BBB Accredited Business since

Integrys Energy Services, Inc.

Phone: (312) 681-1866 Fax: (312) 681-1996 View Additional Phone Numbers 20 N. Wacker Drive  Suite 2100, Chicago, IL 60606 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Integrys Energy Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Integrys Energy Services, Inc. include:

  • 33 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Integrys Energy Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 13
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 33

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Integrys Energy Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 1994 Business started: 07/21/1994 Business started locally: 07/21/1994 Business incorporated 04/24/1998 in WI
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mark Solana, Managing Director of Mark Ms. Erica Bundschuh, Call Center Operatio Ms. Glenda O'Bannon, Call Center Operations Coordinator
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Glenda O'Bannon, Call Center Operations Coordinator
Principal: Mr. Mark Solana, Managing Director of Mark
Number of Employees


Business Category

Natural Gas Companies Electric Companies Natural Gas Distribution (NAICS: 221210)

Alternate Business Names
Integrys Energy Services
Additional Information

Related Companies- Peoples Energy Corporation is the parent for this wholly owned subsidiary. Peoples Gas is also a wholly owned subsidiary of Peoples Energy Corporation and is a utility company which supplies gas. Peoples Energy Services, Peoples Energy, and Peoples Gas are each separate companies.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Integrys Energy Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20 N. Wacker Drive
    Suite 2100

    Chicago, IL 60606


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beginning with my 10/10/2014 electric bill, Integrys raised my customer charge from $9.06 (their rate for multi family dwellings) to $22.36 (single family home rate.) I live in a small 1 bedroom apt. They claim it is because usage was up, but my usage was only 75kwh for Oct. and 56 for Nov. They admit it is a mistake, but refuse to refund the $93.10 ($13.30 overcharge for 7 months) I did not notice this charge for awhile because I participate in e-billing and it is deducted from my bank account automatically. I have called numerous times, and while they say they have never seen this happen before-they will not refund the mistake. I have told them that I will cancel their service, but they say that will take 2 billing cycles. So frustrating. My account # is XXXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: $93.10 Which is the difference between $22.36 and $9.06 ($13.30) multiplied by 7 months of the mistake. (Oct. 2014 to April, 2015)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/06/26) */ 6/25/2015 I called ***** **** at (XXX) XXX-XXXX and left a voice message to call me back to discuss a resolution for the BBB complaint. 6/26/2015 I called ***** **** at XXX-XXX-XXXX and left another message to call me back regarding a resolution for the BBB complaint. 6/26/2015: Spoke with Victoria Rudd, mother, called back (from XXX-XXX-XXXX) on behalf of ***** ****. She said he asked her to handle this, but he had actually given up since there was no response. I apologized for the delay and advised that we had not received the complaint from the BBB when he filed the complaint. I advised that we learned of it with the BBB's follow up. I explained the following: As of Sept 2014 meter read, the annual use is also a factor to determine the monthly customer charge amount. Our July 21, 2014 mailer described this change and there was an option to opt out of the program as well. The letter was specific to individual accounts and provided the new monthly customer charge which was to take effect with the Sept 2014 meter read. An analysis of annual usage was completed and used 12 months of data from May 2013 through June 2014. Annual usage between 7,178 and 17,801 for Residential Multi Family delivery rate class was assigned $22.36 monthly customer charge. As a courtesy, we reduced the monthly customer charge when she requested it 4/13/2015. There was no error in the monthly customer charge billing per usage received from ComEd. I advised that we are willing to meet him half way and refund $46.55 (via VISA gift card). Victoria **** was satisfied with the resolution. She said the meter had been replaced with a SMART meter and the usage was all over the place. She said his latest bill was much better, under $20. She didn't know if ComEd was going to do anything further, so I explained the cancel/ rebill process. I advised that ComEd will send any changes made usage for service periods in which we were the supplier. I explained that the original bills will be cancelled from the ComEd account, payments from the original bills will be sent back to the ComEd account, and we will send the rebills directly to ***** ****. Mrs. **** will provide the information to her son. She confirmed the mailing address and will allow approximately 4 weeks for delivery. Effective end date : 5/11/2015. Thank You, ****** O'Bannon- Customer Care Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX **************

4/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bill for service from 12/30/14 thru 2/3/15 that automatically included Integrys to my Com Ed bill. I did not authorize adding Integrys to my account. When I rec'd my bill I was unsure why it doubled and I had no idea what Integrys Energy service was . My bill increased 200 % from my charges last year at this time. The charges were doubled since Integrys energy was added to the bill. I immediately contacted ComEd to see what was going on and why my bill was so high. They told me that there was a change in energy service and that consumers had a choice to select energy provider. Integrys took it upon themselves to automatically enroll me in their program and add their fees to my monthly bills. This is on top of what Com Ed charges. So Integrys charges for the supply and Com Ed charges for delivery. The idea that the purpose for Integrys is to allow other businesses and choices to be part of the energy resources available. But if ComEd still charges for the delivery than the consumer ends up being double billed. Which happened with my bill. On the ComEd bill underneath the Integrys Energy info it shows a website in 5 point font size "you can choose at". It is hardly noticeable and I was made aware of the "choices" by the operator that answered the phone. It doesn't explain what the website is or what the choices are for. It is extremely small font size with no reference for what it is about. I was told about it by ComEd because I did not understand why my bill doubled. I asked the ComEd operator to remove the Integrys services off of my bill because I did not authorize their services to begin with. He directed me to Integrys that they were the only ones that could make the change. He also gave me a number to call to report my complaint about electrical disputes commission? I called Integrys to cancel my account and was hassled by the operator that answered the phone. Before she cancelled my account she gave me the treatment like she was selling me a timeshare and would not listen to me that I wanted to cancel. even though my bill increased 200 % she insisted they were saving me money. Finally she agreed to cancel at the end of the billing cycle and said I was responsible for the bill up until April 5th, 2015. When I finished with my call to her I called the electric complaint # that the ComEd gave me and reported my experience with them about all of this. They took the complaint by phone and said that they could not do anything but report the info to Integrys because it was Chicago and I needed to bring it up with my City? Where would I possibly go in the city? Later during the day a supervisor from Integrys called because she rec'd the complaint that I made. She gave me the same time share pitch script that the integrys clerk gave me. I confirmed cancellation of My service with Integrys off of my bill, effective April 5th. A couple days ago I received another comed bill that included additional charges from Integrys. I do not know if I have the final bill from Integrys? To date I have about $100 of charges with Integrys on top of my regular Comed bill. I can not afford to pay extra money for utilities because another greedy company wants to get a piece of ComEds business. It is also a matter of principle that I am being bullied and deceived on my utility bill. It totally confused me and also has caused a lot of problems financially trying to make ends meet to come up with extra money to cover the bill. at this time I have not paid my bill because i do not want to have to chase Integrys to try and get it back. I have spent way too much time trying to unravel what is going on and now the time complaining about it to try to find justice. I am willing to pay my amount due to comed but do not want to pay the integrys portion for any services.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay my amount due to comed but do not want to pay the integrys portion for any services. I want ALL Integrys charges to be moved entirely off of my bill and I do not want to send in the money to try and recover it later. I will notify ComEd and let them know that I filed a dispute regarding Integrys and I am willing to pay the portion to ComEd what is owed. So far the total is about $100. I am not certain that integrys issued the final billing because they said they could not cancel me entirely until April 5th. So there may be additional Integrys charges forthcoming. thanks for your time. please let me know if you have any questions..XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/27) */ I explained that the increase in her bill is due to the increase in usage. I advised that she has actually saved in the program because she is paying less per kWh with Integrys. Mrs. ***** interrupted me before I could provide her with specific information regarding savings. She said she know it's my job to call and try to get her back, but she just wants to cancel. She said she didn't appreciate her call into the Call Center where a representative named *** would not let her cancel without badgering her trying to explain why she should not cancel. She said *** would not listen to her. Mrs. ***** said she is not interested in paying two companies and does not wish to be a part of the program. I explained that Integrys was charging her for the electricity supply only and ComEd charged for the delivery, but she rejected my explanation stating she knows what is on her bills. She said she understands them and that she is not stupid. Mrs. ***** said she did not want to discuss this any further. I confirmed that the cancellation was processed per her request and that the effective end date is 4/2/2015. She said the effective end date is something else she is disputing with the Better Business Bureau. The account still needs to be billed for 03/06/XXXX-XX/02/2015 as she was advised. The effective end date is one that ComEd dictates, not Integrys.

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales representative gained access into our buildings condo by walking in behind a guest we buzzed in. After telling them we weren't interested and them leaving, a short while later another rep rang our doorbell. I asked who it was and they wouldn't respond through the intercom system. I went downstairs to the door and realized it was someone from Integrys again and I told them it was private property at which point he said it did not matter and that they have sent me letters with no respond. I asked who sent letters and was informed the energy company. I told them there was no response because I wasn't interested in their service and that I will call the cops if they attempt to gain access inside once again. This rep made it appear as if he was service me legal paperwork in an attempt to have me open the door. Previously after letting them in they have then proceeded to harass my neighbors after specifically telling them that we had let them in and not my neighbors and to not disturb them as they have complained about others buzzing them in before and having them at the front door.

Desired Settlement: Please take us off of your solicitation list. We are not interested in your services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/31) */ Integrys Energy Services does not solicit door to door in Illinois. Integrity does, that is totally different company.

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company calls repeatedly, 3-6 times a day. It all started a year or more ago. Sometimes they ask about my *** service, or my Colombia Gas bill, but mostly I just hear a click of a hang up. I do not have these utilities, *** or ******** **** They are not even an option where I live. There are not even gas lines running through my area. Everyone has to use propane in tanks if they want gas. I have been told I was put on Do Not Call list after telling the caller I do not have *** or ******** **** They start off," I would like to speak with whomever is responsible for your *** bill.", and "I'm calling about your ******** *** service." This was when they were talking. One Day about 3 months ago, I picked up the phone from this number to hear a man saying, "Your a ******** ********** I said,"I heard what you said. Get your supervisor." He hung up on me. I called the number on caller ID back. The company apologized, a told me they wouldn't call again. I accepted that because I knew the guy didn't know I was on the line. He had left his microphone on. His comments were not directed at me. I just overheard. The calls did stop for about a month. Then the calls started again, but now there is no one on the phone. It just clicks off. They call me every Saturday morning. They put me to bed at night. I want them, or their representative to cease and desist calling me. They are trying to sell me a product I can't use. They have hired unprofessional people to call my house. They will not stop.

Desired Settlement: Quit calling me! Cease and desist all communications. They are harassing me at this point. I can not keep my phone ringer on because they are ringing my line so much. I need to use my phone and answering machine. They are filling my machine up with phone clicking noises. I have to listen to 16 hang up messages to get to important messages. I can't do business with them. I don't even live in an area that they supply. Finally, I would never do business with them in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/18) */ The consumer has been placed on our Do Not Call List with the telephone number provide in this complaint (XXX XXX-XXXX). I apologize for the negative experience, our intent is never to harrass the consumer. If there are any other numbers that we can add to the Do Not Call List, please provide and we will add them immediately.

12/30/2014 Delivery Issues
12/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I gave the Integrys rep. both ComEd account # to be switched back to ComEd because it cost over twice as much with Integry. They said I gave them only the 2ndfl. account number, When I know I gave them both numbers to be switched. Integrys is telling me it will take 2 to 3 billing periods to switch it over. Why should I have to pay for their mistake in not switching back both accounts back to ComEd?. The ComEd account #s are ********** (1st floor) and ********** (2nd floor). Why would I give them just one account#?. Please check out. Thanks!

Desired Settlement: The difference for the 1st floor bill, that didn't get switched at the same time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/05) */ On December 3rd, a message was left for the customer to call us baclk to discuss her complaint,waiting for a call back.

12/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account# XXXXXXXXXX Meter# XXXXXXXXX On 7/16/2014, I called Integrys requesting to remove Integrys as the electrical utility supplier. However, my request was never honored. I then called again on 10/16/2014 (confirmation# XX-XX-XX-XX) to make the same request. As of my most recent statement dated 12/2/14, my second request has still NOT BEEN HONORED as I'm still being billed supply charges from Integrys.

Desired Settlement: I seek a refund of $36.24. This amount represents $9.06 of erroneous monthly charges from August through November ($9.06 x 4 months) despite my two requests. In addition, Integrys should not be billing me supply charges for December 2014 and beyond.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/08) */ The customer did attempt to cancel service on 7/16/2014, and it was not cancelled as requested, we apologize for the oversight. However on 10/16/2014 when she called, the request was processed for cancellation and the account was returned to ComEd as of 12/01/2014. The $36.24 refund will be honored, and refunded via VISA Gift card. The customer can expect delivery within 3-4 weeks.

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: approx. March 2012 Chicago voters approved a referendum authorizing the City to seek competive electricity rates.march 2014 I call to opt-out for I wanted to stay with comed for all my electricity services,I could not opt-out, they said all residence in chicago had to use integrys cleaner electrical service.I pay integrysenergy and com ed each month for the electric bill.$25.45 to integry and $21.81 just for delivery service.My question is why do I have to pay both suppliers.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I have proof of bills from six (6) months to present.Please help me with this problem.Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/01) */ Called XXX XXX XXXX on 11/25/2014, left a message to call me back. I will explain that Integrys and ComEd supply different services while Integrys is the electricity supplier. I will confirm 2/25/2013 start, 3/18/2014 renewal/opt out letter, May 2014 meter read renewal start with customer charge since no opt out received, 7/21/2014 updated opt out letter, Sept 2014 meter read start with reduced customer charge $19.99, 9/17/2014 customer request to cancel and 10/23/2014 effective end date.

12/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been calling my home number since, approximately, September 2014, three to four times per day. I do not have any current business with them. They do not leave messages. When I do answer the phone, no one speaks. There is just silence. I do not have an issue with a company calling, but I do when they do not explain why they are calling, and why they choose to remain silent. I consider this harassment and intimidation.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to cease and desist calling my number: ************* And, if they are using an automated dialer, to permanently remove this number from their records.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/04) */ Integrys Energy Services apologizes for the excessive calling that the consumer may have received.The consumer has been placed on our Do Not Call List.

11/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My bill last month was almost doubled compared with the month before The extra charge came with so called Customer Charge. I understand that the city notified me with a mail regarding the supplier change. But there was no mention of the customer charge would double my bill on that notice

Desired Settlement: refund the customer charge

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ Spoke to ****** **** and apologized for the error. I advised that we have corrected the customer charge and entered an adjustment of $14.77 for the difference in the $22.36 and $7.59 customer charges which is schedule to be applied against his next bill. I asked if he preferred the continue with Integrys or keep the cancellation, and he chose to keep the cancellation. I confirmed the effective end date of 10/31/2014 and advised that Integrys will be the supplier through the service period which ends 10/31/2014. Integrys will be listed as the supplier until he is billed for that service period.

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: She told me no information was sent about the charges or that a refund could be received. My ***** account number is XXXXXXXXXX. I cancelled my service with integrys today. ****** had no pushback. She said she understood why i was stopping my service and going back to comed. INTEGRYS claimed to be cheaper never made me aware of extra charges. I was paying 0.5299 with them and ***** is only charging .XXXXX/kwh. Im outraged that the City of Chicago would offer a company like this. I would like my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refundfor 3 months I was billed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/20) */ On 10/10/2014 I spoke to ****** ******* at XXX-XXX-XXXX and reviewed the complaint. I explained that I listened to the recorded conversation which revealed that our call center agent asked why she wanted to cancel and proceeded to process the request. I explained to Ms. *******, just as our agent explained, that we are no longer able to issue refunds for the customer charge. She asked why there was no notice sent about the refund, and I advised that the refunds were not a part of the program, they were issued to customers per request as they called in up to few months after noticing the customer charge. I explained that the customer charge was active as of May 2014 and in September 2014 we were no longer able to issue refunds for the customer charge. I confirmed that the renewal opt out information, which includes information about the customer charge, was mailed also noting that our agent did not advise that the information was not mailed. Ms. ******* said she was referring to information mailed about the refund in the complaint. She confirm that there would be no refund issued and disconnected the call. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This isnt a company of integrity. This company doesnt have anything written that This charge should be expected or refunded. The BBB should give company a rating of F. Where are the rights of consumers ? If the company knows this is an erroneous charge, they should be forced to give consumers refunds. I never received a mailing about the charge. I still want a refund. All companies have an override system. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unacceptable Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/10/22) */ Integrys Energy Services allowed the consumer up until they received 3 cycles of billing to request a refund, the consumer inquired past that deadline. Unfortunately, we will not be able to refund her for those Monthly Customer Charges, as previously communicated to her.

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: As mentioned, they constantly call my elderly mother daily. On Saturday, August 30th 2014, she didn't check caller id and answered. My mother said they stated that they were part of her current provider, Consumers Energy, and pressured her into enrolling into their program to save money. My mother is easily confused and when I heard her on the phone with them, I told her to hang up. She did. And they kept calling back. She does not want to switch to them - I just don't know exactly what type of information she provided to them (she didn't exactly recall since she was so upset) except that she did give them information from her Consumer's Energy bill. She's nearly 77 yrs old and quite vulnerable to these types of high pressure, misrepresenting methods and I believe was taken advantage of by Integrys. I cannot believe a company is permitted to pressure and confuse the elderly to snatch their business away from Consumers Energy. No name was provided to my mother and she indicated that she was transferred to 4 different people during the nearly 20 minute phone call. This just seems shady to me. I've picked up the phone before and asked them to put us on the DO NOT CALL list, but they just keep calling. We want them to stop calling and leave my mother's service with Consumers Energy. She does not want to switch to Integrys.

Desired Settlement: Just to be left alone by this company. DO NOT CALL list! They need to clean up their high pressure sales practices and stop misrepresenting themselves, especially to the elderly!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/12) */ I apologize for the excessive calling the consumer may have had from Integrys Energy Services. I would like to place the number on our Do Not Call List so no further calls will be received by our company. Please provide.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon receiving urgent voicemails on 9/4/14 and 9/5/14 from Integrys that Event360 "NEEDED" to call back (leading us to believe there was a true urgent/life safety situation) the call was returned on 9/5/14. The representative responded that it 'was an urgent situation that the company Event360 may be paying too much for natural gas.' Upon learning that this red herring sales approach was used, we adamantly stated that regardless of any savings offered, Event360 refuses to work with firms that use such a deceptive sales technique; and demanded to be removed from their telemarketing list. This was not done, and they called again using the same deceptive sales tactic on 9/8/14; and were again told to remove Event360 from the telemarketing list.

Desired Settlement: Nothing other than documenting for others that the approach Integrys uses to get customer response is to leave messages that suggest urgency (which when dealing with utility/natural gas providers leads one to believe that life safety concerns are an issue.)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/08) */ Integrys Energy Services apologizes for the experience. We will definitely review our outbound messaging process to ensure that we are not giving consumers inappropriate information. We have placed this number on our Do Not Call List

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer states she spoke with Joni Keo ID#XXXXX at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Consumer states she was talked into switching from First Energy to Integrys and was not told there would be a cancellation fee from First Energy. Consumer's feel this was very misleading and no longer wants service from Integrys.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/08/11) */ After reviewing the sales call, Integrys does not believe the sales agent mislead the customer. ******* and her husband decided to enroll after the agent reviewed the terms and conditions. The agent did advise the customer that her utility ****** ************* ******* would remain the same, if multiple supplier switches have occurred on the account a switching fee may apply, and the rescission period would allow them to cancel without penalty. On 7/21/2014, the utility notified Integrys Energy Services of a successful rescind on the account; it will not invoice on our service and an early termination fee does not apply.

7/25/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried this service for 30days, I didn't like it. I canceled w/in 30 days and this service with a balance of $0 in their system. They not only did not cancel my service and continued charging me but they put my acct in collections for something I had canceled. VERY DISAPPOINTED

Desired Settlement: Cancle the collection against my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ Attempted to contact this consumer on 7/3/2014 and 7/7/2014, voicemails were left both times no call backs from her as of today 7/11/2014.

7/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1/21/2014 Cancelled Integrys Energy with a representative name ***** and she gave me conf# XXXXXXXX to assure me it was taken care. 6/30/2014 I received my ComEd bill for 43.98 which never been this high gave them a call a representative stated call Integrys Energy they can explain your bill because you're enrolled. What?? 6/30/14 I called Integrys Energy spoke with ***** again the same person in January I stated the problem and she said, "oh yes I remember" and she verified the conf# she gave me very apologetic so Ebony sent the information to her manager to get the approval to credit my account and will call back with an answer. 7/3/2014 I called Integrys Energy again spoke with a representative name ******** or ****** for a update and she stated I see the notes but still don't have an answer, will personally call me back with an answer and she was apologetic. 7/11/14 I called ComEd again spoke with a representative name ***** to ask for help? or what to do? after explaining to her ***** said, "yes I see the notes and effective August 2014 I will no longer be with electric supplier". So instead she gave me ITC# and BBB to complaint because ***** said "how do you owe a bill for something you cancelled out of in January? this should have been resolved". 7/11/2014 Received a letter from ComEd saying electric supplier choice confirmation of drop effective August 21, 2014 will no longer be your supplier. I'm confused at this point! BUT I STILL HAVE A BILL I SHOULDN'T BE PAYING FOR?? 7/11/14 AGAIN! I called Integrys Energy can't remember the represetative name at this point Im upset and crying so? he see the notes but the same run around I ask for a manager no one around he said, "you can call back Monday but the manager can't do anything it comes from the main office, We can't help you". Wow!! I CAN'T BE FORCED IN A PROGRAM I CANCELLED AND TRYING TO STICK ME WITH JULY BILL AND BEFORE I'M NO LONGER WITH THEM I'LL BE PAYING A AUGUST BILL BECAUSE MY DUE DATE WITH COMED IS THE 16th THEN AUGUST 21st IM DROPPED AFTER TWO MONTHS HAD BEEN PAID NO WAY. NOT FAIR THIS HAS TURNED INTO A PROJECT. I HAVE A CONF# TO PROVE I'M NOT IN THE PROGRAM. THIS BEEN SINCE JUNE 30, 2014 and today is July 12, 2014 ALL THESE APOLOGIZES, RUN AROUNDS, AND POINTING FINGERS. PLEASE HELP ME THANK YOU ***** ******

Desired Settlement: I should be credited back from the time I was enrolled including any fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/25) */ On X-XX-XXXX I called ***** ****** at (XXX) XXX-XXXX and apologized for the repeated error in not processing the cancellation. Mrs. ****** explained that she had no choice but to call the BBB because she could not get anywhere contacting the call center. She said the last agent she spoke to on Friday was so nonchalant about her concern that he only made matters worse. I confirmed the effective end date of 8/21/2014, and offered a refund via visa gift card for the customer charges ($9.06 x 3 cycles) allowing approximately 4 weeks for delivery. I explained that the rate of .XXXXX per kWh was lower than Comed's, so the previous billing was actually lower than Comed's. I explained that the Comed bill will still need to be paid, and Mrs. ****** became emotional. She said she didn't know how she was going to make it. She was just starting over after a divorce and is on a strict budget with her and her 3 year old. She said her mother recently passed ***** and she has no one to help her. She said if she and her child has to sit in the dark, then so be it, because she cannot afford this bill. She said she filed the BBB complaint looking for help. She asked how can we help since she was never supposed to be in the program in the first place. I calmed her down by explaining that the credit would be more than the energy charges (provided energy charges of $11.87 for latest bill = 224 kWh x .XXXXX) so because of the process of the electronic interaction with Comed, we are not able to send a credit. I suggested that she contact Comed to see if a payment arrangement could be made, and she said she would. I also explained that after she receives the refund, she would have only had to pay $.XXXXX per kWh for the 3 affected billing cycles. She told me she really appreciated me contacting her and explaining everything. She said she just could not understand why ***** could not do her job and get the account cancelled in the first place.

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Even though I Opted not to be involved in this service in the beginning of last year, this company opted me in. I spoke with them again 5/12/14, because I didn't realize that they disregarded my refusal, until I found this letter (5/12/14) in a "Junk Mail" pile. There was a card stating, (check box) "If you do not wish to be part of the City of Chicago Community choice Electricity Aggregation Program. By returning this postcard. I am officially opting-out of this program." The problem is I never opted in. I was charged (by my last Com Ed bill) $9.50. This has been since 2/12/13. When I spoke to them last year I told them to discontinue their services, because I knew nothing about it. I trusted them to settle this, but they have not. I told them last year, "I don't need your service, because my electric bill is very low" and was told that they would take care of it. Integrys claimed that Com Ed was the culprit, until I told them that I had just spoke with Com Ed. I spoke with "*****", before calling Com Ed; then I spoke with "*****", who told me "it will take 1 - 2 pay periods, before this can be changed. That's more money to a company that I didn't sign with. This has to be illegal and I want them to be put on notice that they cannot sign-up people without their permission. Again, I'm requesting a refund and apology for their deception. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting $150.00, plus taxes and $100.00 for deception. They should have had an "opt-In" postcard, not "out", because I never opted in, as I've stated before. The date on this letter, from my "Junk File", is March 18, 2014, along with an "opt-out" postcard. I was to receive a letter, but I don't know of such.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/19) */ 5/19/2014: Was only able to leave voicemails, however the customer left a voicemail on Saturday requesting a call back today, will call her to follow up. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I've returned Integrys call from ***** 5/16/14 on 5/17/14, explaining, once again, my position and how their service expanded my bill, not saved me anything, because my bill was already under $30. I left a message the same day and told the person (didn't get name) that my laptop was sent (5/15/14) for service. It was repaired and picked-up (5/19/14) today. I will call them again 5/20/19 or await their call. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/20) */ I spoke to **** ***** again and advised that no recordings were located under any of the phone numbers she provided, so we have to decline the claim for deception. I explained that we have no record of deception, but the records we do have conflict with her BBB claim in that on the recordings from 5/12/2014, she say that was the first time she heard of the aggregation program. I advised that her savings with Integrys was $23.10. Mrs. ***** said I was calling her a liar because she already told us she called and said she didn't want the service before it started. She said the aggregation enrollment was not legitimate and should have had an opt in instead of an opt out. She said after she told the Integrys representative that she did not want the service, all of the Integrys literature went into the junk pile. I clarified that I was not call her a liar, but only informing her why the deception claim was declined. I advised that Comed also would have sent a letter to inform her of the switch prior to the switch. I explained that the City of Chicago agreed to the kind of aggregation program (opt out verses opt in) and that Integrys is the chosen supplier who is responsible for enrolling the customers that did not opt out. Mrs. ***** said she completely comprehends what I explained, but she doesn't agree with it. She said she would follow up with Comcast for her telephone records to show when she called and she would also contact Comed for further information about the aggregation process. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am awaiting a call from Com Ed. I also have called them (5/23/14) today. I've spoken to ********* of Integrys and discussed this conflict, in hopes of a resolution, but none was made. Instead, she attempted to convince me that I never called and refused their service in February of last year. If they don't have that record, It's their problem. I even repeated to her the conversation and refusal of their services. Of course, they don't want to find that conversation, because I was clear about not wanting their services, because there was no need for them. She told me about City of Chicago agreeing, but I didn't agree. If they have been with me a year and $23.10 is the savings; that further proves that I didn't need their services. I called Comcast, but they didn't have this information. I will speak to Com Ed, hopefully today and continue this complaint. If I had agreed, I wouldn't be complaining. Thank you (BBB) for your rapid responses.

4/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to switch electricity suppliers 2 months ago. I was told I need to wait for a renewal letter to change suppliers without an early termination penalty. I told them that I want to change, to not renew my yearly contract, that this is my notice but the Integrys telephone person told me that I could not do that - that I need to wait for the renewal letter. So today April 5, I get this renewal letter. It tells me I need to notify them in writing by April 17 that I want to not renew or they will automatically renew me for 12 months and then I will need to pay a penalty to discontinue their electric service. They offer a fax number so I faxed in a note saying I do not want to renew. I also called and asked to discontinue their electric service and the woman on the phone tells me I will need to pay a penalty. I explain repeatedly that I want to discontinue service without penalty and ask how to do that. She puts me on hold and later lets me know that my service will be discontinued but that I need to call Com Ed on April 14 or soon after to let them know who I want to have supply me electricity. This is an unnecessary hassle. It seems designed to frustrate and prevent customers from switching electricity suppliers. This is why I am complaining now. Can we change these rules to allow customers to change suppliers without having to jump through the electric suppliers hoops?

Desired Settlement: I want them to change their policy regarding switching suppliers to allow a customer to change with only one notification even if it is 3 months before the contract ending date. In fact I would think it best to be able to contact the new supplier and have the new supplier arrange the change if the customer were to ask the new supplier and tell the old supplier. Note: I am not asking here for the old supplier to end their contract early(although that would be nice.) I am only asking for the customer to be able to arrange for a change of service to occur at the end of the contract but to make the arrangement in advance of the end of that contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/11) */ We have been unsuccessful in contacting Mr. ******. Two messages has been left. Will attemept again on 4/14/2014.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On a few different occasions I asked to be removed from the call list. A sales rep called, left a voice message saying she was calling about my account. I do not have an account with Integrys. I called Integrys to find out if there was an acct in my name. The supervisor said Integrys call center does not have access to that information. I am worried that someone may be mis-using my name for their energy acct. I asked to be removed from the database. Integrys called back a couple of weeks later from XXX-XXX-XXXX. Same discussion. I even registered my number(s) with the National Do Not Call Registry after the second round of talks with the Integrys Energy rep and supervisor - roughly 2 weeks ago from today. What happens...Integrys called my number again today.

Desired Settlement: Integrys needs to a) Guarantee me in writing that there is no account electric or gas set up in my name in Ohio, Michigan or elsewhere and then b) remove ALL my contact information from the Integrys databases for any purpose whatsoever.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/07) */ I have e-mailed the attached to the consumer as requested. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No I am not satisfied. Integrys Energy only addressed one aspect of my complaint and did so incorrectly. The address listed on this complaint is not associated with any account. No kidding. I understand that. The address provided in this complaint is my contact address for this complaint. Integrys Energy is continuing to harass me and leave messages stating "We are calling about "your electric or gas account"? What account? Identify why you Integrys reps are calling me about what supposed accounts and make those supposed accounts a part of this complaint. The onus is on Integrys Energy to provide me with the details of these supposed accounts and any information Integrys may have on me in the system. The number or numbers Integrys Energy are calling are +X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and I believe I found another number +*************** Why am I receiving these calls almost everyday? What accounts? I do not have any accounts therefore I can't provide alternative contact information. Once again in case the person or people reading this did not clearly review my Desired Resolution: Integrys needs to a) Guarantee me in writing that there is no account electric or gas set up in my name in Ohio, Michigan or elsewhere and then b) remove ALL my contact information from the Integrys databases for any purpose whatsoever. Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2014/04/02) */ Thank you for your response. To ensure this important point is not lost, Integrys reiterates the following: The number was on our list not because we received information that the telephone number that was dialed has a gas or electric account; rather, the number was identified as potentially receiving gas distribution and commodity service in ******** *** of **** territory based on the address associated with the number and the location of the same. To that end, we were not provided a "name on said account" or an "account number" or "company name providing the service". The information we were provided is as follows: Prospect: ******** ************** Address: *********** ********, ****XXXX Phone number: XXX-XXX-XXXX Area code: *** SIC code: XXXXXX Business type: business management consultants Number of employees: 5-9 Annual revenue: $1.0 Million - $2.5 Million Utility territory: ******** *** of **** Commodity: natural gas Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This Integrys Energy response on 02/07/2014 still does NOT adequately address my two concerns in the complaint. Please read the complaint and respond accordingly.

3/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) MAKE THEM STOP THIS PLEASE

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/26) */ I definitely apologize for the negative experience. I have placed the number (XXX XXX-XXXX) on our Do Not Call list, as well as advised our calling partners to do the same immediately. Again I apologize for the experience and will handle this as soon as possible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been receiving "telemarketing" calls from Integrys for over 12 months. On many occasions I told the soliciter, "No thank you", but after continued calls, I asked the representative to ensure that I was not called again. The caller stated that he was removing me from this list and it may take 24 to 48 hours to complete. Of course the calls have continued and I have made the request to be removed from their list multiple times (approximately 10-15 times) to the caller. Again the caller states that he will remove me from the list ---- I don't beleive him!

Desired Settlement: I do not want Integrys, or any employee, subsidiary, friend, neighbor, relative of Integrys to call me again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/15) */ Integrys Energy Services apologizes for the excessive calls and we have notified our partners to place this number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) on the Do Not Call List immediately. We have also placed the number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) on our internal list as well. We apologize for the inconveniece. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although multiple representatives have told me that they **** remove my name and number from their system, I will accept this response so as long as they follow through with their resolution. Thank you.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues