This business is not BBB accredited.

National Student Loan Consolidation

Phone: (888) 558-6312 View Additional Phone Numbers 800 S Wells St STE 170, Chicago, IL 60607 http://www.nationalsl.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National Student Loan Consolidation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National Student Loan Consolidation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 2014 Business started: 02/25/2010 Business started locally: 02/25/2010 Business incorporated 02/25/2010 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ralph Schwartz, Owner Adam Schwartz, Member
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Adam Schwartz, Member
Principal: Mr. Ralph Schwartz, Owner
Business Category

Loans Credit - Debt Consolidation Services Debt Relief Services Data Processing Service Consumer Lending (NAICS: 522291)

Alternate Business Names
Ace Worldwide Marketing & Consulting, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    800 S Wells St STE 170

    Chicago, IL 60607 (312) 525-3434 (888) 558-6312

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Early in 2014 the National Student Loan Consolidation contacted my husband about transferring our student loan to them. He explained to them that our sl was consolidated once before and they assured him that would not be an issue. The wanted to get us on the income based repayment program. They said that if my husband and I filed income taxes separately then they could use my income alone to base our payments on. (since the sl was in my name.) So we did, which ended up costing us about $1,000 more in taxes to pay. We sent NSLC my proof of income along with the $648.00 fee they quoted to us to transfer our sl to their company. This was back in May when this was all completed. NSLC put our sl on forbearance while this was being processed. In August we started receiving letters and daily phone calls from our sl company saying we owed them our monthly payment that hasn't been paid. Every time they called I would tell them we were working with NSLC to get our loan transferred. We then tried to get in touch with NSLC. Every time we called we would be sent to voice mail. Our calls would not be returned. I would even send emails and our emails would be ignored. In late August I finally received a call saying that my husband had to send in a written statement saying that he gave them permission to have our loan processed under my income. Which he did. We continued to get calls and letters from our current sl. I continued to call NSLC. They then told me that the paper work was not received, but they had received it because my husband had faxed it to them. Then they finally acknowledged they had received it. Then I was told that it would be more beneficial to us to stay with our current sl company that we would be placed on a $0.00 payment plan reflecting my income alone. Our sl company denies this. They say they have to use both my husband's income as well as mine. Therefore our sl payment has gone up since NSLC had our loan placed on a forbearance and we owe late fees because NSLC did not get our loan processed as promised. This company, in my experience, does not seem to handle things very well. I am waiting on a phone call right now from them as they had promised me they would call with in a half an hour, that was over an hour ago. I saw on another complaint that a **** ****** was mentioned, and I would like to make mention that it is **** ****** that we have been dealing with too. But I have also talked to other representative and have been given the run around by all I have talked with.

Desired Settlement: Honestly I am looking for them to either take on our student loan as promised in the beginning and instead of having us pay them the $15,000 they quoted us, that they keep our loan at $11,000 which it actually is. OR I am looking for a full refund of $684.50 that I paid them ALONG WITH the $1,000 it cost my husband and I in extra taxes for filing separately, AND the $30.00 in late fees they have caused us to acquire with our current sl AND for them to contact our sl telling them the forbearance was due to their transferring our sl to their company and get our payments back to our original payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/27) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@nationalsl.com We were unable to consolidate this clients loans do to the fact that they had already been consolidated, we had no way of knowing this at the time of application. We have refunded the clients money as is our policy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company claims they did not know that our loans were consolidated, but they were told this fact when the company first contacted us. The lady that first spoke with my husband is no longer with the company so if this company does not show any reference to this conversation it is because the employee left it out. I spoke with **** ******** this morning and he did say my money would be refunded. But as I told him, I will not consider this case close until the refund is in hand. Also, they did not address the fact that my husband and I lost money due to filing our income tax separately because they told my husband we needed to file separate to have the loan refinanced in my name only. We had to pay about $1,000 more in taxes than we would have had to had we filed together. Plus because National Student Loan Consolidation put our ******* loan on forbearance our loan payments went up $15.00 a month. Plus they failed to follow through with promises to put our loan on forbearance until the situation was solved so now we owe Navient $55.00 in late fees. This company does not follow through with what they say. Which is why I will not agree this case is closed until I get my refund. So until my refund is in hand I will keep this case opened. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/11/04) */ The National Student Loan Rep, **** ********, told me that they would be sending us our refund check on Tuesday, Oct. 28th, 2014. It is now November 4, 2014 and we still have not received our refund. **** ********, while speaking to me on Tuesday, Oct. 28, asked me to remove my complaint with the bbb, and I told him I would not til I receive my refund. For a company not wanting to be tarnished they have a funny way of showing it. We live 4 hours from Chicago. There is no reason other than the company did not send the refund that we have not received our refund. This company has told us nothing but lies since we first started dealing with them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/11/07) */ We have mailed a refund the mail takes time, if the client does not get the check we will make sure to send another one. We do not control the ***** we always try to make all our clients happy at times not all loans get approved.

9/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired National Student Loan Consolidation to get me on the ***** Student Loan Forgiveness/Consolidation program. I paid them 3 up front payments totaling about $300. After sending them my current wage stubs, I heard no more from them for about two months. When I called they said they were still waiting for approval and it took time. I waited another few months and finally received an e-mail from ***** ***** (who was my Loan Processor, and contact person) telling me that I was approved and consolidated with another lender who would contact me shortly, and that I was on a income based repayment program where based on my current status and situation my payments would be $0 per month, but would still count towards my loan being payed off. I was not contacted by a lender or anyone else, so I tried calling Mr. Heath several times and each time left a message for him to call me. He never did. Fearing that I might have been scammed, I contacted another company that I saw advertised (Student Debt Relief) who looked into my loans and told me that nothing had been done on them since I had consolidated in 2010. They told me that National Student Loan Consolidation "took my money and ran." There was no evidence showing I was on any type of repayment or forgiveness program. I tried calling Mr. Heath again at his contact number: (XXX) XXX-XXXX with the same no call back result. I am 63 years old with a wife on permanent disability. We still have five children here to raise. I cannot afford this loss nor can I pay back the large amount I'd have to pay ****** *** each month. My wages are only a little above minimum for the state of **********. I need for this company (if they are legit) to contact me and get me on this program or refund my money so that I can find a legit ***** repayment and forgiveness program.

Desired Settlement: Either refund my money or provide the program and services you promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** (Account Manager) Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@nationalsl.com This was resolved today 9/10/14. We our happy to make our clients happy and did stand by our promises.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed the contract with National Student Loan Consalidation April 22, 2014. All correspondence was answered at this time. Started making payments May 20, 216.67 and continued payments on June 20, 216.67, July 20, 216.66 to the sum of 650.00. I started getting concerned after I inquired by telephone about my services around the end of July. I called several times with no response from the person assigned to me, Toya Thames. I started emailing on August 8 at this point trying to cancel services. I thought I was being scammed and got even more concerned when her voice mail box was full and could no longer take my messages.I sent another email on August 11, trying again to cancel my services. Extremely concerned at this point, I looked at their website and found an 800 number and called to speak to a manager.I received a phone number for **** ********. I called him on August 12 and after listening to him trying to convince me to stay and that the company was not a scam, he finally agreed to cancel my account and to send a refund at this time.I also filed a dispute with my bank on August 12 and stopped all further charges from coming out of my account by changing my debit card number and disputed the charges that were already taken since I was unaware of any work being done on my case, again due to the companies lack of communication.I have sent emails on August 21, 23, 25 and 27th trying to get my questions answered on where my refund is being sent, how it is being sent and when was it mailed. Now to add incompetence to the lack of communication, my emailed questions still remain unanswered. I know that, what I assume is a check, is being sent to my work address. If the refund was sent on the week before August 21,which Mr. ******** assured me via email that this was the case, I should have already received it. Due to this companies lack of communication and incompetence I am asking for a full refund at this time.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund. I was not notified of any of the services provided completion and therefore am due the full amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** (Account Manager) Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@nationalsl.com We have sent your refund, and glad that your happy we take pride with our customer values, and do our best. Please feel free to call my office anytime thank you!(XXX)XXX-XXXX

4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am beginning to think this company is a scam. I have given them all of my information, I have received no phone call updates on the consolidation progress, and for almost a month, none of my phone calls were answered until i cancelled my credit card right before my first payment was going to be taken. Their only excuse is, we've been really busy. The only way you can get in touch with them, is by calling the 800 number on the website. The young lady *********** and ****************** do not seem to have any idea of whats going on, and do very little to provide me, a paying customer, with any sort of assurance.

Desired Settlement: Unless I receive the services requested, I want all of my money back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/03/20) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Customer srv Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@nationalsl.com On 2/07/14 ********'s application was processed and submitted and on the same day I requested forbearance and it was granted on his account. On this same day 2/7/14 an email was sent to ******* stating that his file was submitted and to please allow 8-12 weeks for an approval. ******** contacted me on 2/14/14 to change his first payment date from 2/15/14 to 3/3/14 also double checked to make sure his forbearance went thru. On 3/3/14 his payment was NSF and was suspended. On 3/4/14 client was contacted and first payment was received. On 3/14/14 client sent me an email to contact him. Contacted client and left several voicemails and emails with no return calls. We try our best to keep our clients happy and offer 100% money back guarantee if the consolidation doesn't go thru. On 3/20- We were able to get in contact with client and resolve the issue. Please see review emails below: From: ******** ******* <*********@gmail.com> Date: Thursday, March 20, 2014 at 1:18 PM To: **** ******** <****@nationalSL.com> Subject: Re: LOAN CONSOLIDATION Hey ****, I appreciate your call and all of the additional effort you made to ensure that I am a satisfied customer. I have had lots of bad experiences in the past, and I apologize for how my skepticism made your job difficult. I appreciate your flexibility and I am really glad that we are once again able to move forward with this process. Best, ******** ******* On Thu, Mar 20, 2014 at 3:07 PM, **** ******** <****@nationalsl.com> wrote: ********, Thanks for the conversation on proceeding on your Student Loan Consolidation we will continue to process your file. Glad we could make you happy. Sincerely, **** ******** (XXX) XXX-XXXX Office (XXX)XXX-XXXX Cell *** S. ***** St., Suite *** Chicago, IL XXXXX ****@nationalsl.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on National Student Loan Consolidation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)