BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

E-Z Movers, Inc.

Phone: (888) 917-8300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

171 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 57 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues10
Billing / Collection Issues14
Delivery Issues34
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service111
Total Closed Complaints171

Additional Complaint Information

A review of consumer complaints filed with the BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois against E-Z Movers delineates a pattern of consumer allegations.

In their complaints, consumers allege that they had to pay substantially more than was originally quoted to them in their estimate. In these complaints, consumers cite the company changing the price of the move by hundreds and in some cases upward of a thousand dollars after arriving on site and beginning the move process.

Moreover, consumers allege that the company damaged their items in the move process. While the types of items damaged varied greatly, many consumers cite large furniture pieces being negligently wrapped, blanketed, and secured in the truck, causing them both cosmetic and functional harm.

On March 21, 2014, E-Z Movers informed the BBB of the following procedures, which have already been put in place:

With regards to the complaints claiming the company charged substantially more than originally estimated, E-Z Movers has revised its confirmation documentation to make all policies and procedures more clear.

With regards to the complaints claiming the company damages consumers' good during the move process, E-Z Movers has begun requiring remedial training sessions for moving consultants along with revising their mover handbooks about employee conduct. They require that all moving consultants test to become certified by the American Moving and Storage Association. Further, the company has created a classroom for mover training where movers can practice wrapping furniture and loading trucks.

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (171)BBB Closure Definitions
04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2013 we contracted E-Z Movers to move us from a 2 bedroom rental house in ****** Il, to a 4 bedroom house in ***** ***** Most of our belongings were in storage pods, and we were living in 900 sq feeet with just our essentials for several months. When I booked them, it was because they were willing to guarantee me an early morning move. We had work conflicts in the afternoon and this move needed to be completed by noon. I was very clear on this point, and the movers were scheduled to be at the property in ****** at 6:30am.I called the day prior to confirm the movers and was told they would be there by 8am. I stressed to the secretary that this was later than we had agreed upon and they could not be any later do to our afternoon conflicts. She assured me they would be no later than 8am.On June 6th, 2013 we were at the property by 6:30 to wait for the movers. We had moved into our new home the night prior, and had even moved the big screen tv ourselves that they were contracted to move as well as all loose items.The house was completely boxed up and ready to go. Everything was ready EXCEPT the movers!I received a call at 8:30am from the driver telling me they were on I355 and probably 2 hours away because of traffic.I immediately called the main office where I was told by ***** that there was not a manager I could speak to until after 9:00. When a call was returned, I explained to our time constrictions that this was completely unacceptable.At 9:45 am the movers arrive in ********* husband warned them of the time crunch and needed to get started.I received a call again from the main office around 10:30am and expressed our concern and annoyance. They ran out of time. The new home was left with furniture unassembled as they were pushed out the door at 2pm. 2 hours pastthe agreed upon time. I have asked to be reimbursed for THIER travel time charges of $199.00 The entire move cost $764.75. They did not arrive per agreement and cause havoc by incomplete delivery/setup.
Product_Or_Service: movers

Initial Business Response
Ms. *******,

We regret any dissatisfaction you had with our services. We offered for you to file a complaint directly with us in June, 2013 but you did not send us the complaint form. We were actually late because of traffic. Your contract began at 9:45AM when it was supposed to begin by 8AM. We do apologize for your inconvenience. Please find a release attached for a settlement offer. If you choose to accept, you may scan and email to *****************@e-zmovers.com, fax to XXX-XXX-XXXX, or postal mail to *********** St., ******, IL - XXXXX.

Sincerely,

***** ****
Customer Relations
EZ Movers

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/04/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of services

Complaint: My items were picked up from ******** **** on 1/16. It is now *** and I still do not have my items (according to the driver, I should have them **** or ****** An email that I have received from EZ Movers several times stated: "Per our agreement, your last possible date for delivery is ************* I have been given the reason of temperatures being below zero for the delay. However, according to *********************** I see 4 days that were below 0 degrees in Chicago. I feel that with a window of 15+ days, 4 days of cold weather is not an excuse to have my items here as promised by ****

I am also dissatisfied with the lack of communication. I was not until *** when I called EZ Movers that I was informed of the delay. No one proactively reached out to me to inform me that the delivery would be late. Not only that, but until I called the driver myself today, one has been able to give me a delivery date, or even an estimated delivery date either.

I want you to understand my situation: I am sleeping on the floor of my apartment with no furniture, no TV, only a few changes of clothes because the promise made by EZ Movers to deliver my items by *** was not upheld.

Additionally, when the movers came on **** to pick up my things, they were pushy for a tip, telling me that they normally get tipped $40 each, and that I can add it to my credit card. Being that 2 moving men were in my home and I was home alone, I felt a lot of pressure to comply. Also, they left rolls of tape around my house that I found later and they forgot the legs to my couch. Not only that, but they charged me $170+ for a "long move" fee, which is where the distance from the truck to the door to my house is 75 or more feet apart. This is a fradulent charge, as they parked in front of my attached garage, and simply walked into the mudroom, which is attached to the garage, to gather my items.

Initial Business Response
Ms. **********,

I understand how weather underground might seem a great source for retrieving weather conditions. However, I always get my weather information from weather.com. Specially take a look here: http://www.weather.com/weather/monthly/XXXXX?month=-1. I also have dug my car personally out of a couple of feet of snow throughout ******** 2014 and all of my neighbors are unable to take down their decorations from Christmas still because of all of the FROZEN snow in our area. I live 10 minutes from our warehouse. Your stating that we are using this as an excuse is completely false. All of our shipments have been delayed because of this bad weather and the effects on our equipment. Our agents and drivers have had multiple issues with their trucks because of the weather. Please do check your Bill of lading in section 1(f) where it states: "The carrier or party in possession shall be liable...EXCEPT loss, damage, or delay caused by...Acts of God" and section 2 where it states: "The carrier shall not be liable for delay caused by... mechanical defect of vehicles or equipment". In the email that you are referring to, we mention that we are not responsible for weather delays as well. I know this has been a long wait for your goods, but we truly do not have any other options. Delivery is almost complete. We have offered $75.00 compensation to you and will stand by our offer. Please see the supporting documentation here. We will require for you to pay at delivery in full for services requested by you. A discount can be provided if you sign and return the release and will have to be refunded via a refund to your credit card. No further discounts will be offered. Also, I have taken a screen shot of your pickup address. I attached it here. The area is not developed in this snap shot of the area. However, the plot of land where your parents' home sits is significantly set back from the main road and would not support a semi-truck. There is also no exit for the semi if he did pull in. You also authorized the long carry fee on a separate long carry form and the Binding Estimate. You may end up paying additional fees if there is no access for a semi-trailer at delivery. If you refuse to pay the remaining amount on your contract, we will be forced to take possession of your goods and place your items in an area storage of our choice or take your items back to Skokie, IL.

Please pay at delivery in the form of cash, cashier's check, or postal money order.

Please see the attached documents and understand that our offer of $75.00 is final and is a Good ***** gesture because we are not liable to compensate for weather/mechanical defects.

Sincerely,

***** ****
Customer Relations

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
22 days is excessive to deliver my goods, even with a a few days of snow. Also******* you orginally told me it was due to cold, not snow. Changing stories? I would like a refund of the $170 long carry fee. My parent's front door to wherr the truck was was 30-40', this was a fraudulent charge. Additionally, *******, EZ Movers said he would give me a discount per day late. I will accept $75 x 7 days late.

Final Business Response
Ms. ****,



Please see the attached signed release regarding this case number.



Thank you and have a nice evening.





Sincerely,

***** ****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What was the discount ******* said I would get? He said for every day late I would get a refund.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint:********

This is in reference to a contract with EZ Movers for a move in the amount of $569 from May 30th, 2013.
I did attempt to resolve with the merchant. The day of the incident, I contacted customer service and spoke with *****, and explained to her how the service I paid for (the moving of my piano) was not given. After telling me there was nothing they could do and they would not be returning and "the piano could not be moved", I requested a refund, or at least a refund of the "piano labor charge". She stated that would not be possible, but that I could fill out a complaint form, which she emailed to me. I submitted my complaint, and their written response contains absolutely untrue information regarding the move. In their letter, they stated that there was not enough room in the moving truck for the piano, and that's why they didn't move it. I rented a 26 ft truck from U ***** they biggest one they have, capable of moving a several bedroom house, to move a 2 bedroom apartment. There was plenty of room in the truck for the piano. They never even got the piano into the stairs to move it down. Their letter also states that they weren't responsible for broken items, since "I helped pack the truck". In my letter to them, I stated that I helped move things out of the apartment to the elevator, I never once put an item in the truck. Finally, in their letter to me, they proved themselves liars by admitting that their equipment was left on my piano (as the picture shows), showing their full intent to return the next morning and move the piano as promised. Why would they have left their equipment on the piano if the reason they couldn't move it was that it didn't fit in the truck?


******
Yesterday, I went to EZ Movers office in Skokie (over an hour drive) to return the equipment (piano board, blankets, and straps) that was left on the piano when they did not return to move it the following morning, as stated in the complaint letter. In their response to my complaint letter, you'll see that they promised to "return the $100 fee" associated with leaving their equipment behind. After they checked to make sure all the equipment was there, they told me to leave it in the back employee area, behind the office, where they load their trucks, and mentioned that they would mail the $100 deposit back to me. I asked for a receipt. When the gentleman returned, the "receipt" he gave me was a "Release of Liability" form, stating that I was satisfied with my service from them, and would not be submitting complaints to the BBB, credit card companies, or anything else. The $100 "deposit" was now referred to as a "settlement", in exchange for me not pursuing any further complaints. I was not able to return the equipment, as I would not sign away my ability to dispute this charge, and they refused to return my $100 deposit without it.

Initial Business Response
We did not move the piano because we were unable to fit it in the rental truck. Take a look at how the truck was packed by you... Although we were unable to move the piano, we left the equipment behind so that Mr. ******** could borrow the equipment and return it or book another crew to come and perform a hoisting service. We are happy to return the funds to Mr. ******** if he gives our equipment back to us and we have told him this in writing and when he came into our office as well. He was asked to return the equipment which is valued much higher than $100.00 to us and sign a release for the refund. He still has not returned the equipment. He came to our office and left with it.

Attached you will find the signed Bill of lading was signed where it reads:

"DELIVERY ACKNOWLEGEMENT: SHIPMENT WAS RECEIVED IN APPARENT GOOD CONDITION EXCEPT AS NOTED ON INVENTORY, AND SERVICES ORDERED WERE PERFORMED"

Upon return of EZ Mover's equipment and a signed release, we will be happy to refund this $100.00 amount. However, otherwise we have a right to retain these funds OR to bill for the actual cost of our equipment.

We are maintaining our stance on this matter. Please see the attached.

-***** ****
EZ Movers


Final Consumer Response
EZ Movers came to my apartment on ******** to move my belongings out of my apartment and into a ******* I hired this company mainly to move my piano, which is a baby grand, and, since there is a 2 or 3 hour minimum, to also move as many other boxes and pieces of furniture as they could in that time frame. I would like to point out that I made very clear with the sales department (I spoke with ******, as well as one other individual), the size, shape, and style of the piano, as well as the fact that it was going down 4 flights of stairs and into a truck. Upon arrival, *** (the foreman) and his crew were nice and appeared ready to work. Shortly after signing the paperwork, which I was told was required before moving anything, they got to work. *** sent 3 guys down to the first floor to load the truck and stayed up in the apartment to load. He then asked me "if I was going to help". Now don't get me wrong, I'm more than willing to help move, but that is what we hired the movers for, and what we were paying them a lot of money to do. I'm also confident there are liability restrictions on this kind of thing; something your company could get in a lot of trouble for if I had gotten, or if someone else in the future, gets injured in the process. I ended up moving as many or more boxes than anyone else there, except perhaps for ***, who I will say did work hard the whole time. There are only 2 of us in a 2 bedroom apartment, and we have an average amount of stuff. They also informed me that the box springs could not fit down the stairwell; they said the only way to move them would be to "LOWER THEM FROM THE BALCONY", however, they couldn't, cause they didn't have any rope. Funny, cause we managed to get the box springs INTO the apartment just fine. Toward the end of the move, the crew finally began to attempt moving the piano, which was successfully moved in one year prior by *** ****** and ******** EZ Movers crew of "piano moving specialists", (as I was told they would be), however, was unable to move the piano down the stairs, and, only upon my request (they asked if they could just LEAVE IT IN THE STAIRWELL?!?) brought it back into my apartment for the night. After some discussion and a couple of phone calls back to the office, I was informed that the movers would have to return the following morning with "different equipment" in order to move the piano successfully. I not only had a ****** truck for a one-day rental, but also needed to be out of the apartment that day. *** ASSURED me over and over, after many questions, that they would be back first thing the following morning with the proper equipment to complete the move. I think it's important here to point out again that when I first called to schedule the move, I repeatedly stressed the size of the piano, as well as the size of the stairwell in order to avoid a situation like this, and was told that it would not be a problem.
The following morning when I called customer service at 6am as I was told (in order to ensure that my move would be the first job dispatched that day) I quickly discovered that customer service did not even open until 9am. When I finally reached ***** in customer service, she confirmed my fear; that no crew would be returning that day as promised, and I would be left with the piano and 2 queen-sized box springs in my apartment, the day after I was supposed to be out. She also informed me that the previous night, while *** was telling me that he and his crew would be back the next morning to finish the job, he was actually telling the person he was on the with from the office that the only way to get it out of the apartment was to "have a crane remove it from the balcony". When asked about a partial refund, ***** stated there was nothing that could be done. Since the incident, the company (specifically, members of management who weren't present) has repeatedly denied the actual facts, and fabricated a made-up version of the day's events.

DESIRED RESOLUTION::I am seeking a 50% refund of the amount I was charged, since only half the work was done, and I was forced to pay twice as much for another company to come in afterward and finish the job that E-Z Movers started.
If they agree to a 50% refund, I will gladly return the equipment that belongs to them, that was left on my piano when they agreed to return the following day, but did not show up. I attempted to do this once before, and was offered a return in the amount of $100, but was asked to sign a document stating the $100 was a "settlement", and that I would not pursue any complaints through the BBB or other organizations, and releasing the company of all fault. I will return the equipment, but I will not sign a document like this.


Final Business Response
Mr. ********,

I was reporting to you what the foreman and dispatchers and other staff members handling your move reported to me.

At this time, we still maintain our stance. We are happy to provide the originally offered return of the fee you were charged if you return our equipment and sign the release. After all the correspondence through online forums, we would like to ensure that the matter is closed completely once that transaction is made. I hope you can understand our position on this matter. I would like the issue resolved, but we have to protect our business from further complaints.

Please feel free to send back the original release if you would like and we can set up a date for you to come in and get your credit and give back the equipment. My email is *****************@e-zmovers.com.

Thank you,

***** ****
EZ Movers

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/17/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: I hired EZ Movers to pack and move my residential furniture ******************************** ************** While initial interactions with the company were positive and staff was quick to send estimators, schedule the move out date ************* and pack my items, the good service quickly stopped thereafter. In scheduling my move, the most important factor to me - and one I immediately shared with the company - was a quick turnaround for delivery. I relocated for a new job and didn't have a lot of time between arrival in Miami and starting the new job, so trying to get unpacked and organized quickly was important. The first estimator I spoke to told me over the phone that EZ guarantees delivery within 3-5 days, the factor that ultimately made me choose them. However, when another estimator came to my home to verify the estimate in person, he told me that timing was 5-10 days. Then, after my furniture was picked up and loaded on the truck, the movers as well as follow up emails specified that timing could be more than two weeks. This, to me, signifies that EZ is quick to make a sale, but doesn't feel the need to follow up with quality service. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am marking that I "accept" the company's resolution because, frankly, I don't want to waste any more of my time going back and forth with a company that doesn't make customer service a business priority and refuses to admit any wrong-doing when they have slighted a customer. I am glad that EZ Movers is going to, at minimum, pay for the damage they caused to my unit. However, I continue to be disappointed with the amount of back and forth, inaccurate communications I had to go through to get this accomplished. I'm also disappointed that my landlord and her contractor have to wait over a month to be paid for the work that needs to be done to repair the company's damage, and that the reimbursement will involve a multi-step process because the contractor won't be paid directly. Throughout the entire process, EZ Movers has taken a tone that they are doing me a FAVOR by addressing their damage, where as any good company would realize it's a necessary business practice that reflects good customer service.

I am also disappointed that this company has failed to address the fact that they handled the entire process leading up to and surrounding my delivery beyond poorly, but again, for the sake of saving myself from dealing with continued aggravation I am ending the process here.

This should in no way be construed as a reflection of satisfaction, as I am beyond dissatisfied and will continue to advise all my friends, colleagues, and co-workers against using this company.

Final Business Response
**************

I am sorry to see that you remain dissatisfied with our communications. However, we are going to be making the payment directly to you as you are the one who filed the claim with us. We cannot cut a check to the contractor directly. We have to refund in the method of payment that you used for your move. Payment will be made within 30 days from the date we received your signed release. A copy was forwarded to the BBB via email.

**********************************

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/15/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of products

Complaint: Problem dates: How can a business move you before they get this information first?

Initial Business Response
Ms. *******,

Your delivery spread is 10 business days and because you just returned your 'delivery request' form to dispatch yesterday afternoon, the spread begins today, ******* ** 2013.

It is through no fault of ours that you left and did not return to complete your documents with the driver. You signed your binding estimate and bill of lading. When dispatch saw that you hadn't filled out the delivery request they emailed you right away. After that, you called and spoke to a moving consultant who sent another form.

Your spread begins today and ends *********** Once we are ready to deliver, we will contact you via email with the driver's name and phone number.

I would like to mention that you signed your confirmation before we picked up your goods and acknowledged you understood the delivery spread. You also elected your coverage on the bill of lading before you left the driver at your pickup. The Bill of lading also includes the delivery spread in red ink.

We will keep you posted about delivery, but unfortunately cannot give a specific answer immediately. Again the spread is 10 business days.

Sincerely,

***** ****
EZ Movers

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 20
04/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide itemized billing as requested

Complaint: Acct XXXXXXX; have asked for itemized bill 3x and only just received a recent invoice stating I have a balance due of $640.00. Am now receiving notice that items will be auctioned off on 12/21/13 for a balance due of $880.00. No response to messages left and/or emails to ******* ********** Accts Payable, questioning this balance. Company continues to send hard copy of notices to old address after being advised on three (3) separate occasions of current address.

Initial Business Response
Ms. ********,

******* has had plenty of correspondence with you and I would be happy to scan in all emails and invoices, but I think my attachments illustrate perfectly well information about your move.

The first page is the Bill of lading where it shows that you have not been delivered and that you have not paid the balance in full. You owe $750.00 on the Bill of lading alone provided that all payments made at the time of pickup have not been declined.

The second page is your storage contract which was signed by you at your pickup. You knew from the beginning the amount of $120.00 was to be paid monthly for storage until you were at 75% of your payments for the bill of lading and ready for delivery.

The third page is a screen shot of your storage account showing the contact information that we have on file for you and records that invoices were being sent. We sent previously via postal mail and thereafter we began sending via email automatically.

Any auction information will be publicized. You can contact ******* if you wish to pay. I know that we are auctioning your goods but I am unsure of the exact date of the auction at this point. Natalia's email is ******@e-zmovers.com.

Sincerely,

***** ****
Customer Relations

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Requested this info many times. My records indicate bal due as listed per invoices emailed to me: 3/30/13 $480; 6/2 430 due; 8/30 & XXX XXX; then 11/XX XXX due. Spoke with ****** ***** on 12/18 who stated a balance of 640 due. Questioned location of goods & was told that info was not privy to me. Are my goods still in their possession? Also a lien notice sent to former address showed a bal of $880. How was this total achieved? All correspondence & replies will be forwarded to for documentation. Are my goods still available? If so, what is true amount due?

Final Business Response
Ms. ********,

The longer your items remain in storage, the more you owe. You have a contract with us.

Your remaining balance on your Bill of lading is $750.00.

Your remaining balance in storage is $1000.00.

Paying these amounts will allow you to move out of storage to *** ****** ** as contracted, but you must do so before the auction process is completed. We have had plenty of correspondence with you. Please see the attached documents. You know that you $120.00 payments monthly in advance and you have been sent invoices, emails, and auctions notices throughout your time in storage.

I copied a statement that shows the dates you did make payments to us. They are very sporadic and only cover a portion of the amount owed.

Your items are stored at EZ Movers and I have no problem letting you know that. They will not be released to anyone without payment. The shipment will be up for auction as soon as we advertise the auction and go through with proceedings.

We have a lien on your goods at this time, but will release them to you if you make a payment in full of your moving balance and storage balance. If you pay in January, 2014 in full we can of course take off $120.00 from the storage balance which does include February's bill as well.

If you have any questions about how to pay, you can contact Natalia. You have been in communication with her during your time in our storage facility. If you do not have any additional questions, please feel free to pay online here:
https://secure.e-zmovers.net/ezBook/onlinepayment.jsp

Sincerely,

***** ****
Customer Relations

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is unfortunate that my association with this company has come to his. On 1/16/14 I received a certified letter dated 1/13/14 that was not signed by me stating several items were included. Per missive missing were: "itemized statements showing Company's claim which set forthe the sume due at the date of this Notice of Warehouseman's Lien Sale ("Notice") are annexed"; a schedule showing the names and address of persons known to claim an interestin the the Property is also annexed". The Company further requests payment in full prior to "demand date"which is what date, exactly? The only enclosure was a form for credit card information. Please forward items and exact dates required. I wish to get my goods from this company ASAP.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

03/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: i hired this company to do move my stuff in their storage cuase i wanted to install harwood floors in my house. and they over charged me from what they quoted me as well. also they send some high school kids to do the work which i was not expecting . so after i got my floor done they moved me back and demaged my hardwood floor,walls and missing screws for bedrood sets,demage my dresser also i called and hired an 4 men so it would be done faster rather it took then longer than the first 3 men crew which i hired to move . and they didnt even bring the right tools, i had to give them my drill to use. i called ***** at customer relations to complain but she said that there were no demage per paperwork. i wasnt home at the time but my girlfriend was there and they made her sign the paper for credit card charges? which i called my credit card company with dispute but since it says no cancellation on the reciept so they cant do any thing ? so please help me rectify this matter they charged me over 1500.00 to do move and also they denied my claim saying it was there already which i explained that the whole point for me to hire a moving company is to fix my place up, i painted the whole house and installed new red oak floor. plz help dont know what to do

Initial Business Response
Mr. *****,

We denied your claims for the reasons listed in your conclusion letter. You immediately contacted you bank rather than filing a claim with us directly and when Natalia asked for specific information from you, you neglected to provide additional information.

Natalia's letter explains our stance and this matter. We maintain that services were provided as requested and disagree with your claims.






September 19, 2013

**** *****
**** N ***** Ave,
Chicago, IL - XXXXX

Re: Job No. XXXXXXX; Claim No. XXXXXX

**** *****,

The following are the conclusions reached by the Customer Relations Department in reference to the above mentioned claim.

Upon reviewing the documentation associated with your relocation the following has been noted from the bill of lading (contract) and other paperwork with your signature from the day of the move:

DELIVERY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT: Shipment was received in apparent good condition except as noted in inventory and services ordered were performed. Your signature attests to the validity of this.

Wall damage - Not notated/After observing the pictures you have provided me with, it is apparent that the damages on the wall to your staircase were made over a period of time by constantly either touching the wall there or by brushing up against it. The location of the damage is a place where people are constantly walking past since it is located right next to the staircase.

Floor damage - Not notated/ The floor damage appears to be nothing more than black scuffs from a black sole of a shoe which can be cleaned up with the right utensils.

Dining table (scratched) - Not notated/This damage seems to be pre-existing, and with you not notating it on any of the paper work from your move on the day of delivery we cannot be certain this damage was done by our employees.

Cabinet (broken legs) - Not notated/You did not send pictures of the damage as requested by the claims department. We cannot evaluate damages to an item if we do not have pictures.

Bed set (lost screws) - Not notated/Everything that was in your shipment was delivered to you with your signature to attest to it.








No documentation of damage was noted anywhere on the job paperwork. Although we regret the circumstances of your claim, we must deny any and all liability for the above-stated reasons.

Thank you for using E-Z Movers for your move. We appreciate your patronage and our main goal is to satisfy each and every one of our customers. We realize that the circumstances of your move were less than perfect so please accept our sincere apologies.

Sincerely,
E-Z Movers, Inc.


Sincerely,

***** ****
EZ Movers



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
well i didnt know that u have to be a lawyer to get service from your company? cuase all the paper that u made her signed are too small and besides she does not speak english but that does not give ur company to take advanteage of any consumer . and why didnt your sales people advise me that make sure read before signing any paperwork? cuase i think ez move are deceptive business practice. but i still would like to know when you interviewed your employee did he tell you why did your company used my tools ? and he forgot the tools? also why did it took them longer than 1st time to finish the job? even though they had 4 men crew? cuase first time when i hired you was only 3men crew and it took them less time.. and thinking that if i have an extra 1 men job will be done quicker. but instead your company charged an extra hours i think ez mover should be banned from doin buisness in il. im in business too my self and doing business for last 12year. and one last thing about my gf signed is cuase i spoke with ur crew and told him about what she told me and he told me over the phone that just file a cliam . not knowing that ez movers dont stand behind the claims? which is very wrong.. so ez mover broke my furniture and made a hole in a wall also scratched my harwood flood and should be liable to repair it.


Final Business Response
We have already interviewed the employees who handled your moves and processed your claim.

Whoever signed your Bills of lading was responsible to take care of matters for you in your absence and the same responsibilities apply.

We do maintain our stance on this matter and feel we have the right to deny your claims.

Sincerely,

***** ****
EZ Movers

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several pieces of my furniture was damaged during the move from an apartment to storage. I took pictures of the items i.e. Leather secetional set, china cabinet, coffee table. The dresser that was damaged they took back to there shop and repaired wooden legs with nails. I filed a formal complaint with the company and they denied it.
Product_Or_Service: chocolate leather sectional

Initial Business Response
Ms. **** & Ms. *******,

I would like to request that this case be closed as invalid.

The move under job no. XXXXXXX was completed on ********* *** 2013. Please see an attached release of liability where Ms. ******* understood "the foreman has advised that there will be materials required in order to adequately protect my goods. I do not want these materials to be used and I agree to release E-Z Movers from any responsibility for the condition of the items listed below." and where she wrote in her own writing "No furniture protected with blankets as well as mirrors" and initialed and signed. (Please see attach 1). She also signed her Bill of lading acknowledging "Shipment was received in apparent good condition..." (Please see attach2). We did take one dresser to our workshop for repair. We had it sent over to Ms. *******'s new home in Evanston, IL where the repairs and delivery were signed for and accepted(Please see attach3a & b). On December 16, 2013 we received a 'Presentation of Loss or Damage' form for the dresser (which was repaired to satisfaction), sofa, and coffee table (please see attach4). We denied the claim after assessment based on the above listed information (please see attach5). Ms. ******* moved after we moved her items. We cannot assume liability for items that were not handled by us. Please see further proof through photos that Ms. ******* sent in showing her furniture pictures inside of a home - there are windows and different colors on the wall unlike the storage facility we deliver to in Chicago (please see attach 6a & b).

We firmly maintain our stance in this denial based on the customer signing a release to deny using materials, signing the bill of lading with no mention of damages, and because she moved after we moved her items.

Sincerely,

***** ****
Customer Relations
EZ Movers


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been trying to resolve this issue since November, the company took over a month to respond to any and all request and correspondence. The repair of my vintage dresser was b incorrectly repaired and I didn't sign the paper saying it was. The person who was here to receive it did, I was unaware that he signed anything until the copy was sentto the bbb. I just want the ccompany to so what's right and that is to take responsibility for its negligence, if you read the reviews you'll see that my accusations are justified.

****** *******

Final Business Response
My apologies, but EZ Movers is not willing to accept liability given the previously mentioned documentation and timeline. We firmly maintain our stance.

-***** ****
EZ Movers

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/17/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: On X-X-XXXX we had some furniture delivered to my grandmother in ** ******* *** The dining table is $1200 and was in perfect condition when it was loaded from our house in ***** When my grandmother received the table on X-XX-XXXX the base leg of the table was broken. We purchased moving insurance and paid for it. I got pictures of the broken table and called the moving company 10 minutes after they left my grandmothers house. I filed a claim with them and was asking for $200 to have the table fixed in SC. They told me no because I didn't see the damage when it was delivered. Of course not because I was in ****. I paid them $970 to move a dining table and 4 chairs, a couch and chair from **** to **************. And I paid for insurance on the items that they broke and now won't fix.

Initial Business Response
Mr. **********,

******* denied your claim for two reasons:

1) there were no notes
2) there was pre-existing damage/normal wear and tear to all the furniture we relocated as indicated by the foreman on the inventory page at the pickup location.

If you feel the resolution to your claim is unfair, I would like to advise you that we have a membership with the American Moving and Storage Association and their program for arbitration. If you would like to file arbitration, you can get the process started by visiting their website: www.moving.org.

We maintain our stance on this matter.

Please see the attached claims correspondence.

Sincerely,

***** ****
EZ Movers

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company is a shady operation that is not honest. That is what is wrong with the country now. Too many companies taking advantage of senior citizens and hard working middle class people. They damaged the table and won't make it right. I'm not trying to get something for nothing. Just the table repaired that THEY damaged. An 86 year old woman can not have broken the table right after they delivered it.

Final Business Response
EZ Movers maintains their stance on this matter. The claim is not verifiable because it is not documented.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: ***************
*********************** I called the company to move us and paid a $350.00 deposit. they were given a list of inventory(I have the list of items and the price was set at $1635.82 for 435 cubic feet. The estimate of 435 cu. ft. was determined by the inventory list.
We were called Saturday afternoon by the mover and told they would be moving us between 3-6pm Sunday. We were camping 2 hrs away and made arrangements to leave early but they called Sunday morning and said they will be arriving at 1:30pm instead.
When they arrived they thought they were moving all the items we had packed up instead of what was on the inventory. I had to call the office, but no one was available because it was Sunday. the phone operator said he would call the dispatcher to talk with the movers. The mover came back inside the house with the inventory list and said he would only be taking what was on the list and presented me with a bill $300.00 more than what the contract stated. They were charging me $1735.00 instead of $1635.82 plus an additional $200.00 to cover all the furniture which was not agreed on.
The mover told me my king size bedroom set would take up over half of the 435 cu. ft. space and he would have to charge me more money to move all the other items. I reminded him of the contract I signed but he insisted he needed to charge me more to move my items that were on the inventory list.
The mover told me my items would be taken to ******* and moved to another truck prior to finally coming to **********
I did not have the $951.00 to give him as I was to give $350.00 initially, then half which would have been $700.00 on the day of the move and the remainder of $350.00 when the items arrived in **********
I refused to have them take my belongings. I did not have a problem with the company until they came to move us and increased the amount of money they wanted me to pay.
I called on Monday morning and asked to speak *************** but was told he is busy. I left my number and was told he would call me back, well I called back after waiting a few hours and he was still busy. I spoke to ******(I think) and was told to call the customer service department. After that they emailed me a form to fill out and told me not to communicate with them except by email.I sent them my complaint August 12, 2013 but haven't heard from them.

******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the movers increased the price and said that they needed ******* to move the items on the inventory list, the same list that was approved by the company and on the contract. There was no additional services required or needed. If the movers would have accepted *******(the amount required on the contract) I wouldn't have needed to call and question anything. The fact is the movers increased the price for the same inventory. It is not good business to change the price and then not wanting to refund my money when I don't want to pay you more money for the same move.

Final Business Response
***********,

We ONLY increase the estimate and create a new Binding Estimate if there are additional services required or if you ship additional volume or inventory. We could have moved you for the exact list and honor the quote for the cubic footage charges, but we will not move anything extra without payment.

We maintain our stance.

******************************************

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Page 1 of 14
09/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/10/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving & Storage Company

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.