Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J.C. Movers & Lumpers Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 745-3646 View Additional Phone Numbers 4219 Butterfield Rd Ste 2C, Hillside, IL 60162 http://www.jcmovers.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

J.C. Movers & Lumpers Services, Inc. is a moving labor provider that also offers move and post-move cleaning. This business is located in Hillside, IL, and serves the western Chicago suburbs including Oak Brook, Lisle, Downers Grove, Hinsdale, Westmont, Lombard, Elmhurst, Westchester, La Grange, Darien, Burr Ridge, Woodridge, Glen Ellyn, Wheaton, Naperville, Berwyn, Cicero, Oak Park, Franklin Park, Rosemont, O'Hare, Itasca, Bloomingdale, Carol Stream, Winfield, Warrenville, and West Chicago. This company offers moving labor service, moving cleaning services, lumpers services, moving supplies, and provide their services for residential customers and commercial businesses.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J.C. Movers & Lumpers Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J.C. Movers & Lumpers Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J.C. Movers & Lumpers Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 2010 Business started: 08/01/2009 in IL Business started locally: 08/01/2009 Business incorporated 09/18/2009 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Chandra Thomas, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Chandra Thomas, CEO
Business Category

Moving Services - Labor & Materials Storage Units - Household & Commercial Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Cleaning Services Car Loading & Unloading Movers - Office Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
J. C. Movers
Products & Services

Specializing in professional Lumpers load; unload, palletize, stack & unstack trucking loads.


Additional Locations

  • 115 South 10th Avenue

    Maywood, IL 60153 (877) 729-8344

  • 4219 Butterfield Rd Ste 2C

    Hillside, IL 60162 (877) 745-3646 (708) 544-4121

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I selected this moving service through movinghelp.com. They had good ratings and a middle of the road price. Even engaging with them from the start was difficult, but the majority of the issues arised during the move. JC was due to pick up my empty storage boxes from uHaul, drive them over to my apartment, load them, and then deliver them back to uHaul. I asked them to arrive at my apartment between 3-4, they didn't even get to uHaul until 3. They showed up with an unlicensed driver with a record, so uHaul would not release the boxes to them. In addition, they showed up with the wrong kind of truck to tow the boxes, which is their responsibility and I had to call uHaul to rent a pick up truck in my name for them to drive. Once they get another LICENSED driver out to the uHaul facility (an hour and a half later) they were in total, 3 hours later, showing up at my apartment at 6pm. They came with the wrong paperwork, thinking they were there to "unload" the uBoxes. I had provided more than enough furniture blankets through uHaul, yet they didn't fully use them, ultimately leading to the damage of my property. From the start they were not careful with my furniture/belongs. The movers dropped boxes down flight of stairs, they ripped the upholstery on the couch, they damaged my dresser. To top it off, they were extremely inexperienced and had no idea how to properly pack a uBox storage pod to maximize the space. I had witnesses come over to verify this. Once we got to the uHaul facility, I did not want to issue the payment code to them, as is my right with Movinghelp.com and they bullied me into giving it to them by having their superior call me and insistently say I couldn't do that. I felt threatened and cornered into giving them payment to release them. I was going to use this same company to unload my belongings on September 3rd. I immediately told them I wanted to cancel those services in advance and I wanted a full refund. I have called three times now, I have yet to see any paperwork cancelling these services or issuing me a refund. I also asked to be forwarded all the documentation/process guidelines around submitting a claim for damages and no one has sent that to me either. I expect I will be completely unable to get any sort of damage claim as this is hands down the worst customer service I have ever encountered. To top it off, the woman I finally got on the phone with me said she would get to my requests around refund and damage claim "when she had time" and then she hung up. This business does not care about their services or their customers, only about getting paid.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my services as well as a damage payment for my belongings that were afflicted by the move.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***************@jcmovers.net Please be advised that **** will not comment against the many false accusation that is listed in this complaint. We received the customer's reminder email at 6:54 am the following morning which was 08/29/2014 requesting cancelation of services and to file a claim. We emailed the customer proof of her credit at 1:00 pm on 08/29/2014 and a claim form to process her claim. We haven't received the document nor any pictures to justify her claim. Please return the requested items in order for **** to move forward. Thank you

11/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On *** *** or *** of 2012, I hired JC Movers & Lumper Service, Inc. to unload a moving truck into three (3)heated storage units on ******** **** in ********* IL. We just moved from ** to IL. I requested heating units to protect our wood furniture from damage of elements. I inspected items as they came off the truck before they were put into storage units. The understanding was that they would be stored PROPERLY from damage. On *** *** 2013 we hired ********* ****** & ******* *** at **** ***** ****** *** ************ IL XXXXX (XXX-XXX-XXXX)to move the items in storage to our new home in ********* IL. ********* pointed out the items were not stored properly such as a heirloom ********* piano turned on its end resulting in scratches and gauges from the concrete. Any moving company knows you don't turn a piano up on its end!! In addition mattress unprotected next to washing machine leaking water. These are just 2 examples. Many things were stacked on wood furniture causing multiple damage and broken items. ********* movers said they would testify to the fact that things were recklessly stored. This person's name from ********* was **** (no last name provided). Pictures were taken of all damage and a claim filed with J.C. Movers & Lumpers, Inc. After not hearing anything for 3 months, multiple calls were made to them requesting they get back with me. It has been 5 months and we have heard nothing. They will not respond. We are asking the Bureau for their assistance in getting our claim processed so we may be refunded for the damage. Here are more numbers listed for J.C. Movers & Lumpers, Inc.: XXX-XXX-XXXX and XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you. **** *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We had a professional look at the damages on our piano and china hutch alone which totaled $450.00. This does not cover damage to broken legs on furniture and other knicked and scratched items, along with water damages from hoses laying lose on washing machine. Mattresses had to be replaced at the cost of $400.00. We expect the claim to processed expediently and to be refunded according to the damage we provided in pictures and to the testimony of ********* to evidence recklessness.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/25) */ Hello Mr. ******* We have received your statement and pictures of damages to your furniture. Unfortunately at this time we can't honor your request due to so many parties were involved with loading, unloading, and loading and unloading again. Items were padded by your previous loaders and our crew was hired to unload your belongs from an already packed truck by an unknown party. Due to the furniture being previously packed it is impossible to know the condition of your antique belongings clearly noted on your claim report. A climate controlled storage unit will not remove pre-existing damages or avoid damages that may have occurred Our crew was hired to remove these items from your already packed truck into a clear open storage unit. J.C. Movers can't be held responsible for a washing machine that was disconnected and loaded by your previous loader. The water damage to a mattress due to your previous crew loading a water hose still containing water from your washer is clearly the neglience of your previous crew. I have talked with the crew leader from this assignment and he has over 20 years of experienced to know when an item is a Piano regardless if it is padded or not. No pictures received to reflect the Piano being loaded improperly in the unit. Due to so many parties being involved in your move: 1. Your Loaders 2. J.C. Movers - Unloaders 3. Your 3rd Movers Loaded and unloaded There's no for sure way to determine whose liable. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Everyone knows when a piano is a piano. Although there were multiple parties involved in loading and unloading, it was the company I have a complaint against that stored My piano on its end. It was turned on its end on concrete and the business that unloaded my storage unit showed it to me and said it was not properly stored. There are witnesses to that fact. also my dining room hutch was stored with items against it causing multiple scratches. This was also shown to me by the company that unloaded it. The above two items are the most important to me.The cost of repairs was more than I could afford. I expect some compensation for damage and repair. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/11/08) */ Mr. *******, I here your concern, I have read your statement. Pleae understand that a heated storage facility doesn't eliminate your items pre-existing damages or items that may have been damaged during transit. -Our contract reflects your signature confirming no damages were caused by our moving crew and everything was completed to your satisfaction. - Our contract also has your signature confirming that your items were loaded with insufficient Padding. J.C. Movers will not be held responsible for any damages may occur. - Your items being loaded into a storage unit removes J.C. Movers from all liability due to items could have been moved around in your storage unit at a later date by someone else. We have reviewed your claim from all angles and this is our final response to your claim. J.C. Movers can not be held responsible for any damages that you have stated in your claim due to the above reason. We have also followed up with Hillstrom Movers & Storage and they have agreed with our findings. Take care, J.C. Movers & Lumper Service Claims Dept.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J.C. Movers & Lumpers Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)