BBB Accredited Business since

LifeStorage Corporate

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 968-0001 View Additional Phone Numbers 1650 N Randall Rd STE 103, Aurora, IL 60506 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lifestorage.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LifeStorage Corporate meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LifeStorage Corporate include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 10
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LifeStorage Corporate
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 30, 2009 Business started: 02/01/2001 Business started locally: 02/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michelle Wight Sands, Director of Operations Mr. Mark Good, CEO Ms. Cathy Porter, A/P Ms. Shalonda Siler, District Mrg
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michelle Wight Sands, Director of Operations
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Moving Supplies Storage Units - Household & Commercial Warehouses - Merchandise Conference Centers Mail Box Rental & Receiving Office & Desk Space Rental Service Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Life Storage LifeStorage LifeStorage of Elk Grove LifeStorage of Enterprise LifeStorage of Milwaukee North LifeStorage of Pell Industrial LifeStorage of Rhodes Ranch LifeStorage of Richardson LifeStorage of Sacramento State LifeStorage, LP
Products & Services

This company offers storage rent office space mailbox conference rooms incubator, office suites flexible, higher quality $2045 cost effective


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1380 Lead Hill Blvd
    Suite 200

    Roseville, CA 95661

  • 1650 N Randall Rd STE 103

    Aurora, IL 60506 (630) 907-6080

  • 777 Lake Zurich Rd Ste 200

    Barrington, IL 60010 (888) 968-0001 (847) 381-1911 (312) 842-0004 (847) 381-1911 (916) 481-2600 9164812600102

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to know "for sure" what my parking rate is. It varies from month to month and the tax rates have changed several times. No notifications have been rec'd even though they said it was mailed. They have my email address to - why not notify via email? I never rec'd notification and the rate increase explanations have been lies told by employees of the facility to me directly several times. Plus they tried to get me to move to an unsafe location on the lot and when that didn't work they tried to be rude so I would vacate.

Desired Settlement: I would like to reimbursed for the amount of the tax difference they are claiming and a new contract agreement of what my rate is exactly...so it is not variable and changing each month on their discretion...unfair business practices!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/07/30) */ We reduced the rate increase for the customer. We are not able to do anything about the taxes as the tax rate in Harris County is 8.25%. We informed the customer of what we done for her and she didn't have any further questions.

6/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract customer information sheet did not contain the business letterhead. They required me to pay by credit card and did not offer other payment options. They required a photo copy of my drivers license and they required my social security number which I foolishly gave them. A copy of the tenant information sheet was not given to me with my copy of the contract. After thinking about it I became concerned that I had given too much information. I called around to three other storage facilities and none required social security information or copy of driver license.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want my social security number and drivers license number removed from their data base and files.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/05/19) */ I've still yet to hear from you regarding this complaint. We never received this in our BBB group email distribution list, so we had no idea this complaint existed. What is even stranger is that we don't have a customer in our database. We have not record of them storing with us, now or in the past.

3/23/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have been automatically charging my credit card each month without my consent. Also they added a $13.00 extra charge / month for insurance without informing me that they were going to do that.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Just wanted to bring this to your attention. They should have to change the way they do this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/09) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** DM. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@lifestorage.com We are sorry for any confusion, however ***** is not our actual tenant. We understand that the complainant had made arrangements to make the payments for our tenant. All appropriate communications were held with the tenant directly. If she chooses to no longer pay for the tenant's account we would be happy to remove her card from file for the charges to the account.

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our trailer was stored at the LifeStorage on Spencer in Las Vegas. On Christmas Eve we went over to the LifeStorage to pick up our trailer for a family vacation. Our trailer was broken into through the back window. Out tv, keurig, space heater, kitchen utensils, family photos, queen bed set, previous camping memories, and so much more was taken. They urinated in our bathroom sink and all over the bathroom. When we went to the front desk to explain the situation we received no remorse and no resolution. It was the worst customer service that we have ever received. There were 5 other trailers/RVs that were broken into. If you park your RV/Trailer/Boat at LifeStorage we recommend that you check on it right away and move it immediately. They stated that they have surveillance on the RV parking section but they don't have any surveillance on the back of the RVs and it is parked next to a wash. It was a scam and now we are left with the damages. We hope this doesn't happen to any other families who have trusted LifeStorage.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the months that we parked our trailer at the lot. $70 per month for the last 7 months. Refund for all of the items stolen and the damages to the trailer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/10) */ We are very sorry about the experience our customer had at our ********* ***** location. We are especially disappointed that the customer felt our managers were not responsive. We value our customers, and want them to always feel we have provided the best service possible, in all circumstances. We obviously did not meet this standard, and we sincerely apologize. We do have coded gate access, and security cameras throughout the property, including on the RVs. Our security is comparable to any in the industry, and we wish we could guarantee 100% protection, but that's not possible. Although under the terms of the rental agreement we are not liable for losses to vehicles, we do sincerely regret this customer felt our service was lacking, and we have issued a refund for $241.50 for half of the rent paid during the last 7 months. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have not received the refund amount listed above. Once we received the credited amount stated we will accept the response as complete. Thank you, ******* ***** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/01/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have not received the refund stated in the response from the company. Once received the refund we will consider the resolution satisfactory. Thank you, Chelsey Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/01/22) */ Hello, LifeStorage submitted the refund check, and it was mailed out on 1/21/15 USPS standard mailing.

1/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: LifeStorage acquired ***** ******* in ********* I was notified a new AutoPay authorization was required after the payment due date. I sent them the new authorization, they confirmed receipt, then sent me a bill including a late fee. I spoke with the "manager" ********, who claimed she had no record of the re-authorization, but that I'd sent them an email stating I was closing my storage unit. I was adamant that I had not sent them a closing notice, and she proceeded to read back to me my "email" stating I was. Eventually, she realized she was looking at the wrong file, then told me she couldn't reverse the late charge because she wasn't the person I'd dealt with before. She then claimed my credit card had been declined (this was the first I'd heard of this, not sure it's even true.) I contacted LifeStorage's corporate office. I was transferred to a third party reservation call center, and was told they could only take a message.

Desired Settlement: I want the erroneous late charge reversed. I want a written promise from the corporate office they won't do this again and that my auto pays will be processed in a correct and timely fashion. I want my complaint on permanent record to make sure they don't pull this scam on anyone else.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/22) */ This tenant is a long-time customer, and we deeply regret the confusion and inconvenience she has been caused. Her credit card had been denied for some reason, resulting in a late fee. We apologize that her interaction with our employee left her dissatisfied. We appreciate that she paid the late fee in advance of its being resolved, and we have given her a credit for that $20, which has been applied to January rent. We take our tenant feedback seriously, and have done training to ensure our communications with customers are more effective. We hope this tenant will give us a chance to provide her with the high level of customer service it is our intention to provide.

1/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have charged an additional fee of $13.xx without any invoice or explanation, despite multiple attempts to communicate with them via email, phone, and in person. ********, the local ******** office representative, said they were not responsible for any orders made on the website and that I should contact the headquarters, and then said that she had no phone number or any way to contact them. They have ignored my recent email requesting clarification as well. Date: 11/04/2014 Confirmation code: XXXXXXXXXX payment amount $72.50 + $13.07 payment method: bank of america card

Desired Settlement: refund and a letter of apology

11/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have completly lost all patience trying to remedy this situation by calling the facility directly. I have spoke with two different individuals and left a message with the manager and have not had a response other than my refund is processing or under investigation. I had wanted to downsize my storage unit and was going to have my husband open up an account for the unit so we could move our remaining items into the smaller unit, I was told it wouldn't matter if my husband or myself were to open a second unit and it would be easier for me to do it since I already had a payment account set up online. I was told once I moved everything out of the larger unit to stop back into the office and they would process a refund since I had just paid for the unit three days previous to my closing it. So I was then given the close out paperwork specifying that I would recieve a 231 dollar refund. Around ten to twelve days later I had called to check the status of the check since I still hadn't seen anything. I was told it was still processing through headquarters, another week goes by and I'm told that they are investigating why the refund wasn't put towards my other unit and they would get back to me. Which shouldn't matter to begin with because I was told I could either put my refund towards the dues of the new unit or recieve the refund and I opted for the refund. We were unsure if we would need the unit for more than two to three months. So I then called the manager and left a message with no response. So I went to the headquarters website and sent two e-mails with no response. I am beyond frustrated and my husband and I are looking to close all accounts with Life Storage due to their poor business practices. I specifically asked questions during the closure process to keep this from happening. They should abide by the information provided from their own employee and process my refund in a timely manner. Product_Or_Service: Rental of Storage Unit Account_Number: ******** ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I simply wish for my refund to be expedited and delivered AS SOON AS POSSIBLE! Also, better educate your employees and understand that their are dozens of other storage facilities within the ********** area. If you don't fix your management of this facility I will most likely not be the last customer to look elsewhere.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/14) */ There appear to have been a misunderstanding and perhaps insufficient communication with Ms. ****** given by a former manager. Under the terms of the ********** rental agreement, no partial month rent refunds are given. However, since Ms. ****** is still a tenant, the credit is transferable. This should have been and has been done. The customer was also at time of transfer given a 3-month new move in discount although this would not have applied in a transfer situation. We appreciate Ms. ******'s business, and apologize that we did not communicate our policy clearly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is not my responsibility to verify the information provided to me at a time of sale from so called management. The gentlemen who later refered to himself as a manager stated that there was no need for my husband to open up a unit during our transition since I had already established a payment account. We were falsly advised to open up an additional unit prior to our existing thirty day rent of our current unit expiring. We based our decision to take two days out of our busy schedules to clear our larger unit and transfer items to the newly rented smaller unit within these two days in order to recieve said refund. If you ask me your employee was responsible for in a bait and switch tactic in the least. And if you were a reputible company you would acknowledge this and work a little harder to keep your "long term" customers. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/11/07) */ We contacted the tenant on 10/23 to address her comments. She was not available, and a voice message was left apologizing for all inconvenience and miscommunication. We reiterated that since she is still a tenant, all her payment had been credited to the account, and that she is paid through mid-January. We also offered a compromise if she wanted part of the credit back as a refund. No response was received, and the tenant still rents from this facility. We appreciate her business and hope that going forward she will give us the opportunity to exceed her customer service expectations.

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out of their storage unit October 16th, 2013. They told me I had to make the full months payment which was due on the 9th and because I was moving within 7 days of the payment I would be receiving a reimbursement the following Tuesday. The manager told me it was their policy for the customers to pay the full months rent first then a check will be mailed out to them a few later. He said they do not do prorating payments but will issue a check out for the unused week's because I was moving out within the 7 day time frame. I have stopped by numerous times and have called at least once a month for the past 5 months because I have yet to receive the money I was told would be sent back to me. The manager has been extremely rude and short. He keeps giving me the same excuses every time I talk with him and keeps telling me that this is their procedure on how they handle refunds. But every time I have talked to him before he has told me something very different from "I don't know why you haven't received your money. I sent in the request. Let me send it in again and you should be receiving it in a few weeks" to "This is our procedure. It takes awhile. They must have overlooked it. It was dismissed. They're asking me why we are issuing a refund from way back in October when we normally don't do refunds." Which is a complete lie because that's not what I was told when I asked for a prorated rent in the first place. The last conversation we had was today, March 10, 2014 and he proceeded to interrupt me, give me the same excuses he's been giving me over the past 5 months and began to curse at me as well. This business is horrible and is blatantly not giving people their money back when they were told it would be. I do believe that counts as stealing. The manager is extremely rude, very unhelpful, an absolute liar and fully unprofessional. He hasn't taken responsibility for anything and as far as I am concerned, is stealing people's money. This is a horrible business and do not recommend this place at all. Product_Or_Service: monthly storage unit rented Account_Number: unit *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the approximate $80 that is owed to me as promised as soon as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2014/09/17) */ Customer received and cashed her refund check in April, 2014. Attached is the check # and receipt.

9/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I had rented a storage unit and were behind on our payment. My wife was leaving the state for a couple of weeks and had gone in to pay off our balance before she left. When she asked the employee on duty when the latest date that she could pay was, he told her August 15. If the balance wasn't paid by that date, the unit would be auctioned off at the end of August. Because of this, my wife decided not to pay that day so that we would have money to survive until I got paid. Figuring now we had about 4 weeks to pay our balance, my wife left on her trip. We tried to go in and pay our balance on 8/13/2014, but were informed that our unit was sold on 8/7/2014. We had full intention of paying our balance, but because of the lies of the employee she spoke to, all of our possessions were sold and we have no way to get them back. When confronting the manager about this situation, he told us there was nothing we could do, that there was no contact information for corporate, and that my wife was a liar and never spoke to the employees in question. He stands firm in saying that that employee wasn't even there during that time period. The manager never even made mention of taking corrective action towards his employee for his lies or his mistake. They also told us that they tried to call and text message us before the unit was sold, but neither my wife or I received any messages. He just turned my wife away calling her a liar. I will never do business with this company again nor refer any business to these liars and thieves, not that I have any possessions to store anymore thanks to them. Product_Or_Service: Storage Unit Account_Number: Unit ***

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement My desire would be to get my belongings back, because many of them are sentimental, but I know that will not happen. I would like corrective action taken on the employees involved in this fiasco, first and foremost. If at all possible I would like replacements of my belongings, even if I can't get the sentimental value back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/20) */ We were not contracted with ************ ******. We were contracted with ******** ****** so we can only give out limited information. If the Customer wishes to open up a new case we will be happy to address the issue. We did follow every ****** Lien law and the statutes and the customer did have her lien letter with dates and time of auction. We also published the legal ad with dates and time. I can say the buyer of the unit did bring back 3 duffle bags full of ********'s personal belongings which include paperwork, pictures, magazines, child belongings, personal DVD's and CD's. We request to have this case closed due to Mr. ****** was not under contract.

8/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBB @ *** ****** ** redirected us to BBB @ Chicago. We are not disregarding our responsibilities for Unit ***** We have always paid at least 6 mo or 1 yr in advance. The situation we now find ourselves was fabricated by LifeStorage of ********** due to their ignoring our calls & e-mails. In our opinion, this company is running a scam. 06.28.13: We were told by LifeStorage ************ our unit rate would be $25./mo & would be locked-in until we left. It will be adjusted @ Corporate. We paid by CC in full ➜ 01.01.14. All was OK. 01.02.14: Spoke to *** who was to get back to us after e-mailing her manager about the monthly rate because they wanted an increase. NOT TO WORRY, she'll call us! NO CALL. 01.06.14: We spoke to ****** ➜ again explained about ******* & locked-in monthly rate + ***. Someone will call us about resolution. 01.10.14 @ 3:15p: NO CALL ➜ BUT received nasty remote call from LifeStorage, where they hung up. Called *** - told her about the call. Not from them. It came from Corporate ➜ Don't worry everything is fine & wanted me to wait for her to receive an e-mail from her manager. We will not wait any longer & PAID THE ENTIRE 2014 CHARGE/$300. USING A *** *** accepted it as payment in full and again reassured us not to worry. 01.14.14: Part of an e-mail *** wanted me to send to her as a reminder: "Both you and ***** know we have been trying to pay this bill since the beginning of the year, while you waited for a response from the regional manager. Since you said there would be no late charge incurred, I'm confused. On Jan 13, 2014 we received a "late charge" letter dated Jan 08, 2014 from "Property Manager" w/a scribbled signature mailed from *** ****** I hope this does not initiate a problem which might lead to us defaulting, loosing our personal belongings. We know you are doing what you can & very competently as well, however when you do not get a response from the higher ups for well over a week, it's certainly not your fault. We'll wait to hear from you." NO RESPONSE! 05.13.14 ➜ Spoke to ****** ******* about the rent increase. She asked us to explain what has been going on, starting w/*** in 12.2013. She told us she would speak to *** for an update, and get back to us. We asked why she has to speak to *** and was told they are both co-managers and have the same responsibility and authority. HUH! NO RETURN CALL!! 07.28.14 ➜ Spoke again to ****** ******** Reminded her we paid for the entire year. She accessed our acc't in the computer because she "keeps all the notes for the unit in one place so it will refresh her memory". We were told her "manager" told her he was going to straighten out the monthy charge, not to worry, she will e-mail him a reminder and get back to us.  NOTHING! 08.02.14 ➜ Received a late notice ➜ DATED + MAILED JULY 27, 2014 signed by ******* Why are late notices sent almost 1 month after they are charged to the account?? Not good business practice. When ***** spoke to ****** on 07.28.14, ****** made absolutely no mention of her 07.27.14 letter, even though she was in our acc't on the computer, nor that there were late charges being incurred from 07.08.14. 08.04.14 ➜ We called ➜ no answer, left a message ➜ NO CALL BACK! 08.05.14 ➜ We called 2X ➜ no answer, left 2 (two) messages ➜ NO CALL BACK! 08.06.14 ➜ We called ➜ no answer, left a message ➜ NO CALL BACK! 08.08.14 ➜ Now we are again Late/$10. + $10. & in "Pre Lein"/$20. dated 07.16.14 ➜ AGAIN NOTIFICATION ALMOST A MONTH LATE. 08.09.14 ➜ We called 2X ➜ no answer, left message. Then we called and pushed prompt #1 not #2 and got to ***** in *** He gets the calls when no one picks us @ *** He filed a complaint for us against LifeStorage of Enterprise.

Desired Settlement: 1. We want the locked-in rate we were promised 06.28.13 by their manager, ******* to be honored. 2. 01.10.14 we paid 2014 IN FULL/$25./mo = $300. by CC & was accepted by *** @ LifeStorage of Enterprise. Since they accepted the payment, we want that honored. 3. REMOVE ALL LATE CHARGES AND PRE LEIN FEES. 4. Promptly return all phone calls/e-mails. Do not hang consumers out to dry so they can just keep adding fees and then put them into possible default. 5. Because they do not allow customers the ability to speak to their "manager" or someone @ Corporate, mandate they give out the appropriate direct phone # so this does not happen to anyone else. 6. We want a resolution in writing from LifeStorage of Enterprise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/11) */ We took care of the customer, and ****** is very satisfied. Please close this case as this case has been resolved.

7/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My first payment covered thru April 28, 2010. My unit number was ********* the ownership of Extra Space Storage my payments was timely. Life Storage of Country Club Hills took over ownership, they were not set up for automatic withdrawal My storage rental was due the 29th of each month. When Life Storage took over ownership they changed my due date the 1st of each month. I was never notified of a new rental agreement nor notified of the terms, thereby I never signed a new rental aggreement nor made aware of the assign or succession agreement with Extra Space Storage.I requested numerous occasion to set up a automatic withdral with Life Storage I was told they have not set up a automatic withdrawals, due to my travel schedule create problems. Unfortunately Life Storage sold all my possession to AUCTIONS in May 14 2014. I was current on my monthly storage rental. My balance was $220 of that $100 for auctions fees which was placed on the account March of 2014 for publication in newspaper, the remaining was insurance and late fees.It appears Life Storage is abusive with fees which is misleading to occupants.IT'S criminal how Life Storage conduct business solely for the purpose of forcing occupants into a lien situation with the intent of selling the occupants possession at auction for a profit.The partial payment reminder for April 23, 2014 show balance of $220. Theirs a clause in the reminder: PARTIAL PAYMENTS DO NOT STOP THE SALE OF YOUR PROPERTY IF SCHEDULED FOR AUCTION. My intial contract with Extra Space Storage monthly payment due the 29th of each month. Apparently auction took place on MAY 14,2014.Technically STOLE MY POSSESION in unit 166 for profit. I made several attempts to contact the District Manager ***** *** at ************ to discussed the matter and got no answers.I requested the local storage facility for Corporate number they refuse.I goggle Life Storage Corporate ************ to file a complaint.It's a JOKE YOU GET A RUN AROUND.Life Storage give you a Business Support Center file a complaint "useless".I went to the Country Club facility May XX XXXX to check on the status of my account spoke with **** ******* on site agent he notified me my unit has been sold for auction. I requested for the District Manager ***** *** number this was 11 am I called ****** while in the store got no answer. Mr.******* the site staff tried calling Mr. *** he also got no answer. Mr.******* said he will e-mail Mr. *** and have him to contact me. Mr. *** CALLED AT 5PM on MAY 29,2014 to confirmed my unit has been auction off. I reminded him I was current on my monthly storage and $100 of my balance was for Auction fees and misc. cost. I informed Mr. *** my rental agreement was for monthly storage not abusive fees. Life Storage prematurely locked me out of my storage,prematurely sent out notices for auctions to solicit buyers for a pre sale.

Desired Settlement: open for discussion. I had client privilege information, social security numbers, date of birth, credit card information, bank accounts personal address of client,BAD IF INFORMATION FALL IN THE HAND OF CRIMINALS, HACKERS

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ This complaint is for the Country Club Hills facility. I will have ******** take care of this issue. Thanks everyone. Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/06/12) */ I'VE A COPY OF LIFE STORAGE CONTRACT WHICH DETAIL THERE CONTRACT AGREEMENT WITH EXCESSIVE FEES. WHO DO I SUBMIT CONTRACT TO FOR YOUR REVIEW I WOULD LIKE TO READ THE RESPONSE FROM LIFE STORAGE. IT DOES'T APPEAR IN MY COMPLAINT Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/06/25) */ Please see our lease and addendum for our tenants. Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2014/07/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Requesting Life Storage a produce a copy of their rental agreement with my signature and date.I submit a copy of my contract with Extra Space Storage with shows my monthly anniversary date the 29th of each month which confirm my initial date in my complaint. Also noted none of the same language in Extra Space Storage regarding liens,deposits,fees(Life Storage excessive fees penalties.Additional in the rebuttal dated June 6, 2014 stated before and after EVERY AUCTION it expredssed to all bidders to dispose of ANY and ALL DOCUMENTATIONS to avoid identity theft. PROPEROUS to proved and belief. I know personally bidders with criminal back ground who invest storage bidding sole purpose to get access to people private documentation for identity theft and other criminal activities.I've been personally notified by a client who documentation was in the stolen storage that their identity has been compromise and seeking a investigstion.Due to Life Storage felling to screen their bidders who may have criminal background and criminal intent just for a bloody dollar.Just to believe or assume a bidder will honor the request is dangerous to the owner and the person documentation who in storage.I'ts very negligent upon Life Storage to belief a potential criminal bidder will adhere.I'm requesting from Life Storage a copy of the contract or letter expressing bidders to adhere and prof the bidder comply to this PROPEROUS statement.Also mention in Life Storage rebuttal June 6,2014 statement, (we can definitely reach outto see if ANY such items were kept to pass back to Mr *****). Unfortunately like all the other PROPEROUS statement by Life Storage I never received a call nor e-mail notifying me of such from Life Storage expressing such may been kept. I'm requesting BBB Please review my consumer orginal complaint review Life Storage Agreement which I was never aware of and make comparison with Extra Space Storage and analyze the abusive access fee,of Life Storage along with no monitoring nor screening of bidders for process of getting rid of documentation. I'ts criminal how Life Storage treat storage owners. Thank you

4/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently sold my mattress and box spring to a man in ******* ** that I had stored at Storage Kings(Sunday Jan 5th, 2014). The man I sold it to contacted me Sunday afternoon as I sold this mattress earlier that morning (I did not check the mattress prior to selling it and assumed the mattress was fine considering it was packaged) and stated that the mattress only was chewed, torn, had rat droppings, a dead rat was stuck to the mattress and a dead rat was inside the mattress, the man provided pictures as well. After notifying Storage Kings of the insident they didnt want to do anything about the situation and told me that I had to have identified the issues prior to the mattress leaving the storage unit. I am now out of $800.00 dollars and have no mattress with a festation of rats within my unit. Product_Or_Service: Storage Unit Number 7317

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like my claim to be processed so that I may replace the damaged mattress.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/25) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** District Mgr. Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **********@lifestorage.com We are really sorry to hear that Mr.****** had such an unpleasant experience involving our facility. We are committed to control these types of situations with monthly commercial pest control services to our facility. Unfortunately, in this situation we were not able to see the Mr. ******'s claimed damage first hand because the item in question had already been removed from the property. Once we heard of Mr. ******'s concerns we did verify that the area in which his items were stored were serviced monthly by our commercial pest control company. It is true that Mr. ****** had our customer protection program, however as stated in the contract that he signed in paragraph four of the addendum for customer protection, moths, insects, rodents or vermin are not covered. At this time we would like to offer Mr. ****** $200.00 credit to his account as a good faith gesture for the inconvenience he has experienced. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company charged me late fees of $50, $30 was waived following a discussion with an employee 7 November. The reason is as follows, my credit card expired on record and they failed to provide me an advance notice that it would be expiring or when the payment didn't go through to notify me right away to resolve the issue. What they did do is call me three weeks later to inform me of the credit card issue that I fixed right away. When I did that I wasn't notified of late fee instead I recived a letter November 6th infroming me of the $50 late fees. I have been a customer with them since 2008 and have never been late and have done my best to keep them informed, I believe its bad pratice of a company to do this to a tenant and decide to give me a partial waiver instead of it all. It's a slap in the face as an hosest customer. Product_Or_Service: storage unit Order_Number: na Account_Number: na

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Refund the remaining $20 that is left from a late that should have never happend.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/15) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** District Mgr. Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **********@lifestorage.com We are extremely disappointed to hear that we have failed to follow up with a courtesy phone call when we realized that the credit card on file was not processing. We agree that we could have done a better job of informing our customer of the balance on the account and should have been more pro-active in our attempts to contact him. We have honored his request to have all resulting late fees credited to the account. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience and stress that this has caused our customer and have since then put processes in place to make sure our customers are contacted in a timely manner if their credit card on file is expired.

4/28/2014 Delivery Issues
4/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company for information on renting a storage unit from them, and I let them know that I had a coupon that I printed from their website for 50% off the first three months. They said ok, got my information then said I needed to pay $10 over the phone to reserve a unit until I was able to come in that afternoon because they only had 2 units left. She said that the $10 would then be used towards the price of the storage unit when I got there and signed a rental agreement. I paid the $10 thinking that I would only have to pay the first months rent at half price minus $10 when I got there later on that day. When I arrived to the storage facility they told me that the coupon I had was no good for a storage unit and could only be used on parking spaces - not what it said online. They also said that there would be an admin fee of $22 due that day - no mention of that online or on the phone. They also said that I would be required to have insurance on the unit that I would be renting with them for an additional cost of $13 per month - no mention of that online or on the phone either. So instead of the $20 total I thought I was going to have to pay to rent a unit it came to $75! I then told them that I did not want to rent a unit from them due to knowing nothing of all the fees that would be charged, and I told them to refund my $10 prepayment. The person in the office understood and called his manager to find out how to do that, and his manager told him not to refund my money! Product_Or_Service: none

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) This storage facility needs to change their advertising online to include all required fees and to include mandatory insurance pricing with their quotes. They also need to specify if a coupon is only good for a particular rental space. The people in the office also need to let someone know what they are getting into price wise before they demand a prepayment to hold a storage unit or at the very least give them a refund when there is a misunderstanding.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 2, 2013/09/12) */ The customer has received the $10 refund requested. Our
policy is to always refund our $10 reservation deposit if the customer finds
that the storage units we have available will not meet their needs.
Unfortunately, in this circumstance there was a misunderstanding when the
request was initially processed because her reservation was still in our system
leading the supervisor to believe that although she was not completely happy,
she still intended to keep her reservation and that the appropriate response
was to apply the deposit to her first month of rent. In the end, we figured out
that she did not intend to rent and the deposit was promptly refunded.

All of our move-in incentives advertised online have the
qualification to "See manager for details" because our occupancy
changes rapidly. In this case the customer did call and was never told that the
discount she saw online would not pertain to her particular request. Thus, the
call center representative lead the customer to believe that the 50% off the
first three months would be honored for the customer's rental. Our in-store
manager (a person apart from the call center representative) should have honored
the reservation with this discount. It was our fault for not communicating the
appropriate move-in incentives to our call center representatives based on the
current occupancy.

We take responsibility for this misunderstanding between the
customer, our call center staff and our in-store staff. To prevent this from
happening in the future we have instructed our in-store staff to always honor
any move-in incentive discussed with the call center even if it is outside our
normal discount guidelines.

Regarding insurance, our customers are not required to
purchase anything from us. Because we do
not insure our customers? stored property our rental agreement does require our
customers to provide their own insurance.
This is a self-service storage industry standard and required by nearly
all self-service storage companies. This requirement can typically be met with
a homeowners or renters policy or a rider added to a homeowners or renters
policy procured from the customer's insurance company of choice. We also offer
an addendum to our rental agreement that transfers some liability to us in lieu
of insurance obtained by the customer for a monthly fee.

It is possible that the insurance requirement was not
discussed over the phone prior to the time of rental. Because our prospective
customers are usually seeking basic information before coming to our physical
location to ensure it will meet their needs, and because our rental agreement
is very similar to those of other self-service storage facilities, we have found
that our prospective customers generally don't want to spend the time on the
phone discussing all of the various terms of the rental agreement. Of course,
if a prospective customer has questions or concerns we are happy to answer
them.




2/21/2014 Delivery Issues
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have constantly complained about the freight elevators getting stuck at the ******* **** Storage location. Several times I have had to wait at the facility 15-30 minutes for onsite personnel to find and fix elevators. Complaining about the elevators get a mixed response. One manager is very conciliatory, but other manager (***) is very unprofessional making comments such as "I didn't design the building" etc... On Sunday September XX XXXX around 10:30am I went to the storage facility to remove items from my unit (XXXX) that is in the basement. The only way in and out of the basement is the freight elevator and emergency doors. While in the basement, the elevator got stuck on another floor (you could hear the elevator trying to move). I called the main number and didn't receive an answer so I started to panic. I then decided to use one of the emergency exits which of course sounded the alarm. I went around to the main entrance and one of the mangers, ***, was there. I informed him that myself and 3 others were trapped in the basement and we tried to call but no one answered. He advised that he was with a customer, but I had just made the call and no one was around that I was aware of. I asked him was the freight elevator the only way to get out of the basement and he advised yes. I stated that this was not a very **** solution since the elevators are always getting stuck and he responded in a derogatory tone that he didn't design the building. This is the second time that he has spoken to me in this way. On Monday September XX XXXX I went into the office and both managers were there. I spoke to the other manager about getting contact information for their supervisors/managers and he stated that he couldn't give me that information. I informed him of my concerns with *** and the facility and he advised me to give him my contact information and someone would call me. Before I left he made the comment, "Is there any way that we can handle this here in the facility without contacting management", which I assumed as a way of trying to avoid any repercussions from my complaint against them. I still have not received any response from them. I have tried contacting corporate, but I keep getting the run around. I suffer from Anxiety, so the feeling of being locked in a basement is a big issue for me. I also do not like that they are trying to seep this under the rug, and avoid any negative feedback.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from the management team. I also would like them to fix the freight elevators so this does not happen to me or anyone else in the future. Post signs on the floors on how to contact someone if they are stuck and come up with a way to get into and out of the basement in cases like this without having to set off an alarm.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/01/03) */ This customer, ***** *******, has filed a BBB complaint for the wrong business. In his details he is referring to our ******* **** location, which is a managed property by LifeStorage. This complaint should be closed because it's for the wrong business location. If Mr. ******* would like to open a BBB complaint for the proper location we'll be glad to properly respond.

8/28/2013 Delivery Issues
7/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service