BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Golan's Moving & Storage Inc

Fax: (847) 675-7560View Additional Phone Numbers3600 Jarvis Ave, SkokieIL 60076-4018

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Golan's Moving & Storage Inc is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Golan's Moving & Storage Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Golan's Moving & Storage Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (27)BBB Closure Definitions
11/07/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inventory Item # Items Description of Items Purchase Cost Claim Amount
165 Kid's Upholstered Chair- Disney Princesses Purchased from BabiesRUs on June 2014 $47.81 $47.81
51 Suitcase containing Women's Office Wear Dresses, Suits & Accessories Purchased from The Limited, Express, Banana Republic and The United Colors of Benetton stores $3000.00 $3000.00
150 Medium Box containing Blendtec Juicer, Keurig Coffee Machine, Kitchen Dining Set Keurig K60/K65 Special Edition Single Serve Coffee Maker, Item model number: K65, Date of Purchase: 4/2013, Purchase Price: $160.00, Weight: 2-3 lbs
Kitchen Dining Set: Corelle 16 Piece Dinner Set, Date of Purchase: 4/2013, Purchase Price: $200.00, Weight:12-3 lbs

$160.00

Desired Settlement
Either locate our missing inventory and deliver it to us or refund us the amount as per our submitted paperwork.

Business Response
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ***** *** against Golan's Moving & Storage, regarding missing items. We have also reviewed the Business' records and our claim files relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Mr. ****** *** hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from Illinois to **********, commencing on 6/24/14. We have no record of anyone named ***** ***, but assume it is Mr. ***' wife. At the time of delivery, Consumer made written notation of a misssing suitcase and 4 missing boxes. They were advised to call our claims office to obtain a claim form, in order to file a written legal transportation claim under the coverage chosen by them for their move. On 7/30/14 Mr. *** called our office & requested a claim form, which was emailed to him on that date. On 8/15/14 we received Consumer's claim form for missing items, with no supporting documentation (proof of contents of boxes, purchase receipts, proof of values, etc). On 9/5/14 we spoke with Mr. *** & confirmed that we had received his claim form & advised that he would receive an acknowledgement letter within 30 days of receipt of the claim form. Thereafter, on 9/10/14, we sent Consumer an acknowledgement letter, providing him with his claim # (XXXX-XXX) & advising that his claim was under review & he would receive a final determination within 120 days (see copy attached).

Currently, this claim is under review, and Consumer should expect to receive a final determination via mail by the 3rd week of December 2014 with any settlement offer being extended. Therefore, currently no compensation is due Consumer. Please update your records accordingly.

Thank you, ** ********* Director CPC

11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
8/8/14: online estimate requested. Sales rep ***** ****** forgot about the request and did not provide it until 8/12.
8/13: ***** ****** guaranteed Golan's would pick up on 8/30 and deliver between 9/1 and 9/14.
8/30: Golan's showed up half an hour late to pick up my belongings and spent two hours complaining about the amount of work there was to do.
9/2: ***** emailed a final total bill, with a revised weight 400 pounds more than the estimate, stating a final charge of $1443.81 instead of $893. This email also stated that Golan's would contact me 48-72 hours prior to delivery.
9/8: Having heard nothing, I emailed ***** for an update on the delivery date of my shipment.
9/9: ****** ******** responded to my email (Ref#XXXXXX) saying my shipment was delayed due to a broken truck and would be delivered sometime the week of 9/15 - exact date TBD.
9/9: I responded to ***** and ****** by email to express my dissatisfaction with the delayed delivery and lack or prior notification.
9/10: I called ****** to express my dissatisfaction. She replied that she would have to talk to her manager, ***** and would get back to me in a couple of hours. Five hours later, **** called and was rude, condescending, and patronizing as he tried to hold Golan's blameless the situation, and saying that Golan's would let me know as soon as possible IF my shipment was going to be delayed. I informed him that I had already been notified that my shipment would be delayed, and that said notification followed my inquiry, meaning Golan's did was not proactive in keeping me informed, but rather reactive to the situation. I asked for some assurance that the situation was being worked on, which he was unable to provide. Instead, in a snotty tone he told me he could call me every hour if I wanted to tell me he had nothing new to say, he could call me on 9/11 to tell me he had nothing new to say, or he could wait until 9/12 to call and maybe have some new information then. I asked him to call me on 9/11, just for my own piece of mind to know that the situation was being worked on, not forgotten. When I spoke about the inconvenience of having to take time away from a brand new job to await the delivery of my goods, the manager replied that Golan's would work around my schedule, including delivering at 9pm on a weeknight if necessary.
9/11: Having heard nothing from Golan's, I emailed ***** and ****** to request an update.
9/12: ****** called at 9:40am and informed me that my goods would be delivered Sunday afternoon - a time already mentioned to Golan's as inconvenient. When I mentioned this and ******* assurance that they would work around my schedule, ****** replied that 9/14 was in the original time frame, so the offer to work around my schedule was no longer valid. She also informed me that they had just discovered that due to the width of the street on which I live, a shuttle would be necessary at an additional cost of $350, which included a $100 discount from full price.
Given the hassles, headaches, and stress caused by Golan's, I find it utterly disgusting that their solution is to charge me an extra $350 to get them to do their job and deliver my goods within the timeframe guaranteed to me by ***** ******* I know that circumstances change and things happen, but Golan's showed no proactivity in this situation and offered little to no advance warning when circumstances did change. The lack of customer service, the lack of empathy, lack of compassion, and lack of proper communication skills should not be rewarded with an additional $350 charge. Golan's is a moving company, tasked with transporting precious personal items across the country so that people can build new lives. Given this experience, I feel like I have been taken advantage of my scam artists, and the lack of an appropriate response from Golan's has done nothing to allay that feeling.
http://dailykitty.blogspot.com/2014_09_01_archive.html#XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the $350 shuttle charge. The street on which I live is wide enough to accommodate a larger vehicle - it is four cars wide. The lack of advance notification that this service would be required in my specific instance, and the circumstances under which notification was given when I had no alternative but to pay the fee, are unacceptable.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ********* Director CPC
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX.6900
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
We have received the Consumer complaint filed by ***** ******** against Golan's Moving & Storage, regarding late delivery & overcharge. We have also reviewed her moving paperwork and the Business' records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that the Consumer hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from Illinois to *** ***** commencing on 8/30/14. Prior to the move Consumer obtained a phone/email estimate based solely on her representation of the size/scope of services needed. The estimate clearly states that any accessorial services needed (long carry, shuttle, stairs, additional shipment weight/volume, etc.) would result in additional charges above the estimate. She was also given an estimated delivery range of 9/1-9/14/14 at that time. After the shipment was picked up, Golan's emailed her on 9/9/14 advising that the shipment may be a few days later than estimated. Consumer advised on 9/10/14 that she must have delivery by 9/14/14 as she was starting a new job & it would jeopardize her career if she did not receive her goods by that date as she did not have anyone else who could accept delivery on her behalf. Therefore Golan's did everything possible to accommodate this & advised Consumer on 9/12/14 that they would indeed deliver to her within the agreed delivery range, on 9/14/14. They also advised that they had determined that a shuttle would be needed as the configuration of her delivery location would not accommodate a large tractor trailer. Consumer was advised that the normal rate for such a shuttle service was $450, but the Business gave her a $100 discount for customer service, for a total charge of $350. Consumer advised she did not want to take delivery on 9/14/14 although it was within the agreed time frame, as she had an appointment on that date. She was advised that she would need to be available for delivery & the Consumer then ended the call with Golan's representative. Delivery was in fact completed on that date, therefore no late delivery occurred. Consumer was charged appropriately for actual services ordered & received, and in fact was given a $100 discount for good will.

Based on the above, no late delivery or overcharge occurred and delivery has been completed to Consumer in full. Therefore, at this time no adjustment is due Consumer. We respectfully request that this case be closed as Resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have reviewed the response from Golan's Moving. Delivery did not take place on September 14, nor did I refuse delivery on 9/14. I was prepared to forego my previous appointment on 9/14 to take delivery. However, on 9/13, **** called me to inform me that delivery would not take place on 9/14 due to a sick driver. He called again on 9/14 to tell me the driver was still sick. On 9/15, I called him and he replied that the driver was still sick and a contingency plan had not been reached. I told him that if delivery was delayed to 9/19 or later, I would not be in town to receive the shipment. He replied that they would deliver on 9/18. On 9/16, I received a call from ****** confirming delivery on 9/19, which felt very much like Golan's was trying to force me into a situation wherein I would have to refuse delivery so that they could not be held accountable for damages. I also spoke to ***** on 9/16, who said that my shipment would be delivered on 9/18 if I agreed to provide a written statement saying that I would take down my BBB complaint, which felt an awful lot to me like my belongings were being held hostage. I told her I would not do anything regarding the BBB complaint until my shipment was received. On 9/17, I received a confirmation email from ****** stating that my shipment would be delivered between 6-8pm on Thursday, 9/18. The drivers for my delivery called me when I was on the subway home from work to meet them where there is no cell signal, did not leave an actual voice mail message, and proceeded to go take care of another job first. After several additional phone calls with the delivery driver, they finally appeared to deliver my belongings at 9:06pm on September 18, four days after the first delivery window, and over an hour after the second promised delivery window. It appears that ** ******** is missing about a week's worth of phone calls and paperwork in regard to what actually happened during this transaction. I would suggest that Golan's go back and update their records to reflect the most current information on the situation.

The shuttle charge was waived, yes. I am no longer requesting a $350 refund for the shuttle fee. I am requesting that the BBB hold Golan's accountable for their breach of contract and unethical business practices including (but not limited to) ***** saying my belongings would be delivered on 9/18 on the condition I take down my BBB complaint, and the boldfaced lies told in their response stating that the shipment was delivered on 9/14. I have attached photographs of the delivery receipt signed by the Golan's driver and I, dated 9/18, and stating that one dresser and at least three boxes were damaged upon delivery. I have also attached photographs of the damage.

Golan's has failed to act professionally, responsibly, or ethically in handling my move. This response claiming that my shipment was delivered on 9/14 is a flat out lie. The claim that the reason my shipment was not delivered on 9/14 is a flat out lie. I am requesting that the BBB hold Golan's responsible for their dismal business practices.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed the recent rebuttal filed by ***** ******** relative to her ongoing consumer complaint against Golan's Moving & Storage with the BBB.

It must be noted that we did file a second/follow-up response on the same date (9/29/14) immediately after filing our first response, which confirmed that consumer did in fact get delivery on 9/18/14 (not on 9/14/14 as we previously indicated due to incomplete information in the file). As delivery was completed on 9/18/14, the date agreed to mutually by Consumer & the business, no compensation is due for that issue. Further, consumer has confirmed that the shuttle fee was waived, therefore that issue is no longer in dispute. Regarding the BBB complaint, the business merely asked if Ms. ******** would notify the BBB that her complaint was resolved satisfactorily once delivery was completed, as Golan's is well aware that complaints cannot be "taken down" by consumers once filed. Finally, regarding any alleged damaged items, consumer has not filed any claim to date in the 30+ days since delivery was completed. As such, if she wishes to file a claim, we would ask that Consumer contact our claims office at (XXX) XXX.**** (Mon-Fri, 10am-5pm EST) to obtain a claim form, so that she may file a written claim within the time frame specified on her BOL as is required to open a legal transportation claim.

Based on the above, we must again reiterate that no compensation is due Consumer at this time. Further, Ms. ******** indicates that she is "requesting that the BBB hold Golan's responsible for their dismal business practices" which is not within the purview of the BBB. As Consumer is no longer seeking any monetary compensation, we respectfully request that this case be closed as Information Only. Thank you, ***********, Director CPC

09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Golan moved me out of a 4 story single family in Chicago on July 29th, 2014. The 23 year old "foreman" they had hired to oversee the "crew" confessed to me that he had been up 48 hours straight at the beginning of my job.

They finished 15 hours after they started. It was a messy move out. The crew was fighting among themselves. The inventory tracking was haphazard. The house looked like it was hit by a tornado.

The move in was worse. On August 28, 2014 a new crew moved my furniture and boxes into a ******** home. Expensive lamps were destroyed. Couches were filled with dirt with padding mashed beyond repair. Boxes came in crushed. 5 boxes never showed up at all. One 27 inch computer mysteriously vanished in transit.

Overall the extent of the damage nearly exceeds the cost of the move. The company and its management is insensitive to the loss of personal items. They seem stunned by the occurrence and have no process for attempting to track or retrieve the missing items. Beware this shady and radically unprofessional group masquerading behind a moving company's brand name.

Desired Settlement
I'll deal with their insurance company.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ********* Director CPC
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX.6900
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
We have received the Consumer complaint filed by **** ****** against Golan's Moving & Storage, regarding damaged/missing items. We have also reviewed the moving paperwork, the Business' records, and our claim files relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Consumer hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from Illinois to *** ***** including storage. The move commenced on 6/28/14, & delivery was completed on 8/23/14. Thereafter on 9/2/14 Consumer contacted our office to request a claim form to file a claim for missing/damaged items. A claim form was emailed to him on that date, & we are currently awaiting the completed written form back from Mr. ****** with supporting documentation/information, so that we may open a claim for review under the coverage rate chosen by him for his move.

Based on the above, at this time no legal transportation claim has been filed, and no compensation is due Consumer. Please update your records accordingly. Thank you.

08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have entered into agreement with Golan's movers to move my elderly/disabled parents from Chicago IL, to ********** IL on July 28, 2014 at 8AM. Exactly at 8AM I received a call from Golan's movers saying they are not coming. I was stunned - i had 2 disabled parents on my hands and did not know what to do. I asked Golan's movers to recommend anybody who can help, the answer was - 'We can not help you'.
I started to call every moving company I found in Yellow pages. By 1PM I found the company willing to help. I did not heard from Golan's movers.

Desired Settlement
i want them to refund money I spend moving my parents to their new place. I also want to warn potential customers about Golan's.I do not want anybody to go thru the same experience.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ********* Director CPC
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ***** ****** against Golan's Moving & Storage, regarding cancelation of her move. We have also reviewed the Business' records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Consumer ordered a local move within Illinois with Golan's, for 7/28/14. The Business had every intention and ability to perform this move, however on the morning of 7/28/14, the movers went out on an unanticipated labor strike, therefore all moves had to be canceled. As Consumer was not charged any monies, no refund is due her.

AS THIS CANCELATION WAS DUE TO CIRCUMSTANCES WHOLLY BEYOND THE BUSINESS' CONTROL, WE RESPECTFULLY REQUEST THAT THIS CASE BE CLOSED AS INFORMATION ONLY.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will except their response if I see some kind of prove that what they are saying actually had happened.

Final Business Response
We have received the recent rebuttal filed by ***** ****** relative to her ongoing complaint against Golan's Moving & Storage.

Below is a link to the article confirming the strike of Golan's workers;

http://progressillinois.com/quick-hits/content/2014/07/28/workers-skokie-moving-company-strike-over-employers-sluggish-contract-

This article has also been emailed directly to the Consumer recently.

At this time we respectfully request that this case be closed as INFORMATION ONLY since the complaint was a result of a labor strike which was beyond the Business' control.

Thank you, M. Lombardi, Director CPC

06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Claim # XXXX-XXXA; Carrier: Golan's Moving & Storage, Inc; Delivery Date - 8/30/13. Calim was requested to be filed within 90 days of the delivery date. I had lot of back and forth discussion with the third party....they had lot of supporting documents and repair estimates were required with the claim. They had requested me to send this via trackable mail by 11/27/13. I contacted USPS near my work and they guaranteed delivery by 11/27/13 ( I have USPS proof confirming delivery by 11/27. Unfortunately the delivery was delayed to 11/29 and therefore Golan is denying my claim as it was not received in time. The amount of claim is ~$3,500. I had purchased insurance worth $8,000 for all the furniture items packed and moved by Golan. This is the 2nd time I have used Golan. The first time I had used they provided excellent service and I did not claim for any damages. This time the service was very poor......had significant damages to my expensive furniture....they are one of a kind and no longer available. As a consumer I did my best to ensure Golan receives my claim on time......feel like I am being ripped for no fault of mine. I am working this issue with ***** **** and she can be reached at XXX XXX XXXX. My reservation # is XXXXXX. I can provide all supporting documents, repair estimates and proof of guaranteed delivery, if required. **** ****** in the 3rd party processing claims for Golan. She was supposed to acknowledge my claim in writing within 30 days upon receipt of the completed claim form. They did not acknowledge. I called so many times to their office to confirm receipt or any issues with my claim. no response from their office until late April 2014 when I started calling them daily to check on the status. I finally received communication from them on May 2nd denying my claim. If it was a delivery timing issues why didn't they let me know within 30 days as informed in my original claim request letter. I wasted so many days and hours calling their office for 6 months to get a response.

Desired Settlement
I am claiming $3,500 in damages

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ********* Director CPC
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX.6900
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ***** ******* against Golan's Moving & Storage, regarding damaged items. We have also reviewed the moving documents, our claim records, and all records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that the Consumer hired Golan's to perform a local move within Illinois, commencing on 8/22/13. Following pick-up, Consumer's shipment was put into the Business' warehouse per his request, and then re-delivered to him on 8/30/13 as ordered. At the time of delivery (on 8/22/13) Consumer signed all delivery documents in full, confirming that the shipment was received in good condition with no exceptions of loss or damage noted by him at that time. Thereafter, on 11/25/13 (85 days after the move) Consumer called our office requesting a claim form to file a claim for damaged items. We did stress to him at that time that per Transportation Regulations & the Bill of Lading governing his move, any claim had to be received by us in writing with all supporting documentation, no later than the 90th day from the delivery date - which would be on 11/27/13, and that no extensions could be provided. We further stressed that he should send the claim form via OVERNIGHT MAIL, since he only had a couple of days left before his statute of limitations expired. Mr. ******* instead opted to send his claim in via USPS "Express Mail" (not overnight mail) & we did not receive it until 11/29/13, which was after the 90 day statute had expired. As such, his claim was not accepted and was denied in full via letter on 3/18/14 (within the required 120 day time frame for finalizing review of claims). Thereafter, he did contact Golan's General Manager, ***** ****, who discussed his claim with him. We subsequently sent him a final letter on 5/15/14 with an offer of $324.00 strictly for good will. To date, we have not received the executed release form back from Consumer to allow the Business to finalize settlement. We will give Mr. ******* a final extension until 6/5/14 to submit the executed release form back to our office via fax at (XXX) XXX.2993 (must include legible ink notary stamp) or trackable mail, for the offer to be valid.

At this time no further compensation is due Consumer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response for the following reasons
1. No I did not confirm all the shipment was received in good condition at the time of delivery. Dining table damage was huge....this was noted and acknowledged by the shipper before I had signed off. The rest of the damages I found while doing a thorough walk through of all the goods delivered after unpacking.....isn't; for this reason why we have 90 days to claim. Are we supposed to acknowledge all damages at the day of delivery?
2. I first contacted ***** **** at Golan on Sep3, 2013 ( not on 11/25 as mentioned in Golan's response) letting her know I have damages and needed guidance to file a claim. Then in September and late October I had left couple of messages to **** ****** per the instruction provided in ***** ****'s email. There was no response from **** (3rd party rep processing my claim). Finally it was on 11/25 I was able to chat with ****. I had all the documents ready at that time on 11/25 except price estimates for repair. She refused to accept my claim without repair estimates. The next day I was able to get the estimates and mailed it to their New York office with guaranteed one day delivery by USPS (I have the proof from USPS guaranteeing delivery in one day). The claim instructions asked me send all the documents VIA TRACKABLE mail (AND NOT VIA OVERNITE as mentioned in the response)I did the best to get it on time. Unfortunately they did not receive it on time and this is being used as an excuse to deny my claim, which is unfair.
3. Golan's response says they had requested me to send the claim form VIA OVERNIGHT MAIL. This is incorrect. They had instructed to send me via TRACKABLE mail and should be received by 11/27. USPS confirmed guaranteed delivery by 11/27 (as mentioned earlier I have the proof confirming delivery by 11/27). It was a trackable express mail as requested by the claim processing center with confirmed delivery by 11/27
4. ***** **** was very nice.....atleast I thought she understood my problem. Whereas Lisa Lipton and other associates in Claims Processing Center in NY were not responsive. They were not returning my calls and did not provide emails for correspondence. They were supposed to acknowledge my claim in writing within approx. 30 days (by 12/29). I did not get any acknowledgement from them (no phone calls/emails. I called so many times to their office to confirm receipt or any issues with my claim........no response until late April 2014 when I started calling them daily to check on the status. I finally received communication from them on May 2nd denying my claim. If it was a delivery issues why didn't they let me know within 30 days as informed in my original claim request letter. I wasted so may days and hours calling their office for 6 months to get a response.
5. yes I did receive a letter from Claim processing center for $324 as good will. Thank you for the consideration, but I am not here to receive any good will gesture.......my request here is to compensate fairly for damages caused by the moving company.

Final Business Response
We have now received the signed/notarized settlement documents from customer, agreeing to accept the $324.00 settlement amount offered. As such, payment is currently being issued to Mr. ******* by Golan's. Please update your records & close complaint as Resolved. Thank you, M. ********* Director CPC

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This isn't going anywhere......we both keep arguing the same thing again and again. I disagree with their response and no longer interested in wasting my time disputing this claim through this channel. Working with Golan before I thought they are reasonable business and will work to strive customer satisfaction. They are no different from any other moving company....just looking for an excuse to deny the claim. I have signoff from shipper agreeing on the damages caused to the dining table during delivery. The claims processing center in New York is joke......

Page 1 of 4
12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I moved from **** ** ******** and placed our content in Golan Storage at a cost of $9666.19 plus over $3000.00 moving cost. We were never offered insurance more than $3000.00 and were told that Golans is insured. We paid $9666.18 (747 days) storage.

When we moved and received our contents at our new address ** ******* **** in ******** IL from Golan Storage after
received our contents and frond the following:


1 Viking Refig 36" VCSF036DSS (damaged) on three sides replacement cost $3449.00 plus taxes (ABT Glenview, IL)

2 Thomasville Leather Benjamin HS1462l23 Finish H (Damaged) replacement cost $6578.00, Autmon $1000.00 plus taxes (****** E ***** ************* IL)

Waterford Irish Coffee Mugs (8) Marshall Fields Co. (MISSING)
$672.00 plus tax

Waterford Oversized Wine Glasses (8) Marshall Fields Co (MISSING)
$1152.00 plus tax

Bambo Serving Tray 23x16 Mashall Fields Co (MISSING)
$89.99 plus tax

1 Never offered insurance over $3000.00 and when we reported this to Golans Movings the respond by saying this was a mute point.

2 Were told to file a claim and must file paperwork and their failures were not covered or paid by Golans only insurance

3 Inquired when our remaining contents were being delivered and they stated it was unknown and call back next week offsite warehouse

4 Asked for copy of billing statement, will be sent next week

5 Informed that claim must be submitted within 30 days but response on paperwork and remaining contents unknown

Totals Damages

$12940.99 Damages
$1255.27 Taxes
$14196.26 Total Damages

Desired Settlement
1 Full Refund Replacement Settlement Damages


Viking Refig 36" VCSF036DSS (damaged) on three sides replacement cost $3449.00 plus taxes (ABT Glenview, IL)

Thomasville Leather Benjamin HS1462l23 Finish H (Damaged) replacement cost $6578.00, Autmon $1000.00 plus taxes (Walter E Smith Lincolnshire, IL)

Waterford Irish Coffee Mugs (8) Marshall Fields Co. (MISSING)
$672.00 plus tax

Waterford Oversized Wine Glasses (8) Marshall Fields Co (MISSING)
$1152.00 plus tax

Bambo Serving Tray 23x16 Mashall Fields Co (MISSING)
$89.99 plus tax



Totals Damages

$12940.99 Damages
$1255.27 Taxes

$14196.26 Total Damages


2 Refund of Storage
$9666.18

3 Refund of Move
$ 1514.28

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ********* Director CPC
Contact Phone: 201.437.6900
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ****** ********* against Golan's Moving & Storage, regarding missing/damaged items. We have also reviewed his moving paperwork and our claim records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Consumer hired the Business to perform a Local move within Illinois, commencing on 9/6/12. The shipment was picked up & put into storage at Consumer's request for a period of 2 years. On 9/22/14, per Consumer's request, the shipment was delivered to his new home. At that time, Consumer did not make any written notation on the delivery documents of any loss or damage, to substantiate such a claim. The Inventory List clearly states "WARNING - Before signing, check shipment, count items, and describe loss or damage...". Thereafter, on 10/7/14 (over 2 weeks after delivery) Mr. ********* sent an email to Golan's advising that he was missing boxes & asking them to search their warehouse. The Business did do a search & to date has not located the alleged missing boxes. On 10/10/14 Consumer called to request a claim form for missing/damaged items. A claim form was emailed to him on that date, and we are currently waiting for him to return the completed/signed claim form in order to open a legal transportation claim for consideration under the $3000 valuation coverage chosen & signed for by him on his Bill of Lading.

Based on the above, no legal claim has been filed. As such, no compensation is due Consumer for any alleged missing/damaged items. Finally, reimbursement of moving or storage costs would are not due Consumer, as these services were provided.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
Re: Better Business Bureau
Complaint: Case # XXXXXXXX
Business: Golan's Moving & Storage / Claims Processing Center NY
Consumer: ****** ** *********
December 2, 2014

The following information issued by Ms. ** ******** of Claims Processing Center of Staten Island, New York and or Golan's Moving to the BBB is FALSE regarding case #XXXXXXXX and not accurate. FULL notification of damages and missing items was submitted to Golan Moving Company (Ms. ***** ****, General Manager, Mr. ******** ******* Salesman, Foreman 49GR and moving staff) on 09/22/2014. Oral reports were issued to Golan moving by Foreman 49GR and myself pictures were taken on 09/22/2014 of damaged items. A damage report claim number was issued by Golan Moving Claim # XXXXXX and was received less than 12 hours after inspection of damaged items. Foreman 49GR was notified that items were missing from load by Golan Moving and inspection of warehouse would be conducted. ***** **** was notified and follow up emails were sent by myself. The missing items were review with Golan management on 09/22/2014. I will also be providing telecommunications and pictures to support this claim along with email records. A request has been issued to Golan's Moving for the Inventory Item Document required to summit this claim. NO RESOUTION HAS BEEN REACHED





From: *****@golansmoving.com (mailto:*****@golansmoving.com)
Sent: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 12:51 PM
To: ****** *********
Subject: Golan's Moving & Storage- Filing a claim (Reference #XXXXXX)





CLAIM FILING PROCEDURES

Dear ****** ,
Reservation # XXXXXX

Thank you for choosing Golan's Moving and Storage to serve your needs. Unfortunately, despite great care, there are occasions when damage, loss or other service related issues may arise.
If you need to file a claim, please follow these procedures:
All claims for loss, damage, delay, overcharge, or service issues must be filed in writing within the statute of limitations prescribed in your Bill of Lading (BOL).
Claims must include your contact information (name, address, telephone number, e-mail address), moving identification (job number, date of move, location), an itemized list of loss, damage, or service issues, and the dollar amount sought for each item. Claims must also include a copy of your Bill of Lading (BOL) and Inventory Lists, as well as supporting documentation of the loss/damage claimed (photos, repair estimates, receipts, etc.), and must be signed by the shipper (customer).

To request a Claim Form, please contact our Independent Claims Processing Center at:
(XXX) XX.CLAIM (XXX-XXX-XXXX): Toll Free
or
(XXX) XXX-XXXX: This is a toll call
Their hours are: 9 am-4 pm Monday-Friday Central Time


Upon receipt of a written claim, you will receive written acknowledgement of the claim within 30 days, which will include the claim number assigned to your claim.
Following that, your claim will be decided within 120 days of receipt of a fully completed Claim Form with all documentation, based on the coverage rate chosen for your move. In the event a claim cannot be finalized by that time, written notification of the updated status will be sent to you at that time.

Thank you for your patience in this matter. We regret any inconvenience caused.


Sincerely,
Golan's Moving and Storage

To ensure you receive your Golan's Moving & Storage emails, please add *****@golansmoving.com to your address book
To be removed from future emails please click here

10/23/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order for Chicago to *** move which included zero deductible insurance for order (have documented in email). When company lost box in move (by their own records, they never even checked it into the warehouse), they then said that I had minimum insurance coverage. I pointed out that I had ordered it on the phone, they said I had changed order at time of pickup. The contract I signed has no selection of a waiver of value protection. The movers on site made no indication that there was any change, nor did they ask for confirmation of what type of insurance was selected. As this was a move being fully reimbursed by my employer, had no incentive to not elect for coverage. Company is not communicating effectively, notably ***** ****. Could not confirm what my coverage was, referred me to an external claims department. Could not confirm why the company had not notified me when the box was not located at the warehouse. Very hostile on the phone and unwilling to assist in finding a resolution to the problem. Also, ***** **** made a veiled threat to me. When I said that I was hoping the company could help resolve before having to resort to getting lawyers involved, she said that "what I was saying was not helping my case" implying that she would not put in effort to find a reasonable resolution simply because I was expressing a desire to reach resolution with or without the company working with me. Very hostile on the phone, yelled, interrupted and was very rude.

Desired Settlement
I would like the value of the goods lost to be replaced and the insurance I ordered to be properly placed on the account so claims can be processed. Would also like the company to evaluate ***** ****'s ability to properly serve customers and potentially submit her to a training session to reduce her rudeness and aggression, potentially anger management classes.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ********* CPC
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ***** ****** against Golan's Moving & Storage, regarding a missing box. We have also reviewed the moving paperwork and our claim records relative to this matter. We are unsure who ***** ****** is, as this move and all documents are in the name of **** ******.

We have confirmed that Consumer hired Golan's to perform a Long Distance move from Illinois to *** ***** commencing on 7/9/14. At the time of pick-up Consuemr was given the Bill of Ladig, which incudes two options for Valuation Coverage - Option 1 Full Replacement Value Protection for an extra fee and Option 2 the $.60/lb/article free coverage. Consumer did not purchase the additional Vull Replacement Value Protection at that time, and did not pay the fee for such coverage. Delivery was completed on 8/1/14, and at that time Consumer wrote that 1 box was missing and 1 item was damages. However, to date, over 1 month since delivery Consumer has not filed any written claim with our office, as is required under the Terms of the Bill of Lading and Interstate Transportation Regulations governing this move. Should Mr. ****** wish to file a legal claim under the $.60/lb/article coverage chosen, they may contact our office with their moving paperwork (Bill of Lading, Inventory List, etc.), and we will assist them.

At this time no compensation is due Consumer. Please update your records to reflect receipt of this response. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Golan's did not provide the option to purchase insurance at the time of pickup. When the order had been placed, the full insurance coverage was selected, and the movers did not inform of any obligation to re-certify. The bill of lading does not have any choice selected (which requires initialing next to the option selected), nor was any bill of rights for the shipper provided upon the pickup that would make clear that this should be done. No claim filing will be made until the correct insurance is applied to the pickup, as the $0.60/lb is inadequate coverage for what was lost/damaged. The company has the confirmation email where it shows that full insurance was selected. Their employee did not solicit a selection in regards to insurance and made misleading statements regarding what was covered (as I had asked that I was getting the same coverage I had ordered over the phone). The issue here is not only that a large box was lost, or that it was lost weeks prior to notifying me as a consumer, or that the customer service has been inadequate/hostile, or that their customer service representative (*****) threatened to not help in anyway, but also that their employees did not follow procedure in terms of the company and the law by certifying a choice for insurance coverage with the bill of lading. These employees doing the pick up rushed through the pickup process (which explains the damage and lost box). Then they failed to certify that the bill of rights had been provided (which requires initialing on bill of lading) and failed to mention that insurance selection has to be re-selected, and made misleading statements about what the contract implied (which would have been known to be misleading had they also not failed to skip providing the rights as a shipper document). This is such a long string of failures that it should not be taken lightly for the protection of consumers in the future.

Final Business Response
We have received the recent rebuttal filed by Consumer ***** ****** against Golan's Moving & Storage. We have again reviewed the complaint along with all records relative to this move.

We must advise that while consumers do get quotes for various accessorial services during the estimate process (such as valuation coverage, shuttle service, packing services/supplies, etc.), any final services are decided upon and paid for at the time of the actual move. As such, the Bill of Lading clearly shows that Mr. ****** did not purchase or pay for any Additional Coverage for this move, as is required to bind such valuation coverage, and therefore it cannot be put into effect after the fact. We are sure that Golan's General Manager, ***** ****, was merely explaining to the Consumer the coverage that was in effect, and that we would like the opportunity to resolve any claims before Consumer filed a complaint, as is customary. Nevertheless, we must reiterate that Consumer may file a claim for his missing box based on the $.60/lb/article coverage in effect for his move. Alternately, he may opt to file his claim with his homeowner's/renter's insurance carrier instead.

At this time we respectfully request again that this case be marked closed. Thank you, ** ********* CPC

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, one price quote was given for this move and it included full coverage insurance. Not "various accessorial" estimates as the response indicates to try to confuse the issue at hand. The sales representative made no indication that this was purely abstract and had to be re-verified.

Second, as can be seen on the attached form, the Bill of Lading has multiple areas to be signed by the consumer, including an initials box for the following statement "I wish to Release My Shipment to a Maximum Value of 60 Cents per Pound per Article". My initials are not there because I never made that agreement. Can the company respond to the question of why this is not filled in? Why would they leave without me marking that agreement?

The explanation is that they were deceptive in their representation (whether purposeful or not) of what the form was, as the man doing the pickup represented that it merely certified that my goods had been picked up.

My signature is however at the bottom of the form. Setting aside that this is the result of an improper representation of the contract, even an interpretation of the one signature on the form in a strict sense does not support the company's case that $0.60/lb/article coverage was selected. What is signed away here is a waiving of "Full (Replacement) Level of protection." Just because it is not full replacement does not mean it is $0.60/lb/piece replacement. A policy with a $1 deductible would be short of full replacement but still adequate.

The issue is very clear here, the company failed to train its employees properly to review this contract with the customer (or their employees are incapable of following directions, as the customer experienced while advising them on what to pack).

Is this failure on the company's part implausible or surprising at all given how they handled the loss of the box. The paperwork for the box shows that it was never even checked into the warehouse, yet they did not notify the customer or take any action to locate it, letting three weeks pass in the interim. Again, mistakes happen, but coupled with the extremely abrasive customer service, it is not surprising at all that this organization failed to execute its duties properly upon pickup and get the forms signed.

Since no selection was made to release the replacement value to any certain value, is it not reasonable to assume that the insurance selected at the time the order was placed was still in effect? What else would they expect if their movers do not represent this and do not ask?

It should be known that this is not an issue only because of the monetary value. In my professional career and personal life as a consumer I have never encountered a company with a more hostile attitude towards its customers, and one that thought it could be such a bully in terms of dealing with them. Obviously issues are going to happen in complex logistical undertakings, which is why this complaint is not about the excessive amount of additional charges the company added to my bill (including a charge that was a result of them not being aware that Manhattan streets are congested!!). But the company exhibited extreme apathy at first, followed by hostility towards reasonable appeals for resolution of an issue, which even in the most impartial observer's mind, they are partially culpable for. How they could end up with a customer this dissatisfied (especially when all of this customer's expenses were being paid for by their employer) is a testament to the Company's failure from a customer dispute resolution standpoint.

If the company has an adequate explanation for why my initials are not present agreeing to the coverage they say I agreed to, I would very much appreciate hearing that. As a follow up, is it the Company's stance that their employees properly executed their responsibilities in their pickup? (It is already clear they did not properly execute the delivery to the warehouse).

02/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bill of lading no XXXXXX. Overcharging for services rendered complaint involves the following. Originally estimated job to cost around $6,000 for interstate move from ******* to ******** *** When movers came to pick-up on ********* the estimate was increased to approximately $8,500. When the movers delivered the shipment on ********** the amount estimated increased again to $9,500. We do not agree with these numbers and if we would have been told this originally, we would never have chosen this company. This is a "bait and switch" tactic.

Our second complaint involves the extensive damage and lost articles that we have never received answers for. We have damage to antique bedroom sets, broken legs off tables, split table top, broken end tables and chairs, extensive scratching, broken contractor's table saw, lost clothes (men's and women's), lost garage equipment, lost kitchen equipment, lost purses, lost cosmetology equipment, lost woodworking equipment. The list goes on. We tried to contact the moving company and did talk to ***** ****. We sent her a partial list of damaged and missing items. She stated that they don't take care of this and let a 3rd party do this. Well, we called this claims processing center at least 4 times. Each time they said they did not have anyone available to process the claim and they would call back within 5 business days. They did not call back at any time -- we just want a claims form to get the process started. We are being put off with this non-response.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund of service charges back to their original estimate. We are seeking a settlement for damaged and lost articles.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ********* Director CPC
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX.6900
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by **** ******* against Golan's Moving & Storage, regarding overcharge & damaged/missing items. We have also reviewed his original estimate, final moving paperwork, and our claim records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Consumer hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from ******** to ****** commencing on ******* Prior to the move Consumer obtained a phone/email estimate based solely on his representation of the size/scope of services needed. At the time of pick-up Mr. ******* had additional items/weight above that previously specified by him. Therefore, he was issued an Addendum to Estimate/Order for Services for the additional charges due, in the total sum of $10,210.57 for the entire move. Consumer accepted and signed this form agreeing that "By signing this addendum to the Estimate/Order For Services, the Shipper specifically authorizes additional services and charges set forth herein, and understands that the charges will be in addition to those set forth previously in the Estimate/Order for Services". A review of the final Bill of Lading confirms that he was charged the exact agreed revised sum, with no overcharge. Additionally, at pick-up Consumer selected & signed for the free minimal coverage of $.60/lb/article maximum for the entire shipment, and waived the additional valuation coverage for repair/replacement. Delivery was completed on 9/12/13, and final delivery paperwork shows Consumer signed both the Bill of Lading & the Inventory Lists confirming receipt of all items in good condition, without any exception of loss or damage made by him. The Inventory List clearly states "WARNING - Before signing, check shipment, count items, and describe loss or damage" and "MISSING ITEMS MUST BE NOTED IN WRITING ON INVENTORY LIST AT TIME OF DELIVERY ONLY". Thereafter, on ******* we performed a telephone intake with Consumer for missing/damaged items he wished to claim. After obtaining the list from him, we explained that missing items not noted in writing by him at delivery were not covered pursuant to the Terms stated thereon, and that based on the $.60/lb/article coverage chosen & signed for by him, compensation would be nominal. At that time we made him a good will offer without requiring him to provide any documentation (claim form, photos, receipts, repair estimates, etc.). Consumer agreed to accept the amount offered, & on ******** we emailed him the settlement documents to execute & return. At this time we are awaiting the final documents back from Consumer, so that payment may be finalized by Golan's.

Based on the above, Consumer was charged appropriately for actual services/supplies used, in the sum agreed to by him in writing. His loss/damage claim has been reviewed & settlement agreement reached. Therefore, at this time no further compensation is due Consumer. Please update your records to reflect receipt of this response, and close this complaint as Resolved. Thank you.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I stand by what I previously stated in my earlier response (and have full documentation to back up).

We have lost a large amount of money (many $1000s) using this shipper. They want to give us $250 to, basically, restrict/end our efforts to obtain our just compensation. Again, they set an artificial date for our reply of 12/5/13 to either accept this or not. If we are unable to recover any compensation for damages/losses and "sliding" shipping charges, at the least, I want this complaint to be a warning to potential customers on what they could possibly be facing when dealing with this company and their business practices.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed the recent rebuttal filed by **** ******* regarding his ongoing complaint against Golan's Moving & Storage for overcharge & damages.

Consumer did accept & book his move based on a NON-BINDING ESTIMATE for a specific list of items, packing services, & supplies. Consumer was clearly aware that this estimate was Non-Binding, and that if any additional services/supplies were needed, the price would be adjusted accordingly. At the time of pick-up, Consumer had additional items/weight above those included in his original estimate. He was issued an Addendum to Estimate/Order for Services for the estimated additional charges due, in the total sum of $10,210.57 for the entire move which he accepted & signed (see copy attached). This Addendum included additional packing labor /materials, and an estimated 1500 lbs. of additional weight. The final weight charges on the Bill of Lading were not entered at the pick-up, until after the shipment was loaded & then weighed, at which time the final cost was entered onto the form as is standard procedure. When the shipment was ultimately weighed following pick-up, Consumer was charged for actual overage of 1377.25 lbs. He signed the Bill of Lading confirming the final price and services received. Therefore, Mr. ******* was clearly aware of the revised balance & authorized this price, & should have been prepared at delivery with the actual amount due. Pursuant to Interstate Transportation guidelines, the driver did advise that payment of the balance was due in full prior to unloading, which Consumer ultimately did pay once he confirmed with the police dept. that he was required to do so. Regarding missing/damaged items, the delivery paperwork signed by Consumer at the end of his move clearly states "WARNING - Before signing, check shipment, count items, and describe loss or damage" and "MISSING ITEMS MUST BE NOTED IN WRITING ON INVENTORY LIST AT TIME OF DELIVERY ONLY". As such, this requirement had to be met by the Consumer, regardless of the time of the delivery. He signed the forms confirming receipt of all items in good condition in their entirety, with no loss or damage noted. We do not show a record of multiple calls Consumer alleges he made to our claims office, and we did contact him once we were aware of his intent to file a claim mentioned in his BBB complaint. During that conversation on ******* we took a list of the items/issues he was claiming & explained the $.60/lb/article coverage he had chosen for his move (compensation is limited to $.60/lb times the weight of any item that is damaged or missing that is documented). Regarding the coverage, Interstate Transportation Regulations require that all licensed household goods carriers provide free coverage of $.60/lb/article, and offer additional Valuation Coverage (this is NOT insurance) to their customers for the fee listed in their Tariff. As such, Consumer was offered both options (this information was provided both during the pre-move estimate process and again at the time of pick-up prior to the start of the move), yet he waived the additional coverage & chose instead to limit Golans' liability to $.60/lb/article for the entire shipment. The charge for valuation coverage is appropriate and in accordance with transportation regulations. As such, when discussing his claim with him we did advise him that based on the items claimed that were documented properly he would be due minimal compensation. We offered him $250.00 at that time for good will, without requiring him to go through the claims process (claim form, photos, receipts, repair estimates, etc.) in the interest of customer service. Alternately, we advised him that we could send him a claim form via email to complete and pursue the standard claims process. He agreed to accept this offer & therefore settlement documents were emailed to him on 11/13/13, which clearly state "As discussed with you today via telephone, at this time all Parties have agreed to settlement of all claims/complaints, with payment to you by the Carrier in the total sum of $250.00". Consumer has until 12/5/13 to return the executed release to our office, for this offer to be valid. At this time we must reiterate that no further compensation is due Mr. *******, and we respectfully request that this case be closed as such. Thank you, ** ********* Director CPC

04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/19/2013Delivery Issues
03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Piano & Organ Moving, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Movers, Relocation Service, Boxes - Corrugated & Fiber

Additional Information

top

Golan's Moving & Storage, Inc. has asked that consumers contact Julie Gold,General Manager(847.677.9064)to discuss their concerns prior to filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

BBB file opened: 11/01/1990Business started: 10/19/1990New Owner Date: 10/19/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St.
Chicago, IL60601
(800) 524-0795
http://www.icc.illinois.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1990, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Frawley (Sales Manager)Ms. Julie Gold (General Manager)
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company, Piano & Organ Moving, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Movers, Relocation Service, Boxes - Corrugated & Fiber

Industry Tips
Contracts
Moving tip

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Golan's Moving & Storage Inc

3600 Jarvis Ave

Skokie, IL 60076-4018

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3600 Jarvis Ave 

    Skokie, IL 60076-4018(847) 673-8189
    (800) 439-8515
    (847) 677-9064

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Golan's Moving & Storage Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (847) 673-8189
  • (800) 439-8515
  • (847) 677-9064
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Moving & Storage Company

Contracts
Moving tip
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.