Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Allen Brothers, Inc.

Phone: (773) 890-5100 Fax: (773) 890-9377 View Additional Phone Numbers 3737 S Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60609 http://www.allenbrothers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Brothers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Brothers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 26, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1893 Business started locally: 01/01/1893
Business Management
Ms. Carol Young, Customer Care Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carol Young, Customer Care Relations
Business Category

Meat - Wholesale Poultry Services Gift Baskets & Parcels Meat - Retail Internet Shopping Giftware - Wholesale & Manufacturers Meat and Meat Product Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 424470)

Alternate Business Names
Allen Brothers the Great Steakhouse Steaks
Products & Services

Meat Purveyor specializing USDA prime steaks, chops, roasts, veal, lamb, pork and valve added products.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3737 S Halsted St

    Chicago, IL 60609 (773) 890-5100 (800) 598-7777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a turkey breast for xmas eve dinner. The cooking instructions were incorrect. The vendor knew this and did not warn me. The instructions included stated to cook the item for only 1/3 of the time that was actually needed. My xmas eve dinner was ruined with out of town guests. In addition we could have been very ill from consuming undercooked meat.We called Allen brothers and spoke to a Jen & a Mary Beth. They were laughing at us, mocking and stated 'well you got to eat the meat the next day and its really good'!I am very offended that they knew there was an issue with the instructions by there own admission and did not forewarn me and also were unwilling to resolve the problem. Product_Or_Service: Marinated Whole Turkey Breast - Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund refund of purchase and delivery totaling 89.90$

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ***********,Customer Care Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ******@allenbrothers.com On behalf of Allen Brothers I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the discrepancies in cooking instructions for marinated turkey breast and with our customer service. When we became aware that the cooking instructions included with the product were incorrect, we corrected them on the website and gave customer service the correct information so that they could relay them to customers. Our records show that you were given a gift card in the amount of $69.90 representing the price of the product you received, with our apologies. This did not include shipping. As you requested, we would be pleased to credit your account for the total amount of purchase-$89.90 and hope that you will allow us to reestablish your trust in our products and services by using the gift card for future purchases. Please contact me personally when placing any future orders and I will be pleased to assist you. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to working with you in the future. Sincerely, ***********, Customer Care Manager Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Brothers, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)