Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gadget Salvation LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gadget Salvation LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

25 Customer Reviews on Gadget Salvation LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 24
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 25

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 2010 Business started: 02/28/2008 in IL Business started locally: 02/28/2008 Business incorporated 02/22/2011 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Cesar Navarro, Owner Ms. Lena Bohomolova, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lena Bohomolova, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Cesar Navarro, Owner
Business Category

Mobile Telephone Equipment & Supplies Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Electronics Stores (NAICS: 443142)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gadget Salvation LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1440 N Dayton St Ste 304

    Chicago, IL 60642

  • 2950 W Chicago Ave Ste 301

    Chicago, IL 60622

  • O'Hare Aerospace Center

    Schiller Park, IL 60176 (847) 447-6706 (800) 579-9082

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Laptop: HP Pavilion dm4, dm4t Reference Number: ************ The original online offer was $90. Revised offer is $40. I tried to reflect what I can about the status of the laptop. Three options in the website for laptop status are: flawless, good, broken. I chose good, since I have been using it until recently. Reasons claimed by company for the cut: - Bad battery: does not hold charge - Bent palmrest and back cover (corners) - Top keyboard grid layer has been removed I agree with battery issue. I checked the website, with defective/missing batter option, the quote falls to $45. But I honestly overlooked the option when I was filling the form. A better wording would be "battery does not hold charge". They also reported that the laptop has excessive wear and tear, which I don't agree. Photos from the company can be accessed here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jc8u0jmc8kuj2pb/AABwXT3cC64OlcHL4smesZgaa?dl=0 With those, I wouldn't select excessive wear and tear. With all those, their revised quote for the laptop is $40. I checked the website again. With "missing" battery, it offers $45. With other defects, it may go down. So $40 may be fair, if the guidelines in the website have been clear. My major complaint is just that. The website does not show clear guidelines. Under "good" category, it indicates "shows minor signs of wear, but it's fully functional", which I would think would be a better representation of the laptop. I surely understand price cuts after inspection, but if knew it would go down to $40 after inspection, I would not send it in the first place. They charge $20 for returning of the laptop, which makes it a burden to ship it back.

Desired Settlement: I don't request any settlement. I just want to report the deficiencies in their website. After investigating other options in their website more carefully, I understand their quote may be reasonable if proper choices are made clear to the customer. But (either purposefully or not) it is very difficult to judge the proper representation of the laptop based on the given options. And then it is really annoying when you receive much lower offer than you originally received.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** **********, ******** Contact Email: ****@gadgetsalvation.com Dear ******, Thank you for your valuable input. I have directed our web developers team to consider your comments when while working on implementing quotation page interface improvements. Meanwhile, we are sending your laptop back via UPS; tracking number: ******XXXXXXXXXXXX. Please allow 3 to 6 business days for delivery. I apologize for the inconvenience caused. Feel free to contact us should you have any questions. Sincerely, **** ********** Operations Manager www.gadgetsalvation.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received back the laptop. I hope the company truthfully improves their interface.

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My lap top was only used a couple times and was flawless when I sent it in. I have pictures of the laptop before I sent it in. Being flawless gadget salvation said they would give me $238 for it. When they received my laptop they e mailed me saying the screen was cracked and they will give me only $53. This is the reference number ************. I believe they are lying to me so I won't receive the full refund. I can't get my lap top sent back to me either. I should get the full refund.

Desired Settlement: I want the full refund of $238 for my laptop.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/09) */ Good day, Unfortunately, the laptop we received, has cracked display (I'm attaching photos below). Please be advised, that we provide prepaid UPS postage for all service users, however, customers are responsible for safe packaging of their devices (we also offer reimbursements for packing materials purchased at any UPS location nationwide - please see our Service Terms). This unit however was shipped to us in a lightly padded yellow mailer envelope (please see photo), and therefore, our company cannot open a claim with the shipper due to insufficient packaging. Per policy (http://www.gadgetsalvation.com/terms_services), customers remain responsible for the risk-of-loss for the trade-in products until delivery of the same to GS. You are responsible for any damages that may occur to your product while in transit. At this point, I'm afraid we can either purchase the unit at $53.00 quote, or return it. Please let us know how would you like to proceed. Thank you. Respectfully, ***************************************************** Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The lap top was sent in a secure box with a bubble wrap casing. In order for the screen to be cracked someone threw it against something, or Gadget Salvation is lying because it was not cracked when I sent it. This is unfair. If I wanted to sell it now to someone else I can't because Gadget Salvation broke my lap top! Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/12) */ Dear*********, Unfortunately, Bubble lined yellow mailer is not suited to ship electronics or other fragile items via UPS. Whether the damage occurred in transit or prior to shipment, Gadget Salvation has received a laptop with broken screen. The unit does not meet requirements for "Flawless" estimate also because it shows signs of wear on the housing. We are sending it back in exact same condition we have received it; UPS tracking #: ******************. Please allow 3 to 6 business days for delivery. Thank you. Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/09/15) */ Gadget Salvation broke my computer. I tried to sell it to them and they broke it so I wouldn't get the amount they said I would. Now if I want it back to sell it to someone else I can't!! This was an expensive lap top, I paid $800 dollars for now it's worth nothing because Gadget Salvation broke it! This is unfair and this business should be shut down! I got screwed over. If you look at the picture from Gadget Salvation it clearly shows someone from their business threw something at it to break it. The packaging I sent the lap top in had it secure. There is no way the inside screen could crack the way it did in the box and bubble wrap I sent it in. Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/09/15) */ ********, With all due respect, If the unit was damaged in our facility, we would have processed your full payment, no questions asked. However, the laptop we received was already damaged. We handle multiple units a day, and our shipping-receiving team has years of experience when it comes to unpacking and processing electronics. As we already mentioned in our previous correspondence, there was absolutely no cushioning between the laptop and outer package that appeared to have multiple tears. This is no way to ship fragile electronics via UPS Ground. We have sent all the packing materials back to you along with the laptop. You can use those to submit a damaged item claim with UPS. Thank you.

7/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very disappointed with the customer service, or lack thereof, provided by Gadget Salvation. I shipped my iPhone 5S to them on May 12 and they received it on May 14, 2014. When I saw that they already emailed me an offer the same day they received it, I was happy to see that the process was very fast. However, when I saw they adjusted my quote of $363 to $150, I was not very happy. They had decreased my quote by more than half. They informed me that they could not verify the *** with ****** and that the iPhone was refurbished. When I called ****** to verify the iPhone's **** they confirmed that there were no issues. I contacted Gadget Salvation to inform them of this. They then contacted me and told me that they were able to verify the *** soon after. However, they only came up to $195, which was still significantly less than what I was quoted. They told me that since the device was refurbished, it was not worth the price they quoted me. I informed them that the iPhone was not a refurbished device, but was instead replaced by ****** I also told them that I have sold many iPhones to their competitors *********** ******** etc.) over the years, and have NEVER been quoted differently for the iPhone due to it being a replacement device from ****** I also stated that, even if I had known that they paid less for these types of iPhones, there was no option on their site to select that ***** replaced the iPhone. The only condition options were "flawless - looks like it has never been used," "good - shows normal signs of use," and "functional/cosmetic issues." The iPhone I was selling was in perfect condition, so naturally I selected "flawless." When I told them this, they said I should have selected "refurbished," which was buried under the "functional/cosmetic issues" option. This made no sense since, even though the iPhone was replaced, it was not functionally or cosmetically damaged. At this point I was frustrated with the back and forth and had been asking to have my phone sent back to me if they were not willing to pay me the price I was quoted. They told me I would have to pay $22 to have the phone shipped back to me. They were blaming me for "misrepresenting" the condition of the phone when really their website and horrible customer service was to blame. This became even more apparent to me when I noticed that, after I told them that the website was confusing and misleading, they changed the option of "functional/cosmetic issues" to "other." This was after they denied that their website was unclear or misleading and were just blaming me for not selecting the right options. I then contacted online chat support and spoke with ******. He told me that they would not be able to return the phone without the $22 fee but said they would "match any other offers from a competitor." I submitted the offer I received from another site for $333 and he said they would get back to me within an hour. A day went by and I hadn't heard anything from them, so I emailed asking what the delay was. They told me they would not be able to match the price and would only be able to pay $290. Finally, ***** informed me that they match ************ ************** **************** etc. I checked those sites and found that ***********.com was quoting $330 for the same device, regardless of if it was a replacement or not. She also sent me an article from **** that ended up working against them and proving my point that their site was misleading and should not be trusted since the article said "sites that don't pay to return devices if a price cannot be agreed upon should not be trusted." They eventually sent me a payment confirmation for the $330 without even emailing me back after I brought this article excerpt to their attention and provided them with a competitor quote to match. This was very unprofessional that they did not even have the courtesy to email me back and let me know that they would be matching the price or to apologize for the inconvenience

Desired Settlement: I would like the remaining value I was promised by the original quote. I was only provided $330 of the $363 I was quoted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/28) */ Dear *****, You were quoted $363 for an original retail iPhone 5S model. What chose not to mention during online checkout process is that your phone is reconditioned. We are upfront about the fact that refurbished devices are estimated differently, and you could get a price reference on a refurbished unit PRIOR to accepting the sale terms. We acquire refurbished gadgets daily, and somehow other customers have no problem getting quotes for their devices online. Regardless, we appreciate your feedback, and therefore, we made a decision to adjust webpage phrasing in order to prevent this confusion from happening again in the future. $330.00 payment, accepted by you, has been already deposited to your ****** account. This payment exceeds not only our current estimate, but an actual market value of the phone, by far. If you are not satisfied with the quoted amount, please refund the payment, and we will return your phone immediately. I hope this clarifies your concern. Thank you. Regards, ***** M. Purchasing Department www.gadgetsalvation.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ****** Thank you for your response. However, I do not appreciate your rude tone. This is one of the main problems I have with the customer service at Gadget Salvation. It is not acceptable to speak to a customer as if they are stupid and I do not particularly enjoy it. In regards to your rude and unprofessional response accusing me of lying about the condition of my device when you stated that I "chose not to mention that it was reconditioned," you are false. Why would I purposely put myself through this added stress and aggravation? If I would have known this was the way your company treats customers, I most definitely would not have chosen to do business with you. The fact is that the site was unclear and I did not look for an option for selling back a replacement device since your website choices are rating the PHYSICAL condition of the devices. This is not something that I am making up like you may think. Anyone can look at the options on the site and see that it asks if the iPhone is "flawless, good, or has functional/cosmetic issues." My iPhone has NO functional/cosmetic issues and was in flawless condition, which is why I selected that option. Your website is also the ONLY one that I have ever encountered that pays a different amount for a device that was replaced by Apple without taking into consideration the physical/functional condition. Every other site I have sold to or contacted regarding this has informed me that they do not pay different amounts for a replacement device unless it is damaged or not functional, as I told you previously. The fact that you continue to berate me and accuse me of lying is ridiculous for a company to do. Clearly you do not have the customers best interest in mind. I would like to be payed the rest of the value for my device as this experience has been nothing but a hassle from day one. If you are not willing to do that, then I am at least happy that this complaint will serve as a warning to customers considering selling to Gadget Salvation in the future. I only wish I would have see something like this prior to doing business with the company. ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/06/19) */ *****, Thank you for your reply. I understand that sites like ********* and ******* do not differentiate retail and re-manufactured devices, and that's their business model, it has nothing to do with Gadget Salvation. ******** only offers 177.00 for the iPhone 5S to begin with ($205.00 ********** offer). There is however a huge price gap between retail and replacement models on smartphones aftermarket, and we choose to acknowledge it. After all, retail iPhone 5S is worth far more than $177.00, wouldn't you agree? I'm afraid I have nothing else to add. Thanks again for your understanding. Sincerely, ***** M. www.gadgetsalvation.com Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appreciate your response. I understand where you are coming from but what you fail to understand is that I HAVE sold phones that have been replaced by ***** to the major sites (ie ********** and they have NEVER done what you are claiming they would do. However, I would not like to was any more of my time with this as it a doesn't seem to be going anywhere with Gadget Salvation. I am not interested in getting the phone back and would only request that I be paid the difference. If this is not something you are willing to do then that is fine. I will not be using Gadget Salvation again in the future nor will I recommend your company to anyone I know. This process has been a horrible experience from the start and if that is how your company chooses to do business, so be it.

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They first said the phone had significant scratches and that was why it was $48 less. I asked for a picture of the scratches. But then they said the phone wasn't new and that was why they changed the price. I reminded them I never said it was new, but that it fit into the category of "Shows light wear, fully functional." Then they admitted it had minor wear, but said it had many light scratches and that was the reaspon for the $48 difference. I asked again for some pictures showing this damage, but they have never replied. I have sent them two more emails, over the last 5 days, but they do not reply - they ignore me and basically have stolen my phone. Every day they fail to act, the market value of the phone goes down. They have my phone but won't pay me for it, nor will they acknowledge the situation. When I ask them for explanation of the change in price, they ignore me. I feel as though they have stolen my phone and will never pay me for it. What can I do?

Desired Settlement: I want the $209 they promised me for my phone, or I want an explanation of why they are keeping $48, including some proof, like a picture.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/28) */ ********** ******************************************************************************* **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I did get the check for $185 in the mail and deposited it today. Assuming the check clears, this matter has been resolved. I am not happy it took all this extra work to get a solution, but I'm glad I did not simply accept the low-ball offer. I suggest this company update their website, to include examples of what kind of wear and tear fits into what category. That would certainly reduce this type of problem, and it might lead to happier customers. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/30) */ ****, Scratches on the case are quite deep, however I agree those may not be clearly visible on the photo: it is quite difficult to capture cosmetic blemishes on the glass surface with a regular camera, - I do apologize for the photo quality. Anyhow, we went ahead and issued a check for the amount of $185.00. Please allow 2 to 4 business days for delivery. Thank you. Again, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience. ****************************************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

25 Customer Reviews on Gadget Salvation LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart