Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Von Sydow's Moving and Storage, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 934-7100 Fax: (847) 934-0328 250 E Illinois Ave, Palatine, IL 60067 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.vonsydow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Von Sydow's Moving and Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Von Sydow's Moving and Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Von Sydow's Moving and Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 1991 Business started: 05/10/1888 Business started locally: 05/10/1888 Business incorporated 07/20/1987 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
http://www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Judy Von Sydow, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Judy Von Sydow, Owner
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Packing & Crating Service Relocation Service Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Agent for Wheaton World Wide Moving
Additional Information

This business is an agent of Wheaton World Wide Moving. Von Sydow's Moving & Storage has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers contact Judy Eidelman, Customer Service Representative at 847-934-7100.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Von Sydow's Moving & Storage will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.


Additional Locations

  • 250 E Illinois Ave

    Palatine, IL 60067

  • PO Box 699

    Palatine, IL 60078

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company stored our possessions in their facility for two years. Prior to taking delivery of the possessions a sales rep came to our house to do a moving survey. Part of this meeting was to let us know what we could store and could not store at the facility. We had 46 bottles of wine and the sales rep told us that they would be OK to store at the facility because it was climate controlled. When the wine was delivered, the bottles of wine were all ruined due to high temperatures. We found out later that the facility was not temperature controlled. The sales rep acting as an agent of the company should have been aware that wine could not be stored at the storage facility. High temperatures during the summer months are expected and the results predictable.

Desired Settlement: $200 refund

Business Response:

This is in response to *** ********** claim on the 46 bottles of wine.  *** ********** storage was delivered on July 15th.  He notified us on October 21st by email that 46 bottles of his wine was broken or the corks popped out. The claim was denied at first because he contacted Von Sydow's too late.  He became very upset with the Von Sydow's claim department, and after further evaluation, Von Sydow's in good faith decided to acknowledge his claim.  The insurance coverage he accepted at time of shipment was .30 cents per pound per article.  As each bottle of wine weights approximately 1 pound, he was dispersed a check for $13.80 for the 46 bottles of broken wine.  Von Sydow's claim department explained to him that they could not control the gases in a bottle of wine

causing the corks to pop out of the bottles.  This was an act of God.  He was also missing a ladder, which was delivered the first week of November.  Our question is if 46 bottles of wine were broken or the corks popped out, why was nothing else damaged?

That's a lot of wine spill?

There were approximately 15-20 emails that were exchanged back and forth to our claims department and some of *** ********** emails were very threatening to Von Sydow's Company, such as;  if this claim issued was not resolved to his satisfaction in the next 5 business days; such as contacting our Account, contact his relocation company that handled the move and posting messages on his company-wide message board in an attempt to damage our reputation.  Von Sydow's is a professional moving company, since 1888 and 5 generations moving families and companies everywhere...we care.  It appears that *** ******** is claiming $200.00 with the intent to damage our reputation, I find this type of behavior to be very disturbing. Of course, Von Sydow's can't control what *** ******** does or doesn't do pertaining to our reputation, however, we have contacted our legal counsel to take action if this type of email behavior continues.  

Our claims department, today, 11/9/2015 emailed *** ******** and offered him $86.20 + $13.80 (already sent a check for this) for a Total of $100.00 in good faith to settle this claim.  We feel this is a fair settlement and we have no further discussion pertaining to this claim.

We're sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused and we hope that *** ******** agrees that this is a fair settlement.

 

**** *** *****

Von Sydow's Moving and Storage,

****************

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is to correct inaccurate information and to answer the questions in the company's reply.

This is a full description of the damage.  Three bottles had corks completely popped out and one bottle had the bottom shattered from the pressure.  All the other bottles had the cork pushed a partial way out of the bottle with small leakage.  We were fortunate that all of spillage was contained in the packaging except for one container that leaked into another box that contained gift bags which we disposed of.  The moving team saw this damage.  The bottles had mold growing on the outside of the bottles.

This is not considered an act of God.  This is the definition of “Act of God” taken from ***************
 
“a direct, sudden, and irresistible action of natural forces such as could not reasonably have been foreseen or prevented, as a flood, hurricane, earthquake, or other natural catastrophe.”

Being hot in Chicago does not fit this definition.

We had decided to store the wine in the facility because of the recomendation of the sales rep who acted as an agent of the moving company.  He did not suggest additional insurance coverage.  He is the expert.

I did not threaten Von Sydow.  I only stated what action I would take if the issue was not resolved.  This is my exact statement:

"These are some of the steps that I will take if this is not resolved to my satisfaction in the next 5 business days:
 
- Contact Grainger Relocation Services
- Contact Cartus
- Post message on Grainger company-wide message board

I will focus on the poor advice on what to store, not being informed of the claim process, and the lack of follow-up after the move."

There was no mention on an attempt to damage the comapany's reputation.  I would only communicate facts.

We only want Von Sydow to accept the responsibility of the person acting as an agent of their company when they suggested storing the wine in their facitliy would be OK.  $200 is a fair settlement.

Sincerely,

**** ********

10/27/2015 Delivery Issues
4/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The moving company charged me for one hour of travel time. An employee told me I should have only been charged a half hour which is $83. They also showed up at my house at 7:42 and charged me as if they arrived at 7:30. That is worth $33.20. The company also lost the pegs that hold up the shelves for my bookcase and entertainment center and one shelf for the entertainment center. I will have to try to buy new ones. If that doesn't work both are kind of useless.

Desired Settlement: I would like $150 to cover the cost of their overcharging me and to fix my entertainment center and bookcase.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@********.com In response to Mr. ******'s claim. On his estimate, which he signed and was fully aware there would be one hour travel time. He has called our company continuously requesting to be charged 1/2 hour travel time. He was refunded $513.00 on his move, plus he gave the movers $120.00 tip, we are not sure where Mr. ****** is going with this claim. However, *********'s Moving and Storage, Inc. did every by the rules and regulations set forth by industry standards. We have no further comments pertaining to this claim. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The paperwork on the form was incorrect. I did not notice it at the time. They wrote down an earlier time than they actually showed up at my door. I got a refund because they drastically overestimated how much time it would take to do my move. Their own people told me I should have been charged a half hour of travel time. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/04/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The employees did discuss it with me and did put down the wrong start time on the invoice. I was overcharged for my move as they put incorrect information on the form. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/14) */ The employees who performed the services on Mr. ******'s job, were interviewed and they denied discussing any travel time with Mr. ******. We have no further comments pertaining to this case. Thank you, **** *********

2/25/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Von Sydow Salesman provided a written estimate. We specifically inquired about damage coverage. The standard 30 cents per pound coverage was explained and an option for additional insurance for which would cover replacement or repair discussed. We hired Von Sydow and purchased the additional insurance. During the move, we had two items that sustained damage. Von Sydow sent a claim form/instructions and identified a customer service woman as our liaison to the claim department. A furniture repair man came and satisfactory repair was made to a scuffed couch. A curio cabinet was crushed, the frame cracked, and the curved glass was shattered. Based on the structural damage the unit was deemed beyond repair. We followed up several times to obtain status on our curio claim. Our liaison was out of office, but another employee conveyed the curio was fully depreciated and thus had no value. We thought at there must be some mix up. After all, we paid for additional insurance coverage.After multiple unanswered messages left for our liaison we received a mailed letter dated Dec 23rd (postmarked Jan 6th). It came from the Claim Dept (our liaison was ccd). It stated it has been determined that you elected the depreciated value per item. Which is a depreciation of 10% per year? It listed our curio payout as $0. Essentially our curio is more than 10 years old so they had depreciated it to $0 value!We contacted our liaison again and expressed our displeasure and confirmed she knew we had purchased additional insurance. She agreed to submit our claim for re-review, but she seemed to agree with the disposition of the claim. After several additional unreturned messages, we received another letter from Von Sydows Claim Dept on Jan 15th. It stated based on the information supplied, we have decided in good faith to provide you a check for $10.00. We are very frustrated. We paid for additional insurance with the understanding that our household furnishings would be protected if damaged. Product_Or_Service: Moving Services Insurance Account_Number: **** of Lading: ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) The curio cabinet was originally purchased used for $400. We have researched repair of the curio cabinet and have found curved glass is typically $150-200 per piece. The cost to repair frame damage is time and material, however, we have been advised that the curio is beyond repair. New curio cabinets run upwards of $500. As a compromise, we are seeking a refund for the $140 paid for the insurance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* - Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@vonsydow.com In response to the Case #XXXXXXXX reference Mr. and Mrs. ******. *********'s moved the ******'s on November 25 and 26, 2014. A claim form was sent out on November 28, 2014. On December 19, 2014 in the morning, our furniture restorer arrived at the ****** residence, at which time to repair their sofa. The ******'s were told in order to repair the curio cabinet, this would require special glass. The ******'s did purchase depreciated value insurance prior to their move. *********'s has the option to either repair the items, if possible or to pay the depreciated value for the item. As the curio cabinet was purchased used in 2003 and it was year 2014 when the move took place. With depreciation 10% per year, would mean that they would receive zero dollars for the curio cabinet. Which this is what *********'s did, however, Mr. ****** was not happy with the fact that they did not get any money back for either item, so as a good faith gesture, we sent a $10.00 check for the curio cabinet. *********'s also paid the furniture restorer $150.00 to repair the sofa. At one time Mr. ****** did request if we would come to the residence and take the curio cabinet to the curb, as it was taking up too much space in their garage, as he wanted to park his vehicle in his garage. I know this is not the answer the ******'s want to hear, however, I feel, *********'s went above and beyond the legal obligations in this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not accept *********'s response. We have continued to try and work with ********* in hopes that some kind of reasonable compromise could be reached. We have reached out to the Illinois Commerce Commission and obtained a copy of the Applicant's Handbook For Household Goods Moving Services Within Illinois. According to this guide: "In addition to the mover's liability protection under the law for loss or damage to articles, the customer may wish to separately insure the goods. Provided the mover is in full compliance with the requirements of the Illinois Insurance Code, including those pertaining to acting as an insurance agent, the mover may offer insurance to the customer if: 1) The customer agrees to the insurance, in writing, prior to the move. 2) The customer is given a copy of the insurance policy prior to the move. 3) The insurance policy must include the name, address and telephone number of the insurance company and/or the insurance company's agent, that the customer may use in the filing of a claim for loss and damaged goods. 4) The carrier is enrolled in a master inland marine insurance policy. The mover must file and keep a copy of the customer's insurance policy as part of its records for the move. An original copy of the insurance policy or certificate is to be filed with the issuing insurance company." We did not receive a copy of the insurance policy. We are beginning to question if the insurance we paid for was ever purchased and would like to see policy evidence. We were unaware we were being provided a depreciation value policy. Our research has indicated that depreciation policies typically do not depreciate an item 10% until value is $0. Depreciation is typically reasonable and not excessive. We have been unable to locate a replacement curio cabinet with curved glass for less than $500. I think our request for $140 is very reasonable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/02/13) */ Von Sydow's has not further comments to add. **** ********* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/02/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No resolution was proposed. Business is unwilling to find a reasonable compromise.

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company (Von Sydow) moved my furniture into storage for two months. Storage was supposed to be climate controlled in warehouse. When furniture was delivered many pieces were water logged, mold and mildewed. One leather sofa, cocktail table, red leather sofa had plastic melted on it from extreme heat.

Desired Settlement: I want the storage charges I paid refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/01) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@vonsydow.com In response to Case No. XXXXXXXX we regret her displeasure on the claim settlement, however, she was reimbursed 100% for her claim for what she signed for reference her valuation. We went above and beyond for her claim and had items repaired that her valuation did not cover. We have no further comments, this claim is closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) there are still outstanding items that they have not covered in their claim, and the damage was caused by them LYING about where my furniture was stored. It was stored outside and received severe and irreparable water damage. This is not normal moving damage, it is gross negligence on behalf of this company. They didn't go ABOVE and beyond, they sent a furniture repair guy out, and from what I understand in talking to him and other people I know in the relocation industry, that is pretty STANDARD PROCEDURE for REPUTABLE moving companies Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Company showed gross negligence and lied about where my items were storedthis has been confirmed by one of their employees. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/05) */ In response to shipper, we're happy the shipper recognizes we are a Reputable Moving Company as was stated in the correspondence that was submitted by shipper in her second complaint letter to the BBB. We have full-filled our commitment in finalizing the claim for the type of valuation the shipper choose, which is .30 cents per pound for each article and shipper is asking for more than she opted to pay for. The shipper was offered higher valuation, however, the shipper refused additional valuation and choose the lesser valuation. We went "above and beyond" for this shipper. The shipper has been writing negative comments on various internet sites about our Company and Employees in an attempt to slander our Company and Employees. We have contacted our attorney for further discussion to protect our Company and Employees, on the negative comments this shipper has been writing and saying. This claim is closed and we have no further comments.

9/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/2/14 *** ******** came to my house & gave me an estimate of $1850. to move our whole house of furniture which included all the misc other things in the house. To save money, my husband & I decided to move all the misc items in boxes ourself into our own storage unit (a full garage full of stuff). So all Von Sydow's had to move was our furniture. The fact that we eliminated all the other stuff should have significantly reduced the cost of the move but it did not. It still cost us much more than the estimate we were given. We paid a total bill of $3055.86. $500 of this was charged to my Visa on 7/16 without my permission. Because we were in between homes they moved our furniture into their "vault" on 6/17/14. We were told that this was very safe & that we would not have access to our furniture during the storage or it would cost a lot of money so we let them hold our furniture in their vault while we were in between homes. We never saw them load or unload our furniture into this vault. On 7/28/14 we had them move our furniture out of their vault & to the garage at our new home. And though they recorded it as only taking them 2.5 hours incl. travel time, they charged us for 4 hours plus travel time! Had we known this we would have had them move the things into the house instead of into the garage! To top matters off they lost the side rail to my qn size Ethan Allen bed frame, a rare piece of wood 7 feet x 7 inches large that is needed to hold my bed together. My whole bedroom set matches to this & I am still sleeping on the floor because they still have not found it! They also lost the pieces to attach the mirror to the dresser. On top of that they damaged almost every good piece of furniture I have & almost every piece I had them move! Most everything was either broken, scraped, cut, scuffed, scratched, dented, chipped or gauged. The couches, chairs & mattresses were all dirty & scuffed up. They even tried to deliver a chair that was not mine. It makes me wonder if my bed rail is sitting at someone else's house or thrown away because of being damaged by them. They also, stopped up my toilet & we were unable to use that bathroom for days till we were able to fix it. I have spoken to both a man named **** ? & **** ****************** on numerous occasions. **** says she is an "employee only" but I believe she is lying about this since I see her picture & Von Sydow name in the brochure materials. She does not want to take any responsibility or blame for the loss & damage of my valuable property & wants to diminish their worth because of their ages even though these pieces were in mint/excellent condition! Some of the furniture is 20 years old some less than 20 years old & some less than 10 years old! My Ethan Allan bedroom set may have been 20 years old but it is beautiful & very well taken care of just as is my 15 year old Nichols & Stone Dining Set, at least until Von Sydow's got their hands on them. After all this talk of so called sympathy & outrage at it all, they sent me a check for $341.70 which is extremely insulting to me since it would not even cover replacing the bed rail, let alone all the damage they inflicted on the rest of my furniture. It is as if they took absolutely no time or care to the handling of my precious furniture at all & just shoved it and/or threw it around! I asked her what is their incentive to take proper care in handling peoples valuables if their only responsibility is to pay a measly $342. for all the damage they did? I asked her if she, personally, would be happy with a check of that size with all the damage & loss that had occurred & she kept trying to justify it. I asked her for a simple yes or no answer & she could not give me one, leading me to believe she knows fully well that this is a very bad deal!!! But she claims as an "employee" she can do no more. I told her this was unacceptable & hung up! This is the absolute worst moving company I have ever used & I have moved 6 other times.

Desired Settlement: I do not believe we should have to pay anything for their service. They damaged so much & lost a main piece of my bedroom set that cannot be replaced since they no longer have access to this type of wood anymore that it will cost me so much to have everything fixed, replaced or the loss of these things will cost more then what I paid them to move them. I believe that if they are hit where it hurts maybe they will take more care in handling people's valuables instead of doing a quick, shoddy job & not have to take responsibility for the damage they do, hiding behind their "insurance claim" scams. Like I asked ****, with all the damage they inflicted on my valuable furniture, if it only costs them a penalty of $342. what is their incentive to take proper care of these things? I see no incentive for them to do a good job unless they would like to avoid being reported to the BBB which is why I am writing you! Maybe this will get their attention or the other outlets online available as well as networking & getting the word out that this service was performed so very badly & their solution is unacceptable to me! They need to make things right by people instead of trying to get out of their responsibilities by some loophole or insurance outlet they do not explain fully & hide underneath.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** & **** ********* Own Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@vonsydow.com To: ***** ********** In response to Case # XXXXXXXX and reading through the shippers complaints, we see many loopholes and speculations of which ***** ********** is referring to which are untrue, which makes *********'s questions the validity of her complaints and comments. We would like to clarify there are two (2) ****'s in the company, **** *********, Partner and **** ********, employee. By ***** ********** making an accusation that **** ******** is not an employee is incorrect. ***** ********** had a successful move, her credit cards were provided with a signed authorization to run the cost of the move. Our employees went above and beyond for this shipper. ***** ********** at time of estimate was offered full value insurance to cover her goods, however, she refused full value and opted to accept .30 cents per pound if any of her contents got damaged. She received a check in the amount of $341.70. Making accusations about our employees, when they were doing their jobs and they are who they are, shows us that the balance of her complaints are not valid and and in evaluating the move and with our experience in the industry, she received a successful move and it appears she is looking for a free move. We're sorry, however, we have been in business since 1888 and we follow all rules and regulations governed by the moving industry and we are not allowed to provide free moves to shippers. Again, ***** ********** received a successful move and appeared to be very angry and frustrated by hanging up on our employee, **** ********, because ***** ********** did not hear the answer she wanted to hear. We follow the rules, we cannot provide ***** ********** with a free move. We have no further comments. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The only thing that they address is my mistaken identity of ****. They don't address all the loss of my furniture or the many items they damaged. If they consider that a successful move then I am surprised they are still in business! As far as the insurance, no one explained to me that that meant they could lose & destroy all my furniture & have very little penalty or take any responsibility! Employees going above & beyond for me, really, in what way? If anything, they have done nothing to make this move smooth, in fact this was the worst service I have ever had! And whatever loopholes they are talking about I have no idea since they are the ones taking advantage of "loopholes" by paying me pennies for vast mishandling of my good furniture on their part! This would be far from a "free" move since the cost of replacing what they lost & fixing what they destroyed will be more than what they charged me! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/03) */ In talking with the salesperson, *** ********, he throughly explained the insurance offered, however, ***** ********** opted to take .30 cents a pound and did not want to pay additional monies for full coverage. By saying no one explained insurance to her is an absolutely untrue. If full coverage was not obtained we can't replace anything without full coverage insurance. In discussing further with the employees, they conveyed ***** ********** was provided a successful move and they went above and beyond. We follow the rules of the moving industry and being that ***** ********** signed for .30 cents a pound there is nothing further we can do. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused her, however, ***** ********** is asking for a free move and this is something we are unable to provide her. The credit cards were signed authorizing the moving services. ****/**** ********* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again they are misrepresenting themselves & making light of their very bad service. The bottom-line is they lost my furniture & damaged other very good pieces of furniture. They also overcharged for hours they did not work, did not explain the insurance whatsoever & stopped up our toilet. They claim to have gone above & beyond & I ask, in what way? They haven't answered that question because they have done absolutely nothing to try & make this right. If anything they have only made the situation worse by suggesting I am trying to get a free move. If they had given all this customer service that they claim, I wouldn't be writing to the BBB!! All they want to do is pay $340 & that doesn't even cover the piece they lost, let alone all the damage they did. The insurance unexplained is an easy way out of taking responsibility. I thought I was working with a reputable company since *** ******** is the mayor of Palatine. I was charged over $3000. so I expected to receive a good moving experience. Unfortunately they did not provide this.

8/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initial appointment was discussed as **** 30 delivery date of stored possessions to ******* *** from their storage facility. Upon meeting w/ **** ********* approx. 2 weeks prior to that date to discuss our agreement, he struck me on right thigh when slamming papers at me. He yelled "**** you" at me and left the office as he said " I am done working with you". We incurred alnost 2000 of dollars of additional expenses as our move arrived 5 days later than discussed. In addition, there were 2 pages of damaged and mishandled possessions. When the driver arrived to load our possessions from *********, he found them out in their parking lot. With all of his years of experience, the driver had never seen anyones possessions handled in such a manner.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of all unexpected out of pocket expenses, replacement of damaged property, BBB review and discipline, possible expulsion from BBB.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/12) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@vonsydow.com In response to **** *******'s complaints on her move and in Von Sydow's working with her throughout this move. She received nothing but the highest "white glove" treatment from Von Sydow's staff all the way up to the President of Wheaton World Wide. This is a case where the more we tried to please her, the worst her demands became. She has made accusations about **** *********, owner, and some of our other employees, which was untrue, because she didn't hear the answers she wanted to hear - she wanted Wheaton World Wide Moving to pay for her move to Florida. There was a meeting with **** *******, her husband, our office claims person, **** ******** and **** *********. She kept on with her complaints. When Mr. ********* laid the papers in her lap and closed the meeting, and **** ******* could see she wasn't hearing the answering she wanted to hear, she started screaming Mr. ********* hit me. Her husband said, no he didn't hit you and the claims person, **** ********, said no he didn't hit you. And then **** ******* went so far as to ask our claims person, **** ******** if she would be a witness that Mr. ********* hit her and **** ******** stated - Mr. ********* did not hit you. In the feedback received, **** ******* appeared to be an extremely emotional person, unprofessional, crying, yelling and totally out of control throughout the entire process. She even stated to Mr. ********* prior to the meeting, if she didn't receive her delivery on the date ******* promised, "HER HUSBAND WOULD **** HER". **** ******* showed no respect to her husband when he was trying to reason with her. She stated this would be an inconvenience to her and her family and would cost her more money and she wanted to be compensated for this. We understand how difficult it may have been for **** ******* being in the real estate industry and being affected by this economical storm and this may have played a major part in her emotional behavior, however, we are professionals and we came through the same economical storm with Chicago being hit the hardest in the real estate industry. And we can't treat **** ******* any differently than we treat our other customers. There are some customers no matter what you do, you can't please them and **** ******* is one of those customers. Feedback is that **** ******* appears to be an extremely angry person when she doesn't get her way. With the busy season and due to the economic backlog, It is our understanding that ******* ***** **** corporate headquarters in ************ who schedules the drivers, did everything in their power to accommodate **** *******, however, she was still not pleased and therefore this is what prompted her to continue this saga to try to get additional money for the cost of her move. If **** ******* has any further complaints she will need to deal direct with ******* ***** **** ********* Headquarters in Indianapolis, Indiana and we have no further comments, this has been turned over to our attorney. *********'s Moving and Storage, Inc. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/08/29) */ This is not resolved. ********* has not responded or reconciled in any way to our request to reimburse our out of pocket expenses caused by their inability to deliver our move until 5 days following the agreed upon move date. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/13) */ **** *******'s additional response is totally off base. First off, she states that **** ********* was asked by Dave Allen of Wheaton Corporate if Mr. ********* hit her. **** ********* is the wife of **** ********* and **** ********* was not present at the meeting with **** *******, her husband, **** ********* and **** ********. **** ******** specifically expressed that **** ********* did not hit **** *******. **** *******'s husband, who **** ******* shows no respect to, told his wife, he did not hit you. When put on the spot in any situation by a customer, no employee wants to get involved or get in the middle and yes all employees need their jobs. I don't know an employee that wouldn't have answered in the same way that **** ******** answered. The bottom line is **** ******* is looking for financial compensation for something that is not entitled to her. Making a statement such as she made about her husband; IF SHE DIDN'T RECEIVE HER DELIVERY ON THE DATE WHEATON PROMISED, "HER HUSBAND WOULD KILL HER", doesn't surprise us that she is making false statements about the *********'s employees and Mr. *********. Another example of "selective hearing" with **** *******, she isn't getting the answers she wants to hear, therefore, she wants to keep the saga going. Consequently, being professionals we have no further comments. This case has been turned over to our attorney.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Von Sydow's Moving and Storage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)