BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2010

Nicor Advanced Energy

Find a Location

(877) 292-9363View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 3042, NapervilleIL 60566-7042 Send email to Nicor Advanced Energy

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Request a Quote Free Service

Request a quote from Nicor Advanced Energy.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2010

BBB has determined that Nicor Advanced Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nicor Advanced Energy's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues18
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 33

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (33)BBB Closure Definitions
04/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Just received my Feb-March bill from Nicor Advanced Energy and was completely shocked on how high the bill for gas $780. I couldn't believe it, so i called them. Lady nicely explained the whole shebang of I was on a varied price plan that follows the market. No matter if several friends and colleagues that their Nicor bill is only around .68 x therm or other suppliers not coming close to the fact Nicor Advanced Energy that costs 2.5x more.

If I had known my price would be insane I could have bought a forest to burn and it would be still be cheaper. This just feels like a big scam because we at the mercy of their "spot" market. Also I should have seen the issue earlier with the past months Feb-March 729 w/ 1.631 a therm, Jan-Feb 411 1.196 a therm, Dec-Jan 367 .751 a therm. < that's what I expected of a variable rate higher than usual not more than double. But auto pay and chalking it up as a very cold winter and using more therms than usual not price gouging us to the poor house. It's not like we know what price we are getting charged at until AFTER the bill. Like I said if I'd known the price per therm ahead of time.

Also, I wouldn't had been in Nicor Advanced Energy if it wasn't for my previous apt signing up for it and then when i transferred out to the house I didn't thing of changing it out.

Initial Business Response
A Nicor Advanced Energy representative spoke with the customer and explained that their plan was a variable rate where the price fluctuates daily with the market. It was also explained that the contract was moved from their previous premise by the utility as part of the regulations for the utilties' choice program. Due to recent extreme weather, the daily market has been extremely volatile and many days have seen near record prices. A goodwill credit was processed on the customer's account to help offset the high market based prices. Both Nicor Advanced Energy and the customer consider this issue resolved.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: Last months bill was $566. My account #is XX-XX-XX-XXXX X. They told me when I signed up that their average monthly charges are about 10 to 20% less than Nicor Gas. I think all conversations are taped.

Initial Business Response
A Nicor Advanced Energy representative spoke with the customer and explained that their plan was a variable rate where the price fluctuates daily with the market. Due to recent extreme weather, the daily market has been extremely volatile and many days have seen near record prices. A goodwill credit was processed on the customer's account to help offset the high market based prices. Both Nicor Advanced Energy and the customer consider this issue resolved.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Credit amount not satisfactorily

Final Business Response
The customer's account has been credited 1 goodwill credit for the current bill and will be credited an additional goodwill credit on the next bill, when it is issued. The customer agreed to this resolution and no further credits will be issued after these credits are processed.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a product

Complaint: I was under the impression, from the advertising/information that I was given that this was a company where natural gas prices were to be lower thru them than NICOR gas. When I received and outrageous bill in February, I called NICOR gas and they explained to me that they were billing .49 cents per therm and thru the NICOR advanced enery program I was being billed $1.11 per them. When I found this out I wanted to cancel that immediately but was told that it would take another month until I was able to cancel. I have also received another bill this month that was also outrageous, due to the fact that I was still being billed more than double the rate of regular NICOR users. I feel that they misrepresented themselves telling me I would be saving money by using them when in reality I was being charged more than double. At no time was I ever told that this was a possibility.
My NICOR account number is XX-XX-XX-XXXX X
My gas meter number is XXXXXXX
My bill due on 3/4/2014 was $319.42 Paid by check
My bill due on 4/4/2014 is $340.78 Unpaid
Friends who have much bigger houses than myself had bills less than half of mine.
I keep my thermostat set at 64 degrees most all of the time, which sometimes seems very chilly in my house.
I just really feel that there has been a gross misrepresentation from this company.

Initial Business Response
A Nicor Advanced Energy representative spoke with the customer and explained that their plan was a variable rate where the price fluctuates daily with the market. Due to recent extreme weather, the daily market has been extremely volatile and many days have seen near record prices. A goodwill credit was processed on the customer's account to help offset the high market based prices. Both Nicor Advanced Energy and the customer consider this issue resolved.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I spoke with a representative from NICOR advanced energy and was told that I would receive a $349.00 credit, which was about half of what I was charged for the two months in question. I think I would have been charged approximately half of what I was charged by the regular NICOR billing. I did not pay my last bill which should be taken care of by receiving this credit. I was told it would be on my account on 4/1/14. If indeed the credit is there and I do not owe them anything I feel that my complaint has been satisfied. I have cancelled my account with this company and no longer wish to do business with them. I consider this matter resolved pending receipt of my next bill showing that this credit has been applied to my account. Thank you for your help with this matter.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: I was not made aware that my account had been sold to Nicor Advanced Energy from ******** ****** ********* I was unaware that I was even using a third party supplier. I asked Nicor Advanced Energy to produce the document that indicated that I selected Nicor Advance Energy as my supplier. They indicated that they did not have anything, that I would need to contact ********* I contacted ******** and was told they do not have that information any longer since it was 2003 when they indicated I signed up. I told ******** I have no recollection of having ever signed up with them. I was also told that since the contract ended years ago that I was on a month to month with them until my account being sold. I was then on a month to month with Nicor Advanced Energy starting in January 2014. This put me in a rate category that is 40 - 60% more that the standard rate that Nicor Gas charges per therm. The problem is two fold, first no one can produce documentation that I ever wanted to be with a 3rd party. Second I was never informed that my account was being sold and that I would be paying the highest rate.

Initial Business Response
A Nicor Advanced Energy representative spoke with the customer and explained that their plan was part of a book of business purchased from ******** and is the exact same rate with Nicor Advanced Energy as it was with ******** and it is a variable rate where the price fluctuates with the market. Due to recent extreme weather, the natural gas market has been extremely volatile and many days have seen near record prices. A goodwill credit was processed on the customer's account to help offset the high market based prices. Both Nicor Advanced Energy and the customer consider this issue resolved.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The responded appropriately.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: My first bill from Nicor Advanced Energy (NAE) ************* The amount was more than three times all of my 2013 gas bills combined! I noticed their per therm rate was nearly double ********* rate, and immediately called and canceled my unwanted and never asked for NAE service. I got them to issue a partial credit, but to the best of my recollection they didn't tell me I'd be stuck with their astronomical rates for at least 1 more billing cycle (or I would have ceased using my gas oven, stove, water heater and dryer and set my heat back *******. No wonder I was SHOCKED when my new gas bill arrived today and still showed them as my supplier - this time with an even HIGHER rate of ************ (***************************************************
When the rep couldn't help me, I asked to speak with her supervisor. All he did was talk AT me, doing his best to defend their corporate policies. He tried telling me it was a waste of time to complain the you, *************************** or anyone else. And despite his utter inability to pronounce "variable" he kept trying to convince me that *****/therm was not out of line for a variable rate. Since when is double everyone else's rate is the norm? Once I realized I was getting nowhere since he was only spitting out indefensible company spiel, I told him I'd have to go over his head.

I've already filed a complaint with *** and will also contact ********* (letting them know why I will NOT be paying the full amount of my bill - I will deduct******** (the difference between ********* rate and NAE's rate, plus the ***** admin fee for service I canceled a month ago.)

I NEVER opted to be a Nicor Advanced Energy customer, and while I would be willing to pay a fair rate, I steadfastly REFUSE to pay their usurious rates.

There is no excuse for such price gouging during one of the coldest winters in recent history. They should be ashamed of themselves.

************************************************************
**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They offered to credit my account with the ******* difference between their ***** per therm rate and the ***/therm I thought I was being charged by Nicor Gas.

When I explained their employee I spoke with back in February had not made it clear that I would be stuck with them as a supplier in March as well (if he had I would have set my heat back to the *** and ceased using my oven, stove, and hot water!), they said they would listen to that recording and let their reps know to speak slowly and clearly when explaining those very important details. That gesture alone could save their future ex-customers a lot of confusion, grief and money.

If they follow through with the credit (and I have no reason to doubt they will) I will consider the matter closed.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 7
07/20/2011Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Natural Gas Companies

Additional Information

top

Nicor Services is an affiliate of Nicor Gas and is not regulated by the Illinois Commerce Commission. Customers are not required to buy products or services from Nicor Services in order to receive the same quality of service from the gas utility.

BBB file opened: 09/12/2005Business started: 01/01/1992Business started locally: 01/11/2005New Owner Date: 01/11/2005
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Category

Natural Gas Companies

Products & Services

Nicor Advanced Energy offers natural gas energy plans to both residential and small business customers throughout northern Illinois. These plans are intended to provide consumers with additional billing options that may result in a more predictable monthly bill.

Alternate Business Names
Prairie Point Energy
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 13450 S. Cicero 

    Crestwood, IL 60445-1490

  • PO Box 3042 

    Naperville, IL 60566-7042(877) 292-9363

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nicor Advanced Energy is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (630) 718-2702

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (708) 371-6018
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Natural Gas Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.