Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

New City Moving

Phone: (773) 489-0600 Fax: (773) 489-0604 View Additional Phone Numbers 2358 N Damen Ave, Chicago, IL 60647 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.newcitymoving.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We provide services for the relocation of household goods.  This entails moves within the State of Illinois. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New City Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for New City Moving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on New City Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 2009 Business started: 10/09/2008 Business started locally: 10/09/2008 Business incorporated 10/03/2008 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
http://www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Samantha Harnisch, HR & Office Manager Mr. Brian Slater, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Samantha Harnisch, HR & Office Manager
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Products & Services

New City Moving sells the following brand(s): We do not sell retail goods. We sell New City Moving boxes for customers upon request.

New City Moving offers the following product(s): We can sell our customers packaging products for their household goods when moving. The includes heavy duty shrink wrap, floor protector (hardwood and carpet), tape, a variety of boxes, and custom packaging for unique items.

Method(s) of Payment
We accept payment by cash, credit/debit card, or certified check/money order.  Personal checks are not accepted.
Refund and Exchange Policy
We don't charge fees for the cancellation or rescheduling of a move. 
Alternate Business Names
Windy City Moving, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

New City Moving has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2358 N Damen Ave

    Chicago, IL 60647 (800) 733-6644 (773) 489-0600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New City Moving seemed great until we discovered that they ruined a $1,000 granite top to our dining room set. The movers went so far as to stack boxes on the, now two piece, broken granite. They broke it right in half. The company at first offered to "fix" it then the repair company said it would cost $700 to make a new piece because it isn't repairable. New City said "they didn't want to pay $700 to fix the problem". $3,625 charged to move our stuff, $420 in tips that we gave the movers, not knowing about the damage, and $1,000 we need to spend on replacing our granite top. We went so far as to purchase additional moving insurance through them.

Desired Settlement: We would like our granite top replaced. New City has our granite top in their possession. Here are links to photos of the broken piece. http://*******.com/top.jpg http://*******.com/top2.jpg

Business Response:

Hello! 

Please know that New City Moving is a customer-serviced based business and we are fully aware of Mr. *******'s claim.  Our Customer Service Manager, ********* ***** is working directly with Mrs. ******* to try and get this resolved.  In fact, ********* has spoken with 5 granite vendors, receiving quotes to try and resolve this as quickly as possible.  We try and update the customer as often as possible. 

We are very sorry that this claim has not closed out yet, and will continue to work on it until an acceptable resolution is reached.  Any questions regarding this claim specifically can be addressed to *********@newcitymoving.com

Thank you,

******** ********


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. New City did replace the granite top within one week of my filing.  I am happy with their actions.

Sincerely,

**** *******

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had this company move me on 6/1/14 and as a result I had furniture breakage/damages and missing items of clothing which they said would be repaired and I believe can not be to their original state. I have since discovered missing clothing items. The furnishings which I itemized and send the company photographs of are valued at approximately $1,500 not counting the clothing. I scheduled two appointments which they were to have restored the items and each time they have not shown up, called or rescheduled. At this point I am looking for reimbursement as a resolution to these issues.

Desired Settlement: I am looking to be refunded the $1,500. for damages and willing to absorb the lost of the clothing items at this point.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@newitymoving.com Privileged Offer to Compromise New City Moving has and continues to approach this issue with an eye towards achieving a good faith resolution. We are still working with Mr. ******** and have repaired one of his mirrors and plant holder. We are also in the process of repairing a second mirror. The client has commented that he feels these items are unable to be repaired, however, we have respectfully asked that he view all the repaired items before determining whether or not they are to his satisfaction. In addition, we are still reviewing the issue of the items that we are unable to repair, namely 2 lamps and 1 lampshade. Mr. ******** did not purchase additional insurance for his move, however, instead of the $.30 per pound per article that our insurance covers, and he would be otherwise entitled to, we would prefer to come to a resolution that both parties are able to agree on and he would be otherwise entitled to. Mr. ******** hired New City Moving on 06/30/2014 to pick up his possessions and store them in our facility until 07/02/2014 when they were delivered to his home. After his move, he contacted us on 07/03 and informed us that there were damages to a planter, two mirrors, two lamps, and a lamp shade. I requested that the client send me photos and fill out our claims form as per our company policy via email. When I received the photos on 07/07, I contacted the client to schedule a time for our repair technician to go to his home to make repairs as well as assess and photograph any damage the technician felt he could not repair. The client informed me on 07/11 that he was unable to access the claims form I sent via email and requested I mail the form to his home. I received the mailed form from the client on 07/25. I then requested some information from the client regarding the packing of the items listed on the claims form. I apologized and explained that for our insurance purposes we needed confirmation on who had packed his items before we are able to begin our claims process. After my third request, I received the information I needed to process the claim on 07/29. At that time, I again requested to set up a time for our repair technician to go to the client's home. Our technician went to Mr. ********'s home on 08/08. At that time he took the two mirrors, the wire planter, the lampshade, as well as one of the lamps. I kept the client informed that we were looking for the piece to repair the lamp we had brought back to our facilities. In the meantime, we were also looking for a replacement for the lamp shade, and had repaired the frames of both mirrors and the damage to the planter. After we were unable to replace the lamp or lampshade, we determined the best course of action would be to deliver the repaired items and negotiate a settlement for the remaining three items. I contacted the client on 09/11 to schedule the delivery on 09/20. The client requested a delivery at 10am. On the Thursday before Mr. ********'s scheduled delivery, our repair technician had a death in his family. I contacted the client to reschedule and offered him 10am on Friday 09/26 or 3:30pm on Saturday 09/27. He confirmed via email that Saturday the 27th would work best for him. I scheduled him for 3:30pm on Saturday the 27th and sent him an email to confirm this. The client responded that he has spoken to our delivery driver and requested 10am. I informed him via email on 09/22 that if he would like to have the delivery on Saturday 09/27, I would have to schedule him at 3:30pm as I did not have a 10am appointment remaining. I did not receive any other communication from the client until 09/27 when he emailed very upset that we had not arrived 10am on the 27th. He wrote some disparaging things about New City Moving and said that he would be going to the Better Business Bureau. I received this email when I came into work this morning, 09/29 at 9am. The owner of New City Moving and I contacted the client that morning in a three-way call. It was at this time we first heard of the clothes the client has claimed are missing. Since we only discovered this issue at that time we have not been able to address it as of yet. I apologized for the scheduling confusion and we assured Mr. ******** that we want to work with him to come to a resolution that all parties can agree on. At the end of the phone call, we scheduled a time for our repair technician and our owner to go to the client's home on a day that he was available and at a time he chose. Our owner and our repair technician went to the client's home to deliver his repaired items at 5pm on 09/30/2014 as well as to negotiate a resolution. At that time the client accepted one repaired mirror and the wire planter. He stated that the second mirror was not repaired to his specifications. We brought the mirror back to our facilities and made the repairs to the frame. We again attempted to deliver the mirror and discuss a resolution on 10/06/2014. The client voiced his concern about the paint on the frame not matching the preexisting paint. We currently have the mirror at our facility and our repair technician will be having the paint on the mirror frame specially matched to the exact color of the existing paint. This is how the issue currently stands. Once the paint has been matched I will be contacting the client to schedule the delivery of the mirror as well as discuss a resolution. New City Moving has at all times, approached this issue in a cooperative and good faith manner. Understanding Mr. ********'s frustrations, the fundamental tenet of the matter remains that of the property. We have repaired one of the mirrors and the planter and are working on repairing the second mirror to the client's satisfaction. We are also working on a resolution in good faith for the remaining two lamps and lamp shade. We appreciate your assistance with this issue and it is our sincere hope that we can come to an amicable resolution of this matter quickly. ********* ******* Customer Service Manager New City Moving Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ****@newcitymoving.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Has not been fully resolved at this point Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/10/29) */ Privileged Offer to Compromise New City Moving has and continues to approach this issue with an eye towards achieving a good faith resolution. The client did not purchase additional insurance for his move, however, instead of the $.30 per pound per article that our insurance covers, we would prefer to come to a resolution that both parties are able to agree on. We finished making the repairs on the last item we have of the client's and I contacted the client to set up the delivery on 10/20 and 10/23. He did respond on 10/25 and we are currently scheduled to deliver the final item, a mirror, that we have repaired on this Saturday, November 1st. Upon said delivery, we intend to offer terms of good faith settlement, which we find exceeds industry standards. We at New City Moving feel as though we are making every effort with the client to resolve this in a timely fashion and feel secure that this issue will be resolved on Saturday November 1st. We appreciate your assistance with this issue and it is our sincere hope that we can come to an amicable resolution of this matter quickly. ********* ******* Customer Service Manager New City Moving Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ****@newcitymoving.com

8/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We, my husband and I, moved our family and hired New City Moving. Prior to moving, I stated that I had a large desk that I needed to store because my company was moving offices and I was planning to take the desk to my new office space. However, I learned the week that we moved that my company was not moving and I would need the desk to be delivered to the home since that change had occurred. I spoke to ***** ******, the owner of New City Moving, over the phone. He told me not to worry that the desk would be in his office for safe keeping since they didn't have designated storage. The desk was to be delivered on Wednesday, June 25 at approximately 2 PM. I received an email from a person named **** ******** the Customer Service Manager, from *** **** that same day stating the truck had broken down and that they would be delivering the desk on Saturday at 12:30 PM. 2 movers came and brought the desk into my home. When it left my last home, it was in perfect condition. When they put it in place, I asked them to take off the blankets. They seemed like they didn't want to. I asked them again to take off the blankets. When they did, what I saw was beyond upsetting. The desk had obviously gotten extremely wet. The sides and top were bubbled and warped. The sides were bleached and discolored. It had been out of my possession for a month so it had clearly happened in the midst of the move and being stored. I was extremely upset and started crying. I asked the movers to call the owner. They said that they didn't have his number but called ***, one of the managers. They told me that I was going to have to speak to *****. I asked them to leave. ***** called me a few minutes later. He immediately asked if he could buy me a new desk. I was too upset to even speak. I told him that I would call him later. I texted him a photo of the damaged desk. I explained that the desk was handmade and that I was planning to pass ** down to one of my sons. I told him that it wasn't a matter of just going to a furniture store and replacing it because it was sentimental and priceless. I told him that the only way to make it right was to write me a check for $3,000 and I would put $1,000 in each of my children's bank accounts. I also told him that I was going to file a complaint against his company for their negligence. His future texts became angry and threatening. He told me that if I filed a claim, that I would get nothing. He continued to text and told me that he only wanted to go through my husband and his attorney, ******* ********* because, "I wasn't fit to speak to." He continued to text and call. I did not pick up my phone again given his threats. My first course of action is filing a claim through you. I have filed a complaint with the ICC. **** ******** the person who heads up the division of ICC that handles complaints against movers, has heard my complaint. I was informed that New City Moving would be fined $750 because they have no license to store items. She informed me that he had no right to state that if I filed a claim, he would not be responsible. I also have spoken with ******** ********** with the Movers Association. She is using the before and after photos that I provided her to educate other movers on the do's/dont's of handling others belongings.

Desired Settlement: I would like $3,000 for payment. I have looked at other comparable *** ***** desks online; the ones that are in perfect condition, like mine was before the move, are selling for $3,000. *** ***** is no longer in business and the exact desk may not be purchased. The other items that were damaged during the move were 3 skillets that were not properly packed by the movers. The value of 3 new skillets would be approximately $175. I would also like a hand-written letter from the owner of New City Moving apologizing for the mishandling of our belongings and for his treatment of me as a consumer/customer. He was hostile and could not have cared that the item that he damaged had sentimental value to me and our family.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@newitymoving.com New City Moving has and continues to approach this issue with an eye on putting forth a resolution in good faith. We are still working with her and have offered her a settlement of two thousand dollars ($2000) for the replacement value of her desk. At the outset of the relationship between New City Moving and Ms. ******, Ms. ****** attempted to enlist New City Moving for wrongful purposes, which in the spirit of resolution of the immediate matter, will be deemed outside the scope of this discussion. However, should Ms. ****** wish to incorporate this into the immediate matter, we would be happy to discuss this further. Ms. ****** hired New City Moving to move her possessions, including a desk, on 05/24/2014. She informed New City Moving that she would be unable to take possession of the aforementioned desk on that date. As a gesture of good faith, our owner, ***** ******, offered to store the item for the few days she requested. On 05/29/2014, Ms. ****** contacted our dispatch manager, *** Griffin, and the desk as well as a box containing her pans was attempted to be delivered to Ms. ******. Upon arrival, Ms. ****** accepted the box but stated the pans were damaged. We are continuing to investigate the pans and are willing to continue investigation and collaborate with Ms. ****** on this issue. At the time of delivery, Ms. ****** refused to take possession of the desk and asked that it be taken back to our offices again for a few more days. Twenty two days later on 06/20/2014, Ms. ****** sent us an email requesting the delivery of the desk. We set up a delivery for 06/25/2014 at 2pm. On the day of the delivery, we encountered some mechanical difficulties with our delivery van and I contacted Ms. ******. The delivery date was then changed to 06/28/2014 at 12:30pm, and the delivery was completed at that time. We have taken into consideration the fact that Ms. ****** requested that we retain her property for a few days, but instead, did not request the desk be delivered until almost five weeks after the initial move date, contributing to any damages that may have incurred. New City Moving has at all times, approached this issue in a cooperative and good faith manner. Understanding Ms. ******'s frustrations, the fundamental tenet of the matter remains that of the property. Therefore we proceed on the property value alone. Taking into consideration Ms. ******'s contribution to the damages, we have found the value to be near two thousand dollars ($2000). In light of everything discussed we still continue to seek resolution with Ms. ****** and have offered a settlement. We will provide her with the sum of two thousand dollars ($2000) upon execution of a full settlement and release. We appreciate your assistance with this issue and it is our sincere hope that we can come to an amicable resolution of this matter quickly. ********* ******* Customer Service Manager New City Moving Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ****@newcitymoving.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on New City Moving
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart