BBB Accredited Business since

Metropolitan Moving & Storage Corp.

Phone: (773) 287-5353 Fax: (773) 287-5151 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.chicagomoversmet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metropolitan Moving & Storage Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Metropolitan Moving & Storage Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Metropolitan Moving & Storage Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 14, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated 02/18/2000 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Howard Manchik, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Howard Manchik, Owner
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Piano & Organ Moving Trucking - Light Hauling House Furnishings & Services Transportation Services Relocation Service Truck Rent & Lease Services - General Travel & Moving Services Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Products & Services

We provide moving and storage services to commercial offices, high rise condos, commercial, and industrial customers including moving antiques, artwork and pianos.


Additional Locations

  • 5420 W Roosevelt Rd Ste 109

    Chicago, IL 60644 (773) 287-5353

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The moving company did provide service, however, a brand new ***** ******* disappeared between the first apartment and the second apartment. Called the company of course they said they questioned movers and it was delivered. They are stating box was taped up and first apartment and then still taped when it arrived at second apartment. They are the ones who put the computer in the box and it have easily been untaped the computer removed and retaped. There was an employee in truck unsupervised. They are also stating I signed the agreement that everything was delivered. How are we supposed to know when everything is not unpacked and I am not paying $134 an hour for guys to stand around why I unpack everything.

Desired Settlement: I want the computer returned undamaged, or a replacement. I want all four employees that moved us to have a lie detector test taken by a licensed person and I want to press charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/17) */ I have offered to cooperate with the customers. I told them to make a police report out and I would provide the names addresses and any other info the police need. I told them I cannot make the police report because I am not the victim. I will continue to help the customers and the police with all info they request. One point that bothers me is she had very little belongings . And every little bag which supposedly was where the computer was was secured in a wardrobe box. The wardrobes were in secured in the old home and unsecured in front of customer in new home. From talking to the movers on the job they had put the contents of the wardrobe boxes in the wrong place and then handed each bag to the customer. The bag with a laptop in it was handed to the customer or her mother . According to the guys the new computer would have been the only item of value as we were moving out her college dorm room or apt. Why wouldn't they notice that a brand new ***** laptop was missing until 4 hours after the move when I got a call? When they were handed the bag that supposedly held the new computer why didn't they notice it then? If there really was a brand new ***** laptop wouldn't that be the first thing you were looking for before the movers left. If they couldn't find it then I would have told them to call the police while the crew was still there. They had such few possessions why put in a bag an open bag where things could fall out of. So my men put all the open bags in a wardrobe and taped them shut. They were not opened until they were in the new apartment . And every piece was handed to customer. How could that not be the first thing they looked for. They claimed it was in the same bag as another computer. ****** ******** handed that bag to the mother. None of this story makes any sense but I will provide all info police may need or want and will participate in anything asked of me. To date I have not heard from the police. So as far as I know nothing is missing. AGAIN I WILL COOPERATE WITH POLICE IN ANYWAY I AM ASKED OR CAN HELP. What I can't do is just hand over money because the customer said an item that was in a bag that made it to the new apt and was handed to the mother. And then the contract was signed off that everything was delivered in apparent good condition. She signed that, she has not filed a police report like I suggested they just want me to write a check based on their word. I will do anything I can to resolve matter by letter of law and our contract that was signed by customer Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Nothing was ever handed to anyone! The movers unpacked the wardrobe boxes and put everything in a large walk in closet. The possessions were piled on top of each other so it a while to go through mess. We called as soon as everything was unpacked to make sure that it wasn't placed somewhere else. It was not 4:00, it was more 2:30. I signed that everything was in good condition, was I supposed to pay $134 an hour to have the employees stand around while single thing is unpacked. The police department was called immediately but with all the crime in Chicago they wouldn't do anything except give a case number. I will never resolve this case, as I stated before and the Metropolitan Moving even acknowledged she had very little belongings and this was the most expensive thing she had. I was told they would cooperate but after talking to Howard on July 1, he said it was his day off and to call another guy, I did that and this guy was supposed to be the supervisor. I talked to the supervisor on July 1 and he was to interview all employees but I never heard another word from the company. The only was I will resolve is a replacement computer all 4 the men given a lie detector test by a licensed professional with a witness. I also want an exact replacement of the computer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/20) */ There is no proof that the computer even exists. I was not there I know there was a laptop in a bag that is the only computer the guys knew about and that was delivered. After speaking with the men all small bags and belongings were placed in wardrobe boxes and sealed in front of the customer. At the new house they were unsealed tape cut open I front of customer . As the place was small they were limited to where to put items. After further investigation with movers I was told that there was s pile of items that the customer was taking themselves. I would have to believe a brand new ***** lap top would be in that group of items the customer took with her. Perhaps she never asked the movers for the new computer because she thought it was safe in her car? Maybe she didn't lock the doors and somebody walked by and grabbed it. That makes more sense then the movers stealing it prior to delivery when anybody would think that that would be the first thing the customer asked for. If it was me all belongings of extra ordinary value would be locked in my trunk under my control at all times . I believe the customer took it with her in her car and forgot to lock the doors or why wouldn't she ask the movers where it was before they left. The customer states she didn't want to waste clock time having the movers take the items out of closet to put in bathroom. That makes no sense . It would have taken less than 5 minutes. Additionally, money was not an issue as customer was so happy with service that she tipped each man $50.00. To speak frankly most of belongings were old dorm room stuff. If it was me and I had one thing of extra ordinary value I would have made sure I had it in my hands before the movers left. When I got called the men had time to return truck to lot and all men were home via *** already. Why wasn't the only item of value. A) sent with truck when could have gone in car B) identified before movers left. C) what person would take an item that was certain to be produced and risk their freedom and job. If that item did go in the truck. One would have to be very very slow not to think that that would be the first thing the customer asked to see. Once again I will produce the movers to the police or anywhere you would like the polygraph test taken. None of the story I'm told makes any sense and I'm not going to repeat it again. I'm sure customer took her purse and other items with her. We were never asked to produce new computer during unload during paperwork where she signed off everything was delivered in apparent good shape( that would have been the reminder to confirm the new computer was delivered ) but the men were never asked about it. They then finished paperwork, loaded truck with our equipment said goodbye and received tip and went home to rest for another day moving. After all that stated above, I am supposed to go buy her an apple lap top ? That's why we have paperwork and contracts. Before signing off would have been a good time to confirm computer was in house, before handing out $200 in tips would have been another opportunity . The customer had ample opportunity to confirm computer, she had reminders, she had a crew chief on site. There is no way any reasonable person could think we had anything to do with the missing item. More likely it was left in unlock car and now she is looking for a deep pocket to cover her mistake. My pockets are not so deep. I have kids to take care of and feed. We are an easy target. But we had nothing to do with anything missing . Let me know when and where you want all four men to take polygraph. I will produce them.

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Metropolitan moving to move us out of or 3 bedroom townhouse into a new house on may 29th. The movers were scheduled to come at 900 am. They did not arrive until 1015am. The movers had to frequently be reminded to move things. Employees were seen standing around, chatting etc instead of working. This was time that was billed. A move that should have taken 5-7 hours total took 10 hours. The owner of the business was not responsive on the phone when called. He blamed the situation on tired movers. After our townhouse was packed up the truck did not show up to the new residence for an entire hour after they left the old residence. The new residence is only 5 minutes away. There was no explanation given. When I asked the owner he said they probably took lunch. He intended to bill me for their lunch. He took 30 minutes off for lunch even though they were gone for an hour. Owner was rude and patronizing on the phone. The owners employees were unprofessional. I did not feel at anytime that I received the correct service for the amount of money spent.

Desired Settlement: I would like the additional half hour the employees took for lunch. I would also like a refund of two hours in addition to the one already given due to estimated time wasted by employees not working or doing their job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/01) */ The customer contacted me midway through the move stating that he did not feel they were working as fast as they could. When I contacted crew chief he said the heavy rain was slowing them up as they had to put shrink wrap over the padded furniture also they had to wait some times because the rain was very heavy. I spoke to the customer and offered him lunch and one hour off the bill. The men originally told me they took a half hour for lunch. So at that point an hour and a half would come off the bill. I said if he wasn't happy at end of the move he should call me back and we could talk about it. I never heard back from the customer so I assumed all was well. He could have called me before contacting the BBB. I have spoken with the men and they were not sure of how long lunch was. So I will refund another half hour for lunch and an hour for good faith. So once his card goes through I will refund an additional hour and a half. Again he could have called me that night and would have gotten same resolution. But he did not give me the opportunity to do so. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response because the actions stated in it were not followed through. I spoke with the owner of the business. He said that he would follow through on the refund stated in his response but he has yet to do so in a reasonable amount of time. This leads me to believe that he never intended to give a refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2015/07/08) */ The money was returned to his credit card. I don't have control of how long it takes the banks to reverse the transaction however I did send the customer a copy of the transaction of returning $200.00 that I received from the bank. I ask if he had received the email showing the credit to his card but he has not responded yet. I certainly hope that this shows as satisfied or whatever shows that I complied with his request . Please confirm with the customer that he got his money and we are credited properly. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 24, 2015/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb 25, I spoke with ****** ******* to discuss costs of a March 15th move. He quoted a 4 man crew for $115/hr, travel costs of $57.50 and unlimited use of materials for $100. I agreed to those terms and placed a $100 deposit. On March 13th, ***** the supervisor for the move called me to discuss the details of the move and informed me I would be charged seperately for boxes and gave me a range of how much they would cost. With only 2 days to the move, I felt I had no time to look for another moving company to even compare prices. The move occurred on March 15th and I was charged $423.30 for 23 CARDBOARD BOXES! I paid the bill in full $1,410.80 less the deposit.

Desired Settlement: The charge for boxes was not disclosed to me at the time I contracted for the services. It was disclosed before the move, but left me no time to research other moving services. I am seeking a full refund of the $423.30 charged for 23 boxes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** w********************* chicago il XXXXX This could be the most confusing complaint ever even though we do not get many, this one I did not understand at all. As I was going over all the charges for moving with us,, a very popular charge is the one time material charge. Where as many other companies charge per roll of tape, per piece to shrink wrap and some per use of wardrobe box. Depending on size of home and how many men we give our customers a flat rate. (The other companies pay a high commission on material sales) we do not. The only variable in our contract is time. The only variable would be packing. This customer mentioned that she might need some packing done. I gave her the price of each box size and asked her to call me a few days before the move because we do not bring parking materials on the truck. It is a special order type thing. Having not heard from her I asked ****, the dispatcher to call her to see how far along she gotten packed. She stated that there was a lot to be packed. **** went over pricing again and went to the supply store to get what she needed. She stated to bill that all packing was included in the move in the material charge. The material charge is lsid out snd covers furniture. **** spoke to her 3 days or so before themove. He went over the ecact prices I did a week or so beforbefore.According to her logic a person could have a 6 room mansion and a full pack would be included fot $125.00 The customer was explained the packing proceedure twice by 2 different employees exact pricing and all. She states thethere were only a few days after she spoke to **** so she was stuck with us. What I believe Iis she called other companies and found that packing is slways a separate service. Basically she wants a refund for 100% of packing. Not only did I tell her how that is priced, but it was in my notes so I told **** to call her to see if she still needed packing or we would not have come with snything but wardrobe boxes and spees paks. Bottom line is she was explained the exact proceedure by 2 different employees. We followed up on packing, not her. Of we invluded packing for free with th amount of jobs we do we would be out of business in a month. Thank you for hearing our side of story

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service