BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2008

Infinity Movers

Phone: (773) 731-3558Fax: (773) 731-5492View Additional Phone Numbers2221 E 75th St, ChicagoIL 60649-3206 Send email to Infinity Movers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2008

BBB has determined that Infinity Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Infinity Movers' rating include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Infinity Movers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Infinity Movers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
05/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The movers showed up an hour late, with only two guys. I had to help them load and unload the truck, I gave them the address to the new apartment and they proceeded to go ********** instead of **********. They charged me for 3hrs of work a total of $285 even though they were lost for 30min of that time and I helped them move everything. I spoke to the owner "*****" and told him about my situation and he stated that I shouldn't have helped them or been on the truck since there insurance doesn't cover me. Needless to say there is still a couch in my kitchen because the movers cliam they couldn't get it through the doors. ***** offered to come and move the couch himself but it would take him another hour to get to me. I told him I would do it myself.

Desired Settlement
I just want $95 cash returned to me, I'll pay for two hours of work not 3hrs.I paid them in cash and that's how I want my refund.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******************@yohoo.com
We did move this customer the customer volunteered to help to cut down on his time. The customer was moving from second floor to second floor from **** ***** ******** to **** ** ***** Chicago, Illinois. Mr. ******** wanted the movers to move him in only two hours it was explained to him that they could not move him from second floor to second floor and then drive to his new location in two hours. The time was 3.5 hours he was given a half an hour for the driver being loss for 10: minutes. He also wanted us to pay him for helping. He had a Couch that would not fit through his door way the movers did not want to take responsible for the couch if it was damaged they tried to bring it through the front door and then the back door but they could only get it to fit through one door to the living room. Mr. ******** said for them to leave the coach in the kitchen. They did and left.
Mr. ******** called me and called the workers all kinds of names and said he worked for the president of the county board **** *********** and he was going to report us to her. I ask him what was it that he wanted he said he wanted his couch in his living room. I told him I was on a move at the time but I would come over myself in about 45:min to an hour and see if I could get the couch into his living room he said OK. About 20 min later he called and said don't come because he didn't have the time to sat around and wait for me and hung up on me. I am so sorry that we could not please this person and I will send him the $95.00 in a check not cash because I have to report it.
But I want him to remember you reap what you sow.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I just wanted the money back for the hour of work that they did not perform. I'll take the check. Ensure that Mr. ***** sends the check to **** W **** St apt ** Cicero IL, XXXXX.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Dear Mrs ****
I have sent a check to *********** twice and the check keep coming
back each time with unknown address.I think you for giving me the new
address for him I will send the check to his new address.
Thanks

10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hired company to move my items in the process my wood dining chair was dropped and one of the legs was shattered/ broken.Workers sympathetically apologized and the owner ***** was contacted to discuss what would happen. He instructed employee to bring chair to office and the would get it fixed or replaced.I instructed them to write something on my receipt and to leave *****' number. They told me to give them a few days and give them a call. This took place July 5, 2014. I called and spoke with ***** on 7/10 at 12pm and his response to me was I haven't had time we're busy and that wasn't your only chair was it? I was very surprised by the response I received because my initial conversation with him was very pleasant when i hired the company and the employees were very nice too. I told him how many chairs I had made no difference because one of them was broken by his employee.The conversation ended with him telling me he would get to it when he could. I called back and was told that he would return my call, he didn't. I called again numerous times and I couldn't get through as if my number was blocked, so I decided to call private and Zoey answered and was very apologetic about incident and assured me that ***** would get back with me. It hasn't happened. The cost of the chair was 119.00 plus taxes and I have the receipt I would like to be reimbursed for my chair.The chair was still wrapped in the plastic from when it was purchased.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking for the company to refund me the amount in which I purchased the chair for which is 130.50.

Business Response
Mrs. ******** ******
Dear Miss ****** I am sorry about your chair we thought we could fix it but the wood on the leg of the chair was defective and could not be fix.
I am sorry for not getting back to you in a timely manner I have been in and out of town on long-distance moves and maybe missed your call. Zoey never told me you called. I am sending you a check for the full amount of $119.00 for the chair. I hope this make everything ok between us
***** ******

02/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/22/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired this company on Oct 2, 2014 to move me from my former home to my current residence. After close inspection of my items, I noticed there was damage. I contacted the mover to notify them of the damage and to submit a claim. This company never responded. They told me repeatedly that they would send someone out and this never happened. This went on for several months. They finally sent a representative 3 weeks ago who came to look at my damaged items. The representative only took notes on a blank sheet of paper. There was no formal claim form filled out neither have they provided me a copy of the insurance claim form.
Product_Or_Service: Moving Company

Desired Settlement
I want a copy of the official claims report supposedly submitted to the insurance company. I want payment for my damaged items.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******************@yahoo.com
Yes, we moved miss *** and it did take a while to visit her about her damages she said she had. The crew leader that moved her ****** was suffering with cancer and I told miss *** that as soon as he got back to work that we would visit her because I wasn't there when they moved and we want someone that was involved with the move to be there to assist with the complaint. ***** informed us that he was not able to come back to work. So I ***** ****** went to Miss *** apartment and took down the items that she said was damaged. She had a glass ball, refrigerator door holders, glass cracked, computer chipped and tape on a dresser. She called me last week and ask me to send her a copy of my report. She did not have enough damage to be reported to the insurance company. The total weight of the damages amount to 102 pounds.
She signed for the cargo insurance we carry which is .30 per pound I am sending her a check today for her damages
***** ******


07/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On march 29th I ********* ****** hired infinity movers to move me from my 2 bed room apartment located at **** ***** **** in ******* ** XXXXX to *** ***** ave in ******* **** ** XXXXX.The move was originally scheduled for 10am, I called the night before for and spoke with the owner, who stated that he was under the imprison that the move was scheduled for 9am I advised the owned that it wouldn't be a problem if we rescheduled it for 9am. At 9:45 on Sat march 29th I contacted infinity movers because no one had showed up. The owner apologized and to somehow I must have been bumped off the schedule but he would have someone to me within the hr. At about 11am 2 gentlemen showed up to my place residents. I let them know I had a dining room set washer dryer and to bedroom sets that would be included in the move, ***** of whom I assume was managing the move stated they did not have tools to un hook the washer and dryer and needed a third man to move my dining room set, he also stated that today he didn't have the man power but tomorrow he could return to complete the move, I agreed. At that point the move begin first room was my 10years room she has a canopy bed that needed to be unassembled the two gentlemen stared to take the bed down every five mins the two would stop to argue about all kinds of random thing when they were not arguing ***** was answering his phone. During this time my daughter's bed room set suffered servier damage. The gentleman referred to as Wood began to twist the post on her bed till it broke then ***** stated that it could be fixed sever chunks of wood were missing and the canopy was broken by the time it had been delivered the matrices and box spring had been dragged and damaged aswell as the nightstand. After they finished in my daughters room they stared in my room after taking down my bed they stared taking thing to the truck **** began to drag my night stand out the door and down the stairs when I asked him to stop I was told that no one would be able to see the bottom of the **** any way and if I didn't like it I could have whoever the nigga was who shoes was under my bed to come move the ****. Before we could get out the door to go to the other house.. I had two pieces of art on the wall terry knocked one down cracked it and throw it on the kitchen counter as if I didn't see him at this time ***** begin asking for payment I advised him that i didn't have cash all I had was a credit card and your website clearly said the credit was accepted at that time he demanded cash payment and that I go to the atm once we arrived at the other house. Once arriving at the new house they started moving my things into the house several wall where damage the foot of my night stand was damaged after complaining to the gentleman the man referred to as **** told me he didn't work for the company he was just helping out. At this time the two were becoming to disrespectful I called the owned to let him know how I was being treated he asked to speak to ***** I told him I was not at the house I was on my way to get the money from the atm. My television was dragged the drugged across the bottom of the truck and damaged as well.and damaged as well. I was charged 380.00 dollars for the move and told that they would be back at 9am to complete the move after speaking back with the owner and letting him know how I felt about the move I advised him that I would be going with another set of movers. He advised me that he would come out and take a look at the damages at a later date. I am requesting that my daughters bedroom set be replaced along with the damaged mattresses art work walls and my night stand.

Desired Settlement
i am requesting that everything that was damaged be replaced i have no problem providing proof of purchase.I am also reqesting to be compensated for one days pay to make up for the day I had to miss to accommodate the second set of movers

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******************@yahoo.com
We did move Miss ****** March 29,2014. At that time Miss ****** did call me to say her bed was damaged and she wanted a new bed. She also said her walls was damaged also.
I made and appointment with her but could not keep the appointment and reschedule for the following Monday. When ever we meet with someone about their damages we always bring the movers that responsible for the moving. I had ***** to call to set up the appointment. Miss ****** said she could not see us accept 7:30 or 8:00 at night and Sundays was family day. We cannot fix anything when everything is close.
We are willing to fix her bed and the walls but she have to allow us to come doing the daylight hours. Or, if we cannot fix the bed we will pay her according to our insurance that she signed for and that is .30 cent per pound for any damages. Our contract also says we have the rights to fix whatever is fixable.
The other things she is complainting about is new she never mention this to me until I talk with her yesterday 4/1614.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Multiple appointments have been scheduled with Infinity mover's to come to my home to evaluate the damages all of which have been no call no shows, I explained to the owner I would not be able to take off of work or leave work early anymore to accommodate him due to the several missed appointment's i advised the owner of my work schedule and told him that we would have to setup a evening appointment and he refused, I never signed any contract agreeing to repair or replace at 30cent per lb and if I had been presented with such a contract I would have never allowed the company to move me. I also advised the owned of all damages immediately and was told once moving season slowed down they would come to my home to take a look at the damages, it wasn't till I contacted the BBB and threatened small claims court that he began to take me seriously.

Final Business Response
Complaint # XXXXXXXX
** ******* ******
First I would like to apologize for whatever problems you had with my workers. ***** is my son and I have reprimanded the both of them for allowing this to happen. We as a company have had many successful moves and thousand of satisfied customers and ***** have been at the fore front of most of those moves. I am not saying that your problem is not real what I am saying is I never got the chance to see the damage that you say you have and I would think you would want me to see them. Yes, we do have occasions where something get broke or the walls get damaged but the customer are willing to work with us and allow us to see the damages. Yes I had an appointment with you that I couldn't keep and scheduled another appointment with you without consulting the crew manager *****. After talking with him about the move I had him to call you to reschedule the appointment. The crew that does the move has to be present when we meet so they can answer to the grievances that you my have.
At this time we are willing to pay you according to the insurance agreement you sign when you were moved .30 per pound
which is standard across the industry.
1. Bed 75. pounds
1. box spring 50. pounds
1. night stand 35. pounds
2. art pieces 5. pounds
1. TV 50. pounds
________________________
total pounds 215 @ .30 = $ 64.50
Or we will come out and repair whatever is broken



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never signed anything agreeing to 30cent per pound and I am asking that any and all damages be replaced

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, House & Building Movers, Relocation Service, Moving & Storage Company, Movers - Office, Movers - International, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/09/2005Business started: 03/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St.
Chicago, IL 60601
(800) 524-0795
http://www.icc.illinois.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2009, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ellis Cowart (Owner)
Business Category

Movers, House & Building Movers, Relocation Service, Moving & Storage Company, Movers - Office, Movers - International, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Alternate Business Names
A Infinity Movers
Industry Tips
Moving tip

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Infinity Movers

2221 E 75th St

Chicago, IL 60649-3206

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2221 E 75th St 

    Chicago, IL 60649-3206(773) 731-3558

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Infinity Movers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (773) 960-4544
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Movers

Moving tip
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.