Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (630) 620-1311 Fax: (630) 620-7514 View Additional Phone Numbers 1515 W. Fullerton, Addison, IL 60101

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1910 Business started locally: 01/01/1910 Business incorporated 10/26/1996 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Casey Fitzgerald, General Mgr. Mr. William Dircks, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Casey Fitzgerald, General Mgr.
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Storage Units - Household & Commercial Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Additional Locations

  • 1515 W. Fullerton

    Addison, IL 60101 (630) 620-1311 (800) 323-2263


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: DELIVERY 4 HOURS AFTER CONTRACTED TIME; LACK OF MOVE COORDINATOR AS PROMISED VIA CONTRACT My move handled by Berger Allied, Addison IL branch was 8/24-25, 2015 Order number ********* Per contract our move-in on 8/25 was to begin at NOON; actual time of arrival was 4PM. The unexplained delay resulted in significant stress and loss of help we had arranged for (friends available at NOON but had the leave at 4PM). Post Move, after numerous calls and emails requesting a credit to help alleviate the negative impact of this unfortunate situation, it is clear the staff at the Addison IL location does not care about this issue. Casey **********, Laura *******, Danielle ******** all unable/unwilling to solve this customer issue. Calls to corporate in MN unreturned. I am seeking recompense of $150 due to failure to provide services as quoted. A moving coordinator, Danielle, was "provided" and included in the pricing. She coordinated nothing and was not even in the office on the day of our move. Additionally, 2 days before move day Danielle told us via email that our move-in was scheduled for 8/25 at NOON (12PM). The contract estimate stated the same timing. After repeated calls (to Laura, after learning Danielle was off the day we moved), the truck finally arrived at 4PM. Never have I received an explanation as to why we were told Noon and why instead the truck came at 4pm. Due to the late arrival, all of our help that arrived at Noon to unpack boxes was gone, so we had to deal with the work ourselves without the help we had planned for. Also, on 8/24, move out day, after move out of items was complete, the trailer was left in front of the house we sold for over 5 hours, resulting in me receiving several calls from the buyer of our old home, as the trailer blocked the driveway completely. I handled those calls, not Berger. The contract did not indicate a trailer with our contents would be left behind for hours unattended. To add to the dissatisfaction on our end, the Allied team in Addison has been unwilling to even call or discuss this matter to try to satisfy us in any way, instead ignoring the missteps and indicating they can't do anything. Again, requesting a credit of $150 due to missed times and delays. Please help.

Desired Settlement: Requesting a credit of $150

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/24) */ ***This shouldv'e gone through the Chicago BBB, as both customer and this Berger location are in the Chicagoland area *** Customer was refunded $261 since we came in under the estimated time, that is not mentioned in the complaint. We loaded and delivered the day requested by the customer. Also the customer stated they could not receive the delivery before noon. Since we loaded and delivered on the dates agreed to by the customer and we did the move quicker than planned we have already refunded $261. The $150 figure is an arbitrary number the customer has requested and is no way a figure that was agreed to pre or post move. This has been explained to the customer several times by at least 2 separate people. As far as the coordination of the move. The move was completed and in fact our feedback from the crews were that the customer was happy with the move itself. To resolve this if the customer can provide any documents where he is out of pocket $150 then we would be happy to resolve this. Again it seems to be an "inconvenience" fee not an actual out of pocket expense. We look forward to a resolution to this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2015/09/29) */ The move was 4 hours late. There is no disputing that. Berger committed to a noon move in their contract and they showed up at 4pm after numerous calls by me to their office. I do not need to provide receipts of my other expenses. What I needed was an on-time move. What I needed was the promised move coordinator being available to do work related to my move. Unfortunately those things were contract commitments that Berger did not meet. The hours true-up of $261 provided due to hours under estimate is due to our family preparation pre-move, which significantly benefited move hours incurred. Berger owes me a credit in my opinion, I propose $150, I am open to a Berger proposal but it appears they do not wish to respond to their contract misses. As noted by Berger, actual movers were good, especially in light of their poor leadership team in the office, but of course, all work performed was 4 hours later than stated in contract.

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Items damaged, items missing, parts of items missing, items disassembled and not reassembled, damage to floors / walls / staircase. Insurance claims were submitted on June 19, 2015. Received an email from Kirsten ******, Claims Department, the same day advising that an adjuster would be in contact within 2-4 business days - today is July 23, 2015 and I have still not been contacted.

Desired Settlement: Fix or replace damaged items, replace missing items, replace missing parts of items, assemble all disassembled items, repair damage to floors / walls / staircase

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/07) */ We did a trace on this name and can't find them to be one of our customer's. Could you please check and see if they have a Registration number for us? Or if they potentially had their move go under a diffent name? Please advise. Laura ******* ************ ************************

12/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delivery was promised in three days and delivery was actually 8 days after pickup and then only when I called them to find out the status of my delivery.After delivery was received and I started unpacking, I found broken dishes, glasses and cups. Then, I realized that one box was missing. I filed a claim and they acknowledged receipt the same day. After that I heard nothing until again I called them. I was told they were putting a trace on the missing box and they would notify me no later than 2 days from the date I called. Three days later I called them as I had not heard. I was told they were working on it and I would hear when it was resolved. Then nothing until I got a letter denying my claim because they couldn't find the missing box and basically calling me a liar. Now I realized another box and my sewing machine are missing. I contacted them and have heard nothing.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want reimbursement for the missing and broken items. My claim was denied because I didn't notify them the day of delivery. When my garage was so full of boxes that I couldn't move, there was no way to tell what was delivered, missing or broken.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Dir of Cla Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** Thank you for the oppotunity to respond to this complaint. I have reviewed the documentation and my findings are as follows.... With regard to the delivery date of Ms. *******'s shipment. Her shipment loaded on 9/15/14 The delivery spread that was agreed upon prior to her move was 9/18-23. I am not certain who promised her shipment would be delivered in 3 days or if this was a misunderstanding. The paperwork is signed by Ms. ******* as receiving her goods on 9/23/14. We apologize if there was any miscommunication. Regarding Ms. *******'s claim for loss and damage. I found that her claim was handled by ****** *** ******* Claim Department. ****** conducted a trace in an attempt to locate the claimed missing tote containing toiletry items. Unfortunately the trace was negative. No items were documented as missing on the paperwork at the time of delivery. Valuation for a move does not cover nondocumented missing items. No one is saying that Ms. ****** is lying about her missing items, they are simply not covered with valuation. Additionally, the broken items claimed were in a packed by owner tote. Packed by owner items are also not covered by valuation, as the items were not packed by the carrier. I contacted the ****** Adjustor's supervisor about the Adjuster not following up with Ms. ******* regarding another box and sewing machine about which she emailed the adjustor. The supervisor reviewed the situation and advised the Adjustor to send a follow up letter regarding the additional missing items claimed. The disposition is the same as for the missing tote originally claimed. We are very sorry Ms. ******* is missing items. Regretfully there is not coverage for items not noted as missing at delivery. The inventories have the following instructions at the bottom of the page: IMPORTANT NOTICE: Before signing - check shipment, count items, and describe loss or damage in space on the right above. If for any reason you were not given the opportunity to inspect this shipment, you should call this toll free number, XXX-XXX-XXXX. I have checked all the items listed and numbered on this page inclusive, and acknowledge that this is a true and complete list of the goods tendered, and of the state of the goods received. This concludes my review and response in this matter. Best regards, ***** ******* Director of Claims Berger Transfer and Storage Phone)XXX-XXX-XXXX ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I paid them over $8,000.00 to move my household. It took them over a week when their driver told me it would be three days. On top of that now I am out the money I paid them and the money I paid for the missing and broken items. I don't feel it is fair. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/24) */ The charges for the move were for services that were provided to you Ms. *******. Your shipment was delivered within the contractual number of days that were agreed upon prior to your move. Unfortunately, ****** Van Lines **** not be issuing a settlement for your missing items. I contacted a supervisor at ********* Claim Department and she confirmed their position remains. Without documentation on the paperwork that items were not received, the Van Line has no way to verify that items were lost in transit. It is the customer's responsibility to check off their shipment at delivery. This is the consumer's mechanism to notify the van line that items were not delivered. We must have this documentation in order for the loss to be covered by valuation. Without a requirement such as this, a van line would have no way of knowing what a customer did or did not receive. We are not saying that you are not missing the items, but that you did not document missing items as required. ****** Van Lines does honor claims for missing items when the missing item(s) is documented on the paperwork. We wish our response could be more favorable. ***** ******* Director of Claims Berger Transfer and Storage

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)