Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hometown America Management, LLC

Phone: (312) 604-7500 Fax: (312) 604-7501 View Additional Phone Numbers 150 N Wacker Dr  #2800, Chicago, IL 60606 http://www.hometownamerica.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hometown America Management, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hometown America Management, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hometown America Management, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 2003 Business started: 10/01/1997 Business started locally: 10/01/1997 Business incorporated 08/18/2005 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Tracy Puchalski, Adm Services Manager Mr. Stephen H Braun, Co-President / COO Mr. Patrick C Zilis, Co-President / CIO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tracy Puchalski, Adm Services Manager
Business Category

Manufactured Home Dealers Real Estate Home Builders Manufactured (Mobile) Home Dealers (NAICS: 453930)

Alternate Business Names
Hometown America Hometown American Communities Hometown Homes HTA Management LLC

Additional Locations

  • 150 N Wacker Dr
    #2800

    Chicago, IL 60606 (312) 604-7500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My problem is.... we purchased a brand new manufactured home going on 4 months ago. The home was not cleaned when we closed on it (as it should've been). We were told everything we requested would be honored. Now... not so much. There are still outstanding punch list items that haven't been completed. It's next to impossible to get any timely responses, updates or.... solid time frame on having this work completed. We haven't moved any of our furniture in. We are still on air mattresses awaiting the completion of work to be done. They sent people out sometime back. Some of the work was completed, but... not all of it. In addition to the unfinished work they left behind, they created more damage to areas of the home when working in/on the home. It has been a nightmare to say the least. We were told at closing.... the shed we wanted wouldn't be an issue. "Wed get something we were happy with". Not the case, like so many other things "we were told". Now... we are having to wait for a clearance from the HOA. We had to do an application, waited on a variance-surveyor. Now... looking like they won't even get it to the Board until February. That will put us at 6 months probably still not fully moved in, because.... no one is jumping to get any of this work completed. It's not fair and... has been a gross inconvenience to us all the way around. We were not told at closing when our money was being collected that we'd have to go through all of these fire hoops to get the work completed or shed put up. We are in the process of working with the attorney general in Indiana for the issues with the manufacturer of the home, as they too haven't been overly accommodating either. It shouldn't take all of this work on the consumers part to make what's wrong right and... have the agents back up what comes out of their mouths. I've spoken to Tara ******* (from their home office), Krista and.... now Patti ****** from the community office where we bought. Still.... we wait.... for a fair resolve for all of the inconvenience and unfair practice of this company. We've had neighbors advise us to withhold the ground rent till they get things right. We havent! We were also informed that if ground rents arent paid on time, they send out nasty letters. I can imagine... the mear idea that anyone wouldn't pay for services??? Kinda the way we feel. We are 'continuously paying' our bills 'in a timely manner', but.... our needs and work that needs to be completed are put on hold? Why?? I informed them I was going in for foot surgery just about 6 weeks ago and.... explained how hard it was going to be for me to get up off the floor from the air mattress, in hopes that would motivate them. The still didn't get the work complete, so I could move my bed in . I suffered for 4 weeks getting up and down from the air mattresses with my operated on foot and crutches during the 3 days we spend every week there, until we can fully move in. In addition.... it is costing me $220 a month to store my furniture, until we can move. Not to mention the extra rent of $800 a month on top of our mortgage and ground rent in DE we are having to pay in MD until we can fully move in.

Desired Settlement: Either get everything adaquately completed (in a timely manner) or.... give us the cost of the work to be done off of the price of the home (a credit, ... a check to use to get things done), so we can hire 'professionals' to come in and complete the work. So..... we can get moved in. It's been enough time to make all of this right! Let's just get it done and move on!

Business Response:

Hometown America is actively working to resolve this issue with the resident. We have kept in contact with the homeowner and will continue to do so until we have reached mutual agreement and resolution.

Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

10/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being charged for using more water than they estimate you can use. I went to the office and they said that the meter reading is correct and that according to the meter I have already used over the amount for this month, I am alone here and I buy my drinking water. I take shower not bath, lately I don't even water the plants. This is an abuse because if the maintenance person was supposedly here he could have talked to me and maybe tell me is there is a leak although the plumbing has been restored as well as the toilets replaced and redone. It is terrible you buy a home here and according to them they have to bring it up to market value which means if when you buy the lot rent is 466.00 in January instead of a 1-5% aprox. $20.00 it will be $152.00, it s ncredible and abusive. The government should have control of this kind of increase, specially in the elderly. I live on a fixed income from SS, I am a widow and have no other income. I appreciate your help.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the BBB to look into this matter not only for my sake but for the other elderly people that live here which I am sure that they have issues too. I want his resolved, thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/10/14) */ Community management and maintenance visited the resident's home and discovered her water meter to be faulty. The water meter is scheduled to be replaced and the additional water charges were credited to her account. Regarding the lot rent, the resident was made aware before signing her contract that the lot rent she assumed from the previous owner, $466, would increase at the end of the term (12/31/2015) to current market rents. You'll find that **************** Club's market rents are in line with other premium manufactured home communities in the Orlando area.

10/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales rep ***** at oak point lied to me from the very beginning in order to sell me a home. They took my money with a promise that I would have my home within four months. They knew this was never going to happen and I have all of the proof to back this up. They sold me a Stockbridge home and on the day of signing I had some issues about the home and they said that the punch list that they created would be taken care of and that never end happened It took them 11months to get me a missing shutter and to fix a water issue concerning the fireplace and they still did not finish the kitchen closet and numerous other things. The issues concerning this home and personal abuse would take more space then you are providing. I have asked for ratification and I honestly believe they think this is a joke. People need to be aware of this company, they scam.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back and for them to own up to what they have done

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/10/08) */ Hometown America sincerely regrets any inconvenience that arose during the installation of the new home. Hometown America has addressed the issues raised by the resident by arranging a meeting with the Regional Manager. Since that meeting, the resident has closed on the purchase of a home and continues to reside in**********. Any new issues that may arise going forward can be addressed directly with the community manager.

8/11/2015 Delivery Issues
12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 31, 2014 / water heat broke. Replacement of water pressure regulator cost $250.00 paid on my ******** card. At time of replacement didn't know this was parks reponsibility. PSI was running over 100 pounds of water pressure thru my lines. My water heater had broke that morning when new one was put in plumber showed me the pressure gauge which was well over 100. Advised that this could cause the new water heater to go out or additional pipe damage within my home. I made the decision to replace the pressure gauge and turn in my invoice to the property manager. After 3 weeks of me calling I was told that they are not willing to refund all or partial because they don't know if it was actually broke. So now I'm being called a liar - I would understand if they would be willing to split the cost with me or reimburse what it would have cost them. Just work with me. My space rent goes up every year and I honestly don't know what it's paying for. Movies once a month or bingo - really. It's gotten to a point where I'd almost be willing to sell my house and go back to renting because in the long run it may be less expensive. In 7 years I've never bothered the office and the one time I actually need them I get the run around from everyone. This is such poor service to me as a resident. Not to mention the people working in that office no nothing. Please help

Desired Settlement: $250 cost of the part or a partial refund to show they actually care about the residents of the park.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Regional Asst Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@hometownamerica.net ***** ***** ******* has a very specific and responsive way of dealing with water emergencies. Ms. ****** called the emergency line and our maintenance person was at her home within 15 minutes of her initial call. When we realized that the issue is with her water heater, we recommended that she call a plumber as soon as possible. The plumber then claimed that an additional repair was needed and Ms. ****** did not communicate this information to the office before making the decision to authorize the repair. We are unable to confirm the validity of the plumber and his claim as nothing was communicated to the office regarding this problem. All residents are notified on a regular basis as to what is their responsibility and what we take care of. The manager at ***** tried to speak to Ms. ****** to follow-up on the repair and she was verbally abusive and not willing to speak in civil manner with our office staff. It has been determined that this was an unauthorized repair and will not be reimbursed.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filled out a form, which was required in April to have my sprinklers repaired. I continually had to go to the office to ask when were they going to be repaired, because no one would return my calls concerning this matter. Someone from *** landscaping finally came on May 28,2014. He stated to me that management said the sprinklers weren't damaged because of the snow plow they used, but because the sprinklers were old. He went out to the sprinklers, came back and said they had already been repaired & another landscaper's truck probably damaged it. He didn't know that i had used the sprinklers, even though one of them didn't work at all & the other two worked a little, even though water continually ran down the street. I had to water my grass because fertilizer & seed had been put down. How could anyone have come out to repair the sprinklers without me turning them on so that they could see where the damaged was. He stated to me that he would repair them as a courtesy, but his boss wouldn't like it if he knew about it. He was out front for awhile & then he just left. When i turned on the sprinklers only one was working. I reported all this to ****** ******* Community/sales manager, who stated to me that this was not true & that he would call the landscaping coming so that they could come back & fix the other two. I have called repeatedly & have also gone to the office. Was told he had received my message & that the owner was sick, but i was still on the list with other people who also needed theirs repaired also. On july 17, 2014 i called to inquire about the delay in fixing the sprinklers. **** ******** Activities Director/Ass't Mgr. stated that ****** had talked to the landscaper & he said it was fixed. I was told that i needed to call the landscaper & get the problem resolved. If i couldn't resolve it with them, to give them a call back. My question is "Why all of a sudden it's my problem" They chose to hire this company & i think Hometown America should resolve this problem. I also took pictures of the damage that was done, during the snow storm. I am a senior citizen & also an outpatient at a cancer center. I have enough stress in my life. If you can help me, i would greatly appreciated your help.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to replace or repair the remaining two sprinklers that were damaged during the snow storm.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* RM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@hometownamerica.com There was a miscommunication between the vendor, resident and office; once this was brought to HTA's attention all repairs were completed within 24 hours to resident's satisfaction.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved out to Oak Point, Middleboro, MA which is a 55+ community in August of 2006.The community is about 14 years old.We purchased a brand new Marlette Modular Home and paid $306,000.We purchased the home from Saxon Partners which were bought out by Hometown America a couple of years ago. On 12/28/2013, we had a terrible rain storm here in Middleboro, MA.We went into the master bathroom and noticed that 3 leaks had started to form on the ceiling.We then noticed another leak in the master bedroom. On 1/6/2014, we had another storm and a new leak started in the guest bedroom closet. In the last couple of months the house directly across the street also had to have a new roof put on and the house across from them had to have a 1/2 roof put on during the summer.They are in the same phase (6) as we are. When driving up our street, there are 3 more homes that have had to put new roofs on. These houses are all under 11 years old.Our shingles were guaranteed for 25 years under normal wear and tear. On 12/30/2013, our contractor told us that the workmanship of the roof was done very poorly and that we were going to need a new roof.The price was was going to be $11,250. We then called Marlette's Service Line and were told that the roof was only guaranteed for 5 years and that I (******* *****) needed to contact the Shingles Company, GAF Warranty, where I proceeded to file a claim. My husband (******* *****) went on 1/6/2014 and asked Hometown for the amount of shingles that were on the roof for the GAF Claim.He called Marlette and Hometown has still not received an answer as to this question. On 1/7/2014, ******* ****** Insurance, (our homeowner's insurance company), came with an Inspector/Estimator to look at the roof and let us know if we could put in a claim for the roof. The Inspectors findings are as follows: "All shingles were observed intact and accounted for with no direct physical storm or single catastrophic causing damage.Preexisting mechanical marring was observed due to the initial roofs application where traffic (footfall), maneuvering of equipment, materials and/or staging had caused these cosmetic blemishes.Although not uncommon, these markings were not found to of affected the shingles ability to shed water but may have compromised the shingles longevity for the full 25 years. Repairs with unknown origin were performed both previous and more recent with different type sealants as indicated on the attached photos provided. With no real available attic access it is unknown as to the exact origin to the uniform pattern of circular water spots first observed within the home but is my opinion is plausible that either lacking ventilation and/or seepage along the vent pipe boot flange may have occurred."Since getting this information from ******* ****** we feel that it would be dishonest to file a claim with GAF because there wasn't anything wrong with the shingles.It is clearly the workmanship of Oak Point that has caused these problems. On 1/9/2014, ***** *****, went and spoke to Hometown.He told him what was happening in the house and if they wanted to see the damage before the roof was repaired that now was the time.He said that we needed to contact Marlette. Marlette is saying still that it is not their problem. On 1/9/2014, Hometown sent someone down to look at the roof.At first he said the leak was around the vent pipe in the master bathroom.We explained that we had already fixed that once in the last few weeks and it didn't take care of the problem.He then said "when the houses come in they have wrapping paper on them.They are held on by staples and sometimes the the staples get left behind when the plastic is taken off sometimes causing problems." I have all the paperwork mentioned and would be happy to forward it to you if you would like to see it.No one at any time purchases a new home and expects to have to pay for a big ticket item such as a roof or any other repair at such an early stage.

Desired Settlement: We purchased the home from Saxon. We gave them the check. There were no separate payments for anyone. There was one lump sum and it was made out to Oak Point. We feel that even though Saxon is no longer the owners that Hometown basically inherited what Oak Point did before Hometown took it over. With that said, we feel that Hometown is now responsible for reimbursement of a roof that is only 7 years old. That is approximately 1/4 of the life of the roof that we should have received if installation was done properly on a 25 year roof. We would like a response to our request of reimbursement for $12,174.23, $11,250 for roof and $924.23 for damage to ceilings

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/22) */ Please see attached response letter. Final Consumer Response /* (4252, 11, 2014/01/27) */ Fwd: BBB Complaint Case# 94485562 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) 1 message ******* ***** <**********@gmail.com> Fri, Jan 24, 2014 at 3:36 PM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org We would be willing to go/pay to Arbitration. I am unable to fill in the YES button or figure out how to send this back. Please let me know if you receive this. Thank you in advance. ******* & ******* ***** ------------------------------------------------- 1/29/14 info from consumer: We have recently received a letter from the contractor who put the new roof on. Please see below: January 29, 2014 To Whom It May Concern: In my professional opinion, the shingles on the roof were worn. This was not due to physical weather conditions, but rather, application and traffic on the roof during the application process. It appears that some of the wear spots and cracks were filled in with some form of sealer. Sincerely, ***** M. ******** (construction supervisor XXXXXX) Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/23) */ The facts of the complaint and our attached response were reviewed by both Regional and Corporate staff and accurately reflect Hometown Americas position and we consider this matter closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hometown America Management, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)