Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Portfolio Mortgage Corporation

Phone: (847) 202-3344 Fax: (847) 202-7030 800 E Northwest Hwy  Suite 821, Palatine, IL 60074 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.goapmc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Portfolio Mortgage Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Portfolio Mortgage Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Portfolio Mortgage Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2003 Business started: 04/23/1996 Business started locally: 04/23/1996 Business incorporated 11/20/1997 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Kessel, President Mr. Scott Vorreyer, EVP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Kessel, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Vorreyer, EVP
Business Category

Mortgage Bankers Real Estate Credit (NAICS: 522292)


Additional Locations

  • 800 E Northwest Hwy
    Suite 821

    Palatine, IL 60074

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company has (possibly) sold our mortgage to another company and is still sending us statements to collect payments. Every time we call to straighten this out we get told different things "we still own the loan" "we transferd the loan in January" "the loan is scheduled to be transferd in March" They have refused to provide proof of ownership which would greatly assist us in sorting this situation out. We need a statement in writing detailing the status of our mortgage.

Desired Settlement: We would like to know which company to pay. Two companies are currently sending us statements. This has been ongoing for 60+ days. The other company, round point, states that we have missed two payments because we have been paying APMC

Business Response: This is an initial response to your complaint that we received today.  I am having my servicing team make a full investigation regarding your loan file and I will respond back to you today with complete answers to your request.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

Upper management contacted me directly by phone and e-mail detailing how this situation is going to be resolved. They provided documentation that the issue is in the process of being resolved and I have confidence that they will follow through. I was very impressed with their response to this situation. 

Thank you for your help in getting this resolved. 


Sincerely,

****** ********

11/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began working with one of American Portfolio Mortgage's loan officers, ******* (*****) ****** on the refinance of my mortgage in March of this year (XXXX). I had completed all paperwork, credit checks, payment of appraisal etc. The only outstanding item was to verify my new employment. On *** 31, 2013, I told Mr. ****** that my employment was to begin within a few days. He could verify this information with the contact information I sent him previously. After that, Mr. ****** told me this could be taken care of quickly and we could then set the closing date.A couple of weeks passed. I called Mr. ****** to check on the status of the refinance and did not receive a return call. I sent Mr. ****** an email. Another email was sent. Again, no response. I finally reached him by phone on July 5, 2013 at which time he told me that he was no longer with American Portfolio Mortgage. If I was interested in pursuing my refinance, he could give me the name of someone who "might" be able to handle it, but "rates have skyrocketed" so he didn't see a reason why I would. I asked why he did not let me know he was leaving the company and why no one from American Portfolio Mortgage took my file to complete it. He ignored this question and repeatedly said it was because I wasn't working, insinuating that my loan would not be approved due to this (husband working; never was an issue) and ignored my comment that I told him of my employment start date.I do not know if Mr. ****** was fired or quit. In either case, American Portfolio Mortgage should have taken my file and completed it. To this day, no one has contacted me to apologize or ask if I would like to complete the refinance process.I would like an apology from the company and a refund of my $375 appraisal fee. Thank you. Product_Or_Service: Loan refinance

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund of paid appraisal fee - $375

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/25) */ We've received the notification of the complaint and left a message for the borrower to contact us for resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Portfolio Mortgage Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)