Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midwest Moving & Storage, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 593-7201 Fax: (847) 593-7618 View Additional Phone Numbers 1255 Tonne Rd, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 http://www.midwestmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Midwest Moving and Storage is a moving company which provides professional relocation services for home, office, industrial, scientific, and governmental clients. Headquartered in Elk Grove Village, this company serves customers across the United States, including Naperville, Schaumburg, Lake Forest, DeKalb, Justice, Roselle, Chicago, Wheeling, Bolingbrook, Aurora, Rockford, Evanston, Crystal Lake, McHenry, and Des Plaines. Clients have included Argonne National Laboratory, Northwestern University and government contractors. The company was formed in 1983 and is a member of the American Moving & Storage Association with ProMover status and certified by the International Office Moving Institute.

Midwest Moving offers the boxless move, where the material is moved within the furniture so that files are not shifted from within their furniture and their integrity is assured. Core capabilities of this company include office and industrial relocation, lab moving, university and college moving, nationwide trucking, export packing and crating, decommissioning of used furniture, and warehousing and distribution. Other services include nationwide residential moving, space planning and project management services, computer packing and relocation, IT disconnect and reconnecting services, and shredding and document destruction. The company uses recycled content packaging and has an 8-step best practices process to reduce office moving waste by up to 30%. The company can also offer a response to inquiries within two days, which exceeds the usual industry response of five days.

Visit the website for Midwest Moving and Storage to learn more about the capabilities of the company, read about their protection processes and government contract, and contact the company to discuss a governmental, industrial, laboratory, university, or residential relocation job.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midwest Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midwest Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Midwest Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 10, 1988 Business started: 08/01/1983 Business started locally: 08/01/1983
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Luis Toledo, President & CEO Ms. Ruth Bernal, HR, Manager Mr. Tom Pera, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Pera, General Manager
Principal: Luis Toledo, President & CEO
Business Category

Movers Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Midwest Moving & Storage, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1255 Tonne Rd

    Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

  • 1717 Tonne Road

    Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired midwest movers for my long distance move from Evanston IL to San Francisco CA. I told them all my inventory accurately. Day of the move they charged me $500 extra. The movers came 3 hours late. My building has a policy that they do not allow allow moves after 5 pm. I had informed this to midwest movers well in advance. In spite of that, the movers came at 3 pm which is 3 hours later than the time we had agreed on. My building has levied a $200 fine on me for the late move. The movers charged me for a $200 long carry fee after they got to my apt. My apt to elevator and then elevator to the truck is less than 150 feet. The charge as per the contract was $75 for distance more than 75 feet. Per this, I should not have not have been charged more than $75. You are free to go to my apartment and measure. However I was held hostage and forced to pay $200 cash. It has been a week since my stuff was picked up. I have no news of where it is. I have called multiple times. But every time I am routed to a new person.

Desired Settlement: Deliver my stuff

Business Response:

Good Morning,

This morning I spoke with Ms. ****** to discuss her complaint. We determined that she is not a customer of Midwest Moving & Storage in Elk Grove Village but used an internet company called Midwest Movers based in Glendale Heights Illinois at midwestmovers.net. She worked with ******* ***** at ************ at Midwest Movers and this person does not work at Midwest Moving & Storage. We will appreciate this complaints removal from our listing.

I gave Ms. ****** contact information for the ******** Moving & Storage Association so she can get assistance with her delivery and possibly filing for arbitration to get her money back. Please feel free to contact me for more information.

 

*** ****

General Manager

Midwest Moving & Storage

8/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Midwest moving provided a non-binding contract to relocate my possessions from ****** **** IL to ******* ** dated 7/2/2014. A second version of this contract was created to indicate the need for a "shuttle" to move my items to my apartment in ******* which cannot be reached by semi-truck, also dated 7/2/2014. I agreed to the second version of the contract valued at $4,875. The movers arrived to pick up the items on 7/12/2014 with the original contract, showing no shuttle service. I informed the representative at Midwest who I was working with via email, but received no response. Over the course of the next week I continually attempted to reach Midwest by phone, but heard no response. I was able to reach ******* *** ***** (the carrier transporting my items) on 7/21/2014, who informed me that they had not known about the need for the shuttle, but that it would be arranged. I then received a call from ******* at Midwest on 7/22/2014 informing me that the need for a shuttle would increase my total amount due, but that they did not know by how much. I was informed that because the contract was non-binding I would be responsible for these extra charges, and my items would not be delivered if I refused to pay them. She indicated that she sent an email with the new estimate, but this email never arrived. I then spoke with another representative, ****, who I had been working with originally, that attempted to help me but was unable to remember our conversations about the shuttle contract and who was unable to find a copy of the contract in question. I sent my copy as proof of its existence and this contract is now being used. I chose this company based on their reputation, and in large part because of the A+ rating with the BBB. This quote was not the least expensive quote I had received, but I favored it because I felt they would do a better job than *** ***** *** ****** who I was also working with. *** ***** had a C- rating, but their initial customer service was much better than Midwest's, even during the quoting stage during which time I had difficulty reaching someone. Midwest has failed to live up to the reputation they use to earn business, they have many excuses for their poor performance, and blame the customer for having an unacceptable experience. I do not feel that I have asked for too much from Midwest, they are a professional moving company that engages in this business everyday. They have made this move very difficult by not clearly explaining what is happening, and we should expect. I regret choosing Midwest Moving to conduct my move, and feel that they $5320 they are now charging me, after weighing the goods over a week after pick up, is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a partial refund from Midwest Moving. I believe that $2000 off of the $5320 is not too much to ask, and would be a sign of their good faith in conducting business according to their advertisements and reputation. I am willing to discuss this matter with Midwest Moving, and I hope that we can come to see this matter in the same light. I would like them to apologize and offer the refund I am seeking. I understand that mistakes happen, and that sometimes the best intentions are not enough. Having said this I feel Midwest had multiple chances to contact me to resolve these issues before they became this bad. I gave them ample opportunities by reaching out to them on several occasions, which went unanswered. Additionally I felt that the way I was spoken to on the phone by a member of their staff was rude and aggressive, and should not be acceptable for someone in customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/07) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@midwestmoving.com This morning Mr. ******* & I spoke so that I could understand the details of his complaint, after we complete our investigation we have agreed to resolve this matter together.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Midwest Moving & Storage, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart