BBB Accredited Business since

The Moving Experts, Inc.

Phone: (847) 329-9704 Fax: (847) 329-9706 3419 Howard St, Skokie, IL 60076 http://www.themovingexpertsinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Moving Experts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Moving Experts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Moving Experts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 2005 Business started: 07/14/2004 Business started locally: 07/14/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Business Management
Ms. Irina Avdushev, President/Owner Ms. Allie Smith, Customer Service Rep.
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Irina Avdushev, President/Owner
Business Category

Movers Relocation Service Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our move from *** ***** to ******* was subcontracted to ****** 7 by ***** ****** (also dba The **************). ****** 7 did not use the correct estimate at point of pickup on June 25th, charging an additional $750 (~25% of cost) for "additional" boxes that we had already agreed to with Elite. We disputed the charge immediately, contacting both ***** and ****** 7 at the time of pickup, knowing that once our goods were picked up, delivery would not occur until balance paid in full. We received no response until multiple days later, after the delivery was already en route, leaving no recourse to challenge the additional charge before physically moving the goods. The "receipt" provided by ****** 7 was an illegible sheet of paper with no markings, so we have no record of the additional items they claimed to receive, and attempts to acquire that list before delivery have been futile. Our agreement with ***** was specific for no additional move-in fees, but ****** 7 is claiming we owe at least a $100 elevator charge. If we cannot accept delivery at the time they dictate, there will be additional storage and moving charges. Because our unit is a high-rise with one service elevator, we needed to schedule an estimated date with the building to move in our belongings. We advised both ****** 7 and ***** about this issue but they refused to tell us in appropriate time when the delivery will take place. It was explicitly noted on our pickup order with ****** 7 that it was required to schedule the move-in time with the building manager, but despite our efforts to secure even a date, we received no guidance to do so. We were notified by the driver on Sunday, July 5 at 11am that they would be delivering the next day, but being the Sunday of a holiday weekend, both the building office and ***** were closed with no way to contact either. ******* 7 claimed to be open, but after nearly a dozen calls on the 5th there was no response. Supposedly the driver was able to reach our point of contact, **** in the office on the 5th, but our attempts to do the same were fruitless.) ***** had presented the option of free storage for 30 days, but did not advise that it would be held at the location of pickup and must be requested before pickup. However, ***** also refused to advise on even an approximate window of delivery until they picked up our goods, presenting a catch-22: we could not ask for storage at point of pickup unless we knew when delivery would be, but we did not know when delivery would be because they did not pickup yet. To make matters worse, because the delivery was already en route by the time we were able to reach anyone from either ***** or ****** 7, we could no longer even request storage to settle a date to move in with our building. All of these tactics are conspiring to drive up the cost of this move far beyond the initial agreed estimate. We have repeatedly tried contacting *** with ****** 7 to correct the error of overcharging at pickup with response only once, claiming that he would "look into it" with ****** All of our other calls and messages have been avoided. *** at ***** has contacted us to advise she was in discussion with him as well but there has been no resolution on either end - ***** claims that the storage charges would still be incurred because ****** 7 would be incurring the loss, which is a classic bait-and-switch, blame-shifting tactic. Because additional delays incur more charges, it has been in ******** and ****** 7's interest to stall this process as long as possible, which they have done by avoiding a prompt resolution. We have tried every avenue to resolve with both companies, but after point of pickup neither has made a good-faith effort to resolve these issues.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking restoration of our original $3300 estimate from Elite without the additional fees and charges Elite and Triple 7 are claiming we are incurring.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/16) */ I am sorry this client had issues at the pickup. This job was picked up by a carrier that will be providing the details of the extra charges and explaining them to us and the client.

6/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/22/2014 a contract to move my household goods was established. Both the deposit and 50% of total estimated moving cost. On day of pickup the contracted company from ***** ****** demanded payment. After about an hour the issue was resolved and my things were packed. I supplied 15 rolls of tape as I was told this was the only other expense I would accrue. Once the new estimate and roster of my goods had been complete I was being charge for tape, and black plastic wrap, along with fuel charges and storage fees. All of which had been quoted in my contract. A week after my household goods had been picked up my mother received a call stating we needed to pay another $707.56 before my things would be released form storage. I called back the man who began to yell at me, telling me if he didn't get payment my things would not move and after 30 days he will begin charging me storage fees. I called ***** ****** right away, I spoke with a customer service rep about the phone call and messages left on my phone. She expressed her concern and stated she would look into it and call me back by COB. She never called back nor would she respond to my messages. After three weeks, I continue to have issues with getting any answers on what the mass difference is with my contract price and what I am being asked to pay now. All representatives I have spoken to say I am not to be charge these extra fees and they will honor the contract. However, I do not have a delivery date or a justified statement for charges already addressed in contract. I am a single mom who moved back home after medically retiring from the Marine Corps. I do not have the money to buy all new clothes and supplies for my child.

Desired Settlement: I want $120 charge for black plastic tape, $20 for packing tape,$99 fuel surcharge, and $125 warehouse fee removed from my bill. I want a correct breakdown of final bill with detailed accounting of charges, and I want my household items shipped back to me. As stated in my contract with Elite Movers the final balance will be paid upon delivery.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/30) */ We do apologize for the inconvenience and would like to explain. This client signed a contract with us for a move of her items from MD to CA. Our contract states we need to receive 20% as the deposit from the total cost and additional 50% from the total as the pickup fee on the day of the pickup. Client decided to pay in advance these 70%. Few days before the pickup, client called us and updated the inventory list and added many items that brought her total to a higher amount. That left us to collect several hundred dollars at the pickup. On the pickup the client had additional items that were not disclosed to us previously and her price went up an additional amount. The client refused to make the additional payment to complete it to the 70% from the total and after checking with the office the movers still picked up her items to accommodate her request with understanding that the payment can be taken care by the office later. After the move client called our office stating that she does not agree to some of the charges. Our office advised her that we will check on everything and will call her back once we have all the answers. After talking to the manager of the carrier we called the client back and advised her that the packing cost was adjusted to the lower cost, the fuel charge was removed, the storage handling charges were removed, but she still needs to complete the payment of the 70% from the total as the original contract to finish her pickup payment. Client hung up on our rep several times and we sent her and email with all the explanation. Our company did take care of an issue that the client was not happy about and brought all the charges to follow the original contract and took care of her complaints and gave her the answers on timely basis.

5/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a long distance moving contract with the moving experts and paid my 20% deposit. The contract states that my pick up window was 5/5/-5/7/2014. Pickup meaning my furniture would be picked up on any of these dates. I received a call today statting that they would not be able to come to get my things due to mechanical problems with their trucks. The rep I worked with stated that she could guarentee the movers to come on Saturday May 10th and ****** ****** stated she would contact me with the times that they the movers could come on May 10th. Well after me calling back on the same day ****** states "They will not be able to have a truck their on Saturday May 10th and that they advised me to find another company and they will refund my deposit and cancel the contract. I advised them that I would get legal counsel. The actual problem is that they canceled a cross country move 4 days before I was supposed to be in my apartment. The manager *** ****** proceeded to give me phone numbers of other moving companies and told me to look them up myself. I am upset and highly dissatisfied with this service I will pursue a law suit at this time.

Desired Settlement: Will pursue law suit and legal counsel.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/14) */ We do apologize for any inconvenience that this issue caused the client. We were not able to arrange the pickup of the items for this load and did contact the client immediately as we knew that there is an issue. we did find an alternative date for this move that client agreed for and did tell her that we will contact her once we know the pickup time for that new date. Unfortunately in the moving industry we cannot know the time for a long distance move till a day in advance and when the client called 5 or 4 days in advance demanding to know the pickup time - we did explain her that we cannot know at this time. The client did not like that answer, and we do understand that she had allots of things to handle with this move - but we could not commit to a time 4-5 days in advance as we know there could be changes on the road we can not foresee. We could not come to agreement and did advise the client we will be cancelling the move and refunding deposit. client received few numbers of companies that we checked in advance about their availability and refunded her deposit. We apologize for the inconvenience and sorry we could not work out an agreement about alternative moving date.