Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Crescent Movers

Phone: (773) 777-1110 View Additional Phone Numbers 5115 Jarlath Ave, Skokie, IL 60077

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Crescent Movers is a moving company which provides short and long-distance relocation services for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the northern suburbs of Chicago, with their local moving range including Cook County, Lake County, DuPage County, Will County, McHenry County, and Kane County. For long-distance moves, the areas, services, and prices are negotiable. Services this business offers include local moving with hourly rates, negotiable long-distance moving, office moving, holiday and night service, temporary storage facilities, packing, and packing material sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crescent Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Crescent Movers include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Crescent Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 2010 Business started: 04/01/2004 Business started locally: 04/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Adeel Abbas, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adeel Abbas, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Brokers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Crescent Movers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5115 Jarlath Ave

    Skokie, IL 60077 (773) 777-1110


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/214/16 I had Crescent Movers move us to our new home. Upon unloading the furniture at our new home, they showed me that they had broken my electronic safe. I had to replace it at a cost of $299 plus tax. They also were in such a hurry to leave, or I thought, since they kept complaining about having to drive back to the north side after starting work at 7AM, that they didn't unwrap a lot of the furniture, re-assemble it, or even put it where it belongs. Even though the service was horrible, I still offered the 4 guys a $40 cash tip, to which I was berated by one of the workers that they worked much harder than $10 a piece, and should at least give $20 each, in a very brash, bullying type manner. Now I grew up on the south side of Chicago, so I wasn't exactly intimidated. 10 years ago, that would have led to a very "loud" exchange. But I kept my cool, and negotiated that maybe they could actually finish putting the furniture into the correct rooms, and I would take care of them. And so we did. It turns out, that the furniture that they didnt bother to unwrap, the reason was because it was damaged. They damaged my office desk, our master bedroom furniture and severely scratched the top of another dresser. I called the owner the next morning, who apologized for their obvious lack of professionalism, and told me that he would take care of the situation, and make it right. I have never heard back.

Desired Settlement: I know better than to think that they will replace thousands of dollars worth of furniture. At the very least, I want a refund of the $770 that it cost to move all the furniture that they destroyed. Lets also remember, that luckily they sent a very small truck, and this moved only about 1/3 of what I needed to move. I had to have another company finish for me. That move went 100% as it should have.

Business Response:

  • We were contacted by Daniel ****** on 5-23-16 for a next day move.  Move took 4.5 total hours.  The drive form **** ** ****** ***, Chicago, IL to ****** ************ **, Lemont, IL is about 30 to 45 minutes itself. Leaving around 2 hours of load-unload time, certainly not a long job or one to complain about.  Especially mid week in May at a time when everyone is eager to get all the hours they can.  Disassembly and reassembly are all part of a basic move and unless instructed otherwise done. Its hourly why would we not? I am not sure who is trying to intimidate who “I grew up on the south side of Chicago” knowingly hired a north side company thinking gonna push us around. What all was not unwrapped?  I do not see shrink wrap on the bill. When the bill was being completed the guys called in for a credit card charge and the client I can clearly hear in the background laughing and happy. Showing up with a small truck? It is a Full size 26ft moving box truck not a small truck.  Did the other company damage the stuff and we are blamed for it? The next day I received a call about the safe being damaged. We discussed briefly a resolve.  I believe he said the safe was bought from Costo. What we did discuss was that he was going to look into what a replacement would run.  I few days passed and did not hear anything. It being Memorial Day week I thought maybe he could have been busy. He was suppose to call with a way to replace the safe. Instead, chose to go on Yelp and Angies List to leave bad reviews. I seen them right away however treated them for what they really are.  Classic case of leave bad review and wait for the company to buy you out. The reviews were put up on 6/2/16. The safe was and is the only item reported to be damaged to Crescent Movers.  With how things have gone it is only reasonable to offer the standard 30 cents per pound per article.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: 11529741

I am rejecting this response because: He offers nothing for damaging a $300 safe and 2 sets of furniture and an office desk. And now I am a liar. That in itself would be a reason to reject the offer. Its a shame, he initially claimed to call me back in an hour, and take care of the situation. Now he claims the situation never happened. My only option would be more complaints and court action.

I signed because I was assured that the office was told, even though they were closed for the night. I was lied to be the crew, and now the owner won't man up and accept responsibility for their actions, and negligence. He keeps bringing up the reviews......if he had just shown that he actually cared, and tried at all, I would have left a decent review, or no review at all, and just went about life. Now he wants to play the game to see who blinks first. Not professional at all.


Daniel ******

Business Response: The move was completed during normal operating hours. The only item brought up was the safe. The coverage is 30 cents per pound per article; not full replacement . In the spirit of moving forward I will offer a full and final settlement of $200.   

7/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called cresent movers to schedule a move in June. I was told I needed to make a $95 deposit. On the day of the move ****** ****** arrived to move me, I was told they were a sister company. I was charged $611.00 for the move. I realized after the move that I was not credited my deposit. I have called both Cresent and ****** movers repeatedly and have asked for a refund of $95. I have been told several things. They need to check with a manager, that they need to contact the other office, and they need to speak to the accounts manager. I have been assured every time my phone call will be returned the same day. I have NEVER been called back.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $95 deposit refunded

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/12) */ The deposit was refunded as soon as I found out.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Crescent Movers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart