Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Two Men and a Truck

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 544-5050 Fax: (847) 544-5128 View Additional Phone Numbers 622 E Northwest Hwy, Des Plaines, IL 60016

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Two Men and a Truck include:

  • 21 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Two Men and a Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 03/31/2003 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Joel Trost, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Trost, President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office House & Building Movers Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
TMT Chicagoland, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Two Men and a Truck has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    2417 W. Fulton / Dispatch Lot

    Chicago, IL 60612 (312) 291-2668


    622 E Northwest Hwy

    Des Plaines, IL 60016 (847) 544-5050


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted a price for moving 3 rooms of furniture to a storage unit (the majority of the house's contents had already been moved to our new home). The quote was betwen 500-700. On moving day, the movers showed up late, were confused on how to proceed moving some items, and wasted a lot of time. I spoke to the Two Men and a Truck office mid-move to complain after the movers were supposed to follow me to the storage unit, but showed up 30 minutes after I did. I was told that the company would take 30 minutes off the bill. At no point did anyone inform me that the move would be beyond the quoted price. (and should not be, as I moved the majority of the contents out of the house already). The movers continued to move very slowly and did not finish until later than afternoon, at which point I received a bill for over 1000.00. This is completely insane so I asked that a supervisor come to the storage unit to look at this small amount of items that were actually moved. Several days later, and after numerous calls and emails, someone finally called me back from the company and make an appointment for a supervisor to meet me at the storage unit on Wednesday August 24th at 6:00. I drove all the way out from my new home - almost 2 hours of travel time - and waited but no one showed up. After waiting over an hour, a Two Men employee named "Benjamin" finally called me at 7:05 to say that the person scheduled to meet me at 6:00 can't make it due to a "family emergency". I am absolutely outraged at the treatment I have received from this company. I was grossly overcharged and then made to drive over 2 hours just to prove that they have made a mistake, then no one shows up or has the decency to call me to let me know that the appointment had to be cancelled. I cannot understand how this is a legal business practice to quote one price, then charge another without any notification of the discrepancy.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that these charges to my credit card be reversed, and that I am reimbursed for my travel expenses for this appointment that was cancelled after I was already there and waiting for over an hour. A company representative should be send to look at the items in storage to determine the correct charges.

Business Response:


Hello ******



I received you concerns from the BBB and I re-opened your file to have a look at your concerns.  I see that you received some compensation, but not nearly what you felt is fair.  Out of customer service I would like to provide you with an additional refund of 1.5 hours’ worth of time ($201).  This refund will be applied to the card ending in *****  Please allow 7-10 days for this amount to reflect in your account.   




Thank you,



***** *****

Customer Satisfaction Department




Tell us why here...

10/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this moving company for a move that was 2 blocks from our original apartment. Both apartments are 1 bedroom, 700 square feet. We were quoted 3 hours for the complete move. It took over 9 hours and several hundred dollars worth of damage was done to our belongings. The company has not communicated what they plan to do about the damages or how they will adjust the cost of over $1200 when we were quoted $540.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund.

Business Response:


On 9/30/16 a third party vendor that we hired went onsite and made repairs to this customers furniture.  In regards to the time, we are providing the customer with a full hour reimbursement out of customer service.



Thank you

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Heather ****

9/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have experienced the absolute WORST customer service and overall experience from this company & feel very slighted as well as disrespected. I used this company to facilitate a residential move to my new apartment & the company made the recommendations of a (3) man crew and a time slot of 3 hours to complete the move. Based on their recommendations from the information I shared with them about the items that would needed to be moved. Come the day of the move, the company sent (3) total workers & a large truck for the move. I gave complete and detailed instructions on how I would like them to pack the truck as well as the order to pack it in. They seemed to understand everything & proceeded to begin moving furniture. As progress was made I noticed that 2 of the 3 workers were moving very slow and inefficient with moving the furniture and packing the truck for our move. I also am convinced these 2 movers were either hung over or inebriated on some sort of recreational drug. Their very slow movements, poor responses and very red eyes suggested they were not in the best shape to perform their tasks of moving furniture. As we approached the deadline for us to be completely out of the old apartment, the movers were still only half way done. Myself & friends had to grab furniture and move it our selves to stay on the time line that we had for our reservation to move into my new location. But we missed it and it caused a trickle down effect of issues that I will outline. - Over $3,500 in damages to furniture during the move from very careless movers (King Sized Memory Foam Mattress, large couch, bed frame, all of the bed room furniture & groceries lost because of carelessness). - It cost me additional monies to move my move in time line I made at my new residence. - I had to take 3 days off work to fix up a bunch of issues the movers left for me to fix. - I complained to the GM (Kevin) via phone & have been ignored with no assistance. - I was told to pay more.

Desired Settlement: - I would like to have my monies of $598 that was charged on my account to be refunded for such a terrible move and horrible customer service. - I would like them to compensate me for the great deal of personal damages to my furniture. - I would like compensation for time I missed at work. - I would also like this business to receive the WORST BBB rating you can apply to ensure another consumer does not use this terrible company of bandits who steal money and damage furniture.

Business Response:

Below is the settlement email that was sent to the customer.  This is being processed by our accounting department today 9/20/16.



Hello Jasper,




I spoke with the managers that have been working on your claim and came to a final settlement amount.  According to our vendor, Universal Upholstering, the cost of repairing your couch would total $210.  Jeremy ****** then told me he offered you $300 for other damage and time removed from your bill.  This would bring the total settlement amount to $510.  I see that as of now you have an outstanding balance of $513.00 from your move.  Your card ending in 6088 only accepted $598.50 or your $1111.50 total.  What I am having our accounting department do is remove all of your outstanding balance ($513.00) and conisdering your move paid in full.  This will be considered reimbursement for any damage and time issues experienced during you move.  Again, we apologize that your move did not take place without incident and aplogize for any inconvenience to you as a result.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution has been bloviaref. Jeremy never contacted me after he told me his manager Kevin would call me. 


Kevin attempted to call me one time and I returned the call to him, to no avail as he ignored my message and never called me back.

This comapny is the worst business that I have ever felt with and I will do everything in my power to ensure no other consumer ever deals with this sham of a comapny  


Jasper *********

8/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used Two Men and a Truck several times in the past and my recent encounter left me with damaged property and a LARGE AMOUNT of MONEY STOLEN by one of their movers. I filed a complaint with TMNT and the contact Jared ***** seemed very responsive at first. Once the claim was filed, he REFUSED to answer my calls or emails. I contacted his "manager" Sara ********* and she reached out to me and seemed responsive. Once she got my information, she then ignored me. There was a lot of discussion about resolving my claim for damage. They wanted a furniture repair shop to fix a large custom dresser. I explained that this is the only dresser I have and its been weeks that I have been living out of bags. There is no way a repair can fix the dresser, due to the custom layers involved with the piece. The furniture vendor reached out and stated that they can pick up the dresser and do what they can to try and fix it and it will take 30-60 days to get back. I live in a high rise and I am an hourly contractor. I explained to sara that I would have to take off time from work and reserve the service elevator twice for this to even work and i would still be out of the dresser for at least 2 month since the move. I relayed that a replacement would be the option. A week later she I was finally able to get he on the phone again and she couldnt remember who I was and seemed REALLY confused and overwhelmed. I heard kids screaming in the background and she explained the Jared was getting married and was in and out and she was handling things for him. I ask who was his manager, she replied "I think I am his manager, or maybe he is mine, i dont really know.. I could not believe this. She ask to return my call after she looked into the matter. She returned my call about 20 min later stating that they want to pick the dresser up to repair. I again had to state how that is not going to work. she shuffled through papers and told me she could only give me 60$ for a $2k dresser.

Desired Settlement: Due to the nature of the damage, theft and distress caused by this situation, a refund in FULL on top of the cost of a replacement dresser. Additionally, they should be liable for the monies that were stolen from my residence during the course of their service.

Business Response:

We are actively working with this customer to resolve his concerns.  Our General Manager has been looking into replacement of the dresser.  We have also been working with our wood furniture repair vendor.  We will have a final resolution for this customer very soon.


In regards to the missing money I have yet to hear from the police department that the customer said he contacted.  I am unable to aid in the investigation without first speaking with the police department handling the report.

8/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The customer service at this particular location is horrible. My move was the move from **** and it took a long time. The movers had to wait for an additional person to help and for a specific tool that they needed. Screws needed to reassemble one of the cabinets were left at the other house by the movers. A seat cushion for the couch was also lost. To make a long story short I have to buy another seat cushion and it took 8 days to have someone come out to-reassemble the cabinet. Customer service did not help much. I spoke with Jared and asked if someone could check the truck. Never heard back from him. Called several times and the phone would ring a few times and then disconnect. When I finally got through, I spoke with ****. She said that she would have someone look in the truck. After three days and no response I called her back. She stated that someone else tried to call me. That was not true. I tipped the moving guys well and I don't deserve to be treated this way.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone other than from this location to call me.

Business Response:

We sent a moving crew to her home free of charge post move to take care of the cabinet.  We looked for the cushion the customer said was missing.  We inspected the truck, the office, and spoke to the moving crew.  They told me that they did not have any items left on the back of the truck when the move was completed.  I looked at the customers bill of lading under the truck release section.  The customer initialed that portion which states the following:

"I have inspected the truck in which my items were transported and verify that all items have been removed from the truck. (We are not responsible for missing items)."


After explaining this to the customer she was still very upset.  Even though we do not have the "missing" item and we went through all the proper procedures on move day, we decided to provide the customer with a settlement anyways.  The customer was sent a settlement letter based on her valuation selection.  The refund is being processed to the card used for payment of her move.  I feel that we have gone above any beyond given the circumstances. 

Business Response:

We rescheduled a time to come out to the customers home to take care of any existing issues with reassembly/positioning of furniture.  This is scheduled for 8/4/16 @ 12:00PM.  We did not locate the couch cushion after searching therefore we provided the customer with a settlement for that piece.



Thank you

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:Once again I would like to state that I do not understand what's going on .The cabinet was reassembled last week by your staff therefore, I do not need service on Thursday, August the 4th. Again, my main complaint is about the poor customer service that I received which you continue to prove my point. 


****** ********

7/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck put a gash in one of my couch cushions. This is a 2-piece Davis Sectional Couch from ***** * ******* I spoke to ***** * ****** and was told that they do not do furniture repairs and to look into ********* ****** I contacted ********* ***** and was told that they could not fix the cushion with the hole being in the middle of the cushion. Basically, I have a tear in a nice couch that I own and nobody is able to fix it. Essentially, I may need a new couch and I shouldn't have to be the one to pay for it.

Desired Settlement: I would either like for the couch to be PROFESSIONALLY fixed and look as if nothing ever happened or for Two Men and a Truck to reimburse/pay upfront to me the full cost of a new couch.

Business Response:

This customer has already received a settlement for the damaged sofa based on his valuation selection.


Business Response: This customer has already received a settlement for the damaged sofa based on his valuation selection.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I received an email from ****** ***** regarding me needing to chose an insurance option.  I spoke to her on the phone that same day and was told that I do not need to select one.  I did not sign anything stating the valuation that I agreed upon.  My Mother had signed on my behalf and I was not made aware of it until my move was complete and the movers asked for my credit card for payment.  I am 27 years old which means I can legally sign off on the document.  If I wasn't able to be found, I was probably out looking for one of the movers moving my stuff.  Again,  I did not approve of my mother signing anything.  Furthermore, Two Men & a Truck had complete neglagance of my property.  I want more money for the couch or a full reimbursement.  Like I said, I cannot find anyone who is able to fix it.  

****** *******

3/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired Two men to move my girlfriend and I into a new apartment down the street, was on orders and leaving soon so needed someone who could come early on a Sunday. Of the companies I called Two Men was able to come and move the earliest, so I went with them. I thought I clearly explained over the phone I had an apartment to PACK and MOVE. When the movers showed up, they showed up on time as scheduled at 0815, started packing big things and items and it wasn't until nearly 1030 when they said they weren't booked for an actual PACK, just the MOVE. Movers left to go to their main Des Plaines office to pick up supplies for packing, returning about 1230. Continued packing until they ran out of materials (mainly tape) around 1430. They continued to try and pack some items and wrap with plastic wrap instead of tape. I called the Des Plaines office to talk options, the office said they had another team they could send from Chicago and help things go faster. By 1530 I called to confirm sending the other team as I was already running out of time and hoped to be unpacking boxes by this point. At this time the movers are literally sitting on the floor waiting for the other team to show up with supplies an tape (one mover is even completely asleep). 1640 the Chicago team shows up, questioning the Des Plaines team with what took so long, why people were sleeping. Both teams now bringing in supplies and packing, by 1730 everything is packed and loaded, at new apartment, 1855 unloaded and unpacked. Final dollar amount was around $1800, when initial quote was $700. Team took their time, was unorganized, and slow. Chicago team assured me I could work this out with the office. Manager (Jared) came by next day with a $1400 bill, which I was not happy with, and he said he would go back to office and fight for me. Two days later receive invoice for $1400. Worst moving experience ever, and the manager literally said he didn't force us to chose his company. Not happy at all.

Desired Settlement: Overall experience was terrible and they are trying to charge based off of an inexperienced team and their lack of skill/knowledge/training. The bill was written by the Chicago team as the Des Plaines team leader didn't know what he should account/charge. No inventory of materials used until the very end, and was written within minutes, based mostly from Chicago team input. Due to being charge TWICE the quoted offer, the multiple problems/length/time it took, and the experience of trying to work things out originally with company, demand full refund. had I known this company would try and charge for this much, there is no way I would have used them.

Business Response:

The customer was originally on our schedule for moving services only.  When the men were onsite they realized the customer wanted both moving and packing services.  The estimate that the customer was emailed, as well as his pre move confirmation letter, were only for moving services.  When we realized he wanted packing services as well, we had packing materials brought onsite and instructed the men to complete whatever services the customer was asking for.  Since the estimate provided to the customer was only for moving services, the total at the end of the move was different.  After the move was completed the customer called in expressing their concerns with the final outcome of the move.  He said he wanted a partial reimbursement for the mix up and concerns with the moving crew. Also the customer had a scratch on a wooden dresser and a vanity mirror with 1 of the 4 screws missing.  Out of customer service he was provided with a refund of $422.50 for his time/moving crew concerns and $85 for the dresser and missing screw.  This brings his total reimbursement to $507.50.  We felt that this resolution is more than fair given the circumstances of this customers move.  Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Business Response: We do not require any additional signatures from the customer.  In regards to using moving supplies, everything that was brought out the customer was free of charge.  We did not charge the customer for one single box yet we used quite a lot of supplies.  We also sent an additional moving crew to help the customer's move go faster.  This again ended up being completely free of charge.  We then removed even more money from the bill out of customer service for concerns the customer expressed about the original moving crew. When I sent one of my managers onsite to speak with the customer in person after this move, ******** explained there was even more down time from his move that we didn't account for on move day.  Without question we removed the time he mentioned further lessening his total cost.  After all of this has been done we feel confident that what we have done post move is fair and reasonable given the circumstances. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Manager sent onsite and manager dealing with current issue through BBB is same manager, who has personal attachment to the movers as he stated he initially trained them. Customer is completely dissatisfied with the billing, charge, quality of work, and customer care/service on Two Men and a Truck moving experience, being worst/lowest rated moving experience of a 10-year military career and multiple moves. Complaint will remain in effect until complete refund.


******** ********

10/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Claim XXX-XXXXX On May 6, *0*5, I requested * Men... to move me FROM **** N. **** ***** ******* **** * (600 Sq Ft), Chicago, IL ********* ************ a historic landmark and elevator building) and my partner from **** ** ******* ******* *** * (*,000 Sq Ft), Chicago, IL (first floor of a two-flat) TO **** N. ***** ***** ******* **** *, Chicago IL. According to ******* the entire trip is 8.6 miles. After explaining the contents to be moved on the **st, * Men estimated the job to take 7 hours to complete and cost $*,034. The actual length of the move was *7 hours, spanning May **st and **nd. After the move I never received a bill of lading (despite requesting one); and, although I gave * Men my credit card info over the phone at the time of the reservation, I never signed a receipt as none was ever presented to me. A total of 3 different inexperienced teams of college age movers handled my move. The original 3 (**** ******** **** ****** and ****** ******* are responsible for improperly loading the truck, causing damage to furniture. In total there is damage to multiple pieces of furniture, scratches on the floor of my newly renovated home, a $500 fine from the ******** *********** (resulting from failure to comply with their 8am to **nooon move out policy) and having to miss * day of work b/c the move carried over into a second day. Because of this ordeal, I am looking at potential costs totaling more than my estimated move costs to repair the damages caused by * Men and the fine owed to the ******** ************ MOVING SPECIFICS: The furniture was loaded from the first pickup location by *:30pm after starting late at 9:*6am on the **st. By *:30pm the movers were headed to the *nd pickup location. The majority of furniture was loaded from the second pickup location by 5:30pm. Two new college kid movers replaced * of the original 3. According to * Men's new mover team (Ralph and Frankie), the truck was loaded improperly, requiring a return trip to the *nd pickup location and for a *nd unloading at the final destination. The first unloading to the final destination was completed at **:30pm. After returning for the second time to the *nd pickup location to recover items that didn't fit on the first trip, I told the movers (* at that time as * ******** walked off the job) it was too late to continue. We were all utterly exhausted and I didn't want to risk more damage to my furniture, given it was dark. Also I didn't want to disturb my neighbors with noise from the truck. CONVERSATIONS WITH * MEN LOGISTICS COORDINATOR I spoke with ******, * Men Logistics Coordinator, several times on the **st and left numerous messages on the company v/m. The first time was before noon on the **st about the movers' late arrival to the first pickup address, failure to bring wardrobe boxes that had been requested on May *8th and failure to bring any tools to dismantle the bed. I spoke to ****** again around 5pm when the *nd team of movers arrived and I was informed the truck was loaded improperly and that we would have to make * extra trips. ****** assured me I would not have to pay for the extra trip. I left messages for ****** in the general mailbox after 7pm (the office was closed) when my new wood floors were damaged by ****** who incidentally walked off the job and did not return and when other items were discovered to be damaged. I left another message in the company mailbox after **:30pm telling them I called off the rest of the move given it was late and we all were tired. On May *7, *0*5, my credit card was charged for $*,999.50. I tried repeatedly to speak with * Men about this ordeal and have been unsuccessful to date. When I saw the charge on my credit card today, I immediately called them and still am awaiting a response.

Desired Settlement: Due to the negligence of Two Men & A Truck, I am recovering from sheer exhaustion, and I am looking at costs totaling more than my estimated move costs to repair the damages that they caused and the potential fine of $500 now owed to the ******** ************ I have to appear at a June condo board hearing to determine whether the fine will be instituted or waived. As such I do not agree to pay Two Men & A Truck for the estimated amount of $1,032 and I most certainly will not agree to pay the authorized amount of $1,999.50 charged today (May 27, 2015) to my credit card without my consent. I ask that 2 Men pay for the damages caused to me and that I pay for no more than 7 hours of service that were agreed to at the start of the customer engagement. In summary, the move should have taken as estimated 7 hours to complete packing, loading and unloading. Two Men & A Truck should have assigned an experienced crew (NOT NEW HIRES) to handle the job; and, had it done so, the job would not have been a two-day, 17-hour job. For reference when my partner used Two Men to move the same contents from ********** to **** N. ******* (approx. 25 miles) it took under 6 hours. When I used another moving company to move the same contents from a 51-floor high rise apartment building in downtown Chicago **** ** ***** ***** Street) to **** ** **** ***** Avenue, it took under 4 hours to complete the move.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/10/07) */ Ms. ***** ***** was made whole with a cash settlement for all issues.she was satisfied with the offer and accepted it over a month ago.

10/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug 12, 2015. My wife and I hired Two Men and a Truck *** ******* to move a couch from the 2nd floor of our house to the basement. In the process, they damaged the couch beyond repair and they did significant damage to the drywall and the floors. Both the walls and floors had been remodeled only days before.

Desired Settlement: I want this business to refund the $258 they charged our credit card for the moving services and pay to replace our couch and repair the damage done to my home

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/10/07) */ Mr. **** ********** was given his desired resolution.

10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a very expensive desk, solid wood, suspended on 8 legs. The movers broke a leg off during the move. The desk has a very specific finish on it as well. So the repair will be move involved then just gluing it together. The desk was to be picked up for repair on Monday 8/3, following 3 weeks of back and forth with the claims manager and repair shop. They failed to show up at the time indicated. After this I was not pleased and expressed that to the manager. Unfortunately, he took it personal and opted to just settle a cash claim of $150, and swiftly hung up on me. I did not attack this individual in anyway, but a person that has invested in something that was not their fault, would be upset. This amount will not even take care of the delivery charges to and from a repair shop, let alone the repair. The repair will actually cost anywhere from $1XXX-XXXX. I paid with a credit card, in which they said they will credit my card the $150. I also took out insurance on my property amounting to $3000, thinking I was covered in the event something happened with the desk. I moved from my old location on 7/16 and it is now 8/6. I was told they would have my claim resolved in 24-48 hours. To top off the move, there was an additional truck dispatched to my home the day of the move, in which I was not notified. In this move by the company, a TV magically disappeared from my home as well.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a settlement that will actually repair the desk and cover pick up and delivery charges to the repair shop.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/10/07) */ Mr. *** ********* has had repairs made to his damaged desk and has been made whole again. The piece was restored and delivered back to him 2 weeks ago. If you need any more information please do not hesitate to ask. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The repaired the desk to repaired status. They did pick up and re-deliver. I would recommend them if your items are not highly valuable.

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company moved me from ******** to Chicago on Saturday, May 30th. Sales order XXXX-XXXXXXXXX, Claim XXX-XXXXX. I have emailed back and forth with several representatives from their company and they have not provided a fair resolution... I confirmed ahead of time with their representative, ********** ****** that my move time was scheduled for 11:30 AM Saturday. I reserved the elevators at both my residence in ******** and new residence in Chicago around this. At 12:05 Saturday I called the logistics representative (****?) who told me that my move time window was actually between 11:30-1:30 and he would get back to me with a status on when the movers would get to my place. I was NEVER told that there would be a move window of 2 hours! ********** told me specifically that my move time was scheduled at 11:30 and she never mentioned that there would be a move window, let alone a 2 hour window. With the tight timelines of the elevators at both places, I would have never agreed to this. Then, at 12:31, I called **** back as he hadn't gotten back to me. He told me that the movers had finished up at their last call and they should be calling me "any minute" with an ETA. I waited until 12:44, then called and talked to the general manager (as I hadn't got a call from the movers and was losing confidence in the integrity of their company) who told me that he would check on the status of the truck. He then told me that the movers were on their way. The movers got to my place after 1:30. The movers gave me a feeling that they didn't care much about if my stuff got damaged. * They loaded several items into the elevator without padding/protection, including my table which they put on its end and there was damage to my table * They didn't wrap up my mattress and box spring fully with wrap so that it got a bit dirty and ripped * They lifted my filing cabinet in the air and it dropped hard it on its side scratching and damaging the frame. So, then, the truck was finally loaded up before 4:00. I made sure they had the correct address and made sure they knew where to park. The move was only 26 miles, but they didn't arrive to my place until after 6:00!!! I got to the new location in a fraction of the time it took them. I called them at least three times during their trip to get a status update of where they were and wanted to make sure they knew how to get there. They initially would give me vague answers, but during one of the calls they hung up on me. I was freaking out thinking that they were just going to steal my stuff and drive off with my possessions. This was also a huge issue because I only had the elevator reserved in the new building from 1:30-5:30. Before the movers left, I told them how the rugs in the new apartment had been professionally cleaned and I insisted that they cover the floors so that they don't walk on them with their muddy boots. They said they had things to cover the floor, but I gave them a box of throw rugs anyway to put in the truck. When they brought items up to my new apartment, they did not bring items with them to protect the carpets first, and said they packed the rug box I gave them all the way in the back of their truck; not smart. So, then on their second trip up, they brought some items to cover parts of my carpet, but they still (many times) walked on my carpets with their boots. As they continued to load stuff in, they continued to do a horrible job. Many of my items were significantly damaged including one of the two glass doors on my dresser shattered, the other is scratched up and broken glass got on my new carpets and clothes in the dresser. What should have been a low stress, exciting day of moving to a new city, became a nightmare.

Desired Settlement: I was initially significantly overcharged for the hours the company said they worked. They refunded some of the money, but are still expecting me to pay over $700 for this move. With the experience I had with them, this seems absurd. I gave the company several pictures of damaged items. The damage to my items came through the negligence and willful lack of concern to take care of my items while in transit. Building maintenance also noted the damage they made to the building and elevator while they were here. Since the company was negligent, I should be given fair compensation to replace or fix the items that were damaged, including: * Both filing cabinets were badly damaged * The movers did not pad/cover significant portions of my bed which caused significant and unnecessary damage. * The kitchen table was not covered/padded during moving and as I mentioned, I saw them drop this hard on its end in the elevator in ******** * My massage chair was damaged * The left glass door of my dresser was shattered, the right one was scratched up and the front took a bit of a beating as well * I have three tray tables. None of which were covered/padded during moving so they are scratched up

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/08/24) */ To whom it may concern: I have attempted to reach out regarding this claim without answer from your organization, I do apologize if these responses have not been received. That being said **** ***** has in fact been dealt with through our claims department here. We have provided monetary compensation due to ill used time on move day as well as damages. The offer was made to **** to have the damaged items fix he denied this and opted for a cash settlement. **** feels as though this is not fair but unfortunately there is nothing more we can do. We believe strongly in doing what is right which is why we had attempted to go above and beyond our contractual obligation of .30 cents per pound per article and have the items repaired unfortunately **** did not want this which is why he received a cash settlement for the damages. Please let me know when you have received this as well as if you have any more question regarding this. Sincerely, ***** ***** TMT Chicagoland LLC., DBA TWO MEN AND A TRUCK(r) ILLCC XXXXXX MC *********** Des Plaines Chicago **** E. ******** #XXX XXXX W. ****** St. Des ******** IL XXXXX ******** IL XXXXX *******.XXXX XXX.******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) "We believe strongly in doing what is right," is a demonstrably false claim from this company. Two Men and a Truck handled my move horribly from start to finish and did less than the bare minimum required for my move. Why would I trust them, or their business partners with fixing my stuff? I don't trust them any longer, so I don't want them in my home or handling my stuff. Also, some of the items were damaged beyond repair and needed to be replaced, rather than fixed. I gave the company pictures of the damage. I cringe at the thought of other people entrusting this company to move their property. Horrible experience...start to finish.

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 2, 2015 Movers showed up 1.5 hours late. Took them 15 hours to move a one bedroom loft. They didn't wrap furniture with pads (I have photos) Threw boxes around and smashed glass (I have video) Will not respond for settlement.

Desired Settlement: $11,000.00 in cash for the value of brand new furniture.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** General Manag Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** Mr. ******** has not paid his bill in full and therefore can not be processed through our claims department due to this. I have tried to contact him via telephone and email without response. Once Mr. ******** pays his bill in full we would be more than willing to settle all damage claims. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have never received a call from Mr. ****** My credit card was charged twice without any discussion of charges due (which was agreed to for the next day and NEVER did I receive a call) to the value of damage caused by complete carelessness and not following procedures. Deduction of the moving charges can become part of the settlement. No further payment will be sent. A complaint has been drafted and will be filed by weeks end if this claim is not settled. And again, a judge would love to see all of the photos and videos. Which will then cost this moving company a much great value as attorney fees and court cost will be assessed. As well as bad press.

5/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov 13, 2014 I spoke to **** **** at Two Men and a Truck and requested moving services for Dec 16 (order #XXXXX) and Dec 18 (order #XXXXX). She asked me to walk around the house and detail the items we needed moved and how much stuff we had. We were never offered an in home estimate. She assured me they had availability to move all of our stuff and that it would for sure fit in 1 truck. My husband, **** also called **** a few days later to confirm that we would need more than 1 truck to move everything and she again assured him that it would be fine. On Dec 16, the movers were supposed to be at our house at 10am. ***** called me multiple times telling me that they were having problems with the moving truck as it would not start. I asked if the 2nd truck was at least on it's way. He said two trucks were not coming and that it was estimated that we only needed 1 truck. He said he would wait until the mover in charge arrived to determine if another truck was needed. I told him I was 100% sure that we would need more than 1 truck. When the movers arrived 2 hours late they immediately determined that we definitely needed another truck as we had previously requested which was clearly not taken into consideration. It took several hours to get another truck and more help. ***** called me again and told me that this estimate was their mistake and that they would reduce my charges because they were late and underestimated significantly. We were charged and paid $806 that day for the move which was confirmed and written onto the moving contract and receipt by the onsite mover in charge. On Dec 18, the movers arrived and delivered our belongings. We were billed for $1316 and paid. A few days later we noticed that our credit card was charged an additional $968 without our consent or knowledge. On Dec. 26 I called and spoke to **** ****** at Two Men and he asked for a copy of our credit card bill so he could look into it. Then I was passed on to ***** ***** at Two Men and a Truck. We discussed the situation on January 2, 2015 and that the $968 would be refunded. **** ****** also emailed me on Jan 5, 2015 and again agreed to refund the $968 and that our total for EVERYTHING was $2270. The $968 was then refunded. Then on Jan 21 I received an email from **** ********** at Two Men saying we had a past due balance of $968. I explained to him everything that had happened and that this should be a resolved issue already as agreed upon with ****. Per ****'s email on Jan 21, he said the reason we were refunded the $968 was because they didn't have an invoice made for it yet. We were NEVER told that there would be another invoice!! This is ridiculous. I asked him to talk to **** as he previously sent me an email confirming the total amount for EVERYTHING was $2270 per the accounting department. I tried calling **** and emailing him and he has not returned any of my calls or emails since January 27. I also called on multiple occasions and asked to speak to a manager and I was told there wasn't one available every time. On Jan 27, Two Men and a Truck charged my credit card again for $968 without my knowledge or consent. We were given final bills and statements on the dates of service. If more was to be charged to us, why wasn't that done and calculated on the contract and receipt on the date of service? Why weren't we told there would be another invoice? Why is it made up much later? How can they go back a month later and decide to charge us more for their mistakes and charge our credit card twice without our knowledge or consent. Nobody at this company knows what is going on and you just keep getting passed on to a different person who gives you a different answer. This is a horrible, fraudulent, shady way to run a business. I will never do business with this company again or recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: We were charged $806 (Dec 16 move) and $1316 (Dec 18 move). Per **** ********* email on Jan 5, our total for EVERYTHING was $2270. We will pay the $148 difference in charges per ****'s email confirmation from the accounting department. Two Men and a Truck should then refund us $820 ($968-$148).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/05/14) */ On Dec. 16th the movers arrived to the location for ******'s move. After doing a walk-through and surveying the location, the movers realized that not all of the items would fit into one truck. Upon bringing this to ******'s attention, she requested an additional truck and men to help speed-up the process to avoid multiple trips. Once an additional truck and additional movers were available, our logistics manager sent them to her location to help with the move, per ******'s request. Although the original job sheet pertained to one truck and two men, it was clearly indicated to ****** by our logistics manager that the new charge would be in addition to the secondary truck and crew. Because only one job sheet was sent with the original crew, ****** was informed that another invoice would be generated (in accordance with our Corporate policy) at a later date to cover the additional truck and labor. At a later date, a new invoice was generated throughout the system to cover the additional labor as earlier discussed. One of our Operations Managers even indicated this to ****** through a phone conversation, in which ****** agreed. Upon seeing the new amount, ****** was upset with the new amount, however through multiple emails and phone conversations, she openly agreed that the new invoice did make sense and agreed to the new amount. ****** then attempted to do a charge-back with her bank, which after careful review, was ruled in favor of Two Men and A Truck. Based on the reasons we have provided, we do not believe this should be considered as a valid complaint.

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: during our recent move they left boxes at old house and damaged two walls at new house. Had to go and get rest of boxes out of old house ourselves. This cost us time and gas, we had to repair the walls. We told them what to take and when we we were unpacking noticed that we were missing items. They were just sitting in the old house.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund on the amount of time we had to take to go back to retrieve boxes and repair the walls.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/13) */ Contact Name and Title: Mr. ***** ***** (GM) Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** Spoke with ****** ****** This afternoon as soon as we received this complaint. Unfortunately ****** had the wrong franchise, I have since pointed her in the right direction regarding this issue.

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 30, 2014, I hired Two Men and a Truck to provide moving services. Some of my furniture was severely damaged. After numerous phone calls and emails that went unanswered, I was finally assigned a damage claim number by Two Men and a Truck on June 16. As of August 1, my repeated attempts to follow up on this claim have gone unanswered. My furniture remains damaged and I have been unable to resolve this matter with the company. These are the details of my move with Two Men and a Truck: *** 9: First contact with Two Men and a Truck. Representative ***** ********** with the company sends me an estimate for their moving services. May 25: I confirm with ***** ********** that I want to hire Two Men and a Truck for moving services on May 30, 2014. May 27: I receive invoice from ***** Trost with Two Men and a Truck for the moving materials I ordered. May 29: I receive information for my upcoming move on May 30 from ***** *********** May 30: My move with Two Men and Truck occurs with two employees. When we arrived to our destination, the two movers opened the back of the moving truck, we saw that our furniture was not padded, as promised to prevent damage. I asked the two movers why our furniture was not wrapped for protection, and they said they didn't have any pads. Yet, they were clearly visible inside the moving truck. After inspection, the two movers acknowledged my damaged furniture and told me to go online to fill out a damage claim. June 2: I find out that I was misled as the company does not offer customers to complete damage claim forms via their website. June 2: I receive an automated Customer Satisfaction Survey request from the company. June 9: I speak with ***** ***** with Two Men and Truck. He makes a note of my request to file a damage report and agrees to set up a time to view our damaged property. I respond with some dates and times, but do not hear back from ****** June 16: I call Two Men and a Truck and speak with ***** *****. He emails me a damage claim number (XXX-XXXXX) and requested that I send him "the damage that occurred during my move and to separate each damage to make the claim easier to process." I responded with this information on June 17. June 23: I called ***** ***** to see if he had any updates. I also followed up with an email. I received no response. June 30: Called ***** *****, left message. No response. July 9: Called ***** *****, left message. No response. July 25: I spoke to ***** ***** regarding my damage claim. He stated that my claim was given to ***** ***** in another office to handle and that he would find out why I haven't heard from him. I sent both ***** and ***** a recap email based on my discussion with ****** No response. August 1: As of August 1, I have not heard from ***** or ***** and there has been no follow up from Two Men and a Truck.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking compensation for the damaged done by the agents of Two Men and a Truck and available to me through the insurance coverage that was in effect during the moving services provided by this company. I estimate that the value to compensate for damages is approximately $500 or more. The following items were damaged by Two Men and a Truck: Tall Dresser - numerous deep scratches on the top and front with stains of white paint Entertainment Credenza - scratches on the top and sides Night Stand - scratches on the top Leather Crate - broken metal handle New Gas Grill - metal panel (leaf) deep scratches and severely dented Tall Book Shelf - glass shelves chipped Curio Cabinet - scratches one side Credenza - scratches and chips Desk - deep scratches and gouges to the top

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** We have left several messages for Mr. ********* over the past few days to address his claim. ***** ***** in particular has made these calls. Without being able to contact the customer we are currently unable to address the claims any further than our contractual obligations (30 cents per pound per article). We want to go above and beyond this and repair the damaged items for Mr. *********. If he would reach out to us via email: *********** OR XXX-XXX-XXXX we would gladly assist him. In an effort to close this claim; if we do not hear from Mr. ********* by weeks end we will close the claim via the contract. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No representative from Two Men and a Truck have tried to contact me via email or phone. They are misleading the Better Business Bureau with false information. I am sending one final email to ***** ***** and ***** ***** with Two Men and Truck and will copy the Better Business Bureau. I am more than willing to accept the standard contractual 30 cents per pound per article, but no one has from their company has attempted to contact me to discuss this matter. I do not accept their response. ******* ********* XXX-XXX-XXXX ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/08/18) */ I have received an email from Mr. ********* regarding his damage claim. He states that he is more than willing to accept the state minimum valuation which he selected for his move. I have attached this email for your review and close the claim with the below settlement for the below items: Tall Dresser - This item has a deemed weight of 150lbs @ 30 cents per pound per article = $45.00 Entertainment Credenza - This item has a deemed weight of 100lbs @ 30 cents per pound per article = $30.00 Night Stand - This item has a deemed weight of 50lbs @ 30 cents per pound per article = $15.00 Leather Crate - This item has a deemed weight of 50lbs @ 30 cents per pound article = $15.00 New Gas Grill -This item has a deemed weight of 100lbs @ 30 cents per pound per article = $30.00 Tall Book Shelf - This item has a deemed weight of 100lbs @ 30 cents per pound per article = $30.00 Curio Cabinet - This item has a deemed weight of 100lbs@ 30 cents per pound per article = $30.00 Credenza - This item has a deemed weight of 100lbs@ 30 cents per pound per article = $30.00 Desk - This item has a deemed weight of 100lbs@ 30 cents per pound per article = $30.00 $255.00 will be refunded to the Credit Card used for final payment and should act as full and final settlement for any/all damages. Thank you,

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Two Men and a Truck to assist with a move on Friday June 27 (invoice number XXXX-XXXX). They failed to complete the agreed to services and as a result our belongings had to be moved into storage (rather than into the new unit as agreed). Their customer service agents and managers were unresponsive on the day of the move it (I was promised calls back). The following Monday the company was unable to resolve the situation in the necessary time frame. To the extent that it is unclear, the Company provided no value to us. We hired them to move our belongings on Friday from one location in the **** ***** to a condo 2 blocks away. Instead, our belongings have been sitting in storage since Friday in ***** ****** and they are unable to assist us tomorrow in completing the move.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay the 871.00 invoiced. I want the Company to pay for the new movers that we hired to complate the job, for the storage unit made necessary by their failure and for the items we had to purchase as a result of not having acces to our stuff for 4 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** I would like to point out a few key notations on ***** ******** Invoice: 1. (Top Right) ***** had an eta between 12:00 & 2:00. We arrived as noted at 1:00. 2. (Bottom Right) ***** signed our delivery acknowledgement stating that all services had been rendered unless otherwise noted on our work order. There are no notations that would point to our services not being rendered. We completed the move as asked. The only thing that I can see that changed regarding the move is that it did take an extra 2.5 hours over the original estimate. This was due to more items than originally quoted as well as the customer changing their unload destination. The unload destination was changed due to them not adequately arranging the elevator at the unload destination. As you can see all services were rendered and we unloaded where the customer requested us to on move day. At this time we are unable to compensate for any additional time for the other movers (this would not have happened if the elevator were properly arranged), nor will we be compensating for "items we had to purchase as a result of not having access to our stuff for 4 days"... this is completely false as it was their storage unit. If anyone on your staff or ***** would like to talk about this matter I can be reached at the number below: ***** ***** General Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Two Men and a Truck was fully advised of the elevator reservation schedule in advance of the move and at no point suggested that it was "inappropriate." See the attached email between ****** ********** and me. I emailed ****** ********** and clearly explained the schedule. She responded to that email and at no time suggested that it presented an issue. On the day of the move, it was clear that the crew (which was a replacement crew) had not been informed of the schedule. I asked several time whether they would be able to complete the move by 4:30. Up until 3:45 the crew repeatedly told me that they could complete the move in time. At 3:45 the crew suggested they needed a back up crew. They called their manager repeatedly and received no response. They asked me to do the same. I also called, explained the situation, and was told to wait for a call back. No call ever came. The location change was necessary only because Two Men failed to complete the move within the clearly stated time parameters. We literally have no choice but to put our stuff in storage (thereby incurring additional costs) and to hire other movers to complete the move (again incurring additional costs). If Two Men had told us when we make the reservation or earlier in the day of the move that the timeframe was improper, we could have made other arrangements in advance of the move or arranged for additional help ourselves on the day of the move. Telling us 45 minutes before the move needed to be completed left us with very few options. The assertion that there was more stuff than originally represented is false. There was actually quite a bit less. For example, we told ****** that we would need to move a couch, but ended up selling it before the move. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/21) */ Again, ***** was given an arrival which we arrived within. The elevator reservation and unload destination are both her responsibilities. I have attached an email from ***** to ******. ***** states that she wants the 12 - 2 arrival window after ****** clearly explains that we can arrive anywhere within that window. There are thousands of factors that go into a move... I feel that the added items, lack of knowledge of loading procedures (size of elevator, length of walk to truck, etc..) were the key factors. Unfortunately these are all factors that are within ***** ******** control. Upon request we send out an "In-Home Consultant" to confirm these sorts of things. Again, this is from request only or if we deem necessary. ***** did not ask for this service therefore these issues were her responsibility. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept Two Men & A Truck's Response. The company's response only serves to demonstrate that in addition to being incompetent, Two Men & A Truck is dishonest: 1. In its responses, Two Men & A Truck has repeatedly attempted to justify the 62 percent increase in their charge over estimate for a failed delivery by alleging that there were items added to the move or that the move entailed more property than originally estimated. This allegation is both without evidentiary support and so demonstrably false as to suggest that Two Men & A Truck has willfully fabricated a post-hoc justification to the BBB. No items were added to the move. Both the pre-move confirmation letter (Exhibit A) and the final bill of lading (Exhibit B) are for the same estimated weight of property moved (1,820 lbs.). 2. In its response, Two Men & A Truck also incorrectly asserts that the move location was changed because I did not arrange for an elevator at the original destination. Again, this is demonstrably false. The move location was changed because Two Men & A Truck blew off the original delivery deadline despite having been advised of this deadline more than 24 days prior to the move. Two Men & A Truck was advised on June 3, 2014 that the move had to be complete by 4P on June 27, 2014 due to limitations on the use of the elevator at the destination location (Exhibit C). At no time, in the intervening 24 days, including on the day of the move prior to 3:45P, did Two Men & a Truck indicate that they would be unable to meet this 4P deadline. Instead, on June 4, 2014, Two Men & A Truck's Customer Service Representative indicated that the destination elevator limitation had been noted in the account and Two Men & A Truck's moving crew on the day of the move proceeded to pack up all of the property at the origin destination and make repeated oral representations that they would make the 4P delivery deadline right up until 15 minutes before they failed to make that deadline. The proximate cause of the change in the move location was Two Men & A Truck's failure to meet a clearly stated deadline. Not the deadline itself. 3. Despite now claiming that it needed one to complete this move within the clearly stated deadline and on budget, Two Men & A Truck did not offer an "In Home Consultation" at any time during the course of this transaction nor does Two Men & A Truck advertise such a service as being among their moving services (Exhibit D). It is unreasonable to expect that customers should request items off of Two Men & A Truck's secret menu of products and services instead of simply relying on the written representations of Two Men & A Truck's Customer Service representative prior to the day of the move and the repeated oral representations of the moving crew on the day of the move. Assuming that the existence of an "In Home Consultation" service is not another post hoc fabrication by Two Men & A Truck to justify its nonperformance of this contract, one can safely assume that Two Men & A Truck did not deem this consultation to be necessary nor did it make its estimate to me contingent upon such a consultation. Two Men & A Truck's assertion that it was my responsibility to know the vagaries of the loading procedures at the origin location begs the question of who is holding themselves out to the public as a moving company and collecting exorbitant fees for that service. 4. Two Men & A Truck's assertion that I waived any rights to contest these charges by signing the Bill of Lading in the parking lot of a storage unit miles away from the contracted destination location to prevent a moving crew from literally holding hostage all of my worldly possessions is absurd. By finding the storage unit and redirecting the moving crew to that location after they had blown their deadline at the original destination, I covered as best as possible to minimize my damages from Two Men & A Truck's breach of contract. Two Men & A Truck was immediately notified that it had failed to deliver on the contract as bargained for, that all charges would be contested and that Two Men & A Truck would be responsible for all costs to complete the service as originally intended including a replacement moving crew. 5. In the end, I am fortunate to be in a financial position where Two Men & A Truck's attempt to extort me will not have severe consequences. Nonetheless, I intend to continue to pursue relief through the BBB's arbitration process and, if need be, in court because part of the reason that I choose to do business with Two Men & A Truck was its representation as a company with a mission "to continuously strive to exceed our customers' expectations in value and high standard of satisfaction" and the integrity to conduct itself fairly and honestly (Exhibit E). Charging 62 percent more than originally estimated to not complete a three block move within the time parameters that Two Men & A Truck represented that they could complete the move in, sticking the customer with the added and unanticipated costs to cover (e.g., storage rental) for your mistake, failing to provide or pay for a replacement moving crew to complete the contracted services on the next soonest date and providing a series of disingenuous responses to the BBB instead of taking responsibility for a move that objectively went very badly is inconsistent with the company that Two Men & A Truck holds itself out to the public to be. I will continue to assert my case in every available forum until such time as I am made whole or Two Men & A Truck removes any marketing material, including its website, holding itself out as a business with any sort of integrity.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problem date: July 3-present Bill of Lading:XXXX-XXXXXXXXX Email received on July 9 from ***** ***** allowed for $160 in damage for broken mirror, jammed and broken drawers on dresser. Email from ******* ******** on July 10 with receipt attached saying $160 had been refunded to my debit card. Refund never received. Email received on July 11 stated that the $397.50 for overtime charges for the move (another method of payment was used for those charges, which wasn't billed properly until July 11) had been refunded to my debit card. That money has not shown up in my account.

Desired Settlement: I want the $557.50 they owe me as well as the $74 in overdraft charges I was charged by my bank.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ************ Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ To whom it may concern: We have already refunded ******* ***** both the $160.00 due to damages as well as the $397.50, amount over estimate. I've attached both refund receipts as confirmation. Unfortunately, at this time, we are not responsible for Ms. *****'s overdraft fees, as the refunds were processed in a timely manner. Thank you.

7/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agreed on $950 to move a 2-bedroom condo, paid with credit card. Then a week later another $500.00 charge hit my credit card

Desired Settlement: Shouldn't have been charged the 2nd time on my credit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ************ Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ To whom it may concern: The total cost of ***** *****'s move was $1,440.50. He provided his credit card to the movers to pay for the move. When his paperwork was processed the following business day, the charges were attempted to be collected on the card he provided. Unfortunately, only a portion of the funds ($950.00) went through and the remaining $490.50 came back declined. In the mean time, Mr. ***** called our office and expressed some concerns that he had with the length of time that his move took. It was explained to Mr. ***** that his move needed to be paid in full before we could move forward with any claims. Once the $490.50 was successfully collected, we listened to *****'s concerns and agreed to reimburse him a total of $624.50. This brought his final move total down to $816.00 rather than $1,440.50. This refund has already been completed and I've attached all credit card transactions as proof.

7/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Despite calls into ***** ****** he has not returned my calls or followed up on my issues. It has been 2 weeks (spoke to him on he 21 June). Crew: did not know how to move a baby grand piano and ended up leaving it on the ground on the curved side. Had to pay $350 to have it moved and $320 to have it repaired. Other furniture was damaged in the move and needs to be repaired. Condo building had damage and needs to be fixed. buy back unused boxes.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for piano move and repairs, repairs to condo building, repairs to damaged furniture and buy back of unused boxes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** I have attached two email threads between ***** ********* and myself. I am a little confused regarding her remarks... I made first contact via email and am simply awaiting her to place her claims in writing (state regulations) before moving forward. As you can see on the second thread I have already been in contact with the condo association. The only hold on regarding the claim is on ***** ************ end. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** has not returned my calls or set up a time to come survey the damaged furniture. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/14) */ Please see the attached email. I have closed and settled each and every one of *****'s issues per her contract. Some issues were handled above and beyond her contract.

3/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 86 year old father and his wife moved from a 2 bedroom condo in ************ IL to a smaller 2-bedroom assisted living facility in Chicago on July 18. They contracted with 2 Men and a Truck to pack up their apartment and then to move them approximately 2.5 miles away. They received an estimate for the packingto take place on Wednesday, July 17, followed by the move on Thursday, July 18. They were advised that the assisted living facility had limited hours for moving, from 8-11 am and 1-5 pm, daily except weekends. Packers came on July 17 to pack up the apartment, but when they were finished there were still closets containing clothes and many pictures and pieces of artwork that did not get packed at all. We were told on Thursday that artwork and glass shelving is packed on the day of the move. However most of it was never "packed" but simply shoved into large boxes on the day of the move. Thursday the movers did not arrive until about 9:15 am (moving hours start from 8-9 am in the contract). It was a hot day and the movers took long breaks in their truck and by 4:00 pm had not yet packed up the truck and were then barred from moving into the new building that day. The company contacted my father and me, giving different stories and asking if we wanted to pay overtime to have the workers continue to packing the truck. My father said "no" as they were very inefficient and could no longer get into the building anyway. They agreed to hold the boxes in the truck overnight (at no additional cost) and finish the move the next day. On Friday they once again arrived after 9:00 am and took boxes over to the new condo to deliver them. They had specifically been asked before they started to load the furniture first so that the large furniture could be moved into place before the boxes were unloaded. Instead the furniture was not placed on the truck at all and it was entirely taken up with boxes and small furniture. These were delivered on Friday morning. The boxes were stacked up in the middle of the room and blocking the entrance to the apartment. After they unloaded, the movers did not return to the condo to finish loading the furniture for 2-3 hours. By the time they returned and finished loading the truck, it was too late to unload at the new apartment. They said that they would again keep the goods on the truck over the weekend and left. They were told to leave at approximately 4-4:30 because it was impossible to complete the move and because they had been moving the remaining boxes and furniture out of the condo and leaving it scattered throughout the parking lot. Residents returning to park their cars were irate that their spots were being blocked, as was access to the garage. Many things remained in the apartment which the family cleared out (including the bed frame) over the weekend as the closing on the sale of the condo was on Monday. On Monday morning no moving truck came to deliver the goods. They claimed that they had tried to call but that they received no response, but there were no "missed calls" or messages on my father's phone or on my phone (which they had as an alternative contact). When we finally got hold of them they admitted that they had no intention of delivering the rest of the goods on Monday and that the earliest they could be there was Tuesday morning. We strongly urged them to have the truck there as early as possible as there were only three hours available to move in the morning. They did come (two different movers) and finished the move. They were able to place the furniture because family members had moved the boxes out of the way over the weekend. My parents had to stay in a borrowed apartment for several days (including sharing a twin bed in our house one night), and were extremely stressed by these problems. Moreover, once they started to unpack they found that most of their large wood furniture had scrapes in it and most of their framed artwork was battered and some of the glass was broken.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)As the authorized agent for my father (who really cannot take this stress, has no computer skills, and has impaired hearing), the desired outcome would be acknowledgement that the company mismanaged the move and a refund of one-third of the cost of moving--the actual cost of moving, not including the separate charges for packing. The cost of the move charged to my father was $2,479.50 over two and a half days. The estimate was $997--the cost of

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** Case # XXXXXXXX: Please see the attached emails and refund confirmation. In our professional opinion the move would have went as scheduled had ****** been present on the move. Not once in the dispute did she mention that she wasn't even present during the move. Her 86 year old father was orchestrating the move; hints the mass confusion. We did everything that her father asked as he is our customer. ****** felt things should have been ran differently and on some points we agree with her. The only issue with that is that her father was our customer each and every day and if our customer requests something we do it. Had ****** or another representative been present on move day I am sure that things would have went differently. With that said ******'s father has been refunded for damages that occurred on his move as well as the inconvenience. We bent in the end in an effort to maintain a high level of customer service. Again, please see the attached email thread as well as refund receipt for confirmation. I feel that ******'s father has been adequately compensated for the move. Potentially above and beyond a normal level of customer service. If you or ****** have any further questions please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email me at *********** Thank you, Brian Stern General Manager

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Two Men and a Truck
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart