Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 21, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1933 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1933 Business incorporated 10/21/1933 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com/doi
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
http://www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tina Wellick, Office Manager Mr. Larry Smith, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tina Wellick, Office Manager
Business Category

Movers Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Mayflower Moving and Storage

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10052 S Clow Creek Dr

    Plainfield, IL 60585

  • 465 E Fullerton Ave

    Carol Stream, IL 60188 (773) 854-4060 (630) 904-1125 (773) 549-0730 (773) 904-0890

  • 5410 W Roosevelt Rd Ste B

    Chicago, IL 60644

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We filed a claim with the insurance we bought through this company for damage done to our dresser during our local move from Carol Stream to Winfield. Our claim has been rejected twice saying it's moisture and age, rather than taking responsibility that their company damaged it. We paid good money for insurance to cover any damage that may be caused during a move. The fact that this was a local move and the dresser got damaged is not acceptable. We have tried to resolve this with the company and they refuse to honor the insurance claim. We ask for money compensation to have the dresser fixed.

Desired Settlement: We would ask for the refund of the money we paid for insurance-$30, and $50-$75 to get the dresser repaired.

Business Response: We have reviewed our file and contacted Mr. ******** directly today, 6/6/16.  We have reached an acceptable resolution.  Mr. ******** also advised us that he would be notifying the BBB that this matter has been resolved to their satisfaction. 

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Glen Ellyn Mayflower company has canceled two of the delivery dates for my furniture and now they are refusing to give me a date and time when they will deliver. When I purchased my furniture from ZGallery on July 3rd I was told that it would be delivered by late July. On July 24th, I called to check on the status of my furniture delivery. I was told that the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company would not be delivering my furniture until late September. There was one piece of furniture that was being custom made and would not be delivered until late September. All other pieces of the furniture were in stock and could be delivered. This split delivery was clearly noted on the order. Once the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company realized their mistake, I was told that they would ship out the furniture immediately and that someone from the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company would be contacting me within the week to schedule a delivery. I waited until Friday July 31st and made a call in the afternoon. I spoke to a supervisor name Donna Dean from the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company. She informed me that my furniture was sitting in their docking facility since Wednesday July 29th. Donna told me that it was not their fault that the split order was not seen because they never get to see the notes that the ZGallery sales people make on the order. Donna also told me that the moving trucks are very large and that it takes several days to inspect them. This is the reason she did not call me to schedule a delivery date and time for my furniture. Donna could not explain why I wasn't contacted on Wednesday July 29th when my furniture arrived in their docking facility. They could have done both the inspection and scheduled my delivery at the same time. I explained to Donna that I needed to have the furniture delivered by the next Saturday; August 8th. Donna told me that she could not guarantee any delivery but she would "do her best". I then told Donna that the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company could not deliver my furniture by next Saturday August 8th, that I would be canceling the order.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of my order if the furniture described for the delivery in July on Order # XXXXXXXNPTO is not delivered by the morning of August 8th. This includes the Lola Bench ($296.65), the Palais dining table ($1,189,15), delivery cost (190.00) and applicable tax (about 243.23).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ****, Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@glenellynmoving.com Date: August 14, 2015 RE: Response to BBB Complaint, Shipper ******* We have spoken to Mr. ******* and believe that the matter has been resolved to his satisfaction. However we would like to respond to his original complaint. Our company, Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation, is a Last Mile Delivery Agent for the store where the furniture was purchased. That means that we have no prior knowledge of his purchase or delivery needs until the furniture is delivered to our warehouse. At that point, we contact the customer and set up a delivery time directly with the customer. Mr. ******* states that he called and his delivery dates were cancelled two times. Glen Ellyn Storage would not have arranged for any delivery directly with him prior to July 28th, when we received the furniture in our warehouse. Our office called to set up delivery on July 31, and left a voice mail message asking him to call back. Unfortunately, we did not make contact with Mr. ******* within our 2 day window. We have apologized for this. At this time, the furniture has been delivered and as stated, we believe that this matter has been resolved Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This matter is definitely NOT closed. I will re-open this complaint in the event it is closed without my permission or knowledge. I want to remind Glen Ellyn Movers that my furniture sat in their warehouses for three days before I received a call from them. And the only reason I received a call was because I initiated it with ZGallery. Had I not called to inquire on the status of my furniture I have no doubt that the call from Glenn Ellyn Furniture on Friday July 31st would never have occurred. Glen Ellyn Movers refuses to acknowledge this as a problem. As much as I would like to sever my contact with Glen Ellyn Movers, this order was split (Order #XXXXXXXNPTO). The remaining furniture is scheduled to be delivered within the next three weeks to complete this order. It is reasonable to assume that until Glen Ellyn Movers acknowledges and corrects their mismanagement of this order that I will be go through the same nightmare when the second half of the order arrives. I have already notified ZGallery that I will never use Glen Ellyn Movers for any purchases that I make at their store. I will be on a 'cash-and-carry' basis with them from now on. And I have gone to another furniture supplier to complete my home decorating project as a direct result of this horrible situation. I sincerely believe that I have been given blatantly false information from Glen Ellyn Movers and based upon their callous reply to this problem I don't see that changing. Glen Ellyn Movers refuses to acknowledge these lies or the problems they have caused. I do not want this complaint closed until the entire order has been completed. Once that has happened, Glen Ellyn Movers will never hear from me again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/27) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Controller Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@glenellynmoving.com Mr. ******* is correct in his statement that Glen Ellyn Storage did not contact him for three days after the first portion of his furniture order arrived in our warehouse and after his phone call to ********* This was acknowledged in our original response. We also acknowledged this in our phone call with Mr. *******, and at that time, we believed that the matter had been resolved and the pieces of furniture that had been received were delivered on the requested dates. We recognize this to be an internal staffing issue, and have worked with our office staff and ******** to improve in this area. The previous response was not intended to be callous. We had reached out personally to Mr. ******* by phone and honestly believed this was resolved. Unfortunately, there is no way for Glen Ellyn Storage to know when the rest of Mr. *******'s order will arrive in our warehouse. Per Mr. *******, this is a custom order and therefore its arrival is outside of our control. We are on the look out for it. Once received, we will make initial contact and ensure that his delivery dates and times accommodates his needs to the best of our ability. Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation has been in business for many decades and works very hard to meet our customers requests. We strive to maintain quality and customer satisfaction. Our sincere apologies to Mr. ******* for his inconvenience and additional stress this may have caused him.

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They delivered our dishwasher and upon bringing the dishwasher, they scratched and dented our brand new dryer.

Desired Settlement: Replace or fix the dryer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/24) */ March 24, 2015 RE: BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX *****, ***** The *****'s had previously filed a claim with Glen Ellyn Storage regarding the alleged damaged. This claim was properly investigated, including a review of the corresponding paperwork and interviews with the delivery crew members. The determination of that investigation was that the alleged damage was not caused by our delivery crew but was instead pre-existing damage. In a denial letter, we informed the customer that if they disagreed with that decision, they could escalate the claim to ******** ********* at XXX-XXX-XXXX. ******** ********* would have the ultimate decision making responsibility. To the best of our knowledge, this has not yet been done. We will contact the *****'s again with the contact information for ******** ********* and ask that they pursue their allegations through the appropriate channels. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have contacted the Electric Insurance and they told me they have to send Glen Ellyn Storage paperwork to fill out. I was told that they will have all the documents from Glen Ellyn but they had no record of the claim. I will wait for their investigation at this time. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/03/30) */ Thank you for contacting ******** ********** They will have the ultimate responsibility to investigate and make a final determination regarding this claim. Once ******** ********* contacts us, we will complete and submit any and all required documentation for their review.

3/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/21, Glen Ellyn Storage Corp. arrived to install gas dryer through working agreement with **** ****** Was informed by installer ********** that standard venting would not fit space behind dryer. Installer recommended taking his paperwork to **** ***** to show, so a telescoping venting kit could be purchased. When I inquired when the earliest date would be that the dryer installation could be completed, he said Tuesday. The telescoping kit was purchased on 3/21. I called to confirm the Tuesday appointment on 3/23 with Advanced Services Inc., the company that contracts out the work through Glen Ellyn Storage Corp. At that time, I was then told that the installation teams do not install specialized venting kits, apparently which includes telescoping kits. I was told that I would have to install the kit myself, or hire another party to do the work. Mind you, I paid to have the dryer installed already through **** ****** and the form that ******** left me with states 'Action required to complete installation: Needs telescope venting to fit'. The installer was contacted regarding issue, only to deny ever committing to returning on Tuesday to complete the job. The conversation was certainly had, further assumed from the Appliance Installation Exception Form I was left with. Additionally, I even told ******** that if the dryer was not able to be installed, I would like them to take it away so I could return to **** ***** and find another model with a shorter depth measurement. But assuming he was truthful, I kept the dryer thinking the company could finish the installation Tuesday. I feel that I was blatantly mislead and lied to by the installer regarding completion of the dryer installation.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to come back and finish dryer installation. If they are unable to work with a telescope venting system (that the installer recommended), then Glen Ellyn Storage Corp. should pay or reimburse me for the professional I will now have to hire to complete their work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/25) */ March 25, 2015 RE: *******, ******* BBB Complaint #XXXXXXXX Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation has worked with Mr. ******* and have satisfactorily resolved this issue. Mr. ******* has advised us that he is pleased with our response and the installation has been completed.

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bill of Lading: XXXXX Filed complaint. No response after 11 days. Follow up emails ignored. Hired local company to do local move about 15 miles distance from house from ********* IL to ******** IL. *** ***** came to view the items to move, quoted about $1700. Actual cost was way over that @ $2531. 10%? 20%? off, sure, 40% off is outrageous. Job took about 14 hrs. When complete an Italian china cabinet and a leather couch were damaged. Asking only for $400. Think that is extremely reasonable, someone can come out an estimate. Have pictures on the damages. Also one large box labeled "Garage" was never delivered. I was there when they placed it in the truck and there is no excuse to it's disappearance. Replacement value I'm going off eBay used prices @ $725.

Desired Settlement: Pay: $200 for damage to China cabinet $200 for damage to Leather couch $725 for replacement cost of stolen/lost box === $1125 total

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ At the current time, we are continuing to work directly with the consumer to resolve this issue. A repair service has been scheduled to do an inspection. After a review of that inspection report, we will follow up with Mr. *********. Once that is complete, we will complete our response here. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They responded appropriately for the 1 of the 3 issues. Issue addressed but ongoing: 1) Damaged furniture: have had a furniture inspector visit the property to inspect damage. No compensation yet. Issues not addressed: 2) 40% underestimating of quote. This is bad business and bad sales techniques 3) They have not addressed the issue w/ the lost box. Now that I am looking for certain items I have noticed (that was most likely inside the same box) I am missing my FPV/drone equipment. Used value about $350. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/07) */ We apologize that we did not meet the consumer's expectations. We have completed our investigation of the missing items and our conversations with the repair service. We have re-interviewed the moving crew and sales person to evaluate the overage on the estimate. At the time of the estimate, the *********'s indicated that they would be moving many boxes themselves, and this was taken into account when preparing the original estimate. The crew has indicated that although the *********'s did move some boxes themselves prior to moving day, the moving company did move more than was estimated. There was also a sofa in the basement that had to be left behind after the crew tried to move it out of the basement, thereby taking up time. There was also additional valuation purchased at the time of the move that was not included in the estimate. However, despite these differences in the estimate versus the actual charges, we do feel that the overage was excessive and will be offering the *********'s a good will gesture to settle this matter. A final claim settlement in addition with this good will gesture will be sent to the customer today in order to satisfy the *********'s expectations. Glen Ellyn Storage takes customer service very seriously and has an excellent record in doing so. We take pride in making every attempt to meet the expectations of our customers.

11/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchase a new appliance due to condenser issues with the old model.On Friday, September 12, 2014, an employee of Glen Ellyn Moving called us to schedule the delivery and installation of a new refrigerator. The employee did not explain the company's policy nor ask questions, for instance regarding water line valve location. My husband was advised that the appliance would be delivered between 7 AM and 11 AM. On September 16, 2014 at 7:30 AM a new GE refrigerator was delivered to our residence at **** ** ******** St, Chicago, IL by Glen Ellyn Moving. I and my husband were at work at that time. At that time ***** ********** was present to accept the delivery. She was also present during the delivery and installation. She is an older lady who take care of our child. The old appliance was not disconnected and the water line was live. We use the filter water from the fridge for baby formula mix. An employee of Glen Ellyn Moving, ******** unplugged the refrigerator, disconnected the water line, removed the old unit, and brought the new appliance. ******* was advised by ***** to contact ********* ********* with any questions. Consequently, he called ********* ********* and stated that he was not able to complete the installation of the refrigerator due to the company's policy. He also stated that he was in hurry to complete the installation because of his delivery schedule that day. He was advised by ********* that the valve is located in the basement. The employee of Glen Ellyn Moving left around 8 AM. ***** also left around 8 AM. When ********* returned home from work at 3 PM, he noticed water on the kitchen floor. He went downstairs and saw water dripping thru the walls and lighting fixtures. He inspected the kitchen cabinets and walls, and noticed multiple scratches on the panels and walls. Then he immediately called ** and Glen Ellyn Moving to report the incident. ********* examined the delivery slips. According to the employee "existing water lines will not be reused." The employee did not connect the water line due to "no shut off valve". As the installation exception form states "there was a plastic line coming from the basement." He did not go to the basement nor shut of the valve as advised by the owner. He was negligent. We reported the incident immediately. ********* spent hours on the phone with ** and Glen Ellyn representative, Mr. ****** Mr. ***** did not offer to come to see the damage or simply verify his employee statements. He did not inspect it. He ignored it. The only contact with him was via a phone call. We purchase our house in December 2010 and remodeled the entire house in 2011.

Desired Settlement: Repair the damage

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/15) */ Glen Ellyn Storage is a contracted delivery carrier for ******* ********* There are regulations and procedures that are pre-determined by ******* ******** and the applicable retailer that sells the appliance. We are contractually bound to those specifications. It would not be customary for the delivery company to discuss those procedures with the purchaser as those specifications and requirements would normally be handled at the point of sale. Glen Ellyn Storage does make pre-calls as Mrs. ********* acknowledges. A call was made by the delivery crew driver 30 minutes prior to arrival to Mr. *********. In that conversation, the driver, ******** was told by Mr. ********* that he himself had already turned the water supply off. He further told ******* that he would not be at the delivery but Ms. ***** *********** an adult, would be at the residence to accept and sign for delivery. It is this water shut off valve that is the essence of the issue. ********** helper, ***** overheard the conversation between ******* and Mr. *********. There was no doubt in their minds that Mr. ********* had told them the water line was already shut off prior to their arrival. The crew arrived at approximately 7:15 AM on September 16th as stated in the complaint. The crew arrived and they began to remove the old refrigerator. The unit was pulled out and the crew noted that the water supply line was plastic. In addition to this, it was also clear that the shut off valve was not visible on the same floor level. These are two specifications that immediately prevent the Glen Ellyn Storage from reconnecting the supply line to the new refrigerator. ***** the helper, called Mr. ********* and explained the situation and Mr. ********* advised the crew to remove the old refrigerator, leave the new refrigerator and he would complete the installation. This, was another acknowledment that the water line was already shut off. The existing unit was pulled out and the water line was disconnected within the first 10 minutes of arrival. It took another 15 minutes to remove the doors and the freezer drawers of the old refrigerator and it was removed from the home at that point. The water line was not live and was laying on the floor. As stated in the complaint, ***** ********** was present to accept delivery. Ms. ********** also supervised the delivery and along with Mrs. *********, have verified that our crew was never in the basement where the shut off valve was. There is no question that our crew did not know the location, see or touch the shut off valve at any time. After removing the old refrigerator, the crew pointed out to Ms. ********** that there was some water on the floor. There were a few drops of water on the floor from the initial disconnection, which is normal. There was also some spillage from the freezer as there was water in one of the drawers which appeared to be a result of the old refrigerator not properly freezing. The crew offered Ms. ********** an opportunity to dry and clean the space while there was no unit in place. From previous service calls by ******* ********* the old refrigerator was previously leaking and had at least two service calls prior to ordering a replacement. There were previous water marks on the floor, presumably from those previous leaks. Due to the space requirements, the new refrigerator also had to have the doors and drawers removed. This was done outside taking about 15 to 20 minutes. The refrigerator was moved inside and reassembled. The crew was at the delivery residence for 45 minutes. The disconnected water line laid on the floor for over 35 minutes and was clearly visible to Ms. ********** who also cleaned around it. There was no water running from the line, a clear indication that the shut off valve was closed off. The crew took a picture of the water line at that time for verification. All paperwork was signed and the crew left, without issue. Neither Glen Ellyn Storage nor the crew have any knowledge of what happened after their departure. The *********'s have reported the water damage and contacted all involved parties. As a contractor of ******* ********* we have provided all requested information to them and to Electric Insurance, who makes the final determination of liability. Glen Ellyn Storage has tried to explain the situation to the *********'s and understandably they are still quite upset. At this point ******** Insurance has made the determination that there is no liability. We are in agreement with their position however it is their ultimate decision. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, I would like to address the statements made by both employees. ********* never said that the water was off. Further, he never talked to ***** Both of the employees' statements are false. I understand that the employees might be afraid of losing their jobs and therefore might say whatever they need to say to protect their jobs. We submitted to the delivery pictures of the water valve that has not been touched since we moved to the house in 2011. The picture shows spider webs surrounding the water valve. Second, according to ***** the removal of the old unit and the installation of the new appliance took about 15 minutes, not about 40-45 minutes. This also can be documented by our nanny as well as nanny camera. Third, when ********* arrived at home that day, the first phone call he made was to ******** one of the employees. This was not mentioned in the response to BBB by the business. ******* refused to provide his supervisor's or manager's phone number. He stated that "he would take care of it with his supervisor tomorrow." ********* immediately called ** customer service and obtained the number to the delivery company. Finally, when the damage was reported to GE and delivery company, the case was referred to ******** Insurance by ** and the delivery company. ******** Insurance denied the claim based on the statement of the delivery company and a picture provided by the delivery company. I obtained the picture after making several phone calls and sending several emails. I received the picture after the ******** Insurance denied the claim. I reviewed the picture and noticed that the plastic line was bent and pushed back to the wall facing the baseboard. The plastic line is a flexible piece of plastic 5/16'' diameter. I asked the delivery company for an explanation. I called the owner of the company, Mr. ***** *****, to discuss the matter. He was not able to provide any explanation or answer my questions. The only answer I received from the owner of the company was that the employees were given lie detector tests, and based on their sworn statements our claims were not true. From the first phone call, the delivery company denied and rejected our claim. They accused ********* and myself of lying. They did not perform any inspection or verification of their employees statements. They stated a couple of tablespoon of water is normal during that processed. But clearly their picture shows more than couple of tablespoons of water. If couple spoons of water is dripping for almost 8 hours, this would make up several full buckets of water. I would like to know why the plastic line was bent by the employees. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/11/05) */ It is obvious that the *********'s are unhappy with our previous response. We certainly understand the seriousness of this situation and have attempted to respond based on the facts we have. We will not repeat our previous statements, but will attempt to clarify some issues in our second response. When Mrs. ********* left a voice mail for ***** *****, she was immediately contacted. Although an investigation had been performed, another one was started which included information from Mrs. *********, and interviews with the driver, the helper, the Distribution Operations Manager, the Customer Service Manager, the Adjuster and the Claims Manager. The driver and helper were again questioned thoroughly and their answers were compared to cell phone records as well as electronic communication that occurs with ******* ******** during the delivery process. Written statements are being prepared from their interviews, and will be signed by the crew. They have also volunteered to take a lie detector test if needed. Mrs. ********* was told by Mr. ***** that they had volunteered to take a test during their interview. She was not told that they had already taken one. She was given the full results of the 2nd investigation. As requested by ******** ********** we have reported all facts, statements and records to them. ******** ********* has also reviewed previous ******* ******** service calls made to the *********'s residence regarding previous service calls to fix a leaking refrigerator. ******** ********* has more information than Glen Ellyn Storage has and is responsible for making the final determination on these claims. It was never our intent to imply lying on anyone's part. We are not insinuating that our crew or anyone else is lying. We are simply reporting the facts that are available to us. I apologize for that inference. There are obviously two very opposing views on this issue and this is where insurance companies are very beneficial. ****************** investigated the facts and subsequently denied liability. This could be taken to conclusion by getting the homeowners insurance company involved as an interested party. They have their own adjusters and investigators and then the two insurance companies can review the facts and make a final determination.

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delivered microwave as contracted to but did not install venting kit, therefore vent gasses were pouring into our cabinet freely, they sent another crew out and they said they knew nothing about it, ordered parts. Found out parts were not ordered and had to track down someone to order parts from retailer(Home Depot). nearly a month has gone by and still waiting for parts. Dishwasher was delivered with a cracked base and was not inspected before attempted installation, we had to again contact retailer (Home Depot) to try and resolve issue. Extremely disappointed with the service and lack of care that Glen Ellyn storage has taken with us. As a homeowner it seems that they do not care about the customer at all.

Desired Settlement: I believe we should not have to pay for the delivery and installation charges due to the errors made by this company, they have been unwilling to I help and have been dishonest in their attempts to get the situation corrected. We want a refund of the install/delivery charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/24) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Office Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@glenellynmoving.com First of all, Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation would like to apologize to Mr. ******** for his disappointment in our services. We strive to fulfill our customer's needs and are equally disappointed when we cannot complete our services without full satisfaction. That being said, however, we believe that we did everything we could to professionally deliver and install the appliances that were purchased at **** ***** and to meet the needs of Mr. ********. On March 13, 2014, we were scheduled to deliver a range, dishwasher and microwave to the ******** residence. When our delivery team arrived, they noticed that the kitchen area was under construction and that the plumbing was incomplete. Because of this, the delivery team was not able to complete the install of the dishwasher. They completed the install of the range and the microwave. Mr. ******** requested that the team set up the dishwasher hoses and he would make the connections when the plumbing was completed. The team connected the hoses to the dishwasher and ran them in place as requested. Mr. ******** signed for the dishwasher stating that there was no damage to the product. We were never further contacted to finish the install nor were we informed of any damage. Mr. ******** called our office on March 14, stating that the microwave that was installed was venting into the cabinet. On March 15, a different delivery team checked the install and found that the microwave was missing a damper and the part was ordered at that time. On Friday, March 21, we were informed that Mr. ******** had received the missing parts at his residence and we immediately scheduled a team to go out on Monday, March 24th. This team attempted to install the damper, but the wrong size had been sent to the customer. New parts were again ordered and the final installation was made on April 10th. Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation is a contracted delivery agent for General Electric. We do not directly charge the end user for installation or delivery. We are not paid for these services by the end user. Again, we apologize for the disappointment that Mr. ******** experienced. We did everything in our power to rectify the situation as quickly as possible. If Mr. ******** is seeking reimbursement of the delivery and installation fees, he will need to contact Home Depot where he would have been charged and paid for those services. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/04/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is an extensive record from Home Depot that shows how many times the correct equipment was ordered and how many times this issues was tried to get resolved, glen ellyn storage DID NOT Install my equipment properly the first time and would not have if we the home we did not catch it. This is unacceptable as you are supposed to be the professionals and that is what you are contracted to do. As for the dishwasher, just because we the homeowner did not notice damage to the unit you supplied and were supposed to install does not alleviate you from responsibility, it is your company that is supposed to be the professionals and get it right the first time. There were five items contracted to be installed and two were not, that is not a good percentage. As for the money, we did pay Home Depot and yes glen ellyn did get paid as well, we were the payers in this process, for you to say directly or indirectly is sum antics, the end user always pays. Also, because of your lack of proper installation and length of time to get the issues resolved we had our project delayed for weeks, we should be compensated for all the trouble and time. Also, consumers have the right to know of your companies unprofessional ism and unwillingness to strive for customer satisfaction. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/05/05) */ In our second response to Mr. ********, we must emphasize the facts in our first response. The difficulty that Mr. ******** experienced was more product related than delivery related, in our opinion. We are a contracted delivery agent for the manufacturer and as such we are not involved in the charges for the product, delivery or installation that the end user/consumer pays. These arrangements are made at the retail level. If Mr. ********'s desired resolution is to be credited for any of those charges, he will need to refer back to the retailer. We have no knowledge of the charges that Mr. ******** paid for the items he purchased or the services he choose. We have no ability to refund them to Mr. ********. If the retailer would find Mr. ********'s allegations justified, they can refund any of his charges and then they can pursue subrogation back to the carrier. We are not allowed to discuss our contractural arrangements with parties not involved in the agreement. It is obvious that Mr. ******** will disagree with our position, but there is no other option except to strongly urge Mr. ******** to seek resolution at the retail level.

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Glen Ellyn to move from my home in ***** ******* Illinois to **********. First, I will say what was good. The men who came to my house on the front end of the move were professional, courteous, and did a good job with the packing and moving. My items arrived across country in good shape with one notable exception. Now, what was less than desirable. First, my treadmill arrived damaged. Not unforgivable, but the moving company attempted to charge me extra in order for the installer on the delivery end to come out and repair it. It took multiple emails and phone calls to Michele Finkelstein at Glen Ellyn to finally be refunded the charge that they layed on my credit card. Second (and this is the matter I am contacting BBB about) I was promised that as part of my contract and the price I paid up front, that the unneeded boxes and packing material would be picked up after I unpacked. When I called Glen Ellyn to arrange the pick-up, they stated that they cannot find any evidence of this in the contract and that it will be an additional $150 charge to the agent on the destination end of my move. Blame me for not checking the fine print of the contract to determine that the service that ******* *********** told me was included was not, but frankly I mistakenly believed that I could take the word of what I thought at the time was a premium moving company. ****** ***** and her supervisor have been very polite in telling me that they are sorry but that they are not going back up ********** verbal promise due to the fact that the charge was not included in the contract.

Desired Settlement: I want Glen Ellyn Storage arrange to pick up the packing materials as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Office Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@glenellynmoving.com In August, 2013, Mr. ***** contracted Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation, agent for ********** to move his household belongings from ***** ******* IL to ********* *** He signed an Order for Service/Bill of Lading via E-Acceptance on 8/19.2013 with our salesperson, ******* ************ This document spells out to the parties what services are to be provided and the costs associated to those services. On August 29, 2013 Mr. *****'s goods were loaded and began transport from IL to *** As part of the loading services, a third party was hired to disassemble and prepare for shipment a treadmill and a multi station home gym. These services were part of the original charges. On 9/6/13, the shipment arrived in **********, and was delivered to another ********* agent. Our Coordinator, ******, contacted Mr. ***** and he informed us that the closing of his new residence in ** had fallen through and that he would require storage for about one month at the ********* agent. On 10/7/13, Mr. *****'s goods were transported to his final destination. ****** spoke to Mr. ***** on 10/9 to check on delivery and if there were any pending issues. This is when we were informed about a stripped screw during the reassembly of the home gym. ****** spoke to both the third party assembly company and Mr. *****. Mr. ***** felt that he should not be responsible for the additional charges the reassembly company charged. After numerous emails and phone calls between the sales person, ******* ************ Mr. *****, and the third party company, the additional charges were refunded to Mr. ***** on 12/6/13. Throughout those numerous emails and phone calls, there was never any mention of a debris pickup. On February 5, nearly 4 months after delivery, Mr. ***** called and asked the Coordinator, ******, to arrange for a debris pickup. ****** initially informed him that although the service was available, it was not covered in his original contract and there would be a charge of $145 for the local agent to come out and pick up the used boxes. Mr. ***** then requested to speak to a manager. Our Customer Service Manager, ***** ******* returned his call and reiterated that this was not covered in his signed Order for Service but we could contact the local agent and set it up but there would be a charge of $145.00 for this service. At that time, Mr. ***** told ***** that the delivery driver had mentioned a debris pickup but had not mentioned the price. He also acknowledged that the charge was not in his contract. ***** informed him that while we can understand the need for this service, we would be unable to arrange for this to be done at no charge. He stated that because of the problems he had had with the reassembly of the gym, that "we should do the right thing". Since that time, Mr. ***** contacted the agent in CA directly on 2/24/14, and has agreed to pay the charge of $145 to have the used boxes picked up. It is unfortunate that Mr. ***** encountered difficulty with the reassembly of his home gym, however, we feel that that issue has been resolved. Regarding the debris pickup, all services that were agreed to are spelled out in the contract that Mr. ***** accepted. He has stated that he has moved on several occasions and was familiar with the process. On page 3 of the contract, under Terms and Conditions, paragraph 3, it notes that "The total price set forth in this contract does not include charges for extra services or products that you may order from us or that are necessary to accomplish delivery. Charges for any additional services or products will be presented to you within 15 days after delivery..." Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Debris pickup was verbally promised. I acknowledge that I missed that the verbal promise was not reflected in contract. I am moving on, agreeing to disagree with the **** ***** response; but I am dissatisfied with their response and I will continue to be dissatisfied with their response. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/03/26) */ It is always regrettable when a customer is unsatisfied with the service he or she receives. This is especially true when the dissatisfaction involves a verbal claim that cannot be supported by a signed agreement. Transportation agreements are very clear in the interstate moving industry. The agreement lists the services included and the applicable tariff charges for each of those services. There was no debris pickup listed on the agreement and Mr. ****** was not charged for it in his total cost. Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation has an excellent reputation and has serviced the Chicagoland area for over 80 years with high quality and honesty. It is also true that many customers get several estimates and can potentially be made many promises by several salespeople. It is easy to get confused with who said what and when. That is why we have a written signed agreement. After reading the BBB report, I know that Mr. ****** will not accept any responsibility for the miscommunication. I accept that fact. I also realize that he did make arrangements to have the debris pickup performed and was quoted a price of $145 for that service. It is our understanding that Mr. ****** has now paid for the debis pickup. As the president of Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation, I have reviewed all the paperwork on this order and do not feel that Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation has fallen short in their ethics or responsibility to Mr. ******. As a sign of good faith, I will personally write a check to Mr. ****** for 50% of the charges that he paid for the debris pickup, reportedly $145.00, if he will agree to completely drop his complaint with the Better Business Bureau. This is only a goodwill gesture to lessen his dissatisfaction level. Please advise. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While certainly less than optimal, this is a good faith offer and a substantially more constructive approach than that originally taken by the business. I will accept the offerand will also rescind online reviews I have posted for this company once the "goodwill gesture" is received. Thank you.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had such a bad experience with **** **************** and Glen Ellyn Storage (GES). Glen Ellyn Storage initially damaged my couch in transit to their facility. Since the couch was custom made...it took an additional 2 months for the couch to be remade and delivered. Once arriving to Glen Ellyn, it takes 48 hours for them to do an inspection on the couch to verify that it isn't damaged. Additionally, it took another 3 days before they could confirm what time/when the couch could be delivered...within a 4 hour span of time. I called to see if they could give me a delivery date/time - they said they were unable to for two days because they hadn't organized their route. How is a working professional supposed to schedule their work schedule around a delivery without sufficient notice? It is very bad business practice. ******* who is a manager ******************* facility, was very rude, non-chalant and did not care about solving the problem with a customer who has been waiting since April for their merchandise. She refused to give her last name and did nothing to calm the situation. I am still waiting on a phone call from Glen Ellyn to confirm whether or not a delivery will take place on Friday. I will never buy from **************** again and I will make sure that corporate Glen Ellyn knows how poorly managed their operation is.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of purchase price of couch. Took from April (time ordered) to August (still have not received couch). No updates were given in a timely manner. It has been an AWFUL experience.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/04) */ Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation (GESC) is a local delivery service company contracted by a variety of customers. We act as a third party carrier. ********** had no contractual agreement with GESC for the purchase of the sofa or for the delivery fees and conditions of service. ********** would have likely been informed of those details from her point of purchase. For this particular case, GESC has a contractual agreement **************************** where we provide local delivery service for their corporate customers (manufactureres, retailers, etc.)and by extension, the people who buy from ******* customers. Again, we never negotiate or sell services to any end consumers, rather we have established delivery guidleines with our customer ****** The complaint against GESC alleges that we caused delays for ********** for a sofa she purchased from****************** I will address the complaint and provide facts to illustrate the sequence. Originally **********'s sofa was received at GESC via a third party carrier arranged by manufacturer and ****** We did not ship this sofa to our warehouse. Upon recipt of the sofa we were required to perform an inspection of the goods, at which time we noted that the piece had visible damage and needed repair. We informed ******of this per their policy. At this point it was determined by others that a new sofa would be shipped to us at a later date. It is the responsibility of the point-of-purchase to relay this information to the customer (**********). It is not GESC's responsibility to inform the customer since we did not sell the sofa, we have no knowledge of manufacturing times, transit times to arrive at our warehouse, or other details between******************and their customers.********** had alleged in the complaint that GESC damaged her sofa in transit to our facility and that is absolutely false. We do not provide inbound transit to our facility, only outbound deliveries. A new sofa was in fact received at our facility late in the afternoon on 8/5/13. We were required to perform a physical inspection and "deluxing" on the item per the terms of our agreement with ****** This can take up to 48 hours as ********** acknowledged in her complaint. Upon inspection of the unit we determined that it was free from defect and that we could now contact the customer to establish a delivery date. We satisfactorily completed this delivery on 8/9/13 with no exceptions noted by **********. This is all doumented with mutiple signatues from ********** (or her agent at time of delivery). It is important to note that we delivered this product within acceptable guidlelines established between ******and GESC, and within 48 hours of the deluxing being completed. I can't comment on any contractual obligations that ********** had with her point of purchase, but my suggestion would be for her to review those terms and conditions and direct her complaints to them. GESC followed all established protocol and rules we have with our customer and we believe that this response to the complaint clarifies that we acted in accordance with our guidelines for timely delivery and services performed. We were not responsible for the original sofa being received as damaged in May, nor are we responsible for any delays in receiving and delivering the new sofa on 8/9/13. We do apologize for delays that ********** encountered due to organizations other than GESC. We consider our involvement in this case to be concluded and we suggest again that ********** direct her complaints elsewhere.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart