This business is not BBB accredited.

Concierge Moving Services, Inc.

Phone: (312) 730-2624 View Additional Phone Numbers 2041 W Carroll Ave STE C-312, Chicago, IL 60612 ! There is an alert on Concierge Moving Services, Inc. !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Concierge Moving Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 04, 2009 Business started: 03/23/2009 Business started locally: 03/23/2009 Business incorporated 03/23/2009 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David Romanoff, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Romanoff, President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Piano & Organ Moving Furniture Assembly Services Carpet & Rug Cleaners Furniture Repair & Refinish Relocation Service Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Additional Locations


    2041 W Carroll Ave STE C-312

    Chicago, IL 60612 (312) 730-2624 (312) 730-2624 (773) 577-0204


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with **** ****** on the phone on August 28 to schedule moving services from Concierge. He informed me that the services cost $85 per hour. I asked if that rate was for three movers and he said yes. I told him I had a platform bed and asked if I should disassemble it before they come. He said no they would bring all the necessary tools, take it apart in the apartment and rebuild it in the new place. I told him they would need a drill. On August 29, someone from Concierge called me to confirm my appointment. I reminded her that the movers would need a drill. When the movers arrived at 2:05 pm on August 30, there were two of them. I informed them that I was told there would be three. One of them then suggested that it was not a problem; they would call **** at the end of the move and he would adjust the price. I trusted this was true and let them proceed. A while later, I noticed them taking some 30-odd screws out of my bed frame with screwdrivers. This added about 30 minutes of time onto the move and it also made it impossible for them to rebuild my bed at the new apartment. When I asked them about it, they said no one informed them that they would need to bring a drill. At the end of the move, the movers showed me a contract with a total of upwards of $400, which I refused to sign for the reasons mentioned above. The movers called **** and when I spoke with him, he essentially denied having ever told me that the $85/hr price included the labor of three people. He claimed he had recorded audio of our initial phone conversation and I implored him to share it so that we could resolve the issue. Instead of pursuing this, he accused me of "stealing a service" and threatened to call the police. I told him I would pay a fair price that honored our initial agreement. I estimated that had there been three movers and had they brought a drill-both of which I thought I was paying for-it would have taken 2 hours instead of 3.5 (and my bed would be assembled). Thus, I was willing to pay $250, which is the cost of 2 hours at the $85 rate, plus Concierge's $35 supplies fee (for shrink wrap) and their $42 transit fee. (The total is 247, which I rounded up to 250). He said this was not good enough and called the police. Shortly, two police officers showed up at my front door and I explained the situation to them. They said they were unsure why they were called since it was a civil dispute with no contract to boot but they were obligated to respond to every call. **** was, apparently, nearby and sent one of the movers back and forth to my door with various "offers" for a price below $400. I explained that I was not trying to negotiate or get a "deal." I was interested in paying for the services I requested and nothing more or less. After 2+ hours of back and forth, **** agreed to a total of $250, including the $100 deposit I had already made. When I looked at my credit card statement the next day, there was a charge for $327 (in addition to my $103 deposit). I called **** and he said the owner had charged my card-without a signature-but he had issued a partial refund. The refund posted but it is for $165, which is not enough. The original charges were $103 (deposit) + 327.03 (unauthorized charge) = 430.03. That total minus the $165 refund = 265, which is $15 more than I agreed to. When I called about the insufficient $165 refund, I was told **** was "out" but would return my call. I am currently waiting for that call. At this point, the insufficient refund is just one of many complaints I have. My experience with Concierge has been unbelievably traumatic and stressful. I was misled about services offered, accused of lying and stealing, reported to the police, & consistently overcharged. This has easily been the worst interaction I have ever had with a business and it is extremely disappointing that I have been so mistreated throughout this process.

Desired Settlement: At this point I am requesting, at the very least, a refund of $15, which accounts for the remainder of my refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** -President Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** The client in question was never told that a 3man rate would be $85. We have published tariff rates with the State Of Illinois which clearly states that our 2man rate is $85 and our 3man rate is $110. We did this client a service by providing her with three men which is what she requested. Upon arrival at the job the client refused to sign any of the required paperwork. She then was extremely hostile and verbally abusive to our employees. When we asked her to sign the required documents, she refused and became even more verbally abusive. She then refused to pay for the service we provided, so we contacted the police for the safety of our employees. Our men were scared that she may start a physical altercation with them. We charged her card for the full amount that she owed. When the police arrived, they came to an agreement to charge her for an agreed upon price. This is what we agreed upon, and so the office refunded her card to match that amount. This was the only way we could be done with her, and avoid any further confrontation. The clients card was fully refunded to the agreed upon amount. This service took place over a holiday weekend, which meant the credit would not show on her card for a few days later after the holiday. We tried to explain this to her when she called on the following Tuesday, but I am not sure if she understood. No further action was taken. We will happily have our attorneys contact her if she has any further complaints. This client was unruly and next to impossible to deal with. We should have left immediately prior to starting the job when she refused to sign the required paperwork. For her to post anything to the BBB is completely ridiculous. We more then went out of our way to satisfy her needs, and were super courteous the entire time regardless of the situation she put us through. Unfortunately in this business, we have to deal with people like this and do our absolute best to remedy these situations in an amicable way. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There are many false claims here. Of course I didn't refuse to sign papers upon the movers' arrival. I was not presented with papers until the end of the move. Of course the movers weren't afraid of me; in fact, they asked me not to hold the actions of employer against them. Of course I was not "verbally abusive," whatever that means. Also, this: "We did this client a service by providing her with three men which is what she requested." I have no clue what that's supposed to mean, since three men weren't provided. I'm slightly confused by this response, but not surprised since it is in line with the outrageous behavior from this business thus far. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/16) */ A $15 credit was made to the shippers credit card. We will take no further action with this shipper. This claim should be considered closed.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Concierge Moving Services, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart