BBB Accredited Business since

Armstrong Relocation Co

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 438-5060 View Additional Phone Numbers 1601 Fullerton Court, Glendale Heights, IL 60139 http://www.armstrongrelocation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Armstrong Relocation Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Armstrong Relocation Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Armstrong Relocation Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 2003 Business started: 05/01/2001 Business started locally: 05/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Corey Anderson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Corey Anderson, President
Business Category

Movers Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Armstrong Relocation Co has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1601 Fullerton Court

    Glendale Heights, IL 60139 (630) 438-5060

  • 1601 Fullerton Court

    Glendale Heights, IL 60139

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to submit this letter as a formal written complaint regarding our move by ****** *** ****** LLC, order #XX-XXXXX-X, with a pick-up date of August 26, 2014. My primary complaint is that I was quoted and then charged for what was described to me as a "premium" service in which our items would be placed into containers which would be sealed upon loading and remain sealed until delivery. At neither pick-up nor delivery did I see our items within containers. Additionally, I have several additional complaints related to the service received and potentially falsification of records. I made verbal complaints to several persons at ********* agency that handled our move, ********* *********** in which there was no follow-up. Rather it appears the final invoice documents were intentionally altered in an attempt to deceive and/or defraud us into paying the amount of the estimated despite not receiving the agreed upon services. Container Service Issue On August 20, 2014, ******* ********** Estimator, came to our condo in Chicago, IL to prepare an estimate and discuss the services that would be provided by Armstrong and ******* I was told that I would receive a premium service offered by ****** in which my items would be placed into a set number of containers, determined by the estimate he performed, and all my items would need to fit within these containers. We had discussions about designating certain items that would only be moved if they fit. That is, I would have some large items that were less important to us set aside to ensure the important items would fit and then fill the additional space if available. The service including the use of containers is clearly evident on the "Order of Service & Bill of Lading" both ********* and I signed on August 20, 2014. When the moving truck, a box truck (not a tractor-trailer), arrived on August 26, 2014 I immediately noted that there were no containers within the truck. I questioned the driver and mover, who stated I should have been contacted by the agency. I then called ******* ******** Move Coordinator, who upon being told there were no containers expressed concern and placed me on hold. Upon returning to the call she informed that the driver's truck had broken down that morning and they would fill the box truck with our items and then transfer them to the containers at their warehouse. The items were inventoried with colored sticker numbers and descriptions were written on an inventory lists. When our items were delivered to our apartment in ******* on or around September 5, 2014, they were again brought in a box truck with no containers. I again asked the driver and movers about the lack of containers and was told they had unloaded the containers at the warehouse and placed the items into the box truck for delivery. Upon expressing concern about the premium service I was quoted and the fact that my items were to be secured within containers to ensure no loss, I was told that all items had been inventoried by someone at the warehouse to ensure no loss (see Warehouse Inventory below). At this point I again called ******* to discuss the lack of containers. She again seemed surprised by this and told me that ********* was with her and the two of them would be addressing this with Armstrong's President (I never heard back from any of them). No real explanation was given as to why the items were brought by box truck and not in containers. As far as I am concerned my items were never placed within containers and even if they were I completely lost the security that was supposed to come from this "premium" service in which I was sold. If this truly was a premium service then I believe I am entitled to a refund of the premium amount I was charged. (more to complaint; but character limit will not allow full submission)

Desired Settlement: Refund of premium services and damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 11, 2015/06/01) */ My apologies for our delayed response to Mr. ****'s complaints. United Van Lines' T-2 container program offers solutions for small shipments, in which containers are delivered to origin residence and the customers' goods are loaded directly into the containers and the containers are sealed at the loading sight. These particular containers have a non-typical height and we have select trucks to accommodate them. Unfortunately, we had truck issues on the morning of Mr. ****'s move and in order to accommodate the customers' move-out date we had no choice but to send a smaller truck, which does not accommodate the containers, and load the customers goods directly onto a truck and then crate his goods back at our warehouse. We did not communicate effectively with the customer, therefore, there was not a clear understanding through our customers eyes of what was transpiring, which led to this unfortunate situation. We are truly very sorry to inconvenience our customer. We did offer a good will gesture of $500.00, in which the customer eagerly accepted. Sincerely, ***** ___________________________________ ***** ******** President Armstrong Relocation and Companies Agent for United Van Lines 1601 Fullerton Court Glendale Heights, IL XXXXX 630.348.1848 direct 800.643.4341 toll free 901.271.7928 facsimile Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/06/02) */ This does not explain the reason why (1) it was also not delivered in crates (2) the inventory check they eluded to performing at warehouse did not note any missing items (3) why truck weight tickets were provided for dates not relevant to our move or in a state between origin and destination. The $500 was refused because I believe I was fraudulantely charged for services not performed and they have failed to provide evidence of the services they allege to have provided. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/06/05) */ Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@goarmstrong.com Customers goods were containerized at Chicago warehouse shipped to destination. Destination agency did not have a truck to accommodate the containers on the customer's specified delivery date. Therefore, the destination agent had to unload crates at warehouse and deliver to residence. Again, we are truly very sorry for the customers inconvenience and perception of the accounts. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2015/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No resolution was offered. The response fails to address all of the issues raised.

11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before the move, a representative surveyed the house and determined it would take 2 days to pack and a third day to load the truck. On the day of the move I was called and told that they felt they could pack my house in one day instead of two. I told them I didn't like the idea, but it was not my responsibility to judge how long it would take them. I told them I didn't care as long as I was moved on schedule, though at this point it was extremely annoying to have gone to the trouble of meeting their representative to then have his results thrown out. The first packing crew arrived mid morning on day of move and they spent the day packing my first floor (not the second or basement.) On the second day they started packing the rest, but the truck did not arrive until after noon with the larger packing boxes and extra help. Around 9:00 pm they were very anxious to leave and continuously pressured me to sign off the documents. By this point we were all very tired and I signed off, feeling that I was helping them get on the road by taking care of paperwork while final items were loaded. As I walked through the house (again it's obvious they are ready to leave) I had to point out several items they were intending to leave, include a weber grill (standard round, charcoal), my dehumidifier, a utility cabinet, and a large buffet cabinet. I had to rush the dis-assembly of the large cabinet so they could get it up my stairs. After the crew left we tried to finalize our cleaning so we could leave the house presentable for the closing the next day. We found many items left over including medicine cabinets, items in the showers and an entry closet full of coats. We packed several more boxes with these items. Since I had a van and a car I was able to load up most of what needed to be moved. There were other items I could not take but fortunately I had family nearby that was able to come over and keep some items for us. We were able to get out of the house around midnight before driving 3 hours to our hotel at the destination. It was very frustrating to have the extra work and stress, and the very late departure time, all be the result of poor planning within their organization. If this had been a long distance move where I was limited in what I could take, or if I was not physically able to move items myself, this would have been a disaster, since I would not have been able to empty the house as called for by the sales contract. I have found several broken items which were clearly the result of poor packing. The initial survey had assured us that our items in our storage area would be repacked for the move. When they were rushed they simply took our boxes off the shelves (fragile items, etc.) and put them in the truck. I have submitted the claim for reimbursement for broken and missing item, and am still waiting for a response after several weeks. Even if I get reimbursed for damages, it does not account for the family heirlooms etc broken, or the large amount of time and inconvenience caused by their poor performance loading the truck.

Desired Settlement: Seeking payment for claims submitted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ Armstrong Relocation has been awarded with the BBB "Complaint Free Award" for 4 consecutive years. While it is uncommon and unfortunate, after thoroughly investigating this complaint, we do agree with our customer as we failed to meet our customers expectations. We are truly very sorry for the service they received by our company. In regards to the claim, in order not to inconvenience this customer further, we did not require an inspection and paid his claim per his claimed amount. Again, we are sincerely apologetic for the service we provided. As past history has proven, this is non-typical service we provide to our customers and we will not let this occur again.