BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

Daly Moving and Storage, LLC

Find a Location

(773) 697-93234538 N Oakley Ave, ChicagoIL 60625-2106 Send email to Daly Moving and Storage, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

BBB has determined that Daly Moving and Storage, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Daly Moving and Storage, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Daly Moving and Storage, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I talked to *****, the owner, and he assured me over and over again that they would make my move in time 1-5pm without any problems. I had a set move in time and had already paid my move-in fees to the building. ***** confirmed the day before and the day of the move.

We spoke four times throughout the day. Each time he told me that they were on their way. I even gave him an out when they were running late! I said if they weren't making it I needed to move to a Plan B because I already paid my move in fees. He assured me, yet again, that they were on their way.

THEY NEVER SHOWED UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not only did I lose out on my move in fee, but I also had no where to move my things! Tenants were moving into my house. I had no where for myself to live for the weekend either! This company has cost me my move in fee (which was lost because they never showed), A second move fee to move in Monday, Had to find a place to live for the weekend, and figure out where to store all of my belongings until I can move on Monday with a new company!

The owner, *****, had absolutely no sympathy. When I asked how he was going to handle the situation, he hung up on me and then stopped answering my phone calls. Then, he apparently blocked my phone number because my calls stopped going through to his number!

I've never been treated so poorly. I had to go through the hassle of figuring out where to store my things for the weekend, had to find a place to live, and had to inconvenience my new tenants moving into my house because they never showed up. I am only asking that they reimburse me for the $500 that they cost me for the move-in fee. I am not asking for the cost of storing my things for the weekend, the additional costs for my building that I have to pay, or the cost of a hotel for two days, just my lost move in fee. $500 is the least that they can do! I would take this up with the company directly if I could, but as I said... my calls were not going through!

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $500 for the lost move-in fee from my condo building.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** **** Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@gmail.com
Hi, ***** **** from Daly Moving I did speak with **** on day of the move numerous times and tried to get here to understand that we were just running a little behind but when she started telling me I owed here 2000.00 before I even showed up that was not reasonable to me and I am very interested in work out some sort of agreement I have left **** a voice mail and am awaiting her call and I'm sure we will come to a mutual agreement ****** ****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the written response above because it does not include a written agreement to reimburse the $500 move-in fee. I do, however, accept the verbal agreement that ***** and I had over the phone on 2/17. ***** said that he would mail me a check for $250 last week, then another $250 on or shortly after 3/1. I have not received anything in the mail as of today, 2/27.

I spoke with ***** today and he assured me that he would send the first check by the end of the month.

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:
***** and I met up yesterday and resolved the conflict. I am satisfied with the resolution.

Thank you,
**** ***********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Office Furniture & Equipment, Trucking - Light Hauling, Piano & Organ Moving, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company, Truck Rent & Lease, Transportation Consultants, Transportation Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/28/2011Business started: 01/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St.
Chicago, IL 60601
(800) 524-0795
http://www.icc.illinois.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Daly (President)
Business Category

Movers, Office Furniture & Equipment, Trucking - Light Hauling, Piano & Organ Moving, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company, Truck Rent & Lease, Transportation Consultants, Transportation Services

Products & Services

Daly Moving & Storage is a family owned and operated full service moving company. We have over 25 years experience helping families and businesses relocate. Our professional & experienced staff is trained to make your move as stress free as possible. We go the extra mile for our clients - making sure that the furniture is padded and protected. Fully licensed and insured moving company in the State of Illinois and are registered as a licensed mover with the Illinois Commerce Commission.

Industry Tips
Moving tip

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Daly Moving and Storage, LLC

4538 N Oakley Ave

Chicago, IL 60625-2106

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4538 N Oakley Ave 

    Chicago, IL 60625-2106(773) 697-9323

  • PO Box 06378 

    Chicago, IL 60606

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Daly Moving and Storage, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Movers

Moving tip
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.