Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Graebel Van Lines, Inc.

Phone: (847) 808-8400 Fax: (847) 808-8450 View Additional Phone Numbers 1011 Asbury Dr, Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 View Additional Email Addresses http://graebelmoving.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Moving services provider, offering end-to-end moving support for clients in the corporate, residential, work space solutions, and international markets.

 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Graebel Van Lines, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Graebel Van Lines, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Graebel Van Lines, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 08, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1967 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated 02/17/1983 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
http://www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Troy Hardrick Mr. Dave Marsden, VP- General Manager Mr. David W. Graebel, Owner/Chairman Ms. Bethany Steinbach, Customer Service- Residential Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: Troy Hardrick
Principal: Mr. Dave Marsden, VP- General Manager
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Movers - International Moving Services - Labor & Materials Storage Units - Household & Commercial Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Graebel Movers
Products & Services

Graebel Is Your One Source for Worldwide Relocation & Commercial Workplace Services. We are your single-source partner for successful, cost-efficient employee relocations and workplace services. Our seamless global supply chain management featuring services with 153 country on-the-ground attention to go with it. Peace of Mind. Worldwide.


Additional Locations

  • 1011 Asbury Dr

    Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 (847) 808-8400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers broke a large full box of precious house items, some are Lenox china and waterford crystal. I was told by an employee contact to sign a 65cent Movers broke a large box of dishes, serving pieces waterford glasses and lenox china cups and sugar bowl. They also broke precious vintage glass ware that cannot be replaced, a 50 year old heirloom pasta dish and many more such items. They sent a check for $252.00, which is an insult, I will nocash it. They have also misplaced 5 photograph albums filled with memories. I did not add this

Desired Settlement: Movers broke a large full box of seving items, Glass ware, which some were Waterford, Lenox China and Vintage glass ware. Some items are not replaceable, they are heirlooms. An employee, by the name of ******* advised me to sign their insurance agreement, for $65 cents per pound and currently sent a check for $252.00, which I will cash. Some of the broken items were heavy pottery. I want them to justify the small price they want me to accept. I also, did not claim the 5 photograph albums, that they misplaced. The driver, at the time of our move, was agitated over the inadequate truck he was given, therefore he had to move our boxes many times to try and fit our belongins in the truck. Anything you can do to help me will be greatly appreciated. Thank you. want me to accept

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/11/05) */ The only move I can find in our system under this name took place from **** ******* IL to ********** IL. ******* ******** (********) had no part in this move. I don't believe that this should be directed to our location or BBB Silicon Valley. I can definetly research, but my knowledge of this relocation is very limited and should go to the branch where it took place. Again, I'm happy to help, but I don't think we are the best avenue to accomplish resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The move was from L********** to ********** IL The company address is the address that I gave you. They have a moving company here in Buffalo Grove, IL, but I assume that is a division of the parent Company. When you look up *******'s address the one that comes up is the one I gave you. The local address for ******* is: ****************, Buffalo Grove, IL XXXXX. Telephone number is: XXX XXX XXXX. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 31, 2013/12/24) */ While we appreciate the photos; the packing services were not completed by *******. The truck is owned by a ******* independent contractor; we did not "give" the driver the truck; he owns his truck. As we stated previously; the truck that was dispatched was sufficient to move the goods based on the estimated weight. We do understand the crew was running late on load day; however the customer was only charged from the time the crew arrived on site. In order to move the goods; the driver does have to load the truck like a puzzle; many times we may have to rearrange the load to get a different piece to fit. We are sorry to hear that the driver's diligent work efforts came were perceived as anger; he did have a difficult job to perform- and It is difficult to perform your best when there's negative interaction with others. We understand moving is a stressful time and we know everyone was doing the best they could under the circumstances. Local moving in the state of Illinois is not guaranteed; it is based on actual time and services. We did settle your claim based on the valuation coverage you selected on the Bill of Lading; we are sorry that your valuables were damaged; but we are not responsible for any further action. As previously referenced and based on the fact we will not be able to reach a mutually amicable resolution, ******* continues to be willing to participate in binding arbitration, as required under the BBB Rules of Binding Arbitration. Sincerely, ************** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 28, 2013/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am forwarding pictures of broken heirlooms & dishes. The movers were very late in ariving at the my home for the move. Was very angry at the items that had to be moved and accused the person estimating the job of knowing the pounds involved in the move. Accused the company of giving him too small of a truck for my move. Therefore, to make it work, he constantly was moving and throwing boxes and furniture around the truck to try and re-arrange them to fit. We were the victims in this case due to the movers being very angry. I paid the invoice, plus in good faith I paid them extra, which I did not have to do that, because that was not part of my invoice. I took them at their word that my items were going to be replaced. I packed them very well and marked the boxes very fragile in large print. I believe that ******* should compensate me for these broken items. Some of them are very valuable and meaningful to my husband and myself. Thank you for all of your help.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Graebel Van Lines, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)