This business is not BBB accredited.

Two Men and A Truck

Phone: (630) 834-6683 Fax: (630) 563-9009 View Additional Phone Numbers 909 S Il Route 83 Ste 201, Elmhurst, IL 60126 http://www.twomenandatrucklombard.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Two Men and A Truck include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Two Men and A Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 14, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 05/27/1998 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Brown, Owner/President Mr. Russell Meyer, Markketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Brown, Owner/President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Trucking - Light Hauling Trucking Office Furniture & Equipment Transportation Services Relocation Service Transportation Consultants Truck Rent & Lease Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Two Men and A Truck has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    909 S Il Route 83 Ste 201

    Elmhurst, IL 60126

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/23/2014 Delivery Issues
12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is regarding my move from an apartment in ********* IL to a townhome in ********* I was quoted $495 and told that quote included a 1/2 hr travel fee. The move ended up taking 4 hours and the movers only moved half of the items included in the quote (my husband and other family members moved the rest of it because the movers were working too slowly). I was charged the rate for 3 men ($165/hr), however 1 of the men was new and did not participate in the move other than carrying a few light items and folding blankets. Another factor that added unnecessary time to the move was the fact that the movers were unwilling to back their truck down to the entrance of the underground garage of my apartment building to allow for quicker and easier loading from the elevator. I was told by the mover in charge that he would not back the truck down because he did not feel he would be able to get it back up the ramp. I know that backing moving trucks in is standard practice at this apartment complex and this was done when I moved into the building last year with no problem at all. While this may have been because a larger truck was used, it was unnecessary since my belongings only took up 1/4 of the truck at most. On my final bill, I was also charged for a full hour travel time ($165) instead of 1/2 hour as promised ($82.50). My final bill came to $825 instead of the $495 I was quoted. I mentioned that I did not agree with these charged when asked to sign the bill of lading and freight bill upon the conclusion of the move, however was told that I should sign it anyway and could always dispute the charges after the fact through customer service. With this assurance, I signed the bill and paid with my credit card. The next day I called to file a billing dispute. 3 weeks later I received a letter in the mail from the company stating that all the charges were correct, and since I signed the bill, I would not be given the refund I was asking for (see desired settlement). I was simply given a check for $75 as a "gesture of good faith".

Desired Settlement: As mentioned above, only 2 of the 3 movers fully participated in the move, so I am asking to be refunded the difference between the hourly rate for 3 men and the hourly rate for 2 men. I am also asking for a refund for 1/2 the travel time ($82.50), as this is what I was promised when receiving the quote over the phone. Due to the extra hour of loading time resulting from where the truck was parked in relation to the apartment elevator (at least 100 ft further than necessary), I am also asking that I be refunded 1 hour of move time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/14) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not satisfied with the response given by Two Men and a Truck. As mentioned in my initial complaint, I was told that I would be able to dispute charges at a later time through customer service and needed sign the bill of lading/moving contract at the time the move concluded, whether I agreed with the charges or not. This notion was communicated to me by the men performing the move. Had I known that my signature meant I was unable to dispute charges, I would never have signed. This is what I find deceptive. Also, while I understand the safety concerns of the 26ft truck, I was moved into this very same apartment, with the exact same amount of items, using a 16ft truck. There was ample space in the 16ft truck, and the movers had no difficulty backing the truck into the appropriate place for an efficient move. Of note, the moving services at that time were also provided by Two Men and a Truck. Since the 26ft truck was not a necessity, I do not feel it is right that I be billed for the extra time it added to my move. I am happy that this business states they will remedy the incorrect travel charge, however I feel there are many other issues not appropriately addressed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/07/16) */ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response given on 7/16/14 is the exact same document provided as a response on 7/14/14 and did not address my rebuttal.

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 25,2013 movers came to my home and moved a dresser down the stairs and it got caught between 3 walls. Two young guys made a hole in one wall and gouged out areas of all 3 walls. With the same dresser they put 2 holes in the back of the dresser with the railing and made a crisscross (foot long) crack in the bottom of the same dresser. They said they would pay for the damages according to the contract. I have filled out their forms, emailed them photos of the damages and called them 8 times from July to August. I have not heard anything or have they made any attempt to compensate me for the damages. The dresser was purchased in 2004 $599.49 at Wickes. I sent them a copy of the sales receipt. It cost me $238.00 for the repair and painting for 3, 12 foot high walls. The men had to come back to repair the plaster 3 days and then sand and repaint. I had the original paint job in *** of 2013, in preparation to place the property for rent. I told Mr. ******* ***** from Two Men and a Truck I needed the repairs soon because the renters were moving in July 15,2013. He did nothing. I paid for the painters and my dresser is still damaged. There was another dresser the leg was (veneer) cracked off and I was able to find someone to fix it without charging me. The larger dresser with the crack and holes is to big a job. I filled out all of their forms and emailed them photos as well as drove to their office and gave them a flash drive with the damage so Mr. ***** down loaded it on his computer. I was told they were experienced movers by the representative when making the arrangements. The supervisor was, but the two young guys (*** S. & ****** C.) were clearly not experienced. They had shirts with the name of the company, but the supervisor was clearly aggravated ********* ******* the both of them by punching the side of the moving truck. After the dresser issue I told ******** I didn't want them doing anything without him standing there.

Desired Settlement: The plaster, sanding and paint job was $238.00 The dresser was supposed to be $.30 per pound per article which was the damage compensation agreement between the moving company and me. But the Damage Settlement Options form they had me fill out checked "Other Damage Compensation Settlement". It also had "Damage Compensation and Repair of Damaged Items" checked. No one ever came to my home to look at the damages, but took photos and the guys who moved the furniture certainly know what they did. At this point I wouldn't trust anyone they would have come to my new home. I was charged $765.00 and another $76.50 on my **** for the move. I told them from the start I didn't want any problems. I was assured they would take good care of my property. Accidents will happen, but they have done nothing to compensate me. I feel like I have been taken advantage of and I would not recommend them to anyone. I would appreciate if the BBB could contact them, before I contact an attorney. I don't need the extra expense. My attorney said to send them a letter telling them I would be contacting an attorney if nothing was done, but I don't need the aggravation. I have had breast cancer and I am going in for surgery again. I don't need this.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 11, 2013/11/07) */ Ms ****** ****: I would like to notify you that Two Men and a Truck did send my reimbursement for the damages on my personal property. I would like to thank you very much for helping me resolve this issue. Sincerely, ***** **********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Two Men and A Truck
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart