Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

ABC Distributing

Phone: (847) 295-5501 Fax: (847) 236-3599 View Additional Phone Numbers 2800 Lakeside Dr, Bannockburn, IL 60015 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.abcdistributing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ABC Distributing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Complaint Information

ABC Distributing has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, please contact a member of the company's Executive Service Team, directly at 847-615-7310.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ABC Distributing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2005 Business started: 03/01/1962 Business started locally: 03/01/1962 Business incorporated 01/24/2003 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Pat Blumenthal, Manager of Contact Center Yana Schneerson, Ecommerce Customer Support Specialist Erica Tellez, Contact Center Social Media & Sale Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Pat Blumenthal, Manager of Contact Center
Customer Contact: Yana Schneerson, Ecommerce Customer Support Specialist
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Internet Shopping Mail-Order Houses (NAICS: 454113)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2800 Lakeside Dr

    Bannockburn, IL 60015 (847) 604-7648 (847) 615-7326 (847) 295-5501

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After placing my order using my ****** account, the incorrect shipping address was entered. I called right away and was told to call an hour later. I called an hour later and was told to call 2 hours later. I called 2 hours later and was told to call 4 hours later! The mistake was not mine, and they continue to ask me to call them to see if the order shows up on their computer system because I made the order online? I should be able to enter a shipping address, no matter the payment option used and it stay the same. AND I should be able to call ONE time to correct the information necessary. Not very good customer service!

Desired Settlement: I would request that they fix the issue with the shipping address when using ****** payment options, and request that they create a way to change the shipping address when a customer calls the first time. I should not need to call 4+ times to change the shipping address!

Business Response: *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is getting ridiculous! One of the three items was shipped BUT the other two have NOT! I do not appreciate being accused of lying AGAIN! AND would prefer to not have anything further to do with this matter! I think people should know through the BBB what kind of business this really is. Accusing customers of lying, as well as making statements about an order status that is simply not true! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/23) */ *********************************************************************************** Please accept our sincerest apology. My attempt to reach you on 12/20/13 was unsuccessful. Per the conversation with the Specialist on 12/12/13 you did advise you had received your shipment on 12/12/13 and indicated the shipment was supposed to be shipped to your parent's house. The specialist did explain prior to placing the order the necessary changes needed to be made if the shipping address is going to be different. It was also explained in the previous response as well. The specialist did make an attempt to refund the shipping for the inconvenience you had experienced and you did advise back at first you did want the refund for shipping because you would have to send the shipment to the correct address, but then you indicated you did not want the shipping and were planning to go through ****** to get a full refund. The first shipment was delivered on 12/12/13 via tracking number ******************. The second shipment shipped out on 12/19/13 via tracking number ******************and has a scheduled delivery date of 12/24/13. You can track the status of the order on *********** We will honor your request to stop sending catalogs. You may continue to receive catalogs until our current mailing cycle has expired. Our company does purchase catalog mailing lists from outside sources. If your name appears on one of the lists received, additional catalogs may be sent. To be removed from all catalog mailing lists please write to: *********************************************************************************************************************** If you should have further questions, I can be reached at ************ or through my email at ******************************** ******************************************************* abc distributing

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our office has been trying to clear up a dispute for almost a month, to no avail. A check was returned stating "not recognized". We have multiple people in our office that order and write checks. The person who wrote the check that was returned has written multiple checks there from the same bank before with no problem. We have tried to resolve this issue since the beginning of October and have talked to multiple supervisors with the same result, no help what so ever. All we get is transferred from supervisor to supervisor, they state they will research the problem and get back to us within 24 hours, no calls back. we call again with the same results. The lady who wrote the check called her bank, they stated that the check has never reached them at all. We are getting pretty frusterated and upset at the practices of ABC for resolving disputes, no one at all has been helpfull!!!

Desired Settlement: All we want is to have the check redeposited (if they cannot redeposit then she will write a new check) and not be charged a $30 returned check charge. We also want to have our account set back to the way it originally was before any of this happened, the company sends the goods with net 10 days to pay. That is not to much to ask since we have been a good customer for quite awhile.

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************ On behalf of abc distributing, please accept our sincerest apology. Thank you for taking the time to speak with me on 10/28/13. Please note I do show the $14.70 has been paid as of 10/28/13 and the $30 Return Check Fee has been waived as of 10/28/13. The account has been updated to reflect the NET10 status and your order from 09/30/13 for $35.85 order number 1027484721 has been released and currently processing. Please allow 9 to 11 business days to receive the order. If you should have further questions, I can be reached at ************ or through my email at ******************************* Sincerely, ************************************************************* Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Once we filed with the BBB they were more then helpfull with our complaint. I am just sorry it took going to the BBB to get this resolved. We will continue to do business with them as we feel that their products are good quality.

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **************** XXXXXXXXXX Problem with my Account Manager *********** deliberately not responding to my emails begin on 9/10 when i stated i would be filing a BBB case. The case would be for my account having credits removed or applied, not sure which one without my consent. On 9/10 I had approximately 10/15 credit memos on my account and when i looked at my account on 9/11 they were all removed. ****** with the credit department called me Thursday 9/12 because i was going to make a payment on my account with him and he asked me did i want to apply my credits, then he said "oh, somebody must have applied them or something because none are on your account". He then said " I didnt and wouldnt without talking with you because i know how you select invoices and doing that you wouldn't know where they were applied to". I know he didnt do it and has been perfect. But back to it, He said My Account Manager must have done it so i emailed her on 9/11 and didnt get any responses but i'm looking into it. Very upset I emailed daily to see what status was because to me i didnt know if they just removed credits meaning I paid for something damaged twice in reality. I didnt get really any answer but a activity report i requested and then she sent one that showed no credits on it so i emailed her about that and got nowhere with her on it until finally i got with ****** in credit department again on 9/16 and he helped some over the phone but i would like to see a report or something as to where i can see them credited or not. Basically after that responses from Rhonda got longer and longer, I would send one email for something really small and it would take 7/8 hours just to respond, I sent over damages on Monday and they started to get to them 8 hours later to the point i finally said you know what i will eat these damages and take the loss, just do 2 of them on the list for me so my buyers can send the others back and today is Wednesday 9/18. I asked can i get another account manager or can i call general customer service to handle my issues because i know when you call them issues will be handled right there while you on the phone, and she keeps saying they cant, my account is flagged a major account and she has to handle it but i thought the account manager thing was to speed up request and emails. I took away her doing the orders for me and started doing them myself, then i took away alot of products so i don't have to email her alot, i only send emails about damages, return confirmations or something minor, but i do notice since the entire credit thing issue begin the huge disconnect in our partnership and if possible another manager would probably be best if i cant just call customer service

Desired Settlement: just answers to my questions and documentation, and possibly another account manager

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2013/09/18) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Issues Resolved


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on ABC Distributing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)