Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Multimedia Sales & Marketing, Inc.

Phone: (847) 919-1115 Fax: (847) 919-2115 View Additional Phone Numbers 251 Milwaukee Ave  Ste 200, Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 http://www.msminc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Multimedia Sales & Marketing, Inc. is a marketing company which sells community awareness and other advertising spots on local, regional, and national radio stations for companies such as non-profits, general contractors, trucking companies, tradespeople, wholesalers, and repair shops. Located in Buffalo Grove, IL, this company serves the greater Chicagoland area, including Libertyville, Rockford, Wheaton, Lake Villa, Lake Zurich, Vernon Hills, Mundelein, Highland Park, Schaumburg, Arlington Heights, Rolling Meadows, Prospect Heights, Barrington, Des Plaines, Evanston, Skokie, Waukegan, Naperville, Bolingbrook, Grayslake, Gurnee, Morton Grove, Carpentersville, Elgin, Roselle, Carol Stream, Lombard, Elk Grove Village, Franklin Park, Skokie, and Deerfield. The company has been in business since 2010 and has sold over 2,850,000 spots since its inception.

This company sells Community Awareness spots, which range from auto safety and drunk driving prevention to missing children and drug abuse prevention. These messages are aired on radio stations across the United States, but the company generally contacts businesses in the service area of the radio station first before moving further afield. Customers who buy the community awareness spots are generally general contractors, tradespeople, and wholesalers. Each spot is a custom-made 30-second spot which highlights the business and promotes them as an active community supporter. Campaigns generally last eight to ten weeks from the beginning of the sales call to the end of the spot's airing on the radio station.

Visit the website for Multimedia Sales & Marketing, Inc. to learn more about the company, read about the community awareness advertising spots, and contact the company to inquire about purchasing a spot.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Multimedia Sales & Marketing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Multimedia Sales & Marketing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Multimedia Sales & Marketing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 2001 Business started: 01/23/2001 in IL Business started locally: 01/23/2001 Business incorporated 12/15/1993 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Hughes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Hughes, President
Business Category

Marketing Programs & Services Advertising/Marketing Agencies Advertising - Radio Marketing Consultants Marketing Consulting Services (NAICS: 541613)

Alternate Business Names
MSM, Inc. Radio Station Billing Service

Additional Locations

  • 251 Milwaukee Ave
    Ste 200

    Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 (847) 919-1115 (800) 736-3446

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am not paying $340.00 for something I never agreed to. I am the Sole OWNER of this Business, Don't know a ************. I never signed any contract and I want this closed. I tried call the Law Office that sent a letter, nobody answers or returns any calls.

Desired Settlement: Quit Billing me for $340.00. Don't ever run any Ads for my company unless you have my Signiture on a contract

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/13) */ I am writing today in response to your complaint********** from Saddle Mountain Souvenir. Please allow me to take a moment to introduce my company and our mission. Since 2001**** has been working with local businesses nationwide to promote awareness of important community issues like Drunk Driving, Drug Abuse, Breast Cancer Awareness, Blood Donation and many others. We simply produce radio spots which contain positive messages that are sponsored by the local businesses and aired on local radio stations across the country. We have contracts with approximately 1300 radio stations nationwide, including some of the country's largest broadcast chains. In 2014, our company aired over 140,000 such messages which we feel made a real impression on the residents of the communities we serve. On August 13, 2014 a Ms. ************ authorized the purchase of 5 Military Tribute messages on behalf of Saddle Mountain Souvenir. These spots aired on WWHC Radio in September. On October 17th, 2014, Ms.******* called and tried to cancel her order but we had already provided the service and the spots had already aired. She asked for a duplicate invoice at that time. On December 12, 2014 we received a note from Mr. ********* stating "per our phone conversation, I never agreed to this ad and there is nobody by this name (Ms.*******) at this business. I am the sole owner." However, as part of our quality control process, after a sale is made, our Customer Service Department routinely calls customers back to verify the purchase. This is done on a recorded line with the customer's permission. In the case of Saddle Mountain Souvenir, we have Ms.******* authorizing the purchase, verifying all of the order parameters, and stating quite clearly that she is the co-owner of the business. She then gives her final approval for the order to be processed. I am not certain why Ms.******* claims that this purchase was not authorized when her authorization is on tape or why Mr. ********* claims to be the sole owner when Ms.******* clearly refers to herself as a co-owner. I am certain, however, that our company followed all of the necessary protocols to ensure this order was authorized and processed properly. Since the customer did not attempt to cancel their order until after the spots were broadcast, thereby incurring substantial expense on our part, we must insist on payment for the open invoice for $340.00. Thank you for allowing me to reply to this complaint. Regards, ************** President Multimedia Sales & Marketing, Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again as I told you before there is no Ms. ************ with my company. I don't know who you spoke to. If you check on my business with the state of West Virginia you will se I am the sole owner of this company and have been since my divorce in 2009. So unless you have my voice on your recording confirming this purchase as the Sole Owner I am not paying for it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/16) */ Our Customer Service Manager, *************** has been in touch with Mr. ********* a couple of times since the original notice. From our side we believe the matter is settled and Mr. ********* has agreed to pay $170 toward his balance. We will write off the remaining balance once we receive payment. I assume the customer's response above was sent prior to our settlement agreement. We appreciate Mr. *********'s cooperation.

9/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was under the impression I was working with an area radio station. The name of the person who contacted me was **********. In each call he told me that he was the marketing director/station manager for WIBN in oxford Indiana. A direct Rep from the same radio station visited me today. She informed me that This person was not an employee of the radio station and that I had paid 4 times their advertising rate. ********** is a direct employee of a marketing company acting as an agent. This was deceptive because he portrayed himself as someone he wasn't. To my best knowledge this is not accepted practice and that as consumers we have rights and protection from this kind of deceptive practice. Product_Or_Service: advertisement Order_Number: XXXXXX, plus two oth

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a full refund of any monies I have spent to this date and relief from any current billings. My business sells over the phone also. Those who cheat need to be held accountable

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/26) */ I am writing today in response to your complaint #XXXXXXXX. Please allow me to take a moment to introduce my company and our mission. Since 2001 MSM has been working with local businesses nationwide to promote awareness of important community issues like Drunk Driving, Drug Abuse, Breast Cancer Awareness, Blood Donation and many others. We simply produce radio spots which contain positive messages that are sponsored by the local businesses and aired on local radio stations across the country. We have contracts with approximately 1300 radio stations nationwide, including some of the country's largest broadcast chains. In 2013, our company aired over 40,000 such messages which we feel made a real impression on the residents of the communities we serve. The MSM sales representative on this account, Mr. *********** has been with MSM since its inception and has the distinction of never having generated a single complaint in his 14 year history with the company. Mr. ***** has a well-known reputation as a low-key, honest sale representative, and since almost all of his sales come from his long-standing repeat customers, his customer must agree. In addition to a successful career with our company, Mr. ***** has had an extensive on-air broadcast history. To that end Mr. ***** sounds like a radio personality. It is strictly against company policy for any representative to give a customer the impression that he or she is directly affiliated with the radio station beyond the contractual arrangement we have with them. Mr. ***** has never been accused of violating this policy. Unfortunately we cannot control what Mr. ****** perceived during this and previous sales calls, we can only go by Mr. *****'s years of quality service and training. Additionally, I believe that the local sales representative for the radio station may have over- exaggerated as his claim does not take into consideration MSM's cost to process/produce such a small order - thus instigating the cancelation with a previously satisfied customer. After all, we believe our customers purchase our programs based on their belief in a worthwhile cause, not on where the sales rep is calling from. Regardless of how Mr. ****** arrived at his decision to cancel his order, it is always our desire to maintain customer satisfaction both with the sponsors and the radio stations. As such, we have already cancelled the existing current order and initiated a refund of Mr. ******'s previous two payments. We are sorry to lose Mr. ******'s support, but we will delete his name from our database so that he is not contacted for future community safety campaigns. If Mr. ****** would like to contact me directly, I am always available at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Regards, ****** ******, President Multimedia Sales & Marketing, Inc.

12/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My office was contacted via phone about them wanting to do a radio ad for a blood driver after the super-storm sandy incident. They were told approval would have to come from me. I called them on the same number then called me from and left a message for them to cancel any ads I did not want the service. Next thing I know they send me a bill. It was sent back with 'cancelled' on it. Now they keep sending me bills saying they will proceed with whatever action is necessary to recover the balance - I GOT NO SERVICE FROM THEM!!!

Desired Settlement: Stop them from claiming this bill is legitimate - no service was ever done for my company PERIOD. I am on the verge of contacting a lawyer myself for harassment and threats against my company's good name!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/15) */ Contact Name and Title:*************** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@msminc.com I am writing today in response to your complaint #XXXXXXXX for Pick My Gifts. Please allow me to take a moment to introduce my company and our mission. Since 2001 MSM has been working with local businesses nationwide to promote awareness of important community issues like Drunk Driving, Drug Abuse, Breast Cancer Awareness, Blood Donation and many others. We simply produce radio spots which contain positive messages that are sponsored by the local businesses and aired on local radio stations across the country. We have contracts with approximately 1300 radio stations nationwide, including some of the country's largest broadcast chains. In 2012, our company aired over 40,000 such messages which we feel made a real impression on the residents of the communities we serve. According to our records, our sales representative sold this radio message to Pick My Gifts on X-XX-XX and the message was broadcast on 6-21-13. Our first attempted collection call to the customer was on X-XX-XX when a voicemail message was left. No attempt at cancellation or notification of cancellation was received by our office until XX-X-XXXX when the customer sent back our past due notice with a note stating "this was cancelled, no service read." This was received after the messages had already aired. One of our Customer Service Representatives called the customer that day but had to leave another voice mail message. Starting again on XX-XX-XX another representative attempted to contact the customer but the customer would pick up the phone and then hang it up without talking. This happened several times since with the last call made on 12-3-13. Please note that any time a customer cancels their order they are given a control number to confirm receipt of the cancellation. Since this customer would not communicate with us we were never able to discuss the order or the cancellation. We have never spoken with this customer nor did we ever receive a phone call or letter from the customer requesting this to be cancelled. Our company exists to improve communities, not to create animosity. Overall our processes exist to ensure that errors or miscommunication are rare. That being said, we are not always perfect. I have instructed our Customer Service Department to cease contacting this customer. The open balance for this customer was written off and they have been removed from our database so they cannot be called again for future community programs. I apologize for any inconvenience this misunderstanding has caused. We will use this event to better educate our customer service personnel. Please let me know what else we can do to resolve this issue. Thank you. ****** ******, President MSM, Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Multimedia Sales & Marketing, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)