Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Copher Movers & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (708) 423-1890 Fax: (708) 423-8912 View Additional Phone Numbers 7411 W 90th St, Bridgeview, IL 60455 http://www.cophermovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Copher Movers & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Copher Movers & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Copher Movers & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 03, 1988 Business started: 10/01/1966 in IL Business started locally: 10/01/1966 Business incorporated 12/01/1977 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
http://www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Copher, Owner Mr. Charles Copher, Vice President Ms. Jaime Copher, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Copher, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Jaime Copher, Bookkeeper
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Movers - International Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Packing & Crating Service Piano & Organ Moving Safe & Vault Movers Relocation Service Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Copher Movers and Storage, Inc. Wheaton Van Lines
Products & Services

This company offers: Moving & Storage Services Local & Long Distance.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Copher Movers & Storage, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family has used Copher Movers for many years. We have also told family and friends that this company was the only one to use. Unfortunately, this is not the case anymore. When I moved from one home to another on December 19, 2014, I trusted Copher Movers to safely move and protect all of my stainless steel kitchen appliances. When my appliances arrived, they were placed in a room without a light fixture. Each appliance was faced away from the window and one in front of the other. We moved on a rainy day. All of the appliances were streaked from the movers wet/dirty hands. A couple of weeks later, the appliances were moved into place (in a room with light fixtures). My mother and I watched the appliances get moved and witnessed that there no damage could have been caused by this move. This is when it was discovered that each and every appliance was damaged/scratched in some way. Unfortunately, this could not be seen until they were put in place because of the way the movers had placed the appliances, one in front of the other and how dirty the appliances were when they were moved by Copher movers. When I contacted Copher movers, they told me to contact their insurance company. They denied the claim. Copher denied their responsibility and would not even replace the refrigerator and freezer doors. They keep denying responsibility; despite the fact that the scratches on the doors go under the handles and they were the only ones who removed the handles on the doors. It was not possible for me to see the damage on the day it was delivered or the days that followed because the room was dark, the appliances were dirty (it was raining and the movers hand prints were all over the stainless steel), and the other appliances were placed in front of each other. I was present in my home every single day and can attest to the fact that it is not possible for the damage to be caused by anyone other than Copher movers.

Desired Settlement: Upon Copher's request, I contacted ********* and got a quote of how much it would cost to replace just the refrigerator and freezer doors. This was a compromise since there was also damage on my stove top, the front of my dishwasher, and the handle on my wine cooler. I was willing to overlook the damage on the other appliances as long as the refrigerator and freezer were repaired. The cost of the doors alone was approximately $1,000 before installation. Copher refused to replace the damaged doors.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ** Coopher President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@aol.com We did this move 12-22-2014. At that time we put all the appliances in the dinning room because the kitchen was being remodeled. On or about 12-30-2014 Mrs. called and said the appliances were damaged from the move (8 days after the move) I (** ******) went out to look at and we sent a claim form. When i got there all appliances were in the kitchen still no counter tops and i seen the damage. I asked who moved these to there. She said the construction guy. I told her these marks would have been seen when we took the pads off in the dinning room. We did not do this damage. I think it happened from the construction belts. If my men did it i would pay. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response because, as I explained before, the movers placed my appliances in front of each other, so it was impossible for me to see the damage until they were moved into the kitchen, or away from each other. Furthermore, I was watching my contractor move my appliances (no construction belts were used). Not only did I witness the smooth transition (it was only a few feet from where the movers placed the appliances), I also know that the contractor did not remove the handles from my appliances. The only people who have ever removed the handles from the refrigerator and freezer were the the men from Copher movers. The scratches go on below the handles. It is not possible the scratches to have gotten under the handles unless they were removed. Also, there was no damage/scratches on the appliance handles. If there were, that would indicate that the contractor (who did not remove the handles) surely caused the damage; however that is not the case. Final Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/09/09) */ From: ***** ****** (mailto:*********@yahoo.com) Sent: Friday, September 04, XXXX XX:XX AM To: Jennifer Daughtry <*********@chicago.bbb.org> Subject: Re: BBB Complaint This damage was not done by Copher Movers & Storage, Inc. There is nothing that Copher Movers & Storage, Inc. can do because we did not do it. Thank you, ***** ****** Copher Movers & Storage Inc. Agent for ******* *** ***** 0124 7411 W. 90th St. Bridgeview, IL. XXXXX

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order XXXX-XXXX June 22, 2014 the movers came to pack us up. Upon unpacking we none of our cords were with the televisions. We unpacked everything and found 2 of the 3 cords. I called ****** to inform them and to ask if they could ask the movers to look in the truck. I was told I would get a call back but I never got one. When I recieved the email asking how the move went I replied telling tem about the cord and there was no response. I called again to the cell phone of ** ****** and did not recieve a call back. I have sent another email and am still waiting. The television (Westinghouse 46") is useless without the cord. We have tried to look for a replacement but we have not been successful.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that they either send the cord, if unable, I can provide the model name and number for a replacement cord, lastly if they are unable they should offer the cost of a replacement television. Cost of a new television averages around $400.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@yahoo.com I am so sorry to hear this. This move was done through Wheaton Van Lines. We will have them send you a claim form. you can also go to http://www.wheatonworldwide.com/customer-service/claims/ and fill it out online. Sorry for the inconvenience. ***** ******.

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The two movers seemed nice but I am missing property. I must charge for these items because they were left to me in a will. My bill no. Is XXXXX. I am missing a tall 4 ft designer statue and bedframe screws and I ammissing a crock pot . And a set of glassware that was an antique.

Desired Settlement: There is no way you can replace these items so I will have to ask for $500.00. I paid these movers $968.00! A better job should have been done and when I asked them to store some of my property they said they were out of time. I can't lift this stuff. It is still in my apartment now and I've been living this way for 6 months uncomfortably. It took me all these months to unpack. I suffer from asthma and a heart condition.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@yahoo.com I am very sorry to hear this. We will be putting a claim form in the mail to the address we moved you to today. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will accept the response when I get paid for my missing items. A claim form is a good start but I still need to be PSID for the items. Ask me again in two weeks. ***** ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/07/15) */ Hi *****, We have received your claim form and will be submitting it into our insurance company. As soon as we know something we will let you know. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will accept the resolution when I am compensated for my lost. Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2014/08/15) */ I still have not been compensated. Would you call them or email and find out when I will be compensated? ***** *******

10/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The move took place on **** under a contract with the Crew arriving and starting loading process at 9:00 am.I am a Real Estate Agent and was making/receiving calls on my ****** 4 phone from the Family Room and adjoining Office.I left the phone in my office work area after making calls and went to other areas of the house to finish packing boxes. Early afternoon, I went to the Family room/study area to check for my messages,and the phone was missing. I called my cell no. from my house phone and it directly went to voice mail indicating the phone had been turned off. I called the crew and asked them about my missing phone and they denied taking it. Then I called Mr. ** ****** at ****** Moving and complained to him about my missing phone.He said he had a reliable crew at my house and I should call the Police if I thought my phone was stolen.I asked the Crew again and they said they had no knowledge of my missing phone. I decided not to call the Police for fear of some sort of retaliation from the Crew since my trust level in them was severely damaged. I called my cell number(XXX-XXX-XXXX) the next day on **** and the message said this number is no longer in service or has been cancelled.This negates any thought that the phone might be in one of the boxes as suggested by the crew leader. He also seemed upset that I had called ** ****** about the missing phone.I was moving around the house but did not carry the phone with me. Even if I did, it should ring and not go into voice mail the day of the move or tell me that the number has been cancelled the next day.The crew moved freely in the Family room and study area to load 60 in TV/TV Stand and about 15 Boxes. As for the contract, ** estimated $810.00 with 4 crew members and 6 hours of work. It actually took 11.5 hours with 3 crew members. The final bill was $1625.00 which I paid in full with my credit card. There is no complaint as far as the charges go. When looking at the facts,I firmly believe that my smart phone (market value $600) was stolen from the family room by the ****** crew , turned off immediately and sold/converted to a different number the next day.It kept going into voice mail the day of the move until 9:00 pm( time crew left) and very next morning when I called, the message states that the phone has been cancelled/changed to a different number.

Desired Settlement: I am a senior citizen and on a limited budget.The phone was a gift to me by my youngest son about 3 months ago. It has some emotional value to me as well. I cannot afford to buy a new one on my own. I expect Mr. ****** to buy the replacement ******* phone( or issue credit) to me and deduct the charges from his workers paychecks.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@yahoo.com I am very sorry to hear of this. We will be sending you a claim form in the mail. Also, if you feel like the phone was stolen you would need to call the police and make a police report.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Copher Movers & Storage, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart