BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2012

Guys Cycle Service

Phone: (708) 225-1820Fax: (708) 225-182115431 S. Pulaski Rd., MarkhamIL 60428-3888 Send email to Guys Cycle ServiceView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Guy's Cycle Service is a motorcycle repair shop which provides service for custom and brand-name motorcycles, both foreign and domestic. This company serves the southern suburbs of Chicago, including the towns of Hazel Crest, Country Club Hills, Midlothian, Harvey, South Holland, Riverdale, Dixmoor, Posen, Robbins, Blue Island, Calumet Park, Flossmoor, Homewood, Tinley Park, Thornton, Crestwood, Palos Heights, Dolton, Merrionette Park, Worth, Orland Hills, Burnham, Olympia Fields, Chicago Heights, and Matteson. Services available from this company include tune-ups, carburetor rebuilds and rejetting, boring and cylinder work, transmission service, motor rebuilds, mounting and rebalancing tires, high performance exhaust work, brake work, electrical work, complete restorations, custom bike builds, and paint services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2012

BBB has determined that Guys Cycle Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Guys Cycle Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Guys Cycle Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They told me a few day and my bike would be back on the roadthey only had to my tire back on the bike and changed brakes oil change and weld my sissy bar so i trusted this guy and now four weeks later my bike is still like it was when they pick it up please help i don't think that it is good business and i put a 300$ deposit and the price he gave me for that work i think is so much i called a few places and they price the work at 300$ this is chargen me 700$ for the work what can i do.

Desired Settlement
Right price i wouldn't mine paying the 700$ with a fast turn around but its been 4 weeks and they haven't did anything..

Business Response


Re: Case # 94497150 ****** *******


The Customers claims are definitely unfounded. Originally when he called in to see if we would pick up his bike , he asked for an estimate of and oil change , to weld on the sissy bar and replace the rear brake cable . He was given a quote for the pickup and an estimate amount for repairs. We were totally misled when we went to pick up this bike. We picked the bike up on X-XX-XXXX and according to the work order he signed , his list is as follows:
1- Install Chain Guard
2- Install Rear Tire
3- Install Bolts for Universal Saddle Bags
4- Check Rear Brakes
5- Adjust the carb
6- Change the oil and filter
7- Tighten up the sissy bar and install Pad
8- Install new Brake Cable

The pick up charge was already $60.00 , so he wanted us to do the rest of the work for only $240.00 .
He called almost everyday to see if the bike was complete. The bike was on the lift , checked out and we had to order the Brake Cable from the dealer. This part was $64.32 and we ordered it without a deposit still. The part took 4-5 days to come in. He was advised of this . When the part came in , we had jobs on our lifts we had to finish before putting his back into rotation. The repairs to the Brake Cable had been completed at this time

When we called him to tell him that his bike had a major electrical short , we asked him to come in so we could show him what needed to be done. This customer came in on X-XX-XXXX to finally put down a deposit for the work to be done. Later the customer calls to say to only Re-align the wheel, replace the brake cable and weld his sissy bar into place. We told him okay we would finish up and call him when it was done. Two hours later the customer calls to see if the work was complete. We dropped the bike off to him this morning on X-XX-XXXX

We do not feel this customer would have been happy with any work we did to the bike and that he was trying to get a lot of work done for next to nothing. When you call for an estimate , it is based on the facts you provide at that time. I encourage someone to call another shop to see if $300.00 would cover all the repairs this customer was requesting. He has a 1987 Suzuki Savage.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/30/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Motorcycles - Repairing & Service, Motorcycles - Renting & Leasing, Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts, Motorcycles - Customizing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/06/2007Business started: 09/01/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2007, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Guy T. Louise
Business Category

Motorcycles - Repairing & Service, Motorcycles - Renting & Leasing, Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts, Motorcycles - Customizing

Alternate Business Names
Guys Cycle, Inc.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Guys Cycle Service

15431 S. Pulaski Rd.

Markham, IL 60428-3888

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15431 S. Pulaski Rd. 

    Markham, IL 60428-3888

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Guys Cycle Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Motorcycles - Repairing & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.