($757.11 over 12 months) credited ($574.89) to my account. I will still be a Nicor *** company (there is no choice as far as I know) so having a refund in the form of a check is not necessary - a bill credit would suffice.

Business Response: Findings: 

Customer states that he could not locate on the website where it says that Nicor Solutions is not the

same company as Nicor ***. This is displayed at the bottom of the Nicor Solutions home page and

states: Nicor Solutions, L.L.C. All rights reserved. Nicor Solutions is not the same company as Nicor

***. It is an affiliate and its prices are not regulated by the Illinois Commerce Commission.

Customers are not required to buy products or services from Nicor Solutions in order to receive the

same quality of service from their utility. Call us at 1-************.

The Letter of Agency agreement that the customer needed to click that they agreed on states: You

understand that your Fixed Bill amount may be higher or lower compared to what you might have

paid on traditional utility service during the same time period.

Also, question 14 in the FAQ section on the website asks: How is the Nicor Solutions Fixed Bill

program different from the Nicor *** Budget plan? And the answer provided is: With the Nicor ***

Budget plan, your *** bill is adjusted periodically based on changes in *** prices and weather

conditions, which can vary dramatically. You may also be subject to a year-end true-up. Our

programs have no periodic adjustments or true-up at the end of the 12-month term, regardless of

changes in *** prices or the weather. You may or may not save money compared to traditional utility

service.

Question 15 asks: Won't my Nicor Solutions Fixed Bill amount increase if the weather is extremely

cold or *** prices escalate? And the answer provided is: No matter how cold it gets or how high

*** prices may climb, your Nicor Solutions Fixed Bill amount is guaranteed not to change for 12

months. The same is true if the weather is warmer or *** prices decrease; your Nicor Solutions

Fixed Bill amount remains the same.

The Marketing piece that Mr. ******** responded to states "Nicor Solutions is not the same

company as Nicor ***. It is an affiliate, and its prices are not regulated by the Illinois Commerce

Commission. Customers are not required to buy products or services from Nicor Solutions in order

to receive the same quality of service from Nicor ***."

The Welcome Letter Mr. ******** received shortly after he initiated the enrollment states "Nicor

Solutions and Nicor Home Solutions are not the same company as Nicor ***. They are affiliates

and their prices are

not regulated by the Illinois Commerce Commission. Customers are not required to buy products or

services from Nicor Solutions or Nicor Home Solutions in order to receive the same quality of

service from their Utility."  

Action: 

A Nicor Solutions representative spoke with Mr. ******** and explained that his enrollment had

occurred online and that the website would not process an enrollment unless the customer

acknowledges the letter of agency and the terms and conditions. In order to resolve this issue, a

goodwill credit will be applied to Mr. ********'s account. Both Mr. ******** and Nicor

Solutions agree that this issue is resolved.

 

 

 

 

11/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nicor home solutions advertised an insurance, that cost 9.95 per month for problems with outside sewer pipes. When a problem occurred October 2015, I contacted them and they sent out a plumber to inspect the pipe, and within 10 minutes of him leaving they called to say the problem was not covered. The sewer pipe collapsed due to wear and tear, but they refused to cover the repair, which the plumber they sent conveniently gave me a quote for repair if he did the job. Nioor home solutions is a rip off and people should be aware of their false advertisement. No matter who I spoke to, they would not repair the line and I had to pay for it myself. I have read some of the complaints on line from people regarding this company, and they are still in business. AGL resources which they are affiliated with should look into this problem.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No settlement requested - for I have spoken to Jennifer from the company and a partial refund will be given

Business Response:

This is not a Nicor Solutions' customer or issue.  This complaint should be filed with Nicor HOME Solutions, also known as Nicor Services.

 

Please remove it from Nicor Solutions and submit it to Nicor Home Solutions/Nicor Services.

11/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nicor Solutions (NS) charged me $50 because Nicor Gas (NG) cancelled my service for which I was under the impression my service was being transferred. Not only am I getting charged a bogus charge, but NS will not balance my billing to what my actual usage was. I looked at NG billing, and my bill should have been $27/mo. not $62/o that NS was charging me.

Desired Settlement: $50 plus a years worth of over charge.

Business Response: A Nicor Solution's representative spoke with Mr. ****** and explained that Nicor Solution's
contracts do not automatically move to a customer's new premise. Mr. ****** stated that he did not wish to enroll at this time. Nicor Solutions agreed to waive the early contract termination fee. Both Nicor Solutions and Mr. ****** agree that this issue is resolved.

11/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nicor Solutions contacted me with information regarding a regular budget billing plan method to decrease my monthly gas bill. I was led to believe that I was enrolling into the Nicor Gas budget billing plan. I moved recently and transferred service and Nicor Solutions accessed a $50 cancellation fee. I disputed the charge and have consulted with the customer service representatives who could not clearly articulate my bill from both companies. I was deceived into enrolling into a program and now I am paying for it, literally.

Desired Settlement: $50 cancellation fee refund/credit.

Business Response: A Nicor Solutions Representative spoke with Ms. ****** and explained her enrollment with Nicor
Solutions. Ms. ****** stated that she was attempting to transfer service and did not understand why her Nicor Solutions contract was not transferred by Nicor Gas. It was explained that Nicor Solutions' contracts do not transfer when moving to a new premise. Nicor Solutions agreed to waive half of the early termination fee. Both Ms. ****** and Nicor Solutions agree that this issue is resolved.

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I thought I signed up with NICOR GAS for a budget program/ fixed bill plan. I was only on the plan for 3-4 months then I moved residences. Because I was not with NICOR SOLUTIONS for the designated 12 months - I will not receive a refund for any overpayments I have paid due to the fix bill program. I feel that the co is misleading using the same logo & having NICOR in it's name. I did not realize it was a totally different co. I would like a refund of any overpayments that would of incurred over the past 3-4 months. I am positive that I did not use enough gas to equal a payment of 75.80 in the summer.

Desired Settlement: I paid 75.80 per month for natural gas x 3 to 4 months. I am asking whatever my ACTUAL usage is to be subtracted off of the 75.80 & refunded the difference. I would assume based on my bills that it would be at least 100.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/27) */ The customer had also filed a complaint with the ICC and her issue was resolved as a result of that filing. It was explained to her that she had enrolled on the Nicor Solutions website and it does display wording indicating that Nicor Solutions and Nicor Gas are separate companies and that by enrolling with Nicor Solutions, the utility budget plan would be canceled. The contract terms and conditions are also available on the website that also cover these points as well as that there are no credits, or debits, incurred on the plan. These terms and conditions were also mailed to the customer along with her Welcome Letter shortly after her enrollment. A goodwill credit was issued to her account and the early contract termination fee was also credited. The customer stated at that time that this issue was resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2015/08/28) */ I did not say I was unhappy with the resolution. I was actually happy with the outcome the company credited me money. ********

8/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I don't know what this company is. I have never ordered anything from them. I only received a collection not ice for $334.32. Account Number on the notice XXXXXXX. They stated no payment since Aug 2014. I haven't made payments as I was not aware of this.

Desired Settlement: Take off this collection notice as I didn't contact them for anything.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/30) */ This is not a Nicor Solutions customer. We do not even service ***** I suspect it is for Nicor Home Solutions, also know as Nicor Services or Pivotal Home Solutions. Please remove this from Nicor Solutions' record. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please remove me from Nicor Solutions record .I'll accept if removed from record. I want notification of this ***** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/08/10) */ Nicor Home Solutions has contacted Ms. ****** in regards to her complaint. It was explained to Ms. ****** that we researched the account and found that her son-in-law, ****** ****** enrolled the coverage in her name. The coverage has been cancelled and a credit of $449.95 will be issued to the account to cancel the balance. Nicor Home Solutions and Ms. ****** consider this complaint resolved.

7/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nicor Gas account: XX-XX-XX-XXXX X Service address: ************************************** Date home was sold: May 4, 2015 Date bill was issued by Nicor: May 27, 2015 Bill Charged: $21.31 for usage of natural gas from 04/14/15 to 05/12/15, PLUS the Fixed Rate of $85.81 as of 05/07/15. Date Nicor billing supervisor was contacted on the double billing: June 2, 2015 Nicor billing supervisor: *********************

Desired Settlement: Nicor Gas should refund the Fixed Rate charge of $85.81 since the house was sold on 05/04/15.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/08) */ Thank you for calling Nicor Gas about your billing concerns. If you have any questions about the fixed billing charges please contact Nicor Solutions at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you for allowing Nicor Gas the opportunity to address your concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I received the bill from Nicor Gas. If I had refused to pay the fraudulent bill, it would be Nicor Gas that would tarnish my credit record, have their collection agency hound me day and night, and charge additional fees and interest. Nicor Gas is responsible for explaining the charges on the bills that it sends out. It is Nicor Gas that has double charged me. It is the responsibility of Nicor Gas to refund the fixed billing amount since it was charged in addition to the usage amount. Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2015/07/27) */ Findings: Nicor Solutions received first notification of this complaint from the BBB on 7-22-15. Complaint is dated 6-2-15 but had been sent to Nicor Gas several times before finally being sent to Nicor Solutions. Action: A Nicor Solutions representative spoke with the customer and agreed that the last bill the customer received should not have had a Nicor Solutions charge on it. Nicor Gas did not send a contract deactivation notification to Nicor Solutions prior to the final bill and therefore Nicor Solutions was not aware that the customer's Fixed Bill contract was not in effect. A credit of $85.81 was posted to the customer's account. Both Nicor Solutions and the customer agree that this issue is resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 20, 2015/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set up a monthly payment plan with ***** *** for budget reasons. I did not know that Nicor Solutions is not the same company. Did not know contract. I have been paying my monthly bill (not budgeted) to nicor gas each month. I NEVER received a bill from Nicor solutions. I suddenly receive a Final notice prior to cancellation letter from Nicor SOLUTIONS. I verified through my bank that all payments to ***** *** have been paid and processed. I verified this on the ***** *** account website and called ***** *** to verify. I was current in all my bills. The ***** *** CS told me that Nicor SOLUTIONS was a separate entity and he did not know their payment system. I told him that I signed up for ***** *** payments. He said it was not the same. He gave me the number for Nicor SOLUTIONS and I called. I explained the situation and the CS rep explained that if I paid the bill to ***** *** - they might not have processed the payment to Nicor SOLUTIONS. I explained that I did not know, was never told and did not want to be dealing with 2 companies to pay my gas bill. I told the CS that I wanted to cancel and she tells me that their is a $50 cancellation fee! I told her that I was not going to pay that! I never was told any of this when I signed up for the payment option when I had assumed all along that I was dealing with only ***** ***. I also told the CS Rep that something is wrong when ***** *** tells me that I am current with my bill and Nicor SOLUTIONS says that I am $250 behind and am threatened with cancellation! If they can't get their act together, that should not be my issue! I refuse to pay the $50 fee! I do not want any of this to affect my credit score and ranking!

Desired Settlement: I want the contract with Nicor SOLUTIONS terminated immediately and refuse to pay a $50 early termination fee. I want verification that none of this will affect my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/05) */ A Nicor Solutions representative spoke with Mr. ***** who expressed confusion as to how the Nicor Solutions Fixed Bill program billed. It was explained to him that the Fixed Bill program bills on the ***** *** bill and that the reason ***** *** had informed him that he had a zero balance with them was because Nicor Solutions pays the ***** *** charges on behalf of Fixed Bill customers. Mr. ***** stated that he has been paying his bill online every month and does not understand how he can have a past due balance with Nicor Solutions. His account was reviewed and it was discovered that his payments had been going to a different account and ***** *** has now transferred the money to Mr. *****'s current account. Nicor Solutions agreed to waive the contract's early termination fee. Both Mr. ***** and Nicor Solutions agree that this issue is resolved.

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up in February 2014 for Nicor Solutions "Fixed Bill Program" to which I was to pay $137.84 per month for 12 months. Over the last 11 months my actual gas bills have been $131.82, $91.35, 29.17, 40.04, 27.39, 41.81, 46.18, 109.14, 149.69, 176.76 and 100.86 respectively. With paying $137.84 each month I now have a credit balance of $572.03 of which they tell me they are keeping. Plus I have one more month of the $137.84 to remit, which will leave me with even a higher credit balance. Nowhere in their "terms and conditions" does it tell you these facts. They explain on the phone that if the natural gas charges would have been more they wouldn't charge the extra. This is neither explained either under the "terms and conditions" but after all, they are the ones determining this monthly rate. They are not going to short themselves now are they? I expected to remit any shortfall after 12 months or receive a credit balance to work off of if that ended up the scenario. How can a company keep our extra money? My customer ID with Nicor Solutions is ****** and my account number with Nicor Gas is XX-XX-XX-XXXX X

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $572.03 extra paid to date plus any additional credit on next billing statement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/25) */ A Nicor Solutions representative spoke with Ms. ***** who stated that she thought she enrolled on the Budget Plan with Nicor Gas. It was explained that during the enrollment it is stated that Nicor Solutions is not Nicor Gas but an affiliate. To resolve this complaint a goodwill credit will be applied to Ms. ***** account. Both Nicor Solutions and Ms. ***** agree that this issue is resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am responding "no" at this time to the accepting the response from the business due to not having proof they are going to make good on issuing a credit or refunding by a check. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/04/21) */ Customer was issued a goodwill credit, per the previous agreement. The check was issued 4-8-15 and mailed to the customer. The customer has a zero balance with NAE and this case is considered closed.

12/9/2014 Delivery Issues
10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nicor Gas Acct XX-XX-XX-XXXX X Meter Nbr XXXXXXX Complaint against NIcor Solutions' Fixed Bill Program. For almost two years now my husband and I belonged to the above program in which we were paying $166 for natural gas service. We thought that the budgeting tool, as NIcor Home Solutions calls it, was a plan which would budget our gas usage so that we could know how much to have available in our bank accounts to pay for this bill. My husband has recently passed away, and my daughter, ****** ***** has been helping me to put all of our affairs in order. During a conversation with a CSR named ****** we discovered that the phrase "budgeting tool" does not mean "budgeting plan." This play on semantics has caused me to lose approximately $1692.00 for services that we/I did not use. After checking the billing history for the last year, my total usage cost via Nicor Gas (not the same entity as Nicor Home Solutions), that total is $1422.50. If we/I had been on a budget plan, my monthly costs would have only been 118.54. I have been charged a monthly bill from Nicor Home Solutions for 166/mo. The difference between $166 and $119 is $47. Multiply the $47 by 12, the total overcharge for a single year is $564. Multiply the $564 by 3 for the years in the program, the grand total is $1692.00. I am senior citizen and on a fixed income. Having $47/mo is a big deal! Nicor Home Solutions very coyly has mispresented a program that should budget my actual costs with a program that only benefits them. How the monthly charge of $166 is unknown.

Desired Settlement: I am expecting to receive a monetary reimbursement from Nicor Home Solutions. I have cancelled the program, and will now be setting up an actual budgeting plan with Nicor Gas.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/26) */ This complaint is for Nicor Solutions not Nicor Home Solutions. Please reassign to Nicor Solutions. Final Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/07) */ A Nicor Advanced Energy representative spoke with the customer's daughter and explained that her parents had enrolled multiple time over the past several years and there were sufficient notes on the account to indicate that they knew they were enrolled. A goodwill credit was offered to resolve this issue which was accepted. Both the customer and Nicor Advanced Energy consider this issue resolved.

5/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mom, ******* *********, passed away unexpectedly on March 5, 2013. I am the executor of her estate. I first learned that my mom had apparently been a Nicor Solutions ("NS") flat rate natural gas customer in early December when NS mailed an annual renewal letter. I immediately contacted Nicor Solutions to cancel and requested the account be terminated effective the date of her death. I promptly faxed NS a copy of the death certificate. Apparently that was insufficient by NS never told me until I called back in February to ask why billing was continuing. I learned then that NS also was requiring proof that I am the executor. NS acknowledges that everything NS has requested has now been provided. I have done everything I can to notify NS of my mom's death as soon as I discovered their existence. My mom's house has been vacant since March 2013. I turned the thermostat to 50 and the water heater to "vacation." Only a few therms of natural gas were used all summer and fall. Nicor Solutions acknowledges that they have billed and been paid $1293.73 since April 2013 for gas usage that only amounted to $672.86 had it been billed by Nicor, leaving a difference of $620.87. Nicor Solutions lost its customer in March 2013 and at that point they no longer had a customer to bill. The automatic withdraws continued out of my mom's bank account because I did not know about NS's existence until December when I contact them. NS took on some risk when they apparently entered into an agreement for fixed rate billing with my mom some years ago. Unfortunately for them, they lost their customer. I lost my mom. I am asking NS to refund $1293.73 that they deducted from her bank account after March 2013.

Desired Settlement: I offered to compromise by asking Nicor Solutions to only refund the difference between the actual gas usage and the amount that was paid. According to my calculations that amount is $620.87. NS countered with an insulting "good will" offer of $50. That is unacceptable. I have now lost hours away from work on the phone rehashing the situation to a new customer service rep each time and have not been met with an attitude of justice or fair dealing. Because of all my lost time I am now asking that NS refund the entire amount billed since April 2013, $1293.73.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/28) */ Nicor Solutions made several attempts to reach this customer with little success. A letter has been sent requesting the customer respond no later than May 5, 2014 or the complaint will be closed. Please contact ******, our Customer Service Specialist, at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ****** and I have called each other multiple times but are playing phone tag, as we have each left multiple voice mail messages back and forth. I most recently called her this morning and left a voice mail asking her to continue to try. I will also continue to try to reach her. At this point Nicor Solutions has the documentation they need to issue a refund of all charges since March 2013. I again ask that they do so. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/30) */ 4-30-14: A Nicor Advanced Energy representative spoke with the customer and discussed his concerns regarding his mother's account being put in his name and how Nicor Gas had not done so when he had originally contacted them. To resolve this complaint a goodwill credit will be applied to the account. Both Nicor Advanced Energy and the customer consider this issue resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The company rep responsible for resolving this complaint was courteous and followed through. While I appreciate that Nicor Solutions has ultimately agreed to resolve this short of litigation, it is a shame that it took many hours of my time off work to accomplish a fair result. Nicor Solutions did not budge on its punitive and unjust position until the BBB became involved and until Nicor Gas re-characterized the account in such a way that Nicor Solutions's liability was undeniable.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Nicor Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart