BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2012

Bridgeview Bank Mortgage Company,LLC

Phone: (630) 432-6400Fax: (312) 254-3131

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
06/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: I was promised a lender credit or $1400 on this mortgage loan. The $1400 was on the Good Faith Estimate. The $1400 was on the preliminary settlement sheet 2 days prior to closing. At closing I learned that the lender credit was reduced to $1300. My only alternative at that point was to not close the mortgage, which would have cost me thousands of dollars. I have tried to rectify this with my loan officer **********. I have tried to contact the other Bridgeview employees that were involved in the transaction. I have received an explanation or correction.

Initial Business Response
RE: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)
1 message
**** ***** <*******@mybbmc.com>Mon, Jun 16, 2014 at 10:47 AM
To: "Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)" <***********@bureaudata.com>, ***** ********** <************@mybbmc.com>

Good morning. Can you please five me our loan number associated with this complaint?



**** ***** - Regulatory Compliance / Fair Lending Officer

XXX-XXX-XXXX - Office
XXX-XXX-XXXX - Fax

*******@mybbmc.com

Bridgeview Bank Mortgage Company, LLC
*** W **** Street ***** **** ******* ** XXXXX


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Bridgeview Bank Mortgage Company prides itself on customer service.
The Loan Originator has reached out to Mr. ***** to resolve the complaint.
Compliance Officer has emailed Mr. ***** to discuss complaint.
Awaiting the customers response.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: WE entered into an agreement in the beginning of march to begin the loan process with bridgeview mortgage. we have submitted all the documents they have requested within hours of the request to keep this process on track yet they still are unable to complete the loan process. We have had 3 seperate loan processors working on our file. Each one requests the same documentation that we have already sent. We have had two closing dates each have come and gone because of delays from this company. As the closing date approaches they stop replying to all emails and voicemails left for them and only respond after it has past. There explainations are that they are busy in other meetings. One number I was told to contact if I had issues did not have a voicemail set up. The realtor, settlement company nor I are able to get in touch with any of the three working on my acct. We were sent an email on 5/7 that the loan was approved and that we would only have a few more steps to go to get to settlement. We have submitted these requests several times each time we are told to send it again which i do.I know they are receiving the emails because i cc my work email address and i have always rcvd them. We have now been told if settlement is not done on 5/27 that we will lose the home as well as all deposits made. We have currently paid out 1300.00 for inspection, appraisals, and all tests for the home which have all passed. The company delayed are appraisal till two weeks before settlement for no reason at all other then they are so discorganized. We are extremely disappointed as this is our first home and now have soured on the whole home purchasing process. Its extremely upsetting that we have the funds available the home is complete and move in ready yet we still are waiting to here from the lender and are at there mercy. Unfortunately I doubt that we will here from them till the deadline has come and gone. I have contacted there corporate office to speak with representatives who have also left messages for our loan officer to contact us but still have heard nothing.

Initial Business Response
Bridgeview Bank Mortgage Company holds our clients and there family's in the highest regards. Upon receipt of the customer complaint management worked diligently on identifying the customers concerns and getting their loan pointed in the right direction. After several conversations with *** ****,management was able to identify the issues with the file. Working together with the client we were able to get the file back on track.

Since the complaint was filed *** ****,has expressed her gratitude via email towards Bridgeview Bank Mortgage Company and its management.

**** ***** - Regulatory Compliance / Fair Lending Officer
XXX-XXX-XXXX - Office
XXX-XXX-XXXX - Fax
*******@mybbmc.com
Bridgeview Bank Mortgage Company, LLC

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Bridgeview Bank Mortgage Company, LLC sent an appraiser who appraised my home and charged $425 on my credit card. However, the appraiser reported 2.1 baths whereas I have 3.5 baths. I need a Fee waiver, which the company has refused. ****** ******** (Branch Manager,
NMLS # XXXXXX
************ - office
************ - call/text
************ - fax
**********@mybbmc.com) told me the company would waive the next appraisal fee which doesn't make much sense to me now. Why if never have to use this company again? I have a copy of the appraisal. ****** insists to talk to me only on phone to explain the appraiser's reasons but not in writing. He refused to provide written explanation. Let the company refund the $425 appraisal fee.

Initial Business Response
The property was given credit for an additional bath in the section of the appraisal report that deals with basement and finished rooms below grade. The section of the appraisal dealing with room count and square footage above grade is reported properly per appraisal standards. Your extra bath room that is below grade cannot be incorperated into the above grade room count and square footage calulation. I hope that this can help resolve the dispute on the appraisal information discrepancy.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What a ridiculous explanation! My basement is 60% complete and full bath in the basement is certainly not below grade. It is fully functional and I don't know why the company will consider any thing below grade without proper explanation of what is the standard grade. By what credit was given and what additional bath?

Final Business Response
As stated before the appraisal was completed correctly with the appropriate value allocated to all the features in your basement. In an act of good faith we are willing to refund $200.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: Started the refi process for a VA loan on September 4,2012 with ******* ****** Bank Loan ***** ******* Our rate was locked in at 3.125% or somewhere in that range. We would have recieved a 1% interest rate deduction from our current conventional loan. we spent the next 7 months providing all the information we needed to ******* Saving Bank. We closed on Friday March 15, 2013. We were then contacted on Monday, March 18, 2013 and advised that the closing docs were not completed as needed. VA needed a Water Well Test, terminte inspection and another appraisal since our first one we paid for had expired over the past several months. ****** ****** was then working for ******* Saving Loan as their representative. He contacted me driectly after I said i was furious with the service we were getting and non responsiveness we were getting from ************. He agreed and said to come with Bridgeview Mortgage Bank and he will close us within 30 days. Another 30 days pasted and then another 30 days totally 60 days. Got an extension on our locke din interest rate again. Again the underwriters wanted another water well test ( which s good for a year) and a terminte inspection and another appraisal. I refused to pay for that one again. BUt again out of pocket for more tests like $800 for all tests. Well as it goes, Mr. ******, Mr. ****** and the Loan Processor were in very little contact with us as to why this was being held up. I provided every single docuement they ever asked for and tests within a timely if not expedited manner. Once September 2013 came around and 1 year later trying to complete this process on our own home, the underwriters still wanted my documentation. I asked ****** ****** if our interest rate would still be locked. It took him a week or bewtter to come back and say no, the vendor woul dnot honor our locked rate because interest rates had gone up and would not allow it. At this new rate it was not advatangeous to move forward with the refinancing ands benefit with a lower monthly payment. we would have saved over $150 per month on a new mortage payment witht he refi in place.
I advised we would go through the refi if in fact Bridgeview would honor the lower rate and pay the points to get us there. I never heard a word back from with of these companies in their apologies or how can they make it right for us after dragging their feet for 1 whole year. this is funny because I was able to refi 3 of my investment properties within 60-90 days without issue.We both work for the Dept of VA and my husband had military retirement as well. Funds are not an issue. I have email after email correspondence fromt he very first time I started to wotj with ***** ******* He did our orginal convenctional loan in July 2011 to purchase this home. Equity is not an issue either - We were able to put $100K down on the property to begin with.W ehave improved the property by installing out building, new landscaping, brick walkways and solar water heating. Our investment is clear, we want this home and just wanted to take advantage of the low interest rates to benefit us and the local community as we add items to our home with the extra income saved from a lower mortgage payment. Restitution on all costs for appraisals and tests or Completeion of the VA loan with the lower interest rate and they pay the points to get us there. If they could not complete this refinance they should have told us without dragging it out.

Initial Business Response
I am researching the issue currently. I would like to know the cost incurred with the loan in process with BBMC. Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Reimbursement would be a good choice..
I would settled for that.
I have attached my PDF form on costs associated with this complaint.

Final Business Response
Per the complaint in an effort to resolve the issue we agree to reimburse the following fees:

Termite Test: $199
Well Water Test:$150
Mileage spent: $63.28
Fax usage: $50

Total: $462.28

Bridgeview Bank Mortgage did conduct an appriasal that was not charged to the borrower in the amount of $425.

Consumer Response
X-XX-XX delayed info received from consumer:
I have not seen the response form the vendor on the email posted to me on 16 Jan 14. I do not see them in the compliant. This compliant is not resolved at this point in time.
-----------------------------------------------
**********@aol.com <**********@aol.com>Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 7:24 AM
To: *******@chicago.bbb.org
I looked at the link but I do not see their response to be able to read it.
--------------------------------------------------
*************** <*******@chicago.bbb.org>Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 11:00 AM
To: ***** ***** <**********@aol.com>
*****,

This is the response sent by the business on 1-16-14.

01/16/2014 *** BBB RECEIVE BUSINESS RESPONSE : Per the complaint in an effort to resolve the issue we agree to reimburse the following fees:

Termite Test: $199

Well Water Test:$150

Mileage spent: $63.28

Fax usage: $50

Total: $462.28

Bridgeview Bank Mortgage did conduct an appriasal that was not charged to the borrower in the amount of $425.
-----------------------------------------------
**********@aol.com <**********@aol.com>Fri, Feb 21, 2014 at 8:45 AM
To: *******@chicago.bbb.org
That is fair.

How do I get these completed and reimbursed from the Business?

***** *****


Business Response
I see the responce today from the client that they have accepted our proposal listed below:
Termite Test: $199

Well Water Test:$150

Mileage spent: $63.28

Fax usage: $50

Total: $462.28

BBMC will be sending a check in the amount of $462.28 to the borrower's address on file. This check will go out on Monday Feb 24th.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: I am a retired Sr. VP &. Trust Regional Executive, formerally with a large National Bank, and never in my 33 year business career have I seen a business matter that was so mishandled and unprofessionally attended. Our first contact with ***** ****** our loan officer, was April 10, 2013. We accepted his proposal on April 18, 2013 (loan amt, 303,500, rate 2.75%, 0 points, total exp. 1,406, and the origination fee to be offset by lender credit). At this time the loan is for 304,000, rate 3.0%, 0 points, exp, 2199.40 plus origination fee 1295 for total of 3,494.40.

During this long, unbelievable process I have experienced processing and communication delays caused by: death in family, illness, out of office notices, training activities, duplicate or more requests for information, waiting on underwriting, and restructuring of loan by Mr. ****** loan processor changed and processor's termination and delayed replacement, transfer of my file from Mr. ***** to Mr. ****** These delays are costing me about $1,500 per month, and the stress and anxiety have taken a toll on my mental and physical health.

On June 10, Mr. ***** told me in an email that the last requested document had been sent to underwriting and we'll be scheduling closing for me as soon as possible. I did not have a scheduled closing until July and 5 hours before that closing with an attorney, I was informed that my loan was denied after consultation with the investor lenders, who must have had a conflict of regulatory interest when they denied my loan at a locked in rate unfavorable to them, because interest rated had moved higher. At no time during the process was I told that my loan was in jeopardy. In fact, I was constantly reassured and apologies were made for the delays.

Because I believe no other customers of this Bank should have to go through this kind of adverse treatment, I am filing this complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Initial Business Response
We do regret that your experience with BBMC was less than favorable. In an effort to show good faith we would offer to refund your $395 up front fee.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Let's look at the Good Faith by Bridgeview Bank Mortgage Co. in my effort to refinance my mortgage, consolidate my debt, and do some home improvement on my home. FIRST: they induced me to do business with them by offering a 2.75% interest rate on a $300,000, more or less loan. By the time I was given a Good Faith Estimate, the interest rate was 3.0%. SECOND: I was led to believe my loan would close but it took 3 months to set the closing and hours before we were to meet with the attorney to close the loan, I was called and told my loan was declined because they could not verify my income, and this was after discussion with the creditors who would make more money if my loan was declined because interest rates had gone up. NOTE: I HAVE CLOSED IN 2 MONTHS WITH ANOTHER BANK ON A 3.625%, $300,000 PLUS CONVENTIONAL LOAN FOR 15 YEARS, IT CLOSED ON 9/13/13, AND FUNDS WERE DISBURSED 9/18/13. THIRD:
Bridgeview understated my experience with them as being "less than favorable", when in fact it was totally unsatisfactory because I was deceived, mislead, mistreated, and unfairly and unprofessional treated. FOURTH: Bridgeview in an effort to show good faith offered to refund my $395 up front fee, when in fact their action resulted in my also losing 3 months savings on the difference in my mortgage payments (945.14) plus credit card monthly payments of 620.00 for a total of 1565.14 per month or 4695.42 for 3 months. Also, the difference in my monthly mortgage payment is 78.93 more with my current financing or for 180 months, $21,481.68. As I detailed above, a good faith payment would be far more thn $395.00. FIFTH: Bridgeview failed to show good faith by not furnishing the names and addresses of all their regulatory authorities so I can report the less than honest way my refinance needs were served. I was a banker for 33 years, and if I am treated this way, other less informed borrowers must be suffering the same unwarranted fate. NO BORROWER SHOULD HAVE TO SUFFER THIS KIND OF UNPROFESSIONAL, ILLEGAL AND IN MANY WAYS INHUMANE TREATMENT. SOMETHING MUST BE DONE TO STOP THIS. LASTLY: One short definition of Good Faith is:
HONESTY; A SINCERE INTENTION TO DEAL FAIRLY WITH OTHERS. THIS CERTAINLY DOES NOT DESCRIBE THE WAY BRIDGEVIEW DID BUSINESS WITH ME AND LIKELY OTHERS AS WELL.






Final Business Response
Your intial disclosures were sent to you on 4/22/2013. We received the intial disclosured signed and dated 4/26/2013. The GFE on those intial disclosures sent 4/22/2013 indicated that your rate needed to be locked with specified dates. On 6/7/2013 you received, electornically, a set of re-disclosed documents indicating your loan was locked. You viewed those documents on 6/7/2013 at 10:39am PST and accepted receipt of those documents at 10:45am PST. The loan was denied on the merit of being unable to verify a portion of the income. I am glad that you were serviced at another lending instituion. Other lending insitutions could very well have other avenues to close loans that Bridgeview Bank may not. I do wish to resolve this matter by refunding the $395 appraisal fee.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 4
09/20/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mortgage Bankers, Banks, Banking Services, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies, Financial Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.