Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

DiscountMags.com

Phone: (800) 673-8187 PO Box 222, Lemont, IL 60439 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.discountmags.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DiscountMags.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DiscountMags.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 23
Total Closed Complaints 34

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

245 Customer Reviews on DiscountMags.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 226
Neutral Experience 7
Negative Experience 12
Total Customer Reviews 245

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2003 Business started locally: 08/01/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Kennedy, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Kennedy, Manager
Business Category

Magazines - Subscription Agents Magazine Sales Magazines - Dealers News Dealers and Newsstands (NAICS: 451212)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

DiscountMags.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 222

    Lemont, IL 60439 (800) 673-8187

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 2 year subscription to ************ Magazine through Discount Magazines (April 2016) and the first issue was supposed to be delivered by July 2016. I reached out to Discount Magazines when I did not receive any issues and they contacted the magazine. The magazine claims I already have a subscription which is incorrect and Discount Magazines sided with the magazine instead of with me.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for non delivery

8/15/2016 Delivery Issues
7/28/2016 Delivery Issues
5/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a magazine subscription for my grandson. I was charged three times on my credit card for one subscription. I am positive I only ordered one time. this is the following information I received in my e mail: Thank you for shopping at DiscountMags Purchase Information Order Number: HR7762788 Date: 4/27/2016 Order Total: $22.99 Payment: MasterCard-*** Billing to: suzanne m******** 77 E*** ****** Street D******, ** ***** United States Subscription Information Name Delivery Address Price Sports Illustrated For Kids Term: 2 Years, 24 Issues Type: New Estimated Delivery: Between 06/22/2016 and 07/20/2016 K**** E***** 8*** R***** Road B******, ** ***** United States $22.99

Desired Settlement: I want the unauthorized charges removed from my credit card.

Business Response:

Hi *******

 

I am very sorry about the inconvenience and trouble you encountered with this order.  In reviewing your account, I show that you had spoke with our rep John on 4/28 in which you inquired about the duplicated charges.   He explained that many times, credit card companies show these duplicate charges as PENDING and in most cases we have seen, they simply drop off after a few days.  Sometimes these situations occur if the Submit button on the order screen was submitted more than once in error, or if the web browser gets "stuck".   

 

I have checked with our payment processor and confirm only 1 charge is reflected for your order.    If the other 2 charges are still reflected on your account, please let us know and we will follow up with them again.

 

Thank you and we appreciate your understanding and your business.

4/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a magazine subscription as a gift and no i cannon get a refund.

Desired Settlement: I want to cancel my subscription and receive a full refund.

Business Response:

Hi *****

 

We have received your request for a refund on this order that was linked to your ****** rewards account.  According to our policy in which you had attested to prior to checking out on this order, any orders linked to Virtual Rewards/Currency are not eligible for refunds.  The rewards that you received for this order have already been issued to you as you acknowledged to our rep over the phone.  Unfortunately we cannot retract rewards that you have already received/used and for that reason, these orders are not eligible for a refund. 

As a one time courtesy, we are issuing you a full refund for this order, however, any orders placed through us in the future will not be eligible for any type of virtual currency/rewards. 

 

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at ****@discountmags.com.

 

Hope you have a great day!

 

****

DiscountMags.com

Customer Service Manager

4/7/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a subscription to Consumer Reports Magazine for my Parents as a Christmas present in early December. . As of March 16th no magazine has been delivered. Each time I emailed the company they would push the time for delivery back. My mother also emailed the company and the same thing happened. Each email would state that if we did not receive the magazine by a specified date - a later date each time - I was to contact them for assistance. This went on four times. In the third email I requested that the magazine be sent out within a certain period of time and that the buying guides be included as they should have been at the beginning of the year. This did not happen. I finally emailed them and requested a refund. I merely received an email stating my money was being refunded and they were sorry for the inconvenience. I find this to be a very poor business practice and would warn others about possible long delays before expecting their magazine.

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation from the company as to why there is such a long wait time for magazines ordered through their company.

Business Response:

Hi Karin,

I am really sorry for the experience you have faced with this order and do understand your frustration.  

In reviewing this order, I can tell you that we have been experiencing a lot longer than expected delays with this particular magazine. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the delivery of this magazine since the publisher is the one that sends them out directly.  We have learned that the publisher over past few months consolidated one of their magazines into this one and ever since then we have noticed delays with orders getting fulfilled and sent out.  I have spoken with my team and we are going to make sure going forward that we extend the expected delivery date for this magazine to incorporate a few extra weeks.  Industry standards for delivery times are between 8-12 weeks.  Our delivery dates are provided as estimates based on those industry standards and when we think you should expect to receive that magazine.

For your particular order, I have gone ahead and un-canceled it so that your parents will still receive their subscription.  I do confirm that the refund was indeed processed as well.  Additionally, I would like to also give you a $20 gift certificate for the inconvenience you have experienced. That gift certificate number is ********************************.  We certainly do not want you to shy away from our company because of this experience and we would love it if you gave us another chance.   

 

I have also reached out to Consumer Reports so we can see what your particular order is expected to start.  As soon as I have a response back, I will follow up with you.  In the meantime, if you have any questions or any other concern, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at sara@discountmags.com.

 

Again, please accept my sincere apologies for the longer than expecte delay on your order.

 

Have a great day!

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11239248, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Karin ******

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am receiving duplicate copies of **** magazine. It was renewed through DiscountMags.com and the new subscription should have started 11/02/15. For some reason DiscountMags has not responded to this same issue for over a week. I left my name on the phone that BBB supplied, but I could not reach anyone-just told to leave a message. I don't understand this customer service and I need this problem fixed as soon as possible otherwise I will continue to receive duplicate copies. Also the new expiration fate shoulde be 11/2/2017, not 9/21/2015. I DO NOT ACCEPT THAT DATE. Please handle this. Thank you. ******** *****

Desired Settlement: I want the duplicate issues to stop and my expiration date to b corrected.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/13) */ Hi********* I am very sorry for the inconvenience you have faced here with receiving duplicate copies of **** Magazine. At times, when renewal orders are placed, the publishers matches up the name and address and automatically adds it to your existing subscription account. Unfortunately it doesn't always work the way its expected and duplicate accounts get created in error. I do show that you have been communicating back and forth with our Customer Service Team to get this resolved. In order for us to combine duplicate accounts that show the same name and address, we need to to provide the publishers with the account numbers otherwise it makes it very difficult for them to find the duplicated account. I do show that you have provided that and the request to get the accounts combined was submitted and completed. The publisher has come back to us and indicated your last duplicate copy will be the November 2nd issue. Your expiration date is now extended to October 2017. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to let me know. We really appreciate your business and thank you for being a loyal customer since May 2014. Best Regards, **** DiscountMags.com Customer Service Manager

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the website it clearly states there are no automatic renewals, however they renewed my magazine subscription and I cancelled it and requested a refund. I sent an email and they stated their policy is no refunds after 6 months of the order. Well, if you just renewed my subscptions and I cancelled them, this was an order. When I log into my account, I no longer see where this was done. I thought I paid a one time fee for 2 years of Motor trend and 3 years of weight watchers. I do not want anything automatically renewed. I cancelled the magazines now I don't know what is going on.

Desired Settlement: No renewal of subscriptions. Reinstate balance of magazines that was paid for with my one time fee of 22.97 delete my payment information off of your servers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/13) */ Hi****** I am very sorry about any inconvenience you have faced with your order. In reviewing your account, I show that you placed your order on 9/7/2014 for $22.97 through Paypal. The order was for 2 years of Motor Trend and 3 years of Weight Watchers. We do not have an automatic renewal feature on our website. We also do not store payment information on our website so we would be unable to charge your paypal account for anything more than what you subscribed to. This is a feature not allowed by our website and by Paypal. You have indicated that you were automatically renewed and charged. Would you kindly provide information as to who communicated this automatic renewal with you and provide a screenshot of any recent charges through DiscountMags.com other than your original payment for this order. Please email me the screenshots directly to sara@discountmags.com. This information will assist me in tracking down what may have happened and resolving any issues. Our website policy does indicate no refunds after 6 months and since your order was placed over a year ago, unfortunately we cannot issue the refund back to your original payment method. However, what I can do as an exception is place a new order for you to make up for the cancellation of Motor Trend for 1 year and Weight Watchers for 2 years. Or we can issue you a gift card for $14.25 for the remaining value of your order. Kindly advise as to your preference. Thank you and I look forward to hearing back from you! Best Regards, **** DiscountMags.com Customer Service Manager

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thank you for your magazine subscription purchase Order Number: WQXXXXXXX Date: 09/02/2014 @ 14:45:26 Macworld Term: 2 Years, 24 Issues Type: New Estimated Delivery: Between 10/28/2014 and 11/25/2014 The magazine never arrived any trying to get assistance was a black hole... until your email arrived...

Desired Settlement: I would like to still get two years of the magazine as I paid for it and if not I think a refund would be in order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/06) */ Hi ***** I am very sorry about the inconvenience you have faced. Were you attempting to contact us, DiscountMags.com or********* directly? To reach us, you may submit an inquiry on our website at http://www.discountmags.com/contact or you may call us at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Our customer service reps are available via email or phone when you need them. With respect to your********* subscription. Announced last year that the November 2014 issue was going to be their last Print edition of the magazine and that they will be digital only going forward. All subscribers received notification in the email giving them the option to switch to digital. I will be happy to request that your subscription be transitioned over to the digital if you are not already receiving it that way. I will kindly need an email address you would like to use for the digital copies. Alternatively, we will be happy to issue you a refund on the subscription if you do not wish to receive the digital copy. Kindly advise as to your preference and we will be happy to honor it. Thank you and I look forward to assisting you further. **** DiscountMags.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We are not getting this magazine digitally and I would prefer not to get this digitally. I think a refund would be best. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/07) */ Hi *****, Per your request, I have issued a full refund which will be reflected back to your original payment method (Paypal) within the next few days. If there is anything else I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to let us know. Have a great weekend! **** DiscountMags.com

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov. 16, 2014 I ordered two magazines from this company one was a Christmas gift the other was a birthday gift, my order # VZXXXXXXX, total order was $83.94. The one that was never received was for my son for his birthday in January, American Journal of Nursing, 1 year 12 issues. My Son's name and address is Tim Bomar, 5669 Walnut Grove Rd., Memphis, TN XXXXX. He still to this date has not received a single issues of this magazine.

Desired Settlement: Send the magazine ordered, a full 1 year, 12 issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/22) */ Hi********* I am very sorry about the inconvenience you have faced with this order. I did some digging and contacted the publisher and it looks like the order did not get fulfilled as there was a period of time where they were not accepting orders. When this order was submitted, it happened right at that time and it appears they did not process it. I have gone ahead and reprocessed the order since they are now accepting them. Unfortunately it will take about 8-10 weeks for it to to start up. For the inconvenience, I have issued you a $25 gift certificate for you to use towards your next subscription. That gift certificate number is ********************************* You may enter it at checkout in the Gift Certificate section. Please accept our most sincere apologies about this. We hope this does not shy you away from continuing to use our website for your subscription needs. If you have any further issues or the magazine does not arrive timely, please do not hesitate to contact us at http://www.discountmags.com/contact Thank you and hope you have a wonderful day! **** DiscountMags.com Customer Service Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept this response at this time. If I receive the ordered magazine in 8-10 weeks then I will consider this case closed.

7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order********** Purchased April 9,2015 with credit card $29.99 for 1 year subscription to USA Crosswords Website estimated delivery of first issue by June 18th but nothing has arrived as of July 8, 2015. After checking their website recently, my subscription status was listed as being active and that I should have received my first issue and to contact them if I haven't. After accessing their CONTACT US page to let them know I haven't, I found no submit or send button to transmit the email! Only blank space!!

Desired Settlement: Am still seeking a full year's subscription as originally ordered and paid for

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/14) */ Hi Joseph I am very sorry for the inconvenience you have faced with your order and the ability to submit an inquiry to us. To address your magazine subscription. I do show we quoted you an estimated delivery date between 06/04/2015 and 07/02/2015. Unfortunately these are only estimates as once the subscription has been fulfilled by the publisher on their end, its up to them to get the delivery started. I did contact them about your order and they confirmed they have you on file. Your account number with them is 000218362. The publisher shows the subscription will begin with the August issue, which should arrive between now and August 17th. The expiration date is April 2017. As a result of the longer than expected delay, we would like to offer you a $10 gift certificate for your next subscription. We hope that you will continue ordering with us and that this delay will not shy you away from placing another order. Please utilize GC Number ******************************** during checkout on your next order to receive $10 off. If you do not receive your first issue as the publisher has indicated by August 17th or if you have any other questions, please feel free to email me directly at sara@discountmags.com and I will ensure to follow up with them again. Thank you and I hope you have a wonderful day! Sara DiscountMags.com Customer Service Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Service manager explained the issue very well and had contacted the publisher on my behalf to determine the reason for the extended delay of the subscription. Order has been verified.

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE 2 MAGAZINE SUBSCRIPTIONS WITH DISCOUNT MAGAZINES. 1 IS ORDER# ********* WHICH I PURCHASED ON 3/23/15.DELIVERY WAS DUE TO BEGIN 5/18 TO 6/15/15. THE OTHER IS ORDER# ********* WAS BEING DELIVERED AND THEN STOPPED ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO. THIS IS A 3 YEAR SUBSCRIPTION AND HAS NOT EXPIRED YET. I HAVE SENT NUMEROUS E-MAILS TO CLEAR THIS UP. FIRST THE RESPONSE WAS TO CHECK MY ADDRESS THE SECOND WAS WE ARE CHECKING WITH THE PUBLISHER AND NOW I WAS TOLD THAT MY ORDER WAS BEING CHANGED FROM HAND DELIVERY TO USPS DELIVERY. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY MAGAZINES AS OF 7/1/2015.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE THEM TO STRAIGHTEN THIS OUT AND DELIVER WHAT I ORDERED

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/13) */ Hi Janet, We are very sorry for any inconvenience you have faced. In reviewing your orders, I have confirmed what was communicated to you by our customer service reps is correct. Your Star magazine, according to the publisher, Started with the April 27th 2015 issue and all issues have been mailed to the following address: Janet *********** *************** *************** Those issues were hand delivered by the local newspaper delivery service. As a result of your report of not receiving any issues, the publisher extended your account for 10 issues and switched it over to postal delivery effective with the July 20th issue. With respect to OK magazine. Same situation occurred. Your original order which you placed in September 2013 has been on hand delivery since then. The newest order you placed for a 3 year subscription to OK! has been added on to that same account and goes into effect with the October 2015 and runs through Dec 3rd 2018. They switched your account from Hand Delivery to postal delivery effective with the July 13th issue. Unfortunately once the publisher verifies delivery is being made and takes the necessary steps to correct any issues, we do not have control over postal delivery thereafter. If you have not received any issues since the switch to postal delivery, please let us know. We will be happy to cancel the orders for you and issue you a full refund as a result of the non delivery and provide you with a gift card for a discount on any future orders. Thank you and we look forward to assisting you in resolving your delivery issues with Star and OK! magazine. Sara DiscountMags.com Customer Service Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I have started to recieve the OK magazine. The star has still not been delivered but I will wait until the July 20th to see if this one has been resolved as well.

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subscription for one year smithsonian magazine started April 2015. Received one issue and then stopped receiving any more.

Desired Settlement: replace the magazines not received or refund the subscription amount

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/26) */ Hi Jitendra We are very sorry for the inconvenience you have faced with this order. I contacted the publisher and they indicated to me the subscription started with the May/June 2015 issue and their records show no reported problems or returns. To make up for missed delivery they have extended the subscription for 1 issue. The next scheduled issue is the July/August issue, which should arrive no later than July 1st. The expiration date is April 2016 and your account number is *********. Once the publishers confirms the magazine has been mailing out they cant control what happens after that. We will be happy to honor your request if you wish to proceed with a full refund or if you prefer to wait until July 1st to see if the next issue arrives. Kindly advise. Thank you and I look forward to hearing back from you!

6/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged against my credit card but cannot reach anyone to explain what the charge is for. I have dialed XXX-XXX-XXXX many times at different times and there is never anyone available to take my call and phone number left there never results in a call back

Desired Settlement: At least tell me what the charge is for so I can determine if I made it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/26) */ Hi ******** We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you have experienced. I spoke with my phone reps and they had according to our phone logs that we had one incoming call from you on 6/23 at 8 am CT. I was told that your call was returned within 2 hours and that they assisted you in answering any questions you had. If you are still experiencing any issues with your order or require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to us via our website at http://www.discountmags.com/contact or call us at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. We appreciate your business! All the best, **** DiscountMags.com Customer Service Manager

6/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call from collections telling me that I'm in collections for discount mag and I owe them almost $600.00 I HAVE NEVER SIGNED UP FOR IT NOR DID I GIVE THEM PERMISSION TO TAKE PAYMENTS FROM MY CREDIT CARD! A few months ago a company had called me and told me they worked for MasterCard and as appreciation they were sending me a couple free magazines and that they would stop coming unless I had signed up and payed via their online site. I NEVER signed up and I NEVER received ANY magazines. I am a single mother of two who is trying to get my lawyers billed payed and other debts that I AM responsible for this one however I am NOT! This is now effecting my life and fianances, I never received any mail stating that I was going to be sent to collections so I wasn't given the chance to address this, so now it is effecting my credit.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to discard the entire bill and have it removed from collections.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/10) */ Hi ***** I apologize for this inconvenience but I am not able to pull up an order for you through our site. Additionally, We don't work with any collection agencies through our site, DiscountMags.com, as all of our orders are paid in full, up front, and are a one­ time transactions. Please double check to see who charged you for this order. If it does not reflect "DISCOUNTMAGS.COM IL" , then your order may have been placed through another company. In particular, if you are a resident of Canada, we are a United States company only, and do not accept purchases addressed to Canadian residents. Is it possible that you have mistaken us for http://discountmagclub.ca/? This company is based out of Canada. Best, Sara DiscountMags.com

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a 5 year subscription. However the magazine materially changed the content since I began my subscription. I was able to cancel but the company refused a refund or credit for another magazine. They refuse to return phone calls and will not reinstate my subscription. I want either a refund or the magazine which I paid for, or a corresponding credit for another magazine.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund or credit for another magazine. If the company is unable to offer either of these, I want my subscription reinstated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/19) */ Hi ******, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you had faced with this order. I am showing that you had purchased this magazine back in January 2012. While we do offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee, our policy is that we are to be notified within 6 months of ordering if you are not happy with the subscription. This policy is posted on our website at the following link: http://www.discountmags.com/guarantee. I do understand however that you feel the magazine has recently changed in content and you are no longer satisfied with it. I believe in recent conversations with our reps, you have been offered and accepted a 2 year subscription to Men's Health as an alternative option to cancelling your Maxim subscription. I am also happy to provide you with $10 off your next subscription with us. Use code XXXXXXXXX*********************** at checkout. We appreciate you being a long time customer of ours (since 2010) and we hope that you will continue to subscribe to your favorite magazines with us again. If there is anything else I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ****@discountmags.com. **** Customer Service Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Their offer is acceptable to me.

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I paid $9.48 for 2 yrs subscription of Travel 50 & Beyond from DiscountMags.com on 10/18/14. I was supposed to receive the first issue on 12/27/14. Today is 2/4/15 and I have not received the magazine yet. I have contacted the Customer Support (via their web site and the only way) THREE times. I have NOT heard back from anyone from DiscountMags.com. I am hoping you can contact this company and let me know how I can get my refund. Thank you so much in advance for all your help. Regards, ***** ****

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my refund from DiscountMags.com

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/06) */ Hi ***** I am very sorry for the inconvenience you have faced. I checked our ticket log to see the inquiries you had sent, however it looks as though we had only received one on 2/4/15 which was escalated and assigned to me as a result of the BBB complaint you submitted. I have contacted the publisher and because this magazine is only published 5 times a year, delivery times are much different in these situations. As per the publisher: the first issue should arrive no later than March 27th. Service dates are as follows: Start Date: March 2015 End Date: Spring 2016 However, for the inconvenience and delay, I have issued you a full refund and we will keep the subscription active. Again, please accept our sincere apologies for the delay. Best Regards, **** DiscountMags.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear ****** ********* First, thank you so much for all your help with my complain. Without your intervention, I am sure that I would not get a response back from DiscountMags.com. From the order conformation e-mail that I received and their company web site, the only way that I could contact their office is by filling out the information at this web page: http://www.discountmags.com/contact?name=*****+****&EmailAddress=h_****%40pacbell.net&order=EJXXXXXXX. I am disappointed that **** from DiscountMags.com stated that they only received one complain on 2/4/15 through the BBB. I filled out three complains on 1/10/15, 1/17/15, and 1/24/15. I contacted your office after I didn't not heard back from DiscountMags.com. I have not received the notice of the refund from Discover Card yet. Once I receive the refund, you can close this case. FYI. I have also ordered three magazines for my extended families from DiscountMags. com. I will give DiscountMags.com a chance to make it right this time. I hope that I would not have to contact your office again to get the refund for these three magazines if we don't receive the orders by 1/21/15. Thank you again so much for everything. All of you from the BBB is the BEST. Warm regards, ***** **** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/11) */ Hi *****, When you submit a ticket to us through the contact page on our website, you should receive an automated email confirming that your inquiry was received an a ticket number is assigned. I am escalating your issue to my development team to investigate why those tickets did not come through. Would you kindly provide us the ticket numbers you received from the automated emails you would have received upon submission of the inquiry. We currently have the ones you sent us on 2/4 PCW-XXX-XXXXX and 2/8 NZU-XXX-XXXXX. Kindly forward the ones we are missing from 1/10/15, 1/17/15, and 1/24/15 to me at ****@discountmags.com. Kindly note that we provide the publishers the orders you submit to us as soon as we receive them. Once we send it to them, its up to them to get the delivery started and the magazine shipped to you and unfortunately it is out of our control at that time. A full refund was processed for your order of Travel 50 and Beyond. I am also providing you a $20 gift certificate for you to use towards any subscription on our website as a result of the delay you incurred on your subscription. The gift certificate number is ********************************** If you have any further issues or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ****@discountmags.com and I will be happy to assist you personally. Thank you, **** DiscountMags.com Customer Service Manager

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I RECEIVED A CARD IN THE MAIL REGARDING AN UNCLAIMED REWARD. THIS WAS ABOUT THE MIDDLE OF AUGUST 2014. I CONTACTED THEM ON THIER PHONE LINE AND WAS TOLD I WOULD RECEIVE 5 MAGAZINES FOR 5 YEARS, PLUS $100.00 IN GAS SAVINGS, PLUS 2 ROUND TRIP TICKETS TO CERTAIN DESTINATIONS IN THE WORLD. THEY WANTED $689.00 TAKEN OUT ON MY VISA @ $57.50 PER MONTH FOR 12 MONTHS. SOUNDED GOOD TO ME SO I JOINED. THE FIRST PAYMENT WAS TAKEN OUT ON AUGUST 28, 2014. I RECIEVED SOME PAPER WORK. ONE WAS A LONG LIST OF MAGAZINES AVAILABLE. I CHOOSE MY 5, BUT WAS TOLD 3 WHERE NOT AVAILABLE AND I SHOULD TRY AGAIN AT A LATER DATE. I ALSO SENT OUT THE FORM AND A PROOF RECEIT FOR MY GAS REBATE. THIS WAS DONE ON SEPTEMBER 12, 2014. NOTHING HAPPENED. I PHONED AND WAS TOLD IT TAKES TIME TO GET THE MAGAZINES.I ALSO PHONED AND ORDERED THE LAST 3 MAGAZINE TITLES. STILL NOTHING. BEING CONCERENED I PHONED AGAIN ON DECEMBER 29, 2014 AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT THE MAGAZINE PUBLISHERS ABOUT MY MAGAZINES. ALSO THEY TOLD ME THAT MY GAS REBATE CARD HAD BEEN ALREADY SENT TO ME, AND WOULD NOW SEND ME ANOTHER ONE. MY ADDRESS WAS CONFIRMED. ON JANUARY 19, 2015 I CONTACTED THEM AGAIN. I WAS VERY CONCERENED SINCE I HAD BEEN WAITING FOR 5 MONTHS AND THEY HAD ALREADY TAKEN OUT 5 PAYMENTS. I TOLD THEM I WAS VERY DISATISFIED AND WANTED MY MONEY BACK IN FULL AS PER THIER 100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEE. THEY KEPT TALIKNG TO ME IN CIRCLES AND ONLY WANTED TO REFUNF 2 PAYENTS. I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THIS. THEY PUT ME ON HOLD, CAME BACK AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD REFUND ME ONLY 3 MONTHS PAYMENTS. I TOLD THEM THIS WAS NO WAY TO DO BUSINESS. I ACCEPTED THE 3 PAYMENTS AND HAD THEM AGREE THAT THEY WOULD NOT TAKE ANY MORE PAYMENTS FROM MY VISA. THE 3 PAYNMENTS WERE RECIEVED. THIS COMPANY PROMISSES A LOT BUT DOES NOTHING. I WAITED FOR OVER 5 MONTHS AND RECEIVED ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, EXCEPT GRIEFF AND A LOSS OF $115.00 IT SEEMS, TO ME AT LEAST, THAT THIS COMPANY IS ANOTHER SCAM.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY $115.00 BALANCE OWED TO ME. THEY OFFER A 100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEE, BUT DO NOT STAND BEHIND IT. TO ME, THIS IS PRINCIPLE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/03) */ Hi ******, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you have faced. I feel that you may have us, DiscountMags.com, mistaken with another company as I was unable to locate any orders for you in our system using your name, email address and address. Additionally, our company does not ship magazines outside of the United States. We are also based out of the United States. There is a company that is not affiliated with us that goes by DiscountMagClub.ca which are based out of Canada. I feel that this may be the company you need to contact. I have provided below their contact information. Email: *******@discountmagclub.ca For customer service, call us toll free at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Hours: M-F: 8am-8pm; Sat: 8am-6pm, Sun: Closed Mailing Address: DiscountMagClub.ca **** ****** ********** ***** **** ********* ** *** *** Kindly advise once you confirm that the above company is the correct one so that we may close out this issue. Thank you and we appreciate your understanding. **** DiscountMags.com

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An order for ********* ************ was placed through DiscountMags.com on April 27, 2014, with an expected delivery between the end of June and July. On Augst 22, I placed my first complain, stating that it had been over 10 weeks since my order, but that I had not yet received the subscribed to magazine. A representative responded saying that they would take care of it on August 24. I emailed again on September 14, saying, again that I still had not received the magazine. I have received no response since from the company.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the magazine that I paid for or a refund of my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ Hi *****, I am very sorry for any inconvenience you have faced. In reviewing your order and email history with us, I found that you had submitted an inquiry to us on August 22nd, 2014, ticket # IXM-XXX-XXXXX. In your inquiry you had indicated that you have no received your first issue and that you needed to make an update to your address. Our representative ****** responded back to you that same day indicating she would be happy to update the address for you if you provide us with the new information and this way she will let the publisher know at the same time you hadn't received your first issue. It looks like ****** is still waiting for a response on that ticket. Do you have a record of sending a response back or any other inquiries that were submitted to us? For your convenience I have attached a copy of what we received. Additionally, I did go ahead and check on your order for ********* ************ with the publisher and they indicated the subscription has been active since May 26th 2014 at the address you provided at the time of order at ******** ****** They did not show any returns on the order and the most recent issue sent out was Oct 13, 2014. I have attached a copy of your order summary from ********* ************* I do show that you have submitted the address change today on your account page of our website as well. I have also sent publisher a note indicating that no issues were received. This publisher does have a service where they hand deliver the magazines versus postal delivery through a local mail carrier. If your account is setup that way, we will request they remove it from hand delivery and commence delivery through the USPS. I am expecting a response back from them over the course of next week or early the week after that. I will follow up with you at *******@aol.com to let you know what the publisher was able to do for your account. In the meantime, if there is anything else I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to email me directly at ****@discountmags.com. Again, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have faced. Have a great day! **** Customer Service Manager

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Even after 18 weeks , i am not getting the magazines i am subscribed to Purchase Information Order Number: Date: Order Total: Payment: AVXXXXXXX 03/20/2014 $20.00 PayPal Express Checkout Billing to ******* ********** *** *********** apt ** santa********** XXXXX-XXXX United States Subscription Information Name Delivery Address Price ********* ************ Term: 3 Years, 162 Issues Type: New Estimated Delivery: Between 05/15/2014 and 06/12/2014 ******* ********** *** *********** apt ** santa********** XXXXX-XXXX United States $149.97 $20.00

Desired Settlement: please start sending me the magazines

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/26) */ Hi ******* I am very sorry to hear that you have not been receiving your magazine for ********* Business Week. In reviewing your account with ********* (Account Number: XXXXXXXX) , they have informed me that your subscription started with the Apr 14, 2014 and has been delivered to the following address via hand delivery: ******* ********** *** ** *** ******* *** ***** *****, ** XXXXX We find many times that issues that are being sent via hand delivery may get missed inadvertently since they are delivered to a door step. Someone in the building may mistakenly pick it up or it gets sent to the wrong location. We can request for the publisher to remove the account off of hand delivery and start it up via postal mail delivery if you prefer to take that route. At that time, we will also request an extension for the maximum allowed issues to your account for the missed issues. I have attached a copy of your confirmed order reflected on *********Business Week's system as confirmation of the order being on file for your records. Please let us know what next steps you would like to take and we will be happy to honor that request for you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you and I look forward to assisting you further. **** DiscountMags.com Customer Service Manager

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid using my credit card for two of their offered discount magazine deals on-line. These purchases occurred in late November and early December 2013. Recently began wondering why two, Flex and Muscle and Fitness had not been sent as they agreed to do. I discovered they cancelled those two magazines but never notified they had taken this action nor why. I am highly disappointed. I already paid them on line in good faith they would honor what they advertised. I e-mailed them twice asking what was going on and seeking resolution. THey acknowledged they received my inquires but they have not responded. Buyer beware!! Do not purchase any magazines from them since there is absolutely no guarantee they have any intent to send offered magazines despite taking your money.

Desired Settlement: Honor what was paid for that they advertised on-line. I just want my Flex and Muscle and Fitness magazines and I will be satisfied. However, since they have made no effort to get back to me, I would not recommend anyone purchase any magazines from them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/28) */ Hi **** I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you in this order. I see that you had placed a subscription for Flex, Muscle and Fitness, Good Housekeeping, Outside and Popular Science as part of a package deal on 11/29/13. The only magazines that did not get fulfilled in this order were Flex and Muscle and Fitness and a refund was issued to you on 1/7/14 with an email notification for the reason why we had to refund these orders back to you. The refund was processed back to your MC ending in 9624 and the email notification was sent to ******************. We do understand how frustrating it can be that what you ordered could not be fulfilled at the time. I see that you have placed a new order for Muscle & Fitness. In hopes we can regain your trust back, I have placed a complimentary subscription for Flex magazine for you and sent you an order confirmation. If you have any other questions or issues, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at *********************. We appreciate your business! Best Regards, **** DiscountMags.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/02/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While it is possible they issued a refund on 1-07-2014, this is the first I am hearing of such. As to an e-mail they say they sent me notifying me of such all I can say is I don't recall receiving any e-mail . This sounds like a, "he said, she said" situation that is difficult if not impossible to prove. I will mention that shortly after placing my complaint through you, the BBB, the company did respond offering me a very good price if I wanted to purchase the two magazines in question. I took them up on the offer but only for one magazine. I am still waiting for this subscription to begin so I am not in a position to respond just yet. As to the other magazine I had already moved ahead to purchase that subscription from a competitor. I think the biggest problem and the one of significant importance to me was the lack of service provided in failing to contact me in a reasonable time frame and explaining the problem instead of leaving out to hang. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/05/06) */ When the original complaint came in on 2/13, we responded to the customer complaint and addressed his/her concerns on 2/28/14. The customer came back with a response on 2/28/14 which was forwarded to us on 3/6/14 indicating they he/she is "not in a position to respond just yet" as they wanted to wait till they received the magazine. To us, this meant that the case was still on hold until the customer came back with their final response. We misunderstood the fact that the BBB still wanted us to respond back. And unfortunately, for some reason I had not received any subsequent emails after the 3/6/14 customer response to indicate a response was required. We have also been in contact with the customer directly with emails dating: 1/4/14, 2/1/14, 2/8/14 through 2/20/14. I will be more than happy to submit a response to the customer if this will assist in closing out this issue. I have confirmed both subscriptions that he inquired about and that we fulfilled for him are active. From he last response to the BBB, he did not want to close out the case until he confirmed receipt of the magazines. (screenshots below) Please let me know if there is anything else I can provide to keep our BBB accreditation active. As you may be aware, we have been a member for a long time with an excellent standing history. This situation was a misunderstanding and hope we can resolve it. Thank you and appreciate your consideration in this matter. Best Regards, ***** ******* DiscoutMags.com FLEX Account Details: Account Status: Active Paid **** ******* **** E **** St Tulsa OK 74137 United States Issue Information: The first issue of your current order is May 1, 2014. Your subscription will expire with the Apr 1, 2016. FLEX Magazine is published 12 times per year. Order Information: Your current order for 12 issues was received on Feb 19, 2014. You have no other orders associated with this account. Muscle and Fitness Account Details: Account Status: Active Paid **** ******* **** E **** St Tulsa OK 74137 United States Issue Information: The first issue of your current order is May 1, 2014. Your subscription will expire with the Apr 1, 2015. Muscle and Fitness Magazine is published 12 times per year. Order Information: Your current order for 12 issues was received on Feb 28, 2014. You have no other orders associated with this account. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 22, 2014/05/07) */ From: **** D. ******* <******************> Date: Tue, May 6, 2014 at 7:39 PM Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#***********-********-17-3200) To: "Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)" Matter appears resolved since they started sending the ordered magazines. Thank you for intervening on behalf of he customer. I strongly suspect without your intervention this magazine company would have just ignored the issue.

3/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order ***8***/13 *** 3 years of ***** Magazine. Within *** order *** first estimated delivery date *** stated to ***1***/***-***/***13. I sent an email to DiscountMags.*** ***1***1*** stating that I *** *** to receive my magazine.*** *** then told that I would *** my first magazine ***/*** ***1***/1*** emailed them again *** said that I didn't receive my magazine. They responded back to me ***2***14 asking me to verify my address *** *** *** time (first time when ordering, second time upon *** first complaint).*** acknowledge that this *** indeed *** correct address. ***2***15 they responded that they would need 7 business days to contact *** publisher. ***2***/1*** *** to send a follow up to *** previous email to *** if there *** an update as I *** *** received anything from them. I responded to them *** notified them that if I *** *** *** a response I would file a complaint. They notified me ***2***/14 that they were still attempting to contact *** publisher. What they keep telling me is that *** problem is with *** publisher. *** *** as I'm concerned I*** paid DiscountMags.*** *** a service *** have *** received *** *** *** currently coming up on almost *** *** month of *** having a magazine delivered to my home. Even if they start delivering this very moment I will be missing 6 *** ***36 months because I have no reason to believe that I will *** my full 36 months of subscription.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/28) */ Hi ******, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have faced with this order. In reviewing the account history and contacting the publisher, they indicated to us that they had received an address change to ***************************. I had indicated to them that this was not the correct address we provided them. For this reason our rep had asked for your address a couple times to confirm it was indeed correct and matched what the publisher should have. We have corrected your order which will start with the April 2014 issue and expires with the March 2017 issue. The Acct #**********. I have also provided a screenshot with the order on file with Wired. For the trouble you have faced, I have issued you a full refund on this subscription. In addition, I would like to give you a $15 gift certificate for a future purchase in hopes we can regain your trust. ************************************. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at ****@discountmags.com. Thank you and we appreciate all your patience with us as we resolved your order issue. Best Regards, **** DiscountMags.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The company has given me my refund which I desired. They have also told me that I should receive the issue in April which at this point is not much of a factor. They even went out of their way to provide me a gift card.

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/3/13 I placed the following order with Discountmags.com: Date: 10/3/13 Order Total: $4.50 Order Number: 3157631 Payment method: Visa-0812 This was for a one-year subscription to***** magazine. On the same day, my credit card was charged for that amount. Per their own website at discountmags.com: When will I receive my first issue? As a general rule, allow between 8-12 weeks for your first issue to commence. This time frame is industry standard. I patiently waited for my magazine order to arrive and it did not arrive despite passing their stated 8-12 week period. I submitted my first customer service ticket: Ticket ID: BAB-662-90011 on 12/26/13. A response to this ticket was received on 1/1/14 from ****: Hi *****, I deeply apologize for the inconvenience. After further investigation, I will submit a status request to the publisher to see what is going on with your order. Once the status request is submitted, it will take about 5-7 business days for the publisher to get back to us. I will follow up with you as soon as they respond. We appreciate your patience during this time. Regards, **** DiscountMags.com Customer Support Do note that their website states: I emailed you, but never received a response. What should I do? When you submit an inquiry to our Customer Service team, you should receive a prompt response within 48 hours. At times, however, our responses may end up in in your spam box due to your e-mail provider's filters. Please kindly check your spam box folder and if you are unable to find our response, you may contact us again. This was far past the 48 hrs which they supposedly claim a response will be submitted. This is more than 3 business days later, in fact. Also note in ****'s email that they stated that she would give me a heads-up in 5-7 business days. As of today, I have still yet to receive any response to that matter. Another ticket I submitted on 12/30/13 was not ever responded to: Ticket ID: ************* Subject: Magazine Not Received So to recap, they failed to follow their policies in providing the magazines for which they took payment for within the 8-12 weeks claimed on their website. They twice failed to respond to their 48 hr turnaround on customer inquiries. Lastly they failed to respond to their own representative's claim of 5-7 business days to sort the issue out. Perhaps I am the only one to have issues with them, perhaps not. However, I would expect far better customer service from a company that the BBB has given an A+ and accreditation to. Based on the number of complaints filed to the BBB, I'm surprised this company still retains such a status with the BBB. In all my life, I must say I have never dealt with a company who is so poor at responding to their own claimed turn around times and I have yet to have waited more than 3 months to receive my order. (Close to 3 and a half months)

Desired Settlement: I am wanting either a) fulfillment of my order or b) refund of my money in addition to removal of their A+ rating/accreditation on BBB. As my history of emails and messages show, they do not adhere to their own policies for timely response to customer messages and could very well be charging customers without ever providing the services promised in a timely fashion, if at all. I think a BBB accreditation and A+ rating should mean that they rank amongst the best in service and customer support. Neither of these have been demonstrated and hence I request that BBB highly consider removing their high rating and accreditation of this company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ Hi ***** I sincerely apologize for the inconveniece you have faced. We contacted the publisher on your order on 1/1/14 to get a status on your subscription. They responded back to us on 1/20/14 indicating that your order was incorrectly added on to another customer account with the same last name and very similar address. These situations happen often however we always ensure to take the appropriate measures to correct. The publisher has corrected your order to your address in your name and is expected to start up with the March 3rd 2014 issue. I have provided a screen shot herein that shows your account information with ****. For the delay, our customers service rep sent you a $5 gift certificate to be used towards your next subscription and in addition, I have provided you with a full refund on your order of $4.50. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at ****@discountmags.com. Again, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Best Regards, **** DiscountMags.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/01/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To Whom It May Concern: You stated in your response that the situation where magazines are mailed to the wrong person with a similar address/last name happen often. I find that a little hard to believe, otherwise I should be having this issue with my online orders all the time. Also, I find it a bit hard to believe that this issue is then prevalent only in your industry. I think if this is indeed a high rate of occurrence shouldn't this be an issue to be addressed? Further, my disappointment is more toward your lack of customer support above all else. Again, you failed to adhere to your own turnaround policies in getting back to your customers. If you can't even abide by the policies you set for yourselves, perhaps a self-evaluation is in order? This is more addressed to the BBB but I have never ordered from discountmags.com before and I was a bit skeptical about the low prices found there and wanted to see if the company was reputable. Upon seeing the BBB vote of confidence with the accreditation and A+ rating I felt that this was a website that I can order from with confidence. Clearly, that was a mistake. I still stand by my belief that your website should be re-evaluated to see if it truly meets the BBB standards of an accreditation and A+ rating. I appreciate the gesture to try to make amends after going to this extent to try to obtain some sort of resolution. It's disappointing that it took an escalation to this level to get any real fix to the matter. However, I really don't desire a refund nor a gift certificate as the order is fulfilled, supposedly. I don't plan to use your website again to order as it's been the most terrible purchasing experience I've had and one I'd rather not go through again. Again, I hope the BBB reconsider the rating/accreditation and review what transpired with this matter. Discountmags clearly on multiple instances failed to adhere to their own purported turn around times. If this is what one can expect from a company with the BBB A+ rating and accreditation then I will reconsider using the BBB as a source to check the integrity of a company. Sincerely, ***** *** Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/14) */ Hi *****, I understand that we did not meet your expectations in our customer service level agreement response time. Although no excuse may be acceptable but due to the holidays, we received an abundant amount of inquiries. We received your request on 12/26 and our staff was working around the clock to catch up on all tickets. We responded back to you on New Years Day January 1st to let you know we would look into it subscription issue. The publisher did not respond back to us either until 1/19. Again, we understand this is unacceptable and we are taking appropriate measures to ensure this does not happen again. I have looked up your account today with the publisher and it is showing in good standing with the March 3rd issue to be the first to arrive. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences we have caused you. If there is anything else we can do to make this a better experience for you, please let me know by emailing me directly at ****@discountmags.com. Hope you have a wonderful day. Regards, **** DiscountMags.com

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed order for "********" magazine subscription on 9/11/13, Order# is *******. Contacted ********Mags.com by email twice and received no response.

Desired Settlement: Either get the refund back or receive the 1-year "********" magazine as soon as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response<*** ***(***0***,***1***2***)*** Hi ******* I am very sorry *** *** inconvenience caused to ***. I looked *** your account history with us *** I *** that *** emailed us under ticket ID ***-***-***43*** January *** We responded back to *** on January 1*** indicating that we would contact *** publisher to *** a status update on your account. We hadn't received a response back so I have personally contacted them *** they indicated your account *** inadvertently added to *** incorrect customer account. They corrected this problem *** started a *** account *** *** to start March ***4. Account Number ***8***9*** Please *** attached screenshot from *** publisher of your account profile with them. *** *** inconvenience *** delay, I have issued *** a full refund back on this order ***$***0 back to your original payment method. Please accept *** most sincerely apologies. If there is anything else I *** assist *** with, please do *** hesitate to reach me directly at ****@discountmags.***. Best Regards, **** DiscountMags.*** Final Consumer Response<*** ***(***0***,***1***2***)*** (*** consumer indicated he/*** ACCEPTED *** response from *** business.)

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: no response to my multiple emails and calls want my original order honored (backpacking magazine 3 yrs for 13.50 on 1/22/14) and if only allowed one order per magazine cancel the second one year order (for 5.00 one yr ordered on 1/25/14)

Desired Settlement: honor the original order 3yrs backpacking magazine for $13.50, cancel the second order for one year at $5.00; and a call or that this has been done within the week- i paid immediately, they confirmed immediately this should be simple not an irritating exercise

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2014/01/29) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: as of 1/29/14 a representative finally called and although initially stated he could not fix issue when i asked for supervisor he was able to correct the order they had cancelled on me. I did get email of this and am waiting for subscription to start hopefully within 4 -6 wks. Thank you, ***********

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I renewed my ********* magazine subscription through Discount Mags for 2014 and 2015. This should have included access to digital versions of the magazine, but after checking with the ********* today, this subscription does not. I reviewed the Discount Mags website today (1/24/2014) and it suggested that they no longer offer ********* subscriptions and that they (offered?) print-only subscriptions. This warning was not present when I renewed. In attempting to resolve this, the ********* staff referred me first to ***************************, who then referred me to Mags Unlimited (reference number ******). The subscription renewal was through Discount Mags.

Desired Settlement: I would like to change my subscription from print to digital only please.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/27) */ Hi **** I apologize about any inconvenience caused to you. We previously were able to include the digital subscription with the ********* print edition, however, ********* changed their rules in 2013 and that was no longer an option. The digital access information for the ********* was removed from our website and no longer indicated "Digital Access Included". We unfortunately will not be able to convert it to digital. I see you have spoke with one of our reps, ****** who has issued you a refund on the subscription that was placed 6/28/2013. The refund was for the remaining part of the subscription that you wished to convert to digital. I have also sent you a $25 gift certificate for the inconvenience caused to you. #******************************** Again, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. If you need anything else, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ****@discountmags.com. Best Regards, **** DiscountMags.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for your attention and assistance. I appreciate the gift certificate, but do take issue with the amount of the refund for the subscription and failing to make the change in the subscription clear previously. Thanks, **** ****

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to search the world wide web to find their phone number, because they do not offer it on their website, and after calling several times I finally got an agent. I wanted to cancel 3 magazine subscriptions and obviously receive a refund for unused magazines. The company refused, citing a policy, hidden at the bottom of the page, and under the "about us" tab, that states, "Easy cancellation & refunds: No longer happy with your subscription? No problem-we offer a 100% money-back guarantee. Just cancel within 6 months of ordering and we'll immediately refund you for undelivered issues." To me this does not mean "we will not issue a refund past 6 months", and it is against the law for a company to take someone's money and just keep it without completing the service - which in this case is the subscription - unless I signed a contract stating that the money could be kept if I cancelled early, which I did not. Also, I would not have found this on my own. I have cancelled several magazines today and each and every one of them refunded me my money for unused subscriptions. All I want is the money I have left from the unusued subscriptions, which isn't very much.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the unused subscriptions. I do not know what that calculation will be, but I'm sure they can figure it out and issue it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/09) */ Hi ******* I apologize for any inconvenience you have faced. Our policy does state that if you are not satisfied with your subscription, we would be happy to refund it within 6 months. Your order were all placed over 1 year ago. As a courtesy, I have gone ahead and refunded you for the undelivered issues on your active subscriptions of**** and ***************. **** magazine is in-eligible for a refund due to the ********/rewards policy. Your **** subscription was purchased through ****** and ******** was awarded to you on that order. Due to the order beings over 6 months old, please allow at least 8-10 weeks for a refund check to arrive in the mail. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to reach me directly at ********************** Kind Regards, ********************** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Why did it take me resorting to this for this company to help me? Why wouldn't they just work with me? They get an F in customer service. The company FINALLY agreed to cancel my subscriptions and issue my refunds, despite hanging up on me twice and trying to make more excuses for the last one. I'll know in 8+ weeks whether I get my money or not. Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2013/12/23) */ After sending my complaint I received a series of refund emails. The emails stated I would have my refund within 6-8 weeks. As of this date I still have not received those refunds and the company is unable to be reached. Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/01/06) */ Hi ****** As per a conversation you had with one of our customer service reps, you have agreed to allow us to stop payment on the refund check that was mailed to you and accept and instant paypal payment for the amount due. The transfer has been complete. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us back. Thank you DiscountMags.com

1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested a refund around the 10th of November 2013, which was only granted after filing my first BBB complaint. Around the beginning of December I began calling to find out where my refund was, since the email said I'd have it in 6-8 weeks. I was told it'd be 8-10 weeks. Well, Wed was 10 weeks and still no refund. I spoke to a Sarah via email regarding my refund and she claims it was mailed on the 11th, but today is the 20th and I don't have it. I think I've waited patiently enough. I want my refund and I want it now. My next step is to speak to an attorney friend of mine. At this point I'm going to say interest has been accruing on the debt since the 6 week mark, since that's the earliest I should have had it, according to the email which states it IN WRITING. I'll tack on an extra 5% interest for each day past November 20th until today and request that, on top of the amount owed. So now I want $96.38. If the money isn't received tomorrow I'll add another $1.97. I don't believe this demand is unreasonable, they'd do the same thing if I refused to pay.

Desired Settlement: See above.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/06) */ Hi ****** As per a conversation you had with one of our customer service reps, you have agreed to allow us to stop payment on the refund check that was mailed to you and accept and instant paypal payment for the amount due. The transfer has been complete. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us back. Thank you DiscountMags.com

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given a gift certificate credit by Discountmags.com because of another issue with a different magazine. I started a subscription to a new magazine in August, received 1 issue, and then saw that my subscription was canceled for no reason. I sent emails on November 4 and 8, and left a voicemail on the 13th using the number listed on BBB.org. They used to answer emails promptly, but I've heard nothing. I'm left with no subscription (which was at a specific price I can't get on my own) and they kept my $13 gift certificate credit. I'd just like my subscription restarted at the promised price, using my gift certificate credit. I had to work with a customer service supervisor to begin with to get this subscription started. The magazine won't help me because I used Discountmags.com. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Full 3-year subscription to ***************** magazine at the promised price of $14.97, which is what I signed up for. I never canceled my subscription--they canceled it for no reason. I'd also like my $13 gift certificate credit applied to this order, as it originally was.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/09) */ Hi ****, I apologize for any inconvenience you have faced. In reviewing your account history and tickets it seems that the original order you placed with us canceled at your request due to a coupon code not being applied. The customer service team indicated that coupon codes cannot be combined with virtual reward/cashback sites and for that reason the coupon code did not get applied. We offered to place the order for you over the phone however you did not prefer to take that route and preferred to place the order online. We did recommend that the order not be place in connection with a Virtual rewards/cashback site so that we may apply the coupon code for you however the second order was still placed through Virtual rewards/cashback site. We received a request from you shortly after to cancel the orders and refund them which we have completed as per your request. As a courtesy for the inconvenience, we have gone ahead and place a complimentary order for you on 11/27/13 for 2 years of *****************. Kindly allow 6-8 weeks for this subscription to start back up again. If you have any further question, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at sara@discountmags.com. Thank you and Have a wonderful Holiday Season! **** Customer Service Manager DiscountMags.com

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: By purchasing through the merchant a user of a game receives virtual currency (used within a game). I read all of the fine print on their homepage and it says if you are not satisfied you may cancel the remainder of your subscription for a refund. They included a single sentence in the final checkout page that excludes my type of purchases. Within two minutes I requested a cancellation of the entire order and to not be charged. I received an email that the order had been cancelled "per my request." Two hours later I received another email stating they would not cancel it. I then called, and recorded, the conversation I had with a representative who said the order had been cancelled but a manager "uncancelled it." I did not authorize them to "uncancel" the order. It states on their website they can be refunded for the virtual currency.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that they again cancel the order and drop the pending charge on my account. The magazine subscription wasn't even set to be delivered this year. If they could agree to honoring a satisfaction guarantee if I didn't like the magazine after receiving it that would be acceptable too. I wouldn't have purchased the subscription if I knew that if I didn't like it I would be stuck paying for (2) one year magazine subscriptions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/12) */ Hi *****, Our policy, as you stated you attested to during checkout, is we cannot provide refunds to orders that receive virtual currency/rewards as they are non-refundable once awarded to you. I have confirmed with ****** that you received the virtual points on your order which cannot be retracted. As a courtesy, your order has been canceled and refunded in full. If you have any other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach me directly at *********************. Best Regards, ***** DiscountMags.com

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed order for 3-years ************ subscription ***9***13. Order#***0***7 Was told that subscription will be tacked to my current subscription ***11/1/13. Current subscription has not been extended as of today, 11/5/13. Contacted DiscoverMags.*** by email twice and received no response.

Desired Settlement: Get my magazine subscription extended by 3 years as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response<*** ***(***0***,***1***1***)*** Hi ***** I apologize for the inconvenience you have faced on your order. I have reviewed the history and see that you contacted us when you did not feel your renewal was added on to your account. We promptly responded back to your inquiry informing you that we will contact the publisher to find out the status of your order. They have since emailed us back on 11/8 in which we responded back to you that same day that the order for the renewal was revoked unfortunately due to excessive years on your account. ********* only allows a certain amount of years on a customer's account before they reject renewals. Our customer service rep has since reprocessed your order for 2 years and refunded you back for one year. For trouble you have faced. I have sent you a $15 gift certificate to be used towards your next magazine purchase. #***8D6***30***6***************** Again, please accept *** most sincere apologies. If there is anything else you need, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at ****@discountmags.*** Best Regards, **** DiscountMags.*** Final Consumer Response<*** ***(***0***,***1***1***)*** (*** consumer indicated he/*** ACCEPTED *** response from *** business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

245 Customer Reviews on DiscountMags.com
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart