Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Infinity Movers

Phone: (773) 731-3558 Fax: (773) 731-5492 View Additional Phone Numbers 2221 E 75th St, Chicago, IL 60649 http://www.infinitymoversonline.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Infinity Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Infinity Movers include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Infinity Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Infinity Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 2005 Business started: 03/01/2002 in IL Business started locally: 03/01/2002 Business incorporated 11/20/2009 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Business Management
Mr. Ellis Cowart, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ellis Cowart, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Movers - International Moving Services - Labor & Materials House & Building Movers Relocation Service Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)


Additional Locations

  • 2221 E 75th St

    Chicago, IL 60649 (773) 731-3558

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for 3 guys (which I had to reconfirm the morning of the move) but was sent 2 guys and a trainee who was clearly and annoyingly new to moving. It took them over three hours to move my one bedroom apartment via elevator (with me helping!). I called ***** (the owner?) and he told me that he had to call last minute to get the third guy and that he'd never moved before. Why should I be charged for 3 people when the 3rd person was more of a hindrance than a help? As if that wasn't enough, my sofa was damaged in the process. I've tried working with ***** but it's clear that he has no interest in solving this problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like the difference in cost for 2 movers instead of three. Also I would like to be compensated for the damage to my sofa.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/08) */ ******** ****** Was moved by us and there was a young man that was in training at the time. The cost to her was $26.00 per hour for the extra man which amounts to $78.00. She complained that her couch was torn. She signed for our insurance which pay 30 cent per pound. her couch estimated weigh 125 pounds. We are willing to send her a check for $115.00 for everything. We are so very sorry that it took so long to get this resolved we have been very busy this year forgive us for not getting back to you on a timely bases. We value you as a customer and appreciate your business ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They have agreed to compensate me for my trouble. I just hope they spell my last name correctly on the check because it wasn't correct in their response.

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company on Oct 2, 2014 to move me from my former home to my current residence. After close inspection of my items, I noticed there was damage. I contacted the mover to notify them of the damage and to submit a claim. This company never responded. They told me repeatedly that they would send someone out and this never happened. This went on for several months. They finally sent a representative 3 weeks ago who came to look at my damaged items. The representative only took notes on a blank sheet of paper. There was no formal claim form filled out neither have they provided me a copy of the insurance claim form. Product_Or_Service: Moving Company

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want a copy of the official claims report supposedly submitted to the insurance company. I want payment for my damaged items.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******************@yahoo.com Yes, we moved miss *** and it did take a while to visit her about her damages she said she had. The crew leader that moved her ****** was suffering with cancer and I told miss *** that as soon as he got back to work that we would visit her because I wasn't there when they moved and we want someone that was involved with the move to be there to assist with the complaint. ***** informed us that he was not able to come back to work. So I ***** ****** went to Miss *** apartment and took down the items that she said was damaged. She had a glass ball, refrigerator door holders, glass cracked, computer chipped and tape on a dresser. She called me last week and ask me to send her a copy of my report. She did not have enough damage to be reported to the insurance company. The total weight of the damages amount to 102 pounds. She signed for the cargo insurance we carry which is .30 per pound I am sending her a check today for her damages ***** ******

5/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers showed up an hour late, with only two guys. I had to help them load and unload the truck, I gave them the address to the new apartment and they proceeded to go ********** instead of **********. They charged me for 3hrs of work a total of $285 even though they were lost for 30min of that time and I helped them move everything. I spoke to the owner "*****" and told him about my situation and he stated that I shouldn't have helped them or been on the truck since there insurance doesn't cover me. Needless to say there is still a couch in my kitchen because the movers cliam they couldn't get it through the doors. ***** offered to come and move the couch himself but it would take him another hour to get to me. I told him I would do it myself.

Desired Settlement: I just want $95 cash returned to me, I'll pay for two hours of work not 3hrs.I paid them in cash and that's how I want my refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******************@yohoo.com We did move this customer the customer volunteered to help to cut down on his time. The customer was moving from second floor to second floor from **** ***** ******** to **** ** ***** Chicago, Illinois. Mr. ******** wanted the movers to move him in only two hours it was explained to him that they could not move him from second floor to second floor and then drive to his new location in two hours. The time was 3.5 hours he was given a half an hour for the driver being loss for 10: minutes. He also wanted us to pay him for helping. He had a Couch that would not fit through his door way the movers did not want to take responsible for the couch if it was damaged they tried to bring it through the front door and then the back door but they could only get it to fit through one door to the living room. Mr. ******** said for them to leave the coach in the kitchen. They did and left. Mr. ******** called me and called the workers all kinds of names and said he worked for the president of the county board **** *********** and he was going to report us to her. I ask him what was it that he wanted he said he wanted his couch in his living room. I told him I was on a move at the time but I would come over myself in about 45:min to an hour and see if I could get the couch into his living room he said OK. About 20 min later he called and said don't come because he didn't have the time to sat around and wait for me and hung up on me. I am so sorry that we could not please this person and I will send him the $95.00 in a check not cash because I have to report it. But I want him to remember you reap what you sow. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I just wanted the money back for the hour of work that they did not perform. I'll take the check. Ensure that Mr. ***** sends the check to **** W **** St apt ** Cicero IL, XXXXX. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 23, 2015/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/05/19) */ Dear Mrs **** I have sent a check to *********** twice and the check keep coming back each time with unknown address.I think you for giving me the new address for him I will send the check to his new address. Thanks

10/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired company to move my items in the process my wood dining chair was dropped and one of the legs was shattered/ broken.Workers sympathetically apologized and the owner ***** was contacted to discuss what would happen. He instructed employee to bring chair to office and the would get it fixed or replaced.I instructed them to write something on my receipt and to leave *****' number. They told me to give them a few days and give them a call. This took place July 5, 2014. I called and spoke with ***** on 7/10 at 12pm and his response to me was I haven't had time we're busy and that wasn't your only chair was it? I was very surprised by the response I received because my initial conversation with him was very pleasant when i hired the company and the employees were very nice too. I told him how many chairs I had made no difference because one of them was broken by his employee.The conversation ended with him telling me he would get to it when he could. I called back and was told that he would return my call, he didn't. I called again numerous times and I couldn't get through as if my number was blocked, so I decided to call private and Zoey answered and was very apologetic about incident and assured me that ***** would get back with me. It hasn't happened. The cost of the chair was 119.00 plus taxes and I have the receipt I would like to be reimbursed for my chair.The chair was still wrapped in the plastic from when it was purchased.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking for the company to refund me the amount in which I purchased the chair for which is 130.50.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ Mrs. ******** ****** Dear Miss ****** I am sorry about your chair we thought we could fix it but the wood on the leg of the chair was defective and could not be fix. I am sorry for not getting back to you in a timely manner I have been in and out of town on long-distance moves and maybe missed your call. Zoey never told me you called. I am sending you a check for the full amount of $119.00 for the chair. I hope this make everything ok between us ***** ******

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On march 29th I ********* ****** hired infinity movers to move me from my 2 bed room apartment located at **** ***** **** in ******* ** XXXXX to *** ***** ave in ******* **** ** XXXXX.The move was originally scheduled for 10am, I called the night before for and spoke with the owner, who stated that he was under the imprison that the move was scheduled for 9am I advised the owned that it wouldn't be a problem if we rescheduled it for 9am. At 9:45 on Sat march 29th I contacted infinity movers because no one had showed up. The owner apologized and to somehow I must have been bumped off the schedule but he would have someone to me within the hr. At about 11am 2 gentlemen showed up to my place residents. I let them know I had a dining room set washer dryer and to bedroom sets that would be included in the move, ***** of whom I assume was managing the move stated they did not have tools to un hook the washer and dryer and needed a third man to move my dining room set, he also stated that today he didn't have the man power but tomorrow he could return to complete the move, I agreed. At that point the move begin first room was my 10years room she has a canopy bed that needed to be unassembled the two gentlemen stared to take the bed down every five mins the two would stop to argue about all kinds of random thing when they were not arguing ***** was answering his phone. During this time my daughter's bed room set suffered servier damage. The gentleman referred to as Wood began to twist the post on her bed till it broke then ***** stated that it could be fixed sever chunks of wood were missing and the canopy was broken by the time it had been delivered the matrices and box spring had been dragged and damaged aswell as the nightstand. After they finished in my daughters room they stared in my room after taking down my bed they stared taking thing to the truck **** began to drag my night stand out the door and down the stairs when I asked him to stop I was told that no one would be able to see the bottom of the **** any way and if I didn't like it I could have whoever the nigga was who shoes was under my bed to come move the ****. Before we could get out the door to go to the other house.. I had two pieces of art on the wall terry knocked one down cracked it and throw it on the kitchen counter as if I didn't see him at this time ***** begin asking for payment I advised him that i didn't have cash all I had was a credit card and your website clearly said the credit was accepted at that time he demanded cash payment and that I go to the atm once we arrived at the other house. Once arriving at the new house they started moving my things into the house several wall where damage the foot of my night stand was damaged after complaining to the gentleman the man referred to as **** told me he didn't work for the company he was just helping out. At this time the two were becoming to disrespectful I called the owned to let him know how I was being treated he asked to speak to ***** I told him I was not at the house I was on my way to get the money from the atm. My television was dragged the drugged across the bottom of the truck and damaged as well.and damaged as well. I was charged 380.00 dollars for the move and told that they would be back at 9am to complete the move after speaking back with the owner and letting him know how I felt about the move I advised him that I would be going with another set of movers. He advised me that he would come out and take a look at the damages at a later date. I am requesting that my daughters bedroom set be replaced along with the damaged mattresses art work walls and my night stand.

Desired Settlement: i am requesting that everything that was damaged be replaced i have no problem providing proof of purchase.I am also reqesting to be compensated for one days pay to make up for the day I had to miss to accommodate the second set of movers

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/16) */ Contact Name and Title: Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******************@yahoo.com We did move Miss ****** March 29,2014. At that time Miss ****** did call me to say her bed was damaged and she wanted a new bed. She also said her walls was damaged also. I made and appointment with her but could not keep the appointment and reschedule for the following Monday. When ever we meet with someone about their damages we always bring the movers that responsible for the moving. I had ***** to call to set up the appointment. Miss ****** said she could not see us accept 7:30 or 8:00 at night and Sundays was family day. We cannot fix anything when everything is close. We are willing to fix her bed and the walls but she have to allow us to come doing the daylight hours. Or, if we cannot fix the bed we will pay her according to our insurance that she signed for and that is .30 cent per pound for any damages. Our contract also says we have the rights to fix whatever is fixable. The other things she is complainting about is new she never mention this to me until I talk with her yesterday 4/1614. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Multiple appointments have been scheduled with Infinity mover's to come to my home to evaluate the damages all of which have been no call no shows, I explained to the owner I would not be able to take off of work or leave work early anymore to accommodate him due to the several missed appointment's i advised the owner of my work schedule and told him that we would have to setup a evening appointment and he refused, I never signed any contract agreeing to repair or replace at 30cent per lb and if I had been presented with such a contract I would have never allowed the company to move me. I also advised the owned of all damages immediately and was told once moving season slowed down they would come to my home to take a look at the damages, it wasn't till I contacted the BBB and threatened small claims court that he began to take me seriously. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/07/22) */ Complaint # XXXXXXXX ** ******* ****** First I would like to apologize for whatever problems you had with my workers. ***** is my son and I have reprimanded the both of them for allowing this to happen. We as a company have had many successful moves and thousand of satisfied customers and ***** have been at the fore front of most of those moves. I am not saying that your problem is not real what I am saying is I never got the chance to see the damage that you say you have and I would think you would want me to see them. Yes, we do have occasions where something get broke or the walls get damaged but the customer are willing to work with us and allow us to see the damages. Yes I had an appointment with you that I couldn't keep and scheduled another appointment with you without consulting the crew manager *****. After talking with him about the move I had him to call you to reschedule the appointment. The crew that does the move has to be present when we meet so they can answer to the grievances that you my have. At this time we are willing to pay you according to the insurance agreement you sign when you were moved .30 per pound which is standard across the industry. 1. Bed 75. pounds 1. box spring 50. pounds 1. night stand 35. pounds 2. art pieces 5. pounds 1. TV 50. pounds ________________________ total pounds 215 @ .30 = $ 64.50 Or we will come out and repair whatever is broken Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/05/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never signed anything agreeing to 30cent per pound and I am asking that any and all damages be replaced


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Infinity Movers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)