BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2008

Tao Trading, Corp.

Phone: (773) 764-6542Fax: (773) 764-65461420 W Howard St, Apt 201, ChicagoIL 60626-1433 Send email to Tao Trading, Corp.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2008

BBB has determined that Tao Trading, Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tao Trading, Corp.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tao Trading, Corp.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased 4 table warmers from this company within the year, and 2 of which in August and ALL of them are not working properly or just not working at all! I called them and they told me that there was nothing that they could do because it is out of the 90 day warranty. That is RIDICULOUS! I have spent hundreds of dollars on their site and I am thoroughly DISGUSTED with their customer service! There was not even an offer to send the products back for a quality assurance check. The life of a massage table warmer should not be just 4 months. One of the four was just opened and just yesterday and that one shut down to the lowest setting after 2 hours... Clearly there is a quality problem with this product!
Product_Or_Service: massage table warmer
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my items replaced with properly working warmers or a refund.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** Marketing Dir
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
Dear ********* ****,
We are sorry for your recent experience. Our Policies page specifically dictates our return policy upon purchase: "the following products have a 90-day guarantee: warming pads, Bottle Holsters, fleece pads, adjustable headrests, aroma diffusers, carrying cases, and controllers."

We stand behind the products we offer but the nature of the warming pads does not make it viable to extend beyond a 90 day return period. At $29, our warming pads are discounted more than 50% when compared to other retailers.

We do hope you will continue to shop with us and would like to make an exception and offer you the replacements to show you that customer satisfaction is our first priority.

Please let us know if you agree with our offer. We look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
BestMassage Team

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/19/2013Delivery Issues
09/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I have bought herbal compress balls many times and the handles of the compress balls are traditionally secured with string. On the photo of this company's compress balls there is a string. However, the balls that I have been sent from them have NO such string. I recently wrote this company a complaint about this but their only response was an offer of $20 off of my next purchase. They did not offer to change their photo to match their current product or to have their future organic herbal compress balls tied with a string on the handle like on their photo or better still with more string wrapped around the handle so that the handle is really secure. Since their balls come with no string, I have to tie each handle so that it doesn't unwrap as without tying it, the compress with the herbs inside comes right apart. I don't think it is fair that they have a photo with a handle with a string on it but their products don't have such a string on their handle and thus fall apart. I have purchased from them as follows:
03/04/12 confirmation # 100026835 total $227.28
10/01/13 confirmation # 100053226 total $197.45
11/16/14 confirmation # 100075821 total $226.80
08/22/15 confirmation # 100088910 total $133.00
I told them that I would be contacting you if they did not let me know if they would change their photo to accurately show what they are selling or better still to have their product match their photo. It would be a much better product if it matched how they show it (i.e. their advertising photo).

Desired Settlement
I would like both of the following:
1. a refund for my previous purchases from them which would come to a total of $784.53
2. an assurance that they will make the handles of all their future organic herbal compress balls tightly and securely wrapped with string or at the bare minimum with one string on the handle as depicted on their photo.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****, Marketing Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
Dear Ananda,

First of all, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. We were just made aware of the issue in the last batch of these items we received. We are investigating and working to resolve it.

In addition, we would like to work with you and issue a full refund for your last most recent order. Unfortunately, we won't be able to issue a refund for the previous orders as we did not have any record of the same issue.

I hope you understand the situation and is willing to accept our offer.

In the meantime, we have already removed the above said products from our website until we have rectified the issue with the products.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Massage Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/28/2008Business started: 12/01/2000
Type of Entity


Incorporated: December 2000, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Amona Buchler (President/Owner)Mr. Peter Wang (Marketing Director)
Business Category

Massage Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tao Trading, Corp.

1420 W Howard St

Chicago, IL 60626-1433

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1420 W Howard St
    Apt 201 

    Chicago, IL 60626-1433(773) 764-6542
    Fax: (773) 764-6546

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tao Trading, Corp. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Massage Equipment & Supplies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.