Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Joey's Movers and Trucking is a moving company which provides local and long-distance moving for residential customers.  Services available from this company include single family moves, local moves, luxury moves, apartment moves, long distance moves, furniture moves, and antiques and piano moves.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Joey's Movers & Trucking, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Joey's Movers & Trucking, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 1993 Business started: 10/01/1981 in IL Business started locally: 10/01/1981 Business incorporated 01/08/2002 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Washington DC 20590

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Patricia Brooks, Operations Manager Mr. Joseph C. Brooks,III, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patricia Brooks, Operations Manager
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Trucking - Heavy Hauling Trucking - Light Hauling Trucking Trucking - Motor Freight Travel & Moving Services Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Joey's Movers & Trucking, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7333 Ridgeway Ave

    Skokie, IL 60076 (800) 427-6544 (800) 800-6683


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to move a piano from my in laws house to my house. While leaving my in laws house the movers dropped the piano. We have been trying to get a hold of them so they can file an insurance claim to get my piano repaired. However, they have been ignoring us.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to accept fault, call their insurance, and then notify me that my piano will be repaired at no cost to me.

Business Response:

We are not familiar with Mr. **** or the fact that he has made several attempts to contact us until Monday the 21st via a phone call and Tuesday  the 22nd via e mail.

The piano is still at the pick up location in the garage padded and shrink wrapped. No one at the residence took into consideration that it was winter and the stairs were full of ice and snow. However one of our guys lost his footing, breaking his leg and thus loosing control of the piano. There is a claim process and we have not received a written claim or a request for a claim form. Also there was no monies collected for any part of the service nor any additional insurance coverage taken out. The bill of lading determines the coverage over and above the standard 30 cents per lb. per article. We accept no liability in this unfortunate accident. In all our information that we send to our customers in the winter time we stress the importance of having walk ways and necessary areas shoveled and salted in order to provide a safe pathway for our movers.



Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The walkway was cleared for the movers. The weather was cold and snowy. It is the responsibility of the professional movers to decide whether or not it is safe to move a piano down the stairs. The company also says that they have not received a claim from us; the reason they have not received a claim is because every time we call to ask how to go about getting reimbursed the company does not call back. They have been avoiding us, hoping we will go away. The only response we have gotten is through the BBB. Furthermore, those dates of being contacted are when I called. Until then, my father in law had been calling for around 2 months. Joey's Movers knows full well what they did, and are trying to avoid being accountable. 


**** ****

Business Response:

There have been several resources reaching out to our office on behalf of Mr. **** and we are not sure what source is going to clear the issue. There are some missing factors here and our attorney has been or will be within the week in touch with Mr. ****'s legal council. We have been contacted by a mediator, an attorney and BBB


10/29/2015 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Joey's Movers & Trucking, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart