This business is not BBB accredited.

Armaclad Windows & Doors, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 446-7800 Fax: (773) 446-7820 4422 W 46th St, Chicago, IL 60632 http://www.armacladwindows.com ! There is an alert on Armaclad Windows & Doors, LLC !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Armaclad Windows & Doors, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 17, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1874 Business started locally: 01/01/1874 Business incorporated 05/23/2007 in
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mike Celmer, VP Marketing Mr. Ronald Spielman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Celmer, VP Marketing
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Doors - Vinyl Windows All Other Miscellaneous Manufacturing (NAICS: 339999)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    361 Country Club Drive

    Bensenville, IL 60106

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4422 W 46th St

    Chicago, IL 60632 (773) 446-7800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased Armaclad windows in July, 2011 from *** Exterior in Lombard, IL. They were installed in November 2011. At the time of installation there was a broken window that had to be replaced. Within months, the veneer was peeling on 7 windows. They had to come out and fix but had the wrong product so we had to wait and have them come out again. We have had them out to replace faulty windows twice since then. Each time we have to call and call and call and do not get a response. We have been dealing with *** Exterior but the windows are guaranteed by Armaclad. In July of this year I called because we found 2 more faulty windows. In September after multiple calls from us) *** sent someone out to look at and measure the windows. We still have not heard from anyone and I have left messages. Today we discovered another faulty window. I went to the Armaclad website to contact them since *** never returns my calls and found out that they are closed. These windows were supposedly guaranteed for life. Product_Or_Service: Windows

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Do we have any recourse? The company who made the windows is closed and we aren't getting any response from DNS.The windows were $15,000.Thank you,***** *******

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vinyl frames of windows provided do not retain color when exposed to sun. Frames are almond in color and change to grey when exposed to sun. Company changed five of eleven windows after original installation in 2009. The replaced windows are currently changing to a grey color. I contacted Armaclad Windows in October 2013 and was in discussions with the Customer Service Dept. until May of 2014 with no offer from the company to comply with their lifetime warranty. In May of 2014 the company indicated the individual whom I was in contact with the company had left the company and they did not have a file on my complaint. I contacted the Manager of the Dept. and left phone messages to call me and he has not returned my call. Because the company will not honor their warranty I would like full repayment of my cost for al the 11 windows purchased as there is no gurantee that they all will not change color in the future.

Desired Settlement: Refund of original purchase price of $11000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/27) */ I do not know who Mr. ****** attempted to contact at Armaclad. I checked with all possible supervisors and none can either recall or have any records of his contacting Armaclad. The windows in question were sold and installed by Republic West in Phoenix, Arizona and not directly by Armaclad. There are many reason a PVC window may discolor or fade over time. One of these reasons is direct exposure to UV from the sun, another is effects of cleaners that may have been used on the house (such as various siding cleaners). Once the cleaner is on the window frame(s), it can cause the surface to fade or discolor. These, along with other causes, are the reasons no manufacturer of vinyl windows will warranty their products against fading or discoloration. No where in the Armaclad Product Warranty does it state that the product is warranted against fading or discoloration. While we sympathize with Mr. ******, Armaclad is in no way responsible for reimbursement or replacement on a non-warranted item. I would be happy to send Mr. ****** a copy of our Product Warranty for his review. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I made contact with ***** In Customer Services at Armaclad on October 22 and 23, 2013 and gave him the information on the history of the 11 windows I purchased through Republic West which was that the windows were purchased in 2010 and six of them replaced in late 2011. The new windows were now showing discoloration the same as the original windows. He wanted to look for the order at Armaclad and said he would call back on October 25, 2013. I did not receive that call and called him the week of October 27, 2013. He had not found the order and said he would continue looking. I called back the first week of November and there was no new information. I then spoke with ******** supervisor **** ******** and he said ***** had told him about our issue and asked me to look on the windows in our home for a sticker with the Job #. I did this and called ***** with the information on a sticker I found on two windows. The Job # was 4475PR2. I contacted ***** on November 8, 2013 to find out what he had discovered at Armaclad and he indicated he had found the original order for the 11 windows and found that six windows had been replaced . I told him that in addition to the six windows that had been replaced which were now showing signs of discoloration one other unit was also discolored that had not been replaced. I indicated that I wanted all the windows replaced. He indicated he would call me back in a few minutes. I did not receive any return call. I called ***** on November 13, 2013 and he indicated he would talk to his supervisor, **** ******** and call me in a few minutes. ***** left a message on my phone that said he was in communication with the vinyl vendor to determine if they would pay for new windows or repaint them. I spoke with ***** on November 15,2013 and he indicated an associate of his was in contact with the vinyl supplier of the material used in our windows asking them if they would replace the windows. They do not currently use this supplier and use a different vinyl in their current window line. ***** indicated that our current windows are Encore Insulmax product line. I called **** ******** at Armaclad on November 20 and left a message for him to get back to me on what the resolution to the issue of discoloration was going to be handled. As of 12/4/2013 he has not returned my call. I called the sales dept of Armaclad and talked to *** ***** (Cell XXX-XXX-XXXX) who has been with the company for 22 years and he said the windows have a lifetime warranty for everything. Their website also says this. I talked to another person at Armaclad (I did not get the name) on 12/3/2013 and he repeated the there was a lifetime warranty except for painted products which have only a 10 year warranty on the paint. I called ***** on 12/3/2013 and said I was disappointed with the customer support I was getting and he said he had to check with the other employee who was going to contact the vinyl vendor to see if they would pay for the windows. He had not followed up in the last three weeks with this other employee. I called ***** the last week of December 2013 and he said he would call back on January 2, 2014. I called Armaclad on April 1, 2014 at 12:15 and requested ***** and they said he no longer works at the company. I talked to ******** who works in the customer service department and she said she did not have a file on me but she would look for it and call me back. ******** did not call me back so I contacted her on April 11, 2014 and she said that they did not have a file and she would send an email to **** ******** to call me which he never did. I contacted Armaclad on 4/18/2014 to talk to **** ****** who is **** ********'s manager. He was not at his desk. He is Vice President of Armaclad. I contacted Amaclad in late April and talked to ******** and she said I would have to deal with **** ********. I contacted **** ******** on May 6 and left a message for him to call me. He never called back. A company that says they can find no record of me contacting them with the information I am providing above should not be listed as a reputable business with the BBB.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Armaclad Windows & Doors, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart