BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2010

LifeStorage Corporate

Phone: (888) 968-0001

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service13
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints19

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (19)BBB Closure Definitions
03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have been automatically charging my credit card each month without my consent. Also they added a $13.00 extra charge / month for insurance without informing me that they were going to do that.

Desired Settlement
Just wanted to bring this to your attention. They should have to change the way they do this.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** DM.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@lifestorage.com
We are sorry for any confusion, however ***** is not our actual tenant. We understand that the complainant had made arrangements to make the payments for our tenant.

All appropriate communications were held with the tenant directly. If she chooses to no longer pay for the tenant's account we would be happy to remove her card from file for the charges to the account.

01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our trailer was stored at the LifeStorage on Spencer in Las Vegas. On Christmas Eve we went over to the LifeStorage to pick up our trailer for a family vacation. Our trailer was broken into through the back window. Out tv, keurig, space heater, kitchen utensils, family photos, queen bed set, previous camping memories, and so much more was taken. They urinated in our bathroom sink and all over the bathroom.

When we went to the front desk to explain the situation we received no remorse and no resolution. It was the worst customer service that we have ever received.

There were 5 other trailers/RVs that were broken into. If you park your RV/Trailer/Boat at LifeStorage we recommend that you check on it right away and move it immediately.

They stated that they have surveillance on the RV parking section but they don't have any surveillance on the back of the RVs and it is parked next to a wash. It was a scam and now we are left with the damages.

We hope this doesn't happen to any other families who have trusted LifeStorage.

Desired Settlement
Refund for the months that we parked our trailer at the lot. $70 per month for the last 7 months. Refund for all of the items stolen and the damages to the trailer.

Business Response
We are very sorry about the experience our customer had at our ********* ***** location. We are especially disappointed that the customer felt our managers were not responsive. We value our customers, and want them to always feel we have provided the best service possible, in all circumstances. We obviously did not meet this standard, and we sincerely apologize.

We do have coded gate access, and security cameras throughout the property, including on the RVs. Our security is comparable to any in the industry, and we wish we could guarantee 100% protection, but that's not possible. Although under the terms of the rental agreement we are not liable for losses to vehicles, we do sincerely regret this customer felt our service was lacking, and we have issued a refund for $241.50 for half of the rent paid during the last 7 months.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have not received the refund amount listed above. Once we received the credited amount stated we will accept the response as complete.

Thank you,
******* *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have not received the refund stated in the response from the company. Once received the refund we will consider the resolution satisfactory.

Thank you,
Chelsey

Final Business Response
Hello,

LifeStorage submitted the refund check, and it was mailed out on 1/21/15 USPS standard mailing.

01/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
LifeStorage acquired ***** ******* in ********* I was notified a new AutoPay authorization was required after the payment due date. I sent them the new authorization, they confirmed receipt, then sent me a bill including a late fee.

I spoke with the "manager" ********, who claimed she had no record of the re-authorization, but that I'd sent them an email stating I was closing my storage unit. I was adamant that I had not sent them a closing notice, and she proceeded to read back to me my "email" stating I was.

Eventually, she realized she was looking at the wrong file, then told me she couldn't reverse the late charge because she wasn't the person I'd dealt with before. She then claimed my credit card had been declined (this was the first I'd heard of this, not sure it's even true.)

I contacted LifeStorage's corporate office. I was transferred to a third party reservation call center, and was told they could only take a message.

Desired Settlement
I want the erroneous late charge reversed. I want a written promise from the corporate office they won't do this again and that my auto pays will be processed in a correct and timely fashion. I want my complaint on permanent record to make sure they don't pull this scam on anyone else.

Business Response
This tenant is a long-time customer, and we deeply regret the confusion and inconvenience she has been caused. Her credit card had been denied for some reason, resulting in a late fee. We apologize that her interaction with our employee left her dissatisfied. We appreciate that she paid the late fee in advance of its being resolved, and we have given her a credit for that $20, which has been applied to January rent.

We take our tenant feedback seriously, and have done training to ensure our communications with customers are more effective. We hope this tenant will give us a chance to provide her with the high level of customer service it is our intention to provide.

01/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have charged an additional fee of $13.xx without any invoice or explanation, despite multiple attempts to communicate with them via email, phone, and in person. ********, the local ******** office representative, said they were not responsible for any orders made on the website and that I should contact the headquarters, and then said that she had no phone number or any way to contact them. They have ignored my recent email requesting clarification as well.

Date: 11/04/2014
Confirmation code: XXXXXXXXXX
payment amount $72.50 + $13.07
payment method: bank of america card

Desired Settlement
refund and a letter of apology

11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have completly lost all patience trying to remedy this situation by calling the facility directly. I have spoke with two different individuals and left a message with the manager and have not had a response other than my refund is processing or under investigation. I had wanted to downsize my storage unit and was going to have my husband open up an account for the unit so we could move our remaining items into the smaller unit, I was told it wouldn't matter if my husband or myself were to open a second unit and it would be easier for me to do it since I already had a payment account set up online. I was told once I moved everything out of the larger unit to stop back into the office and they would process a refund since I had just paid for the unit three days previous to my closing it. So I was then given the close out paperwork specifying that I would recieve a 231 dollar refund. Around ten to twelve days later I had called to check the status of the check since I still hadn't seen anything. I was told it was still processing through headquarters, another week goes by and I'm told that they are investigating why the refund wasn't put towards my other unit and they would get back to me. Which shouldn't matter to begin with because I was told I could either put my refund towards the dues of the new unit or recieve the refund and I opted for the refund. We were unsure if we would need the unit for more than two to three months. So I then called the manager and left a message with no response. So I went to the headquarters website and sent two e-mails with no response. I am beyond frustrated and my husband and I are looking to close all accounts with Life Storage due to their poor business practices. I specifically asked questions during the closure process to keep this from happening. They should abide by the information provided from their own employee and process my refund in a timely manner.
Product_Or_Service: Rental of Storage Unit
Account_Number: ******** ******

Desired Settlement
I simply wish for my refund to be expedited and delivered AS SOON AS POSSIBLE! Also, better educate your employees and understand that their are dozens of other storage facilities within the ********** area. If you don't fix your management of this facility I will most likely not be the last customer to look elsewhere.

Business Response
There appear to have been a misunderstanding and perhaps insufficient communication with Ms. ****** given by a former manager. Under the terms of the ********** rental agreement, no partial month rent refunds are given.

However, since Ms. ****** is still a tenant, the credit is transferable. This should have been and has been done. The customer was also at time of transfer given a 3-month new move in discount although this would not have applied in a transfer situation.

We appreciate Ms. ******'s business, and apologize that we did not communicate our policy clearly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is not my responsibility to verify the information provided to me at a time of sale from so called management. The gentlemen who later refered to himself as a manager stated that there was no need for my husband to open up a unit during our transition since I had already established a payment account. We were falsly advised to open up an additional unit prior to our existing thirty day rent of our current unit expiring. We based our decision to take two days out of our busy schedules to clear our larger unit and transfer items to the newly rented smaller unit within these two days in order to recieve said refund. If you ask me your employee was responsible for in a bait and switch tactic in the least. And if you were a reputible company you would acknowledge this and work a little harder to keep your "long term" customers.

Final Business Response
We contacted the tenant on 10/23 to address her comments. She was not available, and a voice message was left apologizing for all inconvenience and miscommunication. We reiterated that since she is still a tenant, all her payment had been credited to the account, and that she is paid through mid-January. We also offered a compromise if she wanted part of the credit back as a refund. No response was received, and the tenant still rents from this facility. We appreciate her business and hope that going forward she will give us the opportunity to exceed her customer service expectations.

Page 1 of 4
07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My first payment covered thru April 28, 2010. My unit number was ********* the ownership of Extra Space Storage my payments was timely. Life Storage of Country Club Hills took over ownership, they were not set up for automatic withdrawal
My storage rental was due the 29th of each month.
When Life Storage took over ownership they changed my due date the 1st of each month. I was never notified of a new rental agreement nor notified of the terms, thereby I never signed a new rental aggreement nor made aware of the assign or succession agreement with Extra Space Storage.I requested numerous occasion to set up a automatic withdral with Life Storage I was told they have not set up a automatic withdrawals, due to my travel schedule create problems. Unfortunately Life Storage sold all my possession to AUCTIONS in May 14 2014. I was current on my monthly storage rental. My balance was $220 of that $100 for auctions fees which was placed on the account March of 2014 for publication in newspaper, the remaining was insurance and late fees.It appears Life Storage is abusive with fees which is misleading to occupants.IT'S criminal how Life Storage conduct business solely for the purpose of forcing occupants into a lien situation with the intent of selling the occupants possession at auction for a profit.The partial payment reminder for April 23, 2014 show balance of $220. Theirs a clause in the reminder: PARTIAL PAYMENTS DO NOT STOP THE SALE OF YOUR PROPERTY IF SCHEDULED FOR AUCTION. My intial contract with Extra Space Storage monthly payment due the 29th of each month. Apparently auction took place on MAY 14,2014.Technically STOLE MY POSSESION in unit 166 for profit. I made several attempts to contact the District Manager ***** *** at ************ to discussed the matter and got no answers.I requested the local storage facility for Corporate number they refuse.I goggle Life Storage Corporate ************ to file a complaint.It's a JOKE YOU GET A RUN AROUND.Life Storage give you a Business Support Center file a complaint "useless".I went to the Country Club facility May XX XXXX to check on the status of my account spoke with **** ******* on site agent he notified me my unit has been sold for auction. I requested for the District Manager ***** *** number this was 11 am I called ****** while in the store got no answer. Mr.******* the site staff tried calling Mr. *** he also got no answer. Mr.******* said he will e-mail Mr. *** and have him to contact me. Mr. *** CALLED AT 5PM on MAY 29,2014 to confirmed my unit has been auction off. I reminded him I was current on my monthly storage and $100 of my balance was for Auction fees and misc. cost. I informed Mr. *** my rental agreement was for monthly storage not abusive fees. Life Storage prematurely locked me out of my storage,prematurely sent out notices for auctions to solicit buyers for a pre sale.

Desired Settlement
open for discussion. I had client privilege information, social security numbers, date of birth, credit card information, bank accounts
personal address of client,BAD IF INFORMATION FALL IN THE HAND OF CRIMINALS, HACKERS

Business Response
This complaint is for the Country Club Hills facility. I will have ******** take care of this issue.



Thanks everyone.

Consumer Response
I'VE A COPY OF LIFE STORAGE CONTRACT WHICH DETAIL THERE CONTRACT AGREEMENT WITH EXCESSIVE FEES.
WHO DO I SUBMIT CONTRACT TO FOR YOUR REVIEW
I WOULD LIKE TO READ THE RESPONSE FROM LIFE STORAGE. IT DOES'T APPEAR IN MY COMPLAINT


Business Response
Please see our lease and addendum for our tenants.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Requesting Life Storage a produce a copy of their rental agreement with my signature and date.I submit a copy of my contract with Extra Space Storage with shows my monthly anniversary date the 29th of each month which confirm my initial date in my complaint. Also noted none of the same language in Extra Space Storage regarding liens,deposits,fees(Life Storage excessive fees penalties.Additional in the rebuttal dated June 6, 2014 stated before and after EVERY AUCTION it expredssed to all bidders to dispose of ANY and ALL DOCUMENTATIONS to avoid identity theft. PROPEROUS to proved and belief. I know personally bidders with criminal back ground who invest storage bidding sole purpose to get access to people private documentation for identity theft and other criminal activities.I've been personally notified by a client who documentation was in the stolen storage that their identity has been compromise and seeking a investigstion.Due to Life Storage felling to screen their bidders who may have criminal background and criminal intent just for a bloody dollar.Just to believe or assume a bidder will honor the request is dangerous to the owner and the person documentation who in storage.I'ts very negligent upon Life Storage to belief a potential criminal bidder will adhere.I'm requesting from Life Storage a copy of the contract or letter expressing bidders to adhere and prof the bidder comply to this PROPEROUS statement.Also mention in Life Storage rebuttal June 6,2014 statement, (we can definitely reach outto see if ANY such items were kept to pass back to Mr *****). Unfortunately like all the other PROPEROUS statement by Life Storage I never received a call nor e-mail notifying me of such from Life Storage expressing such may been kept. I'm requesting BBB Please review my consumer orginal complaint review Life Storage Agreement which I was never aware of and make comparison with Extra Space Storage and analyze the abusive access fee,of Life Storage along with no monitoring nor screening of bidders for process of getting rid of documentation. I'ts criminal how Life Storage treat storage owners. Thank you

08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Warehouses - Merchandise, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving Supplies, Office & Desk Space Rental Service, Mail Box Rental & Receiving, Conference Centers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.