BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/21/2000

In & Out Moving & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (773) 463-0874Fax: (888) 938-2496

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: The moving company had 21 business days to deliver my items from Chicago, IL to ********* ** per the contract. They picked up on 4/3/14 and today is 5/20/14 and I don't have my items. I would like to be compensated for the breach of contract. I was assured my things would be there in 21 business days, but instead, I have gone almost two months without any personal belongings.

Initial Business Response
Company Respond to BBB CASE #: ******** - *** *******


June 3, 2014

Better Business Bureau of Chicago, IL
Serving Chicago and Northern Illinois Area

BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois
330 North Wabash Avenue, Suite 3120
Chicago, IL XXXXX

Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX

BBB CASE #: 94501998 - *** *******

To Whom It May Concern:

Please note that IN & OUT MOVING & STORAGE is more than willing to thoroughly investigate this matter in an attempt to better comprehend and validate all of the customer's claims/complaints against our company. Customer satisfaction is critically important to us and we want to ensure that every customer knows their business is valued and truly appreciated.

When it comes to these matters we put ourselves completely at the customer's disposal. Rest assured that if and upon a full and thorough investigation through MovingClaims.net (Company Claims Processing Agent) we can validate that the customer's claims/complaints against the company are in fact true and accurate, the company will compensate the customer in accordance to their coverage and will ensure a fair resolution to their issues.

As per BBB terms and regulations, and in order to determine if we are the company the customer had a transactions with, we request that the customer will submit all copies of the following documents (Please provide FRONT AND BACK copies):

Bill of Lading (contract)
Order for Service
Household Goods Descriptive Inventory (Both pickup and final delivery copies)

Be sure to include copies of any moving documents that may include written notations of damages, loss or and delays that were made by you at time of delivery (Highlight such notations).

We urge the customer to submit additional information as soon as possible so that we may address their issues.

We strongly believe that with mutual consideration we can easily reach an understanding and keep the relationship between all parties in good standing.


Very Truly,

Customer Service Department
IN & OUT MOVING & STORAGE

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a service

Complaint: It has come to my attention that In and Out Movers, a BBB accredited company, is inappropriately using the service mark/logo of our association on its website, www.ontimemovers.com



This company is not a member of this association and is perpetuating fraud by using our logo.



Furthermore, their website is not clear about what company is offering the service. Nowhere on the site is any mandatory federal or state license number listed, nowhere on the site is the legitimate license name of the company, and nowhere is there any direct contact information. All these items are required by the FMCSA and the Illinois Commerce Commission for any companies holding themselves out as licensed movers.



As a member of the Board of Directors for the American Moving and Storage Association, I also inquired of AMSA to determine if OnTimeMovers is a member of that organization since the website also includes the AMSA and ProMover service marks. The company is not a member of AMSA.



I have sent the company a cease and desist order; and since they apparently an accredited BBB company, I felt you would want to know about their deceptive advertising.



Please contact me if you have any questions. I would be interested in knowing the company's response to this complaint.



Thanks.



******************** Executive Director



Helping you make a better move!



******************** Executive Director
llinois Movers' & Warehousemen's Association
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************
Contact Phone: **************************************************
Dear********* and BBB,
we have been and still working for the past month to correct and update the site. as you can see the logos you are referring to are not redirecting the page to any place.
We deeply apologies for the inconvenience as we have already requested our webmasters to clean that.
we expect all to be finished no later then Wednesday 1/22/2014.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: We were moved out of our home in Chicago on ********* Our goods arrived on ***** At the time, we only recognized some broken furniture, but did not have time to evaluate everything before the movers left. In unpacking, we noticed many dishes and glasses were shattered, two very nice chairs had their front legs completely broken off, and a 150-piece toolset and drill were missing. Additionally, my grill cover was torn and the propane cord was sliced, preventing the grill from operating. I identified the chair issue with them and was told by their insurance company on **** that I would receive $107 for the chairs. I have never received this $107. Additionally, when I tried to fix the chairs, I discovered that they had already attempted to glue the legs back on and had ruined the finish with dripping glue. I cannot buy these chair legs anywhere and glue is no longer holding, so I will need to have the legs custom-built, which costs nearly the same amount as a new chair. I cannot repair them with tools, because my tools never made it. All of these items, except the dishes, were packed and delivered by In & Out's movers. Although I signed an agreement with them regarding insurance, I feel that these issues point to a greater issue of neglect of my belongings and a lack of follow-through on even paying me the insurance money I am owed.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ********* Director CPC
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX.****
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ****** ******** against In & Out Moving, regarding damaged & missing items, wherein he states that he never received the settlement amount he agreed to. We have also reviewed his moving documents, and our claim records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Consumer hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from Illinois to ******* commencing on ******* At the time of pick-up, Consumer selected & signed for the free coverage of $.60/lb/article maximum for his shipment, & declined to purchase the Additional Valuation coverage for repair/replacement. Delivery was completed on ******** and at that time Consumer made written notation of two (2) damaged armchairs, but did not make any notation of any missing items at that time. Thereafter, on ******** Mr. ******** called our Claims Department & advised that he was missing items (tool box w/tools, drill) & had damage to two (2) armchairs. At that time we explained the $.60/lb/article coverage ($.60/lb times the weight of any damaged, destroyed or missing item shipped) he had chosen to him & advised that he was due a maximum of $108.00. We offered him that amount in full immediately, without going through the claims process (written claim form, photos of damages, receipts, repair estimates, etc.) in the interest of customer service. Consumer agreed to accept the $108.00 (not $107.00 as he states in his BBB complaint) as full & final settlement of all claims, & we advised that we would send him a release form to sign/execute & return to us so that payment could be issued to him by the Business. We sent him out the Form on that date, however currently almost 3 months later, we have yet to receive the executed Release Form back from Consumer, as is required for In & Out to issue payment to him. We have attached a copy of our ******* determination letter and release form (previously sent to Consumer on that date), and ask that Mr. ******** return the signed/notarized release to us no later than ******* via either fax at (XXX) XXX.**** or certified mail, for this offer to be valid.

Finally, we respectfully request that the BBB close this complaint as Information Only since Consumer agreed to settlement on ******** and then filed his complaint with the BBB on ******** without ever submitting the executed settlement documents back to us or contacting us again. Thank you.


Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/09/2013Delivery Issues
07/15/2013Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 2
05/21/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Moving & Storage Company, Relocation Service, Transportation Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.