Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All Chicagoland Moving & Storage, Co.

Phone: (630) 832-4114 Fax: (630) 832-4198 View Additional Phone Numbers 730 N. York Rd., Elmhurst, IL 60126 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.allchicagoland.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Chicagoland Moving & Storage, Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All Chicagoland Moving & Storage, Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on All Chicagoland Moving & Storage, Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 1991 Business started: 03/01/1982 Business started locally: 03/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
http://www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Illingworth, President Ms. Deborah Illingworth, General Manager Mr. Joe Illingworth, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Deborah Illingworth, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Illingworth, President
Business Category

Movers Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

All Chicagoland Moving & Storage, Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 2014 we had All Chicagoland Moving & Storage do a local move for us. The move cost nearly double the estimate. My ten-year old daughter had her savings and gift cards stolen. A few days after the move, my daughter left a message for the owner of the company, not to ask for her money back, but to let him know that his company might have some bad people working for him. The owner of the All Chicagoland Moving & Storage, ***** ************* didn't even have the class to call her back. Two months after our move I had to call to ask for my box deposit back from the company. This company is no good and I hope others will not put trust in them to do their move.

Desired Settlement: I want nothing from this company. I hope that others will be weary of their business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@allchicagoland.com ***** ***********, Sr. is retired and is suffering with several medical conditions. He is in and out of the office from time to time. If a message was left for *****, it is highly unlikely that he had received it back in July. Unfortunately, this is the 1st I have heard of this alleged incident. As the General Manager, I would have addressed this immediately, had I been aware. The box refunds take up to 8 weeks. Mr. ******'s refund has been processed. I understand the ******'s are not asking for anything. I apologize this was not bright to my attention earlier. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I understand the response from All Chicago Moving & Storage. However, I feel that it is important that the BBB recognize this business as very poor and disserves a rating so. Part of the BBB mission statement is to; Creating a community of trustworthy businesses Denouncing substandard marketplace behavior All Chicago Moving & Storage violated this and it should noted for others to see when researching moving businesses. I will not refer anyone to All Chicago Moving & Storage for their services. Again the BBB mission statement states; the "BBB sees trust as a function of two primary factors - integrity and performance. Integrity includes respect, ethics and intent." All Chicago Moving & Storage is not an honest business and lacks the integrity that a solid rated BBB company disserves. Before I filed my complaint with the BBB and others, I called and talked to Mr. Illingsworth. In a professional manor, I told him how disappointed I was in his company. He claimed that he call my ten-year old daughter back about her missing money. That's a complete and total lie. Mrs. Illingsworth is correct in that we are not asking for anything. However, I do ask that there rating with the BBB reflect there very poor business practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/06) */ Again, I must reiterate that my father, *****************, *** is elderly, retired and under medical care and supervision. He does not handle customer service issues. All Chicagoland is family owned and operated and is an honest, ethical company. It is truly unfortunate this alleged incident was not brought to my attention earlier. As the General Manager and co-owner of All Chicagoland, I handle all customer service issues personally and expediently. Although Mr. ****** did not mention the dollar amount of the alleged missing gift cards, etc., All Chicagoland has issued a check in the amount of $75 as a goodwill gesture. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and aggravation this matter has caused Mr. ****** and his daughter.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We sold our home in October, 2012, but did not yet have a home to move into. We hired Chicagoland Moving & Storage (CM&S) to move all of the items in our home, store them at a storage facility & move the items to our new location once that was determined. On 10.24.12, CM&S moved our items into storage. The majority of items were put into "short term storage" items we would need first (I think they were put into 7 bins, not sure). Other items; keepsakes, Christmas décor etc (I think 2 bins) were put into "long term storage" we could have these delivered at a separate, later date than the "Short term storage". "Kevin" oversaw our move. We moved into a condo & scheduled delivery of the "short term" items on 7/9/13. Over 25 items were missing; boxes, the base of our dining table, hardware for a ping pong table, dishes, wardrobe containers, a china cabinet & 1/2 of a bunk bed. CM&S came out 2 days later, 7/11/13 to deliver the missing items. But, still missing were 4 boxes, I don't know the contents as they were listed as "packed by owner contents unknown", hardware for the ping pong table & the missing bunk bed parts. The crew told me, verbatim, that "Kevin", who was in charge of our move, rarely makes mistakes but "he admitted that this was a big one". The crew reassured me that this would be taken care of. I called CM&S who assured me that they would check in storage as soon as possible to find the missing items. I had several conversations with "Rose", "Vera" & others & was reassured that this would be taken care of. Several days later it was verified to me that the pieces were lost, could not be found-CM&S would send out paperwork for me to complete a "Claim for Loss". I received the paperwork in the mail & forwarded the claim on 8/11/13. Sometime after 8/15/13, I spoke to "Vera" in claims. When I submitted the claim, I did not put a value for the boxes & listed the ping pong hardware at $25. Vera said she needed a value for the boxes & a receipt for the hardware. I told Vera that I did not care about the boxes. My husband already replaced the ping pong hardware & we were ok not being reimbursed for this either, all we wanted was to get the bed replaced. At this point I'd like to talk about the bed; this was a gorgeous, sturdy, twin over twin with trundle drawer bunk bed that slept three & could be pulled apart as single beds with trundle. The bed was about 6 years old that I placed current value at $2800 which is less than I paid but have researched on line. The parts lost were both foot boards; two stackable pieces that held together both bed frames, the slats under the mattresses, all four side boards and trundle slide, a side rail was missing as well. The bed could not be put together as a bunk, trundle or single beds. At this point my kids are in a room, 11' by 10 1/2', 2 mattresses on the floor and a pile of wood that cannot be put together because the main pieces were lost. We moved from a home to a condo; no storage or garage. We did make the decision to get rid of the bed as it was no benefit to us without the footboards & side rail. When I did not hear from CM&S I called several times to follow up. I did not speak to Vera until early November (she was on vacation, she forgot to return my call, didn't have the file in front of her etc). Through many very upsetting phone calls I was told that since I did not have the bed for inspection, they would not reimburse me "as stated on the contract". Yes, I signed the contract without looking at the tiny terms & conditions on the reverse side of 11x17" bill. And no, I did not see paragraph 17 of 24. I do not move everyday, this is the first time I have moved with a storage company. I would expect that at least one person would have mentioned verbally to me that I should hold on to the bed. In the over 60 days that I waited to be reimbursed, no one called to set up inspection, no followed up with me. I have pictures of the bed, Kevin inspected it, it was in great shape.

Desired Settlement: The owner "***" offered $200 toward services at CM&S. I told them this was not acceptable. They know and have readily admitted that they have done wrong toward me and that they needed to come up with a solution to make this right. What did they do ... they sent me a check for $200, which I will obviously not cash as it is not nearly enough for me to replace this beautiful, functional bed for us. I believe I paid (I do not have a receipt) upwards of $3000 for the bed, I do have the mattresses and do not need to replace these. I have seen similar beds on-line for sale around $2150 to $2250 but am not sure if the trundle is included. I do have pictures of the bed in the room where we moved from. I would expect replacement cost of the beds plus tax = $2400.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *********** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@allchicagoland.com All Chicagoland does not deny liability for the missing bed parts. Unfortunately, Ms. ***** did not give us an opportunity to inspect the bed that was claimed, nor did she give us the opportunity to replace the missing bed parts. Ms. ***** purchased depreciated value protection and is entitled to a claim settlement. However, since the bed was discarded and there was nothing to inspect, All Chicagoland was unable to assess what hardware, parts, etc. that would need to be replaced in an effort to settle the claim. It is not All Chicagoland's responsibility to replace a discarded bed at full replacement value due to missing parts, as stated above. The typical protocol is to inspect and repair, if possible, or replace at the depreciated value of the item, not the full replacement cost, based on the maximum liability of the option selected and paid for by the customer. All Chicagoland can not be expected to "cash out" on an item, at full replacement cost, without being given the opportunity to rectify the matter after the customer has discarded the item. Furthermore, the claim form clearly states @ the top of the form, which Ms. ***** filled out that "ANY ARTICLES FOUND DAMAGED MUST BE KEPT AVAILABLE FOR INSPECTION". Also, in the claim acknowledgement letter sent 8/15/13 from All Chicagoland, it clearly advises "DO NOT DISCARD OR REPAIR ITEMS LISTED ON YOUR CLAIM FORM". Additionally, as Ms. ***** stated, there is a 3rd warning on the back of her Bill of Lading. All Chicagoland had already offered and sent a check # XXXXXX dated 11/21/13 in the amount of $200.00 as a goodwill, customer service gesture in lieu of the missing bed parts, etc. At that time, we had already explained to Ms. ***** our position and that we could not settle her claim in full without the opportunity to inspect, repair and/or verify and substantiate the amount claimed since there was no longer a bed to inspect. All Chicagoland maintains our position and feels this complaint is unfounded. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I certainly appreciate the fact that All Chicagoland is making some consideration. But $500 is nearly enough to cover the missing parts that rendered this beautiful, highly functional bunk/trundle bed useless. All Chicagoland has never NOT denied that they lost the bed; "All Chicagoland does not deny liability for the missing bed parts", they maintained, through countless conversations, that they would take care of this for me and that it was a big mistake. Again, I was NEVER "Warned" and I was never contacted, not even once, during a 4 month time period to have the remaining furniture pieces inspected; Never contacted, never scheduled, never verbally spoke of it. This only came up when I contacted All Chicagoland after 120 days to collect my claim. the parts taht are missing are the largest most functioning pieces ... the entire footboard and top and bottom which all other pieces plug into. I agree that I did not purchase FULL replacement (obviously not even considering that All Chicagoland would lose this very large piece of furniture). I propose that All Chicagoland meet me halfway $1200. This is more than generous on my part, I will not be able to purchase anything along the lines of what I have lost. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/01/15) */ All Chicagoland must reiterate that Ms. ***** was notified and warned, IN WRITING, on 3 separate documents and/or forms NOT to discard any claimed items in the event an inspection was deemed necessary. All Chicagoland has proof of this. We don't have proof that we told Ms. ***** verbally not to discard the item nor can she prove that we did not tell her to discard the item. Furthermore, The *****'s DID NOT purchase Full Replacement Coverage. The fact remains that we were never given the opportunity to inspect the bed or were we afforded the chance to replace the missing parts. All Chicagoland will offer an additional $300 goodwill gesture for a total of $500 in an effort to close this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on All Chicagoland Moving & Storage, Co.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart