Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sleep on Latex

Phone: (312) 380-1960 3536 W Potomac, Chicago, IL 60651 http://sleeponlatex.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sleep On Latex is a mattress company which sells all-latex mattress toppers and pillows for residential customers. This company serves a national audience as well as customers throughout the Chicagoland area, including those in Naperville, Schaumburg, Aurora, Rolling Meadows, Arlington Heights, Buffalo Grove, Lake Forest, Lake Villa, Libertyville, Gurnee, Mt Prospect, Prospect Heights, Elk Grove Village, Wheeling, Berwyn, Cicero, Stickney, Lombard, Carol Stream, Villa Park, Bloomingdale, Crystal Lake, Fox River Grove, Evanston, Skokie, Niles, Joliet, Aurora, Rockford, St Charles, and Batavia. Products available from this company include mattress toppers, pillows, and mattress DIY kits.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sleep on Latex meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sleep on Latex include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sleep on Latex
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 2014 Business started: 01/01/2013 Business started locally: 01/01/2013 Business incorporated 09/12/2013 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Karl Shevick, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Karl Shevick, President
Business Category

Mattresses Pillows Covers - Protective Mattress & Bedding Stores Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Alternate Business Names
Shevick Sales Corp

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sleep on Latex has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the bed topper from the company Sleep On Latex. They offer a trial period for the topper, so if you are not satisfied you may return it. I did not find it comfortable so I returned it. They agreed to the return and sent me the instructions for the return. They received the topper, but are not refunding me. They want to keep both the topper and my money. If they did not want to do a return I could have at least kept the topper. But now they tricked me into sending it back to them at my own expense, however now I am out the cost of the topper, the cost to send it back to them and I have nothing. They have my money and the product. This is totally illegal, these people are crocks.

Desired Settlement: A refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************ Contact Phone: **************** Contact Email: ************************* I would like to preface our response by saying that we began our 30 day full money back guarantee in March of this year. We sell very tactile items over the internet and we wanted to give people an option in the case that the topper did not work for them. In the time since we implemented this policy, we have had hundreds of returns from customers (a very small percentage of our orders). While we do have some restrictions in our return policy, we are usually very relaxed about issuing returns. Of the hundreds of returns we have received this year, the return in question is the only item which we have refused a refund on. The reason that we are refusing a refund on this item is very simple: This complaint is not being made by an actual consumer. It is being made by an individual who bought the item with the sole intention to cheat consumers. The individual who is making the complaint bought this item, photographed it and created an***** listing in which they claimed to be us and carry a large stock of our products. They then proceeded to take orders from customers who thought they were buying from us. It is unclear whether they intended to simply steal money from consumers or ship counterfeit items. Luckily, we sell our products on***** and noticed this fraudulent listing very shortly after it was created. We filed a copyright complaint with***** and the listing was removed from***** shortly thereafter. Our return policy clearly states that we do not issue refunds in the case that the purchaser is in any way involved in the unauthorized resale of our products or is engaged in selling products which are very similar to the products we sell. This individual sent us an email before purchasing the item, asking about our return policy. We gave them a brief summary and provided them with a link to read our full return policy. After receiving the item and posting pictures of it on*****, they requested to return the item. By the time they requested the refund, we had become aware of the fraudulent***** listing. Through deductive reasoning, we strongly suspected that this order was the order that contained the item which had been pictured in the***** listing. Although we were suspicious, we did not make any accusations when we received the return request. In the e-mail authorizing the return, we again sent a link to our full return policy and we specifically copied and pasted the following section in the email: "We reserve the right to refuse a refund if we determine that the purchasing party is engaged in unauthorized resale of our products. This would also apply if the purchasing party is acting on behalf of a business or individual who is engaged in unauthorized resale of our products. We reserve the right to refuse a refund if we determine that the purchasing party is a business or individual or is acting on behalf of a business or individual who is engaged in selling or intends to engage in selling products which are similar to our products." When we received the item, we were able to determine with 100% certainty that it was the same item that was used in the fraudulent***** listing. We were able to determine this due to unique markings that the topper had. All of our toppers look a little bit different due to the hole pattern of the foam and the pattern of the fabric used in the cover. The person making this complaint has not once denied that they violated our return policy. Instead they have gone on a tirade, sending us threatening emails, threatening voice messages and (ironically) claiming on several websites that we are involved in some sort of criminal activity. We called Fedex to refuse the package after receiving it. Fedex initially told us that they would pick up the item, but later informed us that they could not do so. We would be happy to return the item provided the shipping is paid for. It is impossible to provide a refund at this time as they filed a chargeback with their credit card company. Until the chargeback is resolved, we do not have access to the money paid for this item and therefor do not even have the ability to issue a refund. We are more than happy to provide any documentation on this transaction or item. We have pictures, screenshots and emails to confirm our statements in this response. I think it is very clear that we have done nothing illegal, have not violated our return policy in any way and have acted to prevent this individual from taking advantage of unsuspecting consumers.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Sleep on Latex
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart