This business is not BBB accredited.

Bennett Brothers, Inc.

Phone: (312) 263-4800 Fax: (312) 621-1669 View Additional Phone Numbers 30 E Adams St STE 700, Chicago, IL 60603 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bennett Brothers, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

51 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 44
Total Closed Complaints 51

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bennett Brothers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1962 Business started: 01/01/1906 Business started locally: 01/01/1906 Business incorporated 06/01/1994 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. George O. Bennett, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George O. Bennett, Chairman
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Fulfillment Services Business Services - General Mail-Order Houses (NAICS: 454113)

Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations


    30 E Adams St STE 700

    Chicago, IL 60603 (312) 263-4800 (312) 621-1630 (312) 621-1600 (800) 621-2626


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/7/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2014 Delivery Issues
7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Delivery Issues
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** is the order # , it was a gift from a customer so i dont know exactly what he paid

Desired Settlement: i just want what is mine

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ This order will ship tomorrow from our warehouse and arrive at the customer in 2 too 3 days. Thank you.

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased************ ********* PORTABLE DVD PLAYER WITH HEADREST MOUNT -$150) via there website on 1/3/14. On 2/1/14, I received an email stating the item I ordered was temporarily out of stock. I never received the item or a refund for the item. I have been trying to contact a representative from this company for over two months now. I have tried contacting them via phone, email, fax, and their website contact form. I have not once received a response. According to the Better Business Bureau there have been at least 293 complaints filed against this company in the last 3 years for the exact same complaint. They take your money and never send you what you pay for.

Desired Settlement: I would like the item I ordered or the option to select a different item that will be shipped to me immediately, or a full refund of $150.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ The ******** portable DVD player with headrest mount will ship next week to arrive between April 16th and April 19th.

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/18/13 redeemed gift item online with confirmation. ************* phone digital 6.0 cordless answer machine. 10/10/13 call and email was not returned. December call and email also no reply received . Status **************************** shows item requested 8/18/13 at this time. I am unable to reach them. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I would like the cordless answering phone As requested.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/04) */ This order is now being processed and will ship next week. The package should deliver to the customer between April 10-15. Thank you.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband (who is incarcerated) ordered a watch in Feb. 2012 and they stated the watch was discontinued and he would get a replacement watch. He has not received a replacement watch nor a refund. I have tried calling and leaving emails and my phone calls have not been returned. He is not able to do much due to his incarceration but I am that is why I am filing this complaint for him.

Desired Settlement: My husband would like a refund or a replacement watch.

Business Response: ****************************************************************************************************************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never mentioned my husbands name or the correctional facility he is at. How are you suppose to send out a check if you don't have this information. Where is the check being mailed to me or him? Please contact me **************** Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/09) */ Here is the information/address that the $75.00 refund check was mailed to on April 8, 2014: ********************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/04/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 40 gift books *************************************************************************************************************************************to be given to employees. No merchandise has been received ****** certificates that were issued to employees and redeemed. I ordered the second order because I did not know the employees were not receiving their gifts. There are still*** unredeemed catalogs, which I do not believe the company will make good on. *************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: Altogether I have purchased 50 gift booklets since June 2012 ($2500). Since Bennett Brothers, through the Choose-Your-Gift program has failed to deliver the goods to a number of employees, have not returned my phone messages or e-mails, and have continued to sell the gift catalogs and collect money through the purchase card, under what I perceive to be fraudulent pretense, I would like to request that they refund the government agency $1700 for 11 gifts not delivered and 23 catalogs not redeemed.(34 x $50 = $1700) If they have not made good on the 11 catalogs redeemed, I do not believe they will make good on the other 23 and I therefore request the refund.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Booklet **************************************** ********** (razor) was offered as replacement for original item selected ******* which was also never available. Not answering customer service emails or phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Either the razor I selected or the $100 which was supposed to be the employer award value.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1001, 15, 2014/03/18) */ This redemption shipped to the recipient ****************** Please allow a few days for delivery. Thank you. Consumer Response /* (450, 17, 2014/03/21) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Fulfillment at this point was very surprising. Thanks to someone for this.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: All email correspondences have been with Bennett Bros. employees (3 cases): ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: In summary, I want a full refund for all these cases to be settled, so that amount is: $2,100. I also have another unused catalog (****************************************************** an employee does not want to use because of all these issues we currently have with this company. I want to ask for a refund on this catalog as well, which will make the 'New' total refund to $2,350.

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January of 2013 I placed an order with ******* Brothers, Inc. The order was for an expandable luggage set through their *** level gift catalog. The Gift Catalog was purchased for me by my ******** at a cost of *******. After the order was placed, I received an email on January 19, 2013 stating that the item was on backorder and I would be notified when it is in stock and ready for shipment. The email stated that they expected the item to arrive in the next 30 days. I have contacted the company several times via telephone and email. The telephone calls are never answered. The early emails were replied to and stated that they will check on the status of the order and get back with me. I have not received a reply to any email sent to the company since March 5, 2013.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like to receive the item that was ordered, or be offered a replacement item at an equal value.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ The customers order is shipping this week and should arrive in a few days. We apologize for this delay. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: $50 choose your gift booklets - Certificate numbers redeemed and not delivered: *********************************************************** Employees have tried to correspond with the company. Calling we get no answers. They do not answer emails. We have 3 booklets that we are afraid to use. There may be others who have no received their orders that have not complained to us yet.

Desired Settlement: We want refunds for the certificates that have not been used and also for those that were redeemed and gifts were not delivered.

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 15, 2013/12/16) */ These 2 last orders are shipping this week. Please allow a few days for delivery.

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bennett Brothers, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)