BBB Accredited Business since

Bald Eagle Construction, Inc.

Phone: (312) 642-2770 Fax: (312) 642-2011 View Additional Phone Numbers 1515 N Harlem St, Suite 307-1, Oak Park, IL 60302 http://www.baldeagleconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bald Eagle Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bald Eagle Construction, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bald Eagle Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 2001 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

City of Chicago
121 N La Salle St # 604, Chicago IL 60602
cityclerk@cityofchicago.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Wood, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Wood, President
Business Category

Mason Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roofing Contractors Tuck Pointing Basement - Remodeling Building & Development Permits Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Building Permit Expediting Chimney Builders & Repair Concrete Contractors Concrete Repair/Leveling Basement - Contractors Masonry Contractors (NAICS: 238140)

Method(s) of Payment

Checks

Cash

Credit Cards


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bald Eagle Construction, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1515 N Harlem St, Suite 307-1

    Oak Park, IL 60302

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After acceptance of contract on 07-24-13,a concrete patio was poured. Several months later,three fractures appear on the surface and are widening since. A Representitive came out to the site after notice was given but,nothing else happened & we think we have been dissmissed. A clause in the contract discusses nature & cracking,however! details in workmanship were ignored. Inadequate amount of aggregate and insufficient impaction are the contention. We specifically pointed at the especially problematic area,only to observe the workman,leave with aggregate material on their truck and give short tampping time,to a thin layer of substrate.

Desired Settlement: As hard working middle class homeowners,the amount paid is a big deal to us,and perhaps considered nothing to others. All we request as the customer is to have quality work performed on our house,like the workman Im sure would do for their own. Subsidized labor by seemingly subcontracted laborers is not a preferrence. Please have the flaws repaired by well crafted employees,bearing so much as a company logo on their trucks,and taking pride in their professional workmanship,as we the customer trusted at first.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/11/19) */ 11/19/14 Bald Eagle Construction did in fact view the area of the patio referred to in the complaint. The difficult truth about concrete is that it will crack. Concrete must crack due to the fact that concrete contracts (shrinks) during the hydration process (drying, curing, hardening) and the bond between the cement paste and the aggregates is not strong enough to withstand the stress. All we can do as contractors, is to help control where this cracking will occur. We perform our concrete work according to local codes, as well as common concrete pouring standards. Part of that process is to use control joints across the poured concrete areas. The purpose of the control joints is to create a weakness in a specific area of the concrete. The goal of this weakness is to induce the inevitable cracking (that must occur) to run along the control joint (and thereby be less visible). Cracking may also result if the ground area below the grade-level concrete work area moves (heaving or settling) subsequent to the work being done. We are not aware of any concrete contractor who will guarantee, that the concrete they pour, will not crack. In fact, any contractor who makes that lofty promise might be one to avoid. Bald Eagle Construction does not (and never has) guaranteed any customer that the concrete we pour will not crack. We know that it will crack. Because we know concrete will crack, we include a clause in all of our contracts (as the homeowner mentions in the complaint), stating that Bald Eagle Construction is not responsible for random cracking. The homeowner was able to review the proposed contract for 10 days prior to contracting with Bald Eagle Construction. It is unfortunate when concrete cracks, but it is not possible to prevent. As much as we would like to alter its curing dynamics, we are incapable of tinkering with the physics of concrete. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The contractor expects the customer to concede to a notion that we agreed to purchase & be satisfied with a product,they guarantee,will crack! Really??? we believed we were consulting with a purveyor of concrete,not fine china.Control joints are not the only means of prevention,but careful preparation of the foundation is one also. There employees did botchy work. Now,everytime I go outside,I hear my wifes criticism for choosing Bald Eagle and wonder if it was too much to ask from them for a small project. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/12/16) */ ***** **** <******************** Tue, Dec 16, 2014 at 1:50 PM To: ********* *****" <*******@**************** *****, The case # is XXXXXXXX The following a 11/25/2014 response from ***** ****: The difficult truth about concrete is that it will crack. Concrete must crack due to the fact that concrete contracts (shrinks) during the hydration process (drying, curing, hardening) and the bond between the cement paste and the aggregates is not strong enough to withstand the stress. All we can do as contractors, is to help control where this cracking will occur. We perform our concrete work and pre-pour preparation work according to local codes, as well as common concrete pouring standards. Part of that process is to use control joints across the poured concrete areas. The purpose of the control joints is to create a weakness in a specific area of the concrete. The goal of this weakness is to induce the inevitable cracking (that must occur) to run along the control joint (and thereby be less visible). Cracking may also result if the ground area below the grade-level concrete work area moves (heaving or settling) subsequent to the work being done. We are not aware of any concrete contractor who will guarantee, that the concrete they pour, will not crack. Bald Eagle Construction does not (and never has) guaranteed any customer that the concrete we pour will not crack. We know that it will crack. Because we know concrete will crack, we include a clause in all of our contracts (as the homeowner mentions in the complaint), stating that Bald Eagle Construction is not responsible for random cracking. The homeowner was able to review the proposed contract for 10 days prior to contracting with Bald Eagle Construction. It is unfortunate when concrete cracks, but it is not possible to prevent. As much as we would like to alter its curing dynamics, we are incapable of tinkering with the physics of concrete. > > ***** **** > President **** ** ****** *** ***** IL XXXXX Office: ************ Cell: ************ ************************* (Quoted text hidden)

9/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract written on July 7th 2011 for new concrete sidewalk totally $1900.00. Contacted the company a year later due to surface cracking, at that point the owner came to the house to look at the sidewalk and stated that there is no guarantee to cement work and we would have to patch it ourselves with concrete patch that could be purchased from **********. Since that time, we now have a large surface crack across one portion of our sidewalk and many other areas that a chipping and falling apart, to the point that we will need another new sidewalk soon.

Desired Settlement: Come and redo the parts of the sidewalk that are now cracked, chipped, and breaking away.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/08/22) */ 8/21/14 In August 2014 I (owner of Bald Eagle)went to inspect the sidewalk. I took a number of pictures. Three years ago we replaced a portion of her walkways. The portion of the walkway we replaced looks much better and newer than the adjacent walkways which we did not replace. The homeowner asserts in the complaint that the sidewalk is falling apart. This is a gross exaggeration. I would ask that the homeowner to have a reputable BBB approved concrete contractor visit her sidewalk to give their assessment. Bald Eagle will pay $50.00 to that contractor for their time and opinion. The owner has some pop-outs and (1) crack in her sidewalk. Pop-outs are inevitable and are due to light weight chert (found in the aggregate of concrete)separating from the surrounding concrete due to moisture which freezes and then expands during the winter. There are many freeze/thaw cycles during the winter and last winter saw the most freeze/thaw cycles ever recorded in the Chicago area. The difficult truth about concrete is that it will crack. It has to crack because it contracts (shrinks) during the hydration process (drying, curing, hardening) and the bond between the cement paste and the aggregates is not strong enough to withstand the stress. All we can do as contractors is to help control where the cracking occurs. As per code and common concrete pouring standards, we used control joints across the width of the walkway at regular intervals. The purpose of the control joints is to induce the inevitable cracking to run along the control joint (and thereby be less visible). We have never guaranteed anyone that the concrete we pour will not crack. We know that it will crack. It is unfortunate when concrete does crack, but it is not possible to prevent. We are not aware of any concrete contractor who will guarantee that the concrete they pour will not crack. In fact, any contractor who makes that lofty promise might be one to avoid. As much as we would like to alter its curing dynamics, we are incapable of tinkering with the physics of concrete. This project was poured to code. After removing the original concrete, we installed compactable gravel, and then vibrated (compacted) the gravel with a machine. Upon the gravel we poured 4000# compression, 6 bag mix concrete. ANYTHING that happens below the prepped area (8" total depth) is completely out of the contractor's hands. If the earth heaves or settles in the future, the concrete will move with it, and this can definitely cause it to crack. Bald Eagle Construction looks forward to speaking with any reputable BBB approved concrete contractor whom the homeowner chooses to get a professional 3rd opinion. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is one part of the sidewalk towards the backyard, that was not replaced by this company. It was poured by the company that redid our back patio. It has not cracked, does not have any pitting, and no "pop-outs". Also I disagree with the statement that the sidewalk area that they replaced looks newer and better than the areas that they did not replace, I agree that the old sidewalk does not look as bright as the new one but there is minimal pitting, no cracking, no pop-outs and has lasted for at least 20 years. Also, all of the cracking and problems with the sidewalk happened prior to this past winter, with a new crack forming on one of the slabs by the backdoor over the last couple of weeks.

8/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 6/26/14 my neighbor had their roof repaired via Bald Eagle Construction. The company did not have my permission or a permit to stage their material or equipment on my property. This all started when one of his employees approached our home and requested we move our car. At some point a racial comment was made towards my wife. My wife was asked to move our car so they could work. Because there was no parking spaces readily available she was insulted with a racial slur. We addressed the issue with the owner and as of the date of this letter he continues to deny that a racial comment was stated by any of his representatives. Nevertheless, we feel that our punishment for not moving our car was for them to use our front lawn as a staging area for their work. I have shown the owner the photos in which included roofing material, tarps, ladders, and other material sitting in our front lawn. I have also sent him photos via text the resulting damage of the material being left in my lawn. The most damage was done to what the owner is referring to as city property. He is in denial that my lawn is starting to turn brown. It is evident that my lawn has been compromised and his opinion that it is minimal does not correct the damage. I intentionally did not tend to my lawn until the owner viewed it. He rudely walked away from this meeting without resolve. Of course he will not address the racial issue but, I feel that his stagnation to resolve this is motivated by them not addressing the racial comment made to my wife. The owner by the way is ***** ****. I am not seeking his opinion on how to repair my lawn. I want to be made whole which is to put my lawn in the state it was in prior to them doing work on my neighbors roof. I have also brought to ***** Woods attention that several tarps were attached to my house without my permission. I do not know the means of which they were attached. Due to the nature of racism playing a role in this whole incidence I have no confidence that the proper means were utilize to attach their material on my home.

Desired Settlement: I am only asking that a minimum of 2 reputable landscaping companies come and access the damages and make recommendations to put my lawn back to the state it was in prior to them damaging it. And if the repair incurs a cost Bald Eagle Construction cover the cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/04) */ Subsequent to our meeting with the complainant, we have visited their property multiple times to view the condition of their yard. The (1) area that did sustain damage (36" x 8" ) is actually on the city's property. We removed the damaged grass in this spot and applied grass seed. Subsequent to this we have returned to water the area multiple times. The grass in the 36" x 8" area is thick and healthy now. We asked the complainant's next door neighbor (our customer) to assist us with the watering as well as to alert us if there were any visible damage which might show up. The next door neighbor indicates that throughout this process the only damage was on the city's property. Through out all of this Bald Eagle Construction as well as the complainant's neighbor has periodically taken pictures of the yard. There has been no indication of damage to the complainant's property. However, Bald Eagle Construction welcomes the idea of the complainant contacting landscaping companies to come visit their yard. We look forward to reviewing the written reports/evaluations from reputable landscaping companies regarding their yard.