BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2009

Wolley Movers, Inc.

Find a Location

(773) 761-83303401 W North Shore Ave, LincolnwoodIL 60712-3734 Send email to Wolley Movers, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2009

BBB has determined that Wolley Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wolley Movers, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wolley Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: I made a reservation over a week ago and the movers were due to arrive at 1 pm on Friday, June 20th. They arrived at 4:12pm, gave me a different price than the one I was quoted and demanded $380 in cash BEFORE they would move the truck to the back. The guy told me that it would take FOUR men over three hours to move me from my apartment. I used them to move here and it took three men only TWO hours. I have less furniture now than when I moved in because both my daughter and brother had moved out. Then they also said that they wouldn't move anything that wasn't wrapped in plastic which is $30 per piece. I told them that I had used them previously and paid a deposit by credit card and the balance at the end once the final cost was estimated. The guy told that I had to pay the $380 that was estimated in cash up front. I told them that I didn't have cash and would have to go to the ATM. I sent my daughter to go to the ATM and the movers said that they had to move the truck to the back. I said okay. They told me that I would have to pay for the wrapping and I told them that I had the materials to wrap the couch and would be doing so as they moved the boxes. He went on the complain about the amount of boxes to be moved and I told him that it wasn't an issue as I was paying by the hour.

I called the office and spoke to ********* about the cash payment because I used Wolley's before and paid a deposit by credit card and the balance when they were done by credit card with no problem, I even gave each mover a $30 tip. I spoke to the dispatcher ********* and she said that it's the movers decision as to when and how they wanted to be paid. And if they want cash up front then it's their choice.

The movers told me that they were going to the back of the building to start loading. Fifteen minutes later, when the mover didn't come to the back of the buiding, I called back to the office and now its five o'clock on a Friday evening . The dispatcher said that they probably had to go down to another street to turn around. She put me on hold then came back to the phone to say that they told her that I refused to pay so they left. I told her that that wasn't true and that they told me that they were moving the truck to the back. I told her that I have to be out of the apartment by the next day as the new owner wants possession and that I was in jeopardy of losing my security deposit. Her response was we're not going to move you. I told her that I was calling the Better Business Bureau and she told me 'go ahead, they don't care".

I told her that I would review them on **** and again she said go ahead, I don't care. I was highly upset because I was a repeat customer and I've referred several people to them. I've never heard of workers deciding when and how they wanted to be paid. This was completely different than my previous experience and very disturbing!

Initial Business Response
First of all we are sorry that Mrs. ****** ****** had to go through this which is not intentional by any means. We came to move her and there was disagreement with the price of the move.

When the movers arrived they gave her the estimate of 4-5 hour move. She said she will only pay for 3 hours. She had a 3 bedrooms apartment and she wanted done in three hours which is impossible. So, by law we have to give her rough estimate before her move began and since she didn't agree with the estimate we had no choice but to cancel her move. Again, we don't work for free and if the customer disagree with our cost we have no choice but to cancel the move which we loose money and our time.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: ********* I hired this company and paid by credit card the amount of $780 for moving services. One of the moving staff consumed alcohol during the move; stole personal property, damaged my furniture; incorrectly disconnected a water line which resulted in large amount of water in my home; and after reporting this matter to the office, the owner of this company never bothered to return my phone call or speak with me regarding this matter. I was totally displeased with my experience with this company.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******, Vice President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@gmail.com
*** was not very compliant when we offered our service to rectify her moving damages. We offered numerous times to send our manager out to ***** the damages and figure out how to work with her for repair. We let her know that the damage she incurred to her dresser did not look repairable based on the picture she had sent out. When speaking with *** on the phone, she kept insisting on contacting a lawyer. Since she was deeming herself unwilling to work with us, an email was sent out on March *** 2014 following a phone conversation. We let her know we would be happy to abide by the contract where it states $0.30 per pound per article. If she were to have the item weighed we would send out the check for the appropriate amount. We had not heard from her regarding this matter, until the BBB complaint arrived. We will be happy for forward the email we sent her, stating this.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized changes to the contract or agreement

Complaint: I moved on ******* and hired Wolley Movers to assist with the job on ********* Per the contract (which a $180 deposit prior to the move solidifies) 3 movers are supposed to assist and the $180 deposit is supposed to be credited toward the move. Only two movers showed up for the job and I was never credited the $180 deposit. The movers per the contract were guaranteed to bring all materials to adequately wrap furniture to ensure furniture would be protected. The movers did not therefore I was forced to spend $150 at **** ***** the morning of the move to compensate for their lack of preparedness. Only one mover actually assisted with the move the majority of time as the other mover refused to leave the moving truck for the first 30 mins and then only carried one small item at a time to the truck (which he handled with absolutely no care at all - in fact he threw many items into our new house through the garage entryway which was witnessed my my father, my boyfriend, and the other mover on several occassions - the other mover admitted to witnessing these events at the time of the move and the other mover's lack of motivation to help to me and to the office manager whom he called several times to request assistance). One of the movers took a 15 minute cigarrette break after every trip to the truck littering my lawn with cigarette buts in my new neighborhood and doing so while on the clock. The movers irrepairably broke my oak futon (I specifically asked them to be careful with) due to their lack of consideration for the job. When the movers left after I paid them (the diligent mover said I owed $475 which did not substract my deposit and I did not realize that I overpaid until the next day, ******** On ******* I contacted the owner, ****** to advise him of my broken furniture and of the negative experience I had on my moving day to request to compensation for the piece of furniture and for a refund of my deposit. Per his request, I emailed him pictures of the broken furniture which he confirmed the same day that he received. He admitted fault to the incident and promised to assist in resolving the issue by close of business that day or the following. After a week passed with no call or resolution, I began calling their office to determine the status of the situation. The receptionist, *****, politely agreed that I should be very unsatisfied with the service and agreed to make sure ****** (the owner) got back to me within the next business day. He of course did not and after several calls to their office and over two weeks of time lapsing - I called the office again on ****** and ****** finally answered the phone (only *****, the office manager answered my calls after my initial compliant made on ********* I calmly explained who I was and again why I was calling. He made no apology for his lack of communication and when I asked for his business address to formally address my complaints to him since he made himself unavailable via telephone throughout the process, he became extremely aggressive (yelling and acting belligent, accussing me of threatening him (asking me if I know what happens to people who threaten him in turn threatening me) and said even though his company was at fault for the broken furniture - he was no longer going to compensate me - he then proceeded to hang up on me and would not respond to a second request made by me via his voicemail to request for his address. I had to spend 2 hours looking for my invoice from his services in order to file this claim due to ******'s lack of consideration for his customers.

Initial Business Response
As per our conversation earlier, someone used our company name and our fake contract to perform Mrs. ******** ****. Mrs. **** was contacted by us and knowledged her movers contacted her and set up her move with different phones numbers, name and ripped her off. We have the guys information which we received from Mrs. **** and are reporting to Commerce Commission today. You can contact Mrs. **** to verify this complain and please take the complain off from Wolley Movers record. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

-****** *****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
08/26/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: The movers were hired to disassemble furniture and move from *** ******* ave upper floor, ******, il to *** ****** st, ******, il. They were scheduled to arrive at 9am on November 24, 2013. When arranging the move I asked that only 2 men be sent but they insisted that they send 3 men I agreed to a charge of $85/hr for 3 men. The woman estimated the move would take 6 hours but since I have moved before with the help of movers with more items I knew from experience it would only take 2 hours. She said this was only a formality and wouldn't effect billing if I only used 2 hrs I would only be charged for 2. They arrived 20 min late with 4 men and my price went up to $102/hr. I did not want this but the man argued and they seemed unwilling to proceed without all 4 men. I told them I didn't want any Saran Wrap used bc I had already taped drawers shut. They finally started and didn't have any tools screw drivers or other supplies to dissemble furniture. I had to provide my own so while I was looking for this they used Saran Wrap on my furniture. I had already packed and moved all boxes but there were a few odds and ends around like lamps. They told me it's against their policy to move lamps. They put couch cushions in boxes. They did not fully disassemble furniture so they damaged hallway at apartment building moving items. I watched their proceedings and every trip downstairs resulted in a 2-3 minute break. Then when all the furniture was in truck there were some items left like some lamps a decretive bowl some shoes they told me they didn't want to take them and it was against policy to take lamps could I move it in my Mini Cooper. I argued but their response was we will see you at the house then left. I had to drop my daughter and friend off and them make two trips to finish getting the last of the items. While they were moving me into the new house they again used a sort of tag team system where two people would carry things in while the other two waited at the truck for them to return them those two would head in while the other two waited. Since they hadn't completely disassembled anything they couldn't get a lot of items up new homes stairs so they had to disassemble there they were reluctant to do this and banged and scraped my furniture around trying to make things fit. I had floors refinished before moving and they were not careful or considerate of this. They dragged furniture across floors totally disregarding my expensive floor. They couldn't fit the box spring for my bed upstairs and so they decided they didn't have to move any part of my bed upstairs. I had to repeatedly ask them to do it and they didn't want to because they needed a screwdriver to finish taking it apart. When I provided one they roughly took it apart while complaining. I also had to ask that they assemble the dinning room table bc they didn't there was a desk already on site that had to be moved and they refused to carry it bc it was heavy to which I replied I had carried it with the neighbor and I didn't think it was heavy. So again I had to convince them and almost plead with them to take anything upstairs. Then while settling the bill at 12:45 they tried to charge me for 4 hrs. I said but you were late and it's not been 4 hrs. They again were upset and argumentative. They said they wouldn't charge me for the boxes they put my couch cushions in and the Saran Wrap if I gave them a good tip of $25 a person. I refused so they charged me $60 for the wrap and boxes that I had tried to stop them from using. The man then said my credit card did not go through and wanted a different one I said impossible there's plenty of money in there try again he refused and wanted a different card or cash. I asked that he try again and he wanted me to pull up my bank statement on my phone to prove I had the money before trying again I wouldn't. When he finally tried again it did go through. After they left I discovered all the deep scratches and gouges on the stairs f

Initial Business Response


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business response that we agreed on 3 movers is correct. As I stated before they arrived with 4 movers and seemed unwilling to proceed unless I signed the paper work and agreed to their terms. When I had talked to ***** I had told her how many bedrooms the apartment had but as I explained to her we were only moving two bedrooms. She repeatedly told me this was only an estimate and they always price it very high just in case there's more stuff when they get there. The apartment they moved me from did not have two flights of stairs it was large home converted into two apartments and had 15 steps. They were not winded and did not seem tired from walking down 15 steps. 15 steps is one flight of stairs. When doing the estimate ***** asked how many boxes would be moved and I had told her that I planned on moving the boxes since the homes were not far from each other. I told her I was only concerned about the furniture because I would prefer professionals took it apart and moved it. She included the price of moving the boxes because she said I may change my mind about moving the boxes. When the movers arrived they did not move any boxes because I had already moved the boxes. The only boxes they moved were the boxes they charged me to put my couch cushions in but then would not box other loose items such as lamps. These loose items would have easily fit into one of the boxes that they called a wardrobe. Why I was charged $60 when they did not use these boxes except for my couch cushions and then not use them for the very small amount of other things I don't know.

The whole purpose of having them come was to disassemble and reassemble furniture so I never refused this part of the service. I wouldn't have provided them with the screw drivers and Allen wrenches if I didn't want them to take things apart.



Final Business Response
Hello, I don't understand the dispute or complain. We gave her an estimate of $635 based on her inventory and information. We also send her the estimate via email before we made the reservation. She agreed and made the reservation wiht $95 deposit. Again, I don't understand the dispute. My foreman explain to Mrs. ******* before the move started that if we use a four men it will cost more per hour but it will be quicker and cheaper for her. She agreed and signed the contract before the move started. And she only paid $580 rather than $635 which was estimated. So she saved time and money with a four men team. Again, she saved time and money by using a four men team rather then a three men team. So, again I am confused about this complain.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why I was charged $60 for packing supplies then told they would not move items that they didn't pack is not acceptable. I should not be charged for packing supplies when they refused to pack lamps. Also, I agreed on three guys. When four guys showed up they not only insisted on using all four guys they displayed hesitation on proceeding unless I signed for four guys on site. One guy sat in the cab of the truck for most the move and not more then two worked at a time. I don't believe they were so winded from walking down one flight of stairs that they needed a 3-4 minute break every trip. I was told the estimate was a formality. I have worked with movers before and knew from prior experience with professionals that it would not take as long as estimated. Also, the estimate included boxes that I had already moved. So they did not have to move as many items as expected.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@gmail.com
We went to Mrs. ****** apartment few weeks earlier to move her (few weeks before we actually moved her). When my movers arrived at her apartment in **** building they discover illegal drugs laying all over her apartment and had to cancelled her move due to this situation. She later schedule her move again and we didn't know if this was the same customer. So the 2nd time around she cleaned her apartment and got moved. Since she moved from **** building their apartment are furnished and she didn't have any furniture. We moved mainly boxes and bags. she called maybe 7-10 days later and you guys stole my folding table, we asked our workers and they said we never moved any table, there were only boxes and bags. We told her that and she kept calling and calling. In the end she start using bad profanity and we had to hang up and asked her not to call again. We want this complain to be dismiss and out of our profile. One of my worker also make a video of the drugs that were laying all around her apartment to show our company why they had to cancel her job first time around.

Final Consumer Response


Final Business Response
Wolley Movers don't want to waste more time going back and forth so we are willing to send $50 check to her.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/05/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Piano & Organ Moving, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Relocation Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/20/2004Business started: 05/02/2002
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2002, IL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Norman Abbas (President)
Business Category

Movers, Piano & Organ Moving, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Relocation Service

Products & Services

This business offers: Commercial Movers, Residential Movers, Local Movers, Long Distance Movers, Office Relocation, Furniture Transportation, Piano Movers, and Packing Supplies.

Industry Tips
Contracts
Moving tip
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wolley Movers, Inc.

3401 W North Shore Ave

Lincolnwood, IL 60712-3734

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3401 W North Shore Ave 

    Lincolnwood, IL 60712-3734

  • 3830 W Sherwin Ave 

    Lincolnwood, IL 60712-1022

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wolley Movers, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.