Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Motel 6 of Rockford

Phone: (815) 397-8000 Fax: (877) 836-2525 View Additional Phone Numbers 7712 Potawatomi Trail, Rockford, IL 61107 http://motel6.com/#4279


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Motel 6 of Rockford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Motel 6 of Rockford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 2007 Business started: 12/01/2004 Business started locally: 12/01/2004 Business incorporated 12/01/2004 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kal Patel, G.M.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kal Patel, G.M.
Business Category

Motels Hotels Hotels (except Casino Hotels) and Motels (NAICS: 721110)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7712 Potawatomi Trail

    Rockford, IL 61107 (815) 397-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon arriving to the hotel (10/11/13), we felt a bit wary about the location considering there were people just loitering around the hotel. We intended to stay the 11th and 12th because of a wedding we were attending so we paid about $100 for both nights when we checked-in on the 11th. We were set up in room 212 and upon entering this room we were greeted with garbage on the floor, dirty towels scattered everywhere, hair clippings on the sink, cigarette ash on the tables, along with stained bed covers and burned (what seemed to come from cigarettes) bed sheets. I HAVE PICTURES OF THIS! So we called the front desk and the woman had us come back down to assign us another room. She did not offer any apologies but did go and check on the room she was about to assign us, room 202. She let us know that she had just checked on the room and it was fine. So we headed to room 202 and, i guess, it was a little better than the last, i mean there was no garbage, hair or ash everywhere, but the sheets were still dirty with permanent stains and cigarette burns. Also, we did not feel safe since a sticker on our door recommended we keep our door locked at all times, but our top lock did not work since it was practically falling off the hinges. With that being said, we were not able to sleep since we felt like we were in such filthy, unsanitary, and unsafe conditions. The woman at the front desk assured us we could talk to a manager in the morning when she gave us the other room. So around 1 PM the next morning (10/12)we headed down to speak to the manager and the man at the desk said the manager was not there and would return later. This was the last straw and so i told him i wanted my money back because we had such an unpleasant stay last night and would not be staying for the second night. He said that he could only refund me one night even though we paid for 2 because check-out time was at 12 not 1! I could not believe he was really trying to argue about this after all that i had told him about the dirty rooms and whatnot. I was baffled as i looked around the front desk and noticed that they were accredited by the BBB! After receiving our refund for one night, about $50, he gave me the guest relations (**************) number along with his managers phone number (**************). I began to call both of the numbers but the calls kept being forwarded a different number (**************), which was very frustrating considering that none of the numbers were picking up! I decided to call a few days later to the number of the manager i received. The phone would just ring and ring with no answer and then i could tell my calls were being purposely sent to voice mail since the rings would decrease as i kept calling. Finally, someone answered "hello" and wanted to know who was calling and i was confused cause he did not mention his business at all and asked me who i was and how i got his personal number so i began to explain to him the situation and immediately he was offended of the fact that i was going to contact the BBB and claimed i was threatening him with that. So he told me to contact the BBB and he would "deal with them!" Honestly, I have been in the customer service field ever since i started working and i know that is not the way things should be handled. I hope that this will put focus on the issues of cleanliness and professionalism that need to be dealt with. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: I just want my second night stay, that i paid for but utilized, refunded!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ Contact Name and Title:**** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@gmail.com The guest was offered to move to another room as a courtesy,though there was nothing wrong in the room. All the guest wanted was to threat us reporting to you and hence get a free room. Unfortunately we do not entertain this kind of demands. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response because it is merely just that; a response, not a solution. This response is not solving the underlying issues of unprofessional customer service and lack of cleanliness. I am simply dumbfounded by the fact that instead of owning up to the problems that are at hand and better the business, the manager wants to point fingers and insinuate that we simply were trying to get a free room, which was, by far, not the case. What we simply wanted was a decent and affordable place to stay and even though the Yelp reviews online were horrible for the business, we still decided to give the motel a try since we know that you cannot rely on Yelp reviews all the time. Yet, in the case of Motel 6 in Rockford, the Yelp reviews about the terrible customer service and lack of cleanliness, hit the nail on the head. The representative of this business does not want to acknowledge the fact that the business is lacking basic standards, like simply cleaning the rooms and hiring staff that are competent enough to provide customer service. I do not want prospective customers to have to deal with the same problems that we dealt with on our stay, which is why i am taking the time to shed light on these issues. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/18) */ Dear Valued Guest As I have mentioned earlier in my response, unfortunately we do not offer any compensations for demands made wrongfully.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Motel 6 of Rockford
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)