BBB Accredited Business since

Good Move Movers, Inc.

Phone: (800) 683-9184 Fax: (800) 683-9184 3052 W Logan Blvd Ste 3W, Chicago, IL 60647 http://www.goodmovemovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Good Move Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Good Move Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Good Move Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 14, 2011 Business started: 04/14/2010 Business started locally: 04/14/2010 Business incorporated 04/14/2010 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Dunne, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Dunne, President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Trucking - Light Hauling Trucking Warehousing Services House Furnishings & Services Office Records Stored Transportation Consultants Logistics Truck Rent & Lease Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)


Additional Locations

  • 3052 W Logan Blvd Ste 3W

    Chicago, IL 60647 (800) 683-9184

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. We had a moving target move date at first. We had a date back in Sept we had to cancel. Then we had a date in Nov that needed to move by 1 week. I learned of the delay while on a business trip so I (stupidly) called ***** (owner) instead of an email where we confirmed the move date of Nov 21. Multiple calls around the new date. The date came and the trucks did not. I called ***** in a panic and he proceeded to argue. Not to fix it but to argue. As if I screwed up the only date I cared about for that entire month. Like I got it wrong. It took my screaming to get him to find a truck and guys somewhere and get the move started. 2. We moved from 2 homes so ***** thought it best to have 2 shipments come on separate days to our new home. Fine. I spoke to him on the phone, text message and over email a number of times to confirm the 1st shipment needed to be our ENTIRE home from ******* IL first. No problem. Day of the move we noticed no TVs on the shipment. We have a 3 yr old that didn't take kindly to Mom and Dad unloading boxes and not paying enough attention to him. ***** made the executive decision to remove the TVs from the shipment without EVER checking with me first. He saw how upset I was and made no effort to fix the problem except to argue. Then, a box with all of our bedding was missing so we were to sleep on bare mattresses that night. I called ***** countless times. Texted him countless times. No reply from 1pm all the way till 7pm. He finally responds and says "*** - I can't speak with you now. I'm sorry. I will call you in the morning." How's that for service?! That's an actual verbatim text I saved for anyone to see. 3. There was over $600 of damage to our property during the final move. Fine. We filled out the claim paperwork and submitted to his Admin. He tells us he'll have the claim closed in 60 days even though law says 90 days. Wonderful. 90 days go by and nothing. I have to continually email (learned my lesson) him to get a resolution. Nothing. One reply was "I've just been avoiding the fatigue and anguish I know I am going to experience after this conversation." That's an actual quote. It took my call to the Illinois Movers Association to get him to even address my issues. His answer?(paraphrasing) "You filled out the form wrong. You're entitled to $33." The move performed on 12-27 was never completed even though we were forced to pay the $1400 bill since Good Move still had the other half of our stuff. We never got the TVs or the bedding which were critical parts of the move. We are seeking a $400 credit from the move itself since services were partly delivered and $600 to replace broken items

Desired Settlement: $1000

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/22) */ Dear Rhonda- I will try to respond to this complaint categorically, as best I can. 1)This move was rescheduled at least 2 times (which isn't out of the ordinary). The shipper (Mr. ******), postponed from 11/14/13 to the following week. I recall him saying that it will be "next week", and I expected to hear which day next week, but I never did, so I assumed something fell through on his new home. In any case, the shipper called around 11 a.m. on 11/21 looking for his movers. I told him I didn't know he was scheduled. He yelled at me, which would be a natural reaction, in that case. I know, because I have had dozens of calls from individuals whose movers have not show on their move day. They are panicked. Regarding arguing, unless I am engaged by someone, I would never argue in such a situation. I avoid arguing, whenever possible. You plug the hole in the boat first and argue later, if you want. I had 4 men and a truck there by 1:30 pm.and finished the job 2.5 hours later. That day. The shipper states that I 'found a truck and guys somewhere and get the move started'.A truck was in my yard and some men were at home. It wasn't a busy day. It didn't take him screaming for me to act, either. 2)I've admitted (and apologized for, many times over)putting the tvs in one truck. I thought there were three tvs. 2 on 1 truck and 1 on the other. I was wrong. The shipper wanted me to fix the problem, but short of buying him a new tv that evening, he would have to wait until the following day. The tvs were delivered the following day. Again, I did not argue, but apologized. Regarding the bedding, I'm still not understanding why the shipper is complaining about this. This complaint is mine. The shipper packed the bedding himself, it was in his home the whole time, and for 2 straight days all I heard about was missing bedding. When the shipper found the bedding, no apology to me. I'm still not understanding that. 3)i wasn't continually emailed by the for 90 days. About 90 consecutive days went by from the shippers email about wanting to have a conversation with me about discount for his storage bill due to lack of service, to checking on the status of his claim. The quote that the shipper cites in the middle of this section is 100% true, and it was made for reasons for that I will conclude with. The shipper still has an unpaid storage bill between $500.00- $600.00. He indicated in an email he would like to have a conversation about a discount for his storage bill due to lack of service. The last quote in this section is not paraphrased. It's false. I have an email thread to verify that. To address the final paragraph, I will need some clarity on the move from 12-27 not being completed. With the exception of not having a television set, i'm not sure what else that implies, if anything. The second part of his shipment was to scheduled, by the shipper, to arrive on 12-28. And it did. I showed up on site both delivery days. The first to try to calm the shipper down and express himself to me. The second, just to make sure everything was still okay. Regarding the 'fatigue and anguish'quote: Mr. I haven't expressed this in any other email to the shipper, but Mr. ****** is extremely difficult to deal with I have apologized, duly or not, many times over to him and it's useless. He yells quite a lot and I find him to be emotionally abusive. That quote was a genuine expression of my feelings. As honest of an expression that I'm capable of. I don't apologize for it, by the way, and it wasn't meant as an insult. I'm guessing this will most likely require some arbitration. In his final email to me, the shipper has indicated that he will not open any from me email, rather delete it. I have never been to arbitration before, I don't know what it entails, but to have a disinterested party rule on this would be most welcome. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1) I am 100% certain I relayed the actual move date at least twice. It is convenient that this was done over the phone and I do not have an email to prove Good Move made an egregious error. He continually says I did not give him an exact date and hides behind the fact this was done by phone. No family in the history of moves doesn't convey an exact date to the mover when they know it. 2) The move on 12-27 was never completed on 12-27. We were missing 2 TVs and all of our bedding (also on the 2nd truck and hence our complaint). I was forced to pay the bill at that moment since Good Move still had 1/2 of my stuff coming the next day. ***** was in my home trying to make light conversation on 12-28 (acting as if nothing was wrong) and I was clear that whole day I wanted a discount for the completely botched move. He smiled and said "don't worry." The whole time he knew he'd never make good on that promise. 3. We contracted for our "entire" ********* house to be delivered on 12-27 and it was missing 3 key components that were removed by the moving company. 4. Lastly, I was told by the men actually doing the move that our stuff was broken already in the warehouse and they swore by it. They told me it was broken in storage and not the move to or into our home. On the sole merit of the 12-27 move not being completed on 12-27 although I was forced to pay it I am seeking restitution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/01) */ Dear ******* In addition to filing a complaint with the BBB this customer has also filed a formal complaint with the Illinois Commerce Commission. Rather than respond to the shippers rebuttal, I have been advised by *** *********** of the ***** to inform the BBB of the outcome of those proceedings in their entirety. The Commerce Commission, as you know, will mediate and/or arbitrate this matter. As a footnote, I will print and respond to the customers latest rebuttal herewith to the Commerce Commission. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept