BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

SMS

Phone: (224) 676-7210Fax: (847) 808-2384

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

55 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues42
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints55

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (55)BBB Closure Definitions
03/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over 1 year ago a sales person came to our store front to offer their companies consulting services. We took their contact information and advised that we would be in touch if interested in their services. The owner decided that they were not interested in any services offered by said company. Then said company continued to call our office and ask for the owner. They called almost every day at first. Each time they claimed to be a different person when we advised them that they had called the day before a left a message. We advised them each time that we would call them back if interested and asked them to stop calling the office. There was no reasoning with the caller from said company so all we could do was say our peace and disconnect the call. Sometimes said company would disconnect the call first after becoming upset with multiple employees at our office for no reason. The calls became less and less, but still continued. About 2 or 3 weeks ago, the 'Senior Area Manager",***************** came to our store front. She claimed that she had a tentative appointment with the owner at 1 or 2 in the afternoon and she was still 2 hours early. Being the office manager, I spoke with her. I explained that the owner was not available and she admitted in a round-about way that she had not actually spoken to our owner and was just dropping in. I also advised her that another sales rep had visited our office some time ago and that we were not interested in any services at this time. I informed her that multiple people, using a local phone number had been calling our office constantly and we would just like them to stop. ****** informed me that her sales office in Buffalo Grove can be aggressive. And I explained again that all we want if for them to stop calling our office and taking up our time because they are frustrating us and being rude to the employees that answer the phone. She assured me that they would stop calling. I took ******'s information and advised her that IF we were ever interested that we could contact her. After that visit with ******, the "local" calls are still coming in. It is a waste of time and a bother for our office.

Desired Settlement
We want this company to cease all communication with our office. We are not interested in any services or products that they offer.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ClientSRV, LLC
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****************************
It appears there was miscommunication about the appointment set for January 25, 2015, for Ms. Seminario to meet with the owners of****** Industial (Avran). To ensure****** doesn't receive any more unannounced visits or phone calls from SMS, the number associated with this complaint, 559.651.3200, was placed on our internal Do Not Call list and blocked electronically. If Ms. **** would like further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX, extension XXXXX. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

02/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
One of this company's branches keeps calling my phone even though I have denied them each time and have requested they remove me from their database. They harass me now. They ask if they can help me and I say no. But then they continue to barrage me with questions even though I do not want their services. Please stop the harassment!

Desired Settlement
An email suggesting they will remove my company from their database.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****************************
SMS has directed that Mr. ******'s business telephone numbers be placed on our Internal Do Not Call list and an electronic block placed on those same numbers to prevent personnel from calling from our offices. These actions should prevent future telephone calls. If Mr. ****** happens to receive a call from SMS personnel in the future he should immediately contact my office at the telephone number listed below so that immediate corrective actions may be taken. SMS apologizes for any inconvenience caused by its personnel.

11/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*********** a Senior Area Manager for SMS called me on 11/10/2014 to solicit my business. I told him I was NOT interested in his service. He continued to ask questions and I finally had to hang up on him. Today 11/11/2014 he came to my office and told me that he needed to meet with me. I asked if he had an appointment and he said no. I told him I was NOT interested in a consultation and he refused to leave my office. I became concerned and left the office. He grabbed one of my business cards and I got my General Manger to escort him off the premises.

Desired Settlement
To make sure *********** never contacts my business again.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****************************
The SMS sales representative was attempting to inform the business owner about the services available to them through the consulting companies they represent. Unfortunately, his methodology was not appreciated at the time. SMS will place the business on its do not contact list so that they will not have a similar experience in the future.

10/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SMS was to provide a comprehensive analysis of our business and what I received was a glorified sales presentation with cookie cutter copies of business systems. The initial sales rep. promoted the services as payable upon the satisfactory completion of the analysis, but when the Analyst was complete with his sales pitch I was presented with an Invoice due! This company is a sham! they offer no functional analysis, no immediate benefits from the analysis or offer a clear direction, instead they try to hook you into another more expensive $12,000 analysis! Do Not give them the time of day.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the comprehensive analysis they advertised on the Survey Services questions and answers booklet they gave me or a full refund. I do not under any circumstances want another rep to call me or try to sell me more of there snake oil!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@clientsrv.com
Our review of the circumstances which caused Mr. ***** to contact the BBB indicate that there exists a misunderstanding as to the services which were to be provided. Mr. ***** expected us spend a day with his business partner before meeting with him and his wife on the 2nd day of the analysis. As it turned out the meeting with the analyst took place on the afternoon of the first day of the analysis. After reviewing the performance of the business it became apparent to the analyst that the second day would not be necessary. It would be unfair to discuss the particulars of what was discovered by the analyst in this forum. Since Mr. ***** was not available for most of the day and did not experience the interaction that occurred between the business analyst and his partner his opinion is understandable. The analyst did not demand payment for the services provided. He presented an invoice and a form that allowed for Non-Payment and asked Mr. ***** business partner to decide if they wanted to pay the small fee of $350.00 or not. A discussion between Mr. ***** and his partner took place out of the presence of the analyst. When Mr. ***** and his partner returned they told the analyst they would pay the fee. It is the policy of SMS to refund any survey fee where the client indicates they were not satisfied with the completion of the analysis. Mr. ***** will receive a refund of the $350.00 that he paid. SMS provides valuable analytical services to many small and medium sized privately held business throughtout the United States. In some cases the services that can be provided are inappropriate. Such was the case with Mr. ***** business. If Mr. ***** would care to contact SMS directly I am sure that any misunderstanding can be resolved.

08/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SMS (also doing business as GPS with the same address of****************** Buffalo Grove, Il 60089) sent a sales rep to our business around the 3rd quarter of 2011. During the meeting their BBB report was accessed and we advised them that due to the numerous complaints against their companies we were not interested in doing business with them. Since then they have made numerous attempts via phone and personal visits to meet with us. The most recent being 8/5/14 their company called to set up a meeting. I told them we are not interested and to take our name off their list. Today 8/6/14 at 2:53pm est a salesman from their company showed up on our door step claiming he has a meeting with the owner. These attempts have been going on 3 years now and some of their reps are rude. I would like to know how to stop them. While typing this at 3:42 SMS has called again stating that their director ********** wants to speak to ********** (co-owner of Dalton Truck Inc) They just don't quit.

Desired Settlement
We only want to be left alone

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ClientSRV
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@clientsrv.com
SMS-NA, LLC (SMS) is a marketing services provider for several companies. According to our records, an appointment was set for an SMS representative in 2011 to meet with the owners of Dalton Truck, Inc. (Dalton) to discuss the myriad of services that are available through their customers. One of them is GPS USA, Inc. who is a separate entity with a different place of business, and under different management.

It appears there was miscommunication about the appointment set for 8/6/14 for one of our representatives at Ms. *******' place of business. To ensure Dalton doesn't receive any more unannounced visits or phone calls from SMS, the number associated with this complaint, ************, was placed on our internal Do Not Call list and blocked electronically. If Ms. ******* would like further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX, extension XXXXX. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no confusion. Two letters addressed to bot SMS/GPS and all subsidiaries were given to them. One was mailed and the other personally handed their rep. The letter asked them to stop contacting us. If GPS is one of their companies but under a different management I want SMS to insure this information is passed ** to GPS. Add all of the following phone numbers to the SMS AND GPS DO NOT CALL LIST: XXX-XXX-XXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX. Anything short of this is NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Final Business Response
Once again, SMS is not GPS and other than as a client, GPS is not related to SMS. SMS operates a telemarketing center which makes appointments for its sales representatives. These same sales representatives also cold call on their own. If an appointment is generated for a consulting engagement it is provided to one of many consulting companies based on predetermined parameters that we have received from our clients. GPS is one of our clients. It is unfortunate that Ms. ******* has experienced rude behavior from a few of our personnel. We certainly do not condone rude behavior from any of our employees. We previously placed her telephone number on our Do Not Call list and electronically blocked the number. We will do the same with the numbers she now provides. Unless Ms. ******* remembers the name of the employee that offended her there is nothing more we can do at this time. We encourage Ms. ******* to use the telephone number that we previously provided and call us directly to discuss any further concerns she may have about our personnel or our attempts to provide our services. Our efforts should resolve this matter at this time.

Page 1 of 11
09/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A rep from SMS called and spoke with one of our owners. The call was terminated saying we had no need of the service, please don't call again. The following day a sales rep came to our office and flat out lied saying he had an appointment. We have asked politely. We have sternly requested. We have finally gotten to the point of yelling obscenities when SMS comes up on Caller ID and yet, the calls will not stop! We even called the corporate office in Buffalo Grove to ask that our name and number be removed, immediately, from their database. We were assured we would get no more calls. We got another call from them not more than two hours later. These vultures should not be in business, period!

Desired Settlement
The only reasonable settlement would be the outright termination of SMS as a business entity.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****************************
We apologize for exceeding the time limit preferred by the BBB. Our internal investigation revealed that we were contacted by someone at ************************** on six separate occasions on August 27. We contacted them on three separate occasions on that same date. Ms. ******** has a position at ************************** but we are unsure of her status. When we received her complaint about our representatives telephone calls we instructed our IT department to block access to the number she provided. We also directed that the telephone number be placed on our internal do not call list. Both of these procedures require a certain amount of time to be implemented. Ms. ******** should provide us with any other telephone numbers that she would like us to block and place on our do not call list. These actions should resolve her complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The only times we have EVER contacted SMS was to ask them to stop calling! This request has been made a multitude of times and has yet to be complied with. We do not now, nor have we ever, wished to do business with this company that relentlessly calls regardless of how many times we have requested they stop. The frequency of their calls are so out of contol that if SMS is seen on Caller ID, all office staff have been instructed to not answer the phone. Our first request that they stop calling was made WELL over a year ago! This is MORE than an adequate amount of time for them to comply.

Final Business Response
Per Mr. *******'s previous response, our computer records indicate three outbound calls and six inbound calls between SMS and ************************** on 8/27/2013. Also, as stated by Mr. *******, our IT department was instructed to block the phone number for ************************** so it could not be called from our system. A review today, 9/17/2013, indicates no calls have been completed in either direction since that time. If the goal of the complaint was to stop the calls to **************************, this seems to have been accomplished. We respectfully request to have this complaint marked resolved as there is nothing more to be done.

06/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
01/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Marketing Programs & Services, Telemarketing Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.