Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Leibundguth Moving & Storage

Phone: (630) 969-0700 Fax: (630) 969-3968 1301 Warren Ave., Downers Grove, IL 60515


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Leibundguth Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Leibundguth Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Leibundguth Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 23, 1993 Business started: 05/01/1929 Business started locally: 05/01/1929
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
http://www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Business Management
Mr. Robert Bob Peterson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Bob Peterson, Owner
Business Category

Movers Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Leibundguth Storage Leibundguth Storage & Van Service

Additional Locations

  • 1301 Warren Ave.

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am offering you an explanation of the events surrounding both the damage and items that have come up missing from my recent relocation using Leibundguth Storage & *** Service, Inc. Interstate Agent For ******* ***** **** ******* In late ***** 2013 had called to get an estimate for a planned move to *** This estimate happened "in person" in late ****** 2013 and the representative for the moving company was *** ********. Mr. ******** came to my home and offered me an estimate of approximately $14,167.11 to PACK and Move via transport my home. Mr. ******** responded that the price could be reduced, however, he indicated (verbally) if I packed most all of the items myself & drove to ** from IL, I could save not only: the auto transport fee, but the packing charges for his staff to box, tape, and pad the items they were responsible for packing in the box so they would not break as well. I asked how much the move might cost to ** if I did 90% or more of the packing and if he did not figure in the packing for my car. His response was it would reduce it by one half so the approximate cost would be $5,000.00 - $8,000.00. Mr. *** ******** said 'he had been doing this for years and he & his workers would take care with my belongings and ensure no or very minimal breakage or damage would be incurred in the packing or transport of my belongings'.I informed Mr. ******** that I would do the majority of the packing except for some fragile items that I would allow him and his crew to pack. The moving day was set for **** 7, 2013.I was not told until the end of the day 5:30PM that the second truck would not be dispatched to my new address when it was loaded, rather, I was told it would be dispatched out to AZ in approximately 3-5 days. I indicated that this is not what I agreed to and the reason for my getting an estimate from Mr. ******** back in ********* was so that he could sequester a moving truck that would house my belongings in transit to *** Admittedly, when questioned Mr. ******** admitted he had undertaken a job to use the moving truck to load someone else's belongings along with mine and have two payments for the trip to ** (mine and one other persons). I had told Mr. ******** that I was upset by this and he assured me that my belongings would be safe until they reached me in *** However this was not the case.The second shipment of my items arrived on **** 27, 2013, It was not tracked until I had called the following persons including: 1) ***** ***** 2) ****** ****** 3) ******* ****** 4) and the President/CEO of ******* ****** Mr. ***** ********* & his administrative Assistant ***** at the following telephone number X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I have explained in writing and in telephone conversations that I am still missing a large portion of my belongings and in speaking with Mr. ***** and the office of the President/CEO of ******* ****** Mr. ***** ********* via his administrative assistant ****** I have let all of my contacts at ******* ****** know that they have broken my trust and invalidated the contract by misplacing and misdirecting my personal items and have not attempted to track/recover these items nor have they contacted me to update me on any discovery or lack of discovery of my items. I have discussed this with in detail with Mr. **** on **** 21st & 24th, 2013. Further, Mr. ***** indicated that he didn't want to discuss or argue about this rather he just wanted me to sign his inventory sheet. However he did not have any inventory sheet with him thus he admitted to me that he did not know if all my belongings were on the truck as he had no proof of the number of boxes that he had delivered to me or that my belongings were not left in **** (where he was the day before he arrived)The contract I had signed with ******* ****** indicates that all of my belongings are to be transported to me.My items have been stolen or misdirected thus they have voided the contract and have voided the entire contract and do not deserve payment

Desired Settlement: The second shipment of my items arrived on **** 27, 2013, however it was not tracked by ******* ***** **** ****************** Storage & Van Service, Inc. I had called both ******* ****** and Leibundguth Storage & Van Service, Inc. I spoke with the following persons including: 1) Aaron ***** 2) ****** ****** 3) ******* ****** 4) and the President/CEO of ******* ****** Mr. ***** ********* & his administrative Assistant ***** at the following telephone number X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I have explained in writing and in telephone conversations that I am still missing a significant portion of my belongings and in speaking with Mr. Roth, and the office of the President/CEO of ******* ****** Mr. ***** ********* via his administrative assistant ***** I have let all of my contacts at Wheaton ****** know that they have broken my trust and invalidated the contract by misplacing and misdirecting my personal items and have not attempted to track these items nor have they contacted me to update me on any discovery or lack of discovery of my belongings. I have discussed this with in detail with Mr. Roth on June **** & ***** 2013. In detail I professed that if my belongings did not arrive as scheduled it would be Mr. ******* personal responsibility as supervisor in my case to fly out to my home personally and walk through the damage and also to personally locate my items or not be paid for their services. As of today's date Mr. **** has not initiated the tracking mechanism nor have I been informed of the where-about's of my items which I believe have been stolen by Mr. *** ******** and his workers at his storage facility at Leibundguth Movers (a subsidiary of ******* ******** I admitted I was concerned that my items were in storage too long in Illinois and ******* Movers did nothing to facilitate transporting my belongings to ** in a timely or careful manner. Moreover, I have not received any follow up from Mr. ***** Ms. ****** or Mr. Witzerman, or his administrative assistant ***** regarding this major screw up regarding my belongings. I had spoken with the second Driver of my belongings (in the second shipment) prior to his delivering my belonging from Illinois on ******** I asked the driver ***** ***** to confirm that all of my belongings were on his truck and not left someplace else or with another move unload. He assured me that everything that was loaded from my home on **** 7, 2013 and were taken to storage at Leibundguth Movers (a subsidiary of ******* ******* were on his truck. Finally, some of the boxes I had packed and taped were not transported in the same box as I had packed and taped. I know this sounds strange but the boxes appeared as if they had been wet and they needed to be re-packed; I suspected someone either had gotten my belongings wet when they were at Leibundguth Storage & Van Service, Inc. Interstate Agent for ******* ***** **** ******* I had asked the movers and driver about the empty boxes, the water damaged boxes, and the boxes where it appeared that the tape had been ripped off the boxes and not replaced so the tape was loose. The Driver indicated at this point he should just concentrate on off-loading my belongings. When the unloading was complete I indicated that there were several items missing & Mr. ***** indicated that he didn't want to discuss or argue about this rather he just wanted me to sign his inventory sheet. However he did not have any inventory sheet with him thus he did not know if all my belongings were on the truck or not as he had no proof of the items he delivered/lost.The contract I had signed with ******* ****** indicates that all of my belongings are to be transported to me. I specifically addressed this with Mr. *** ********, Mr. ***** & Ms. ***** as well as Ms. ****** as well as Mr. ************ administrative assistant. Because they have not fulfilled their part of the contract to transport all of my belongings to me they have voided the entire contract and do not have any claim to payment

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/05) */ After speaking with ******* ***** **** ****** and the Better Business Bureau in Chicago, any correspondence from the gentlemen making this complaint needs to be directed to ******* ***** **** ******* This gentlemen had an interstate move from Illinois to ******* and the move is under ******* ***** **** ****** jurisdication. Leibundguth Moving and Storage,an agent for ******* ***** **** ******* will cooperate in any way ******* ***** **** ****** requires. This complaint should not be directed to Leibundguth Moving and Storage, the move was under ******* ***** **** ******* Leibundguth has an excellent reputation with the BBB and other recognized organizations.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Leibundguth Moving & Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)