Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Deal Genius

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 276-1001 1830 North Besly Court, Chicago, IL 60642 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dealgenius.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Deal Genius include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Deal Genius
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 2007 Business started: 11/05/2004 Business started locally: 11/05/2004 Business incorporated 11/05/2004 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Matsakis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Matsakis, President
Business Category

Liquidators Internet Shopping Discount Stores Advertising - Direct Mail All Other Support Services (NAICS: 561990)

Alternate Business Names
Chicago Liquidators Services, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Deal Genius has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1830 North Besly Court

    Chicago, IL 60642

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1832 N. Besley Court

    Chicago, IL 60642

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    848 Dodge Ave
    Ste 417

    Evanston, IL 60202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/17/2016 Delivery Issues
3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 ottomans on Aug 14th through the ******* website order#XXXXXXXXXXXXX. Deal Genius was sub-seller for their value of the day. I had been tracking this package#XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX since it left the seller. The day it was to be delivered I had the door open all day waiting for my pkgs to arrive. My son received one box addressed to him from FedEx and I asked the driver if he had anything from me. He said not him maybe another driver. So I continued to wait. My status had changed to delivered around 3:30 so I called FedEx they said they would open a case ref#XXXXXXXXX. When I called back the next day they said they had settled with the seller. I needed to call the seller. I had been emailing ***** with Deal Genius back and forth He continues to repeat Fed Ex said it was delivered. I'm not a crook like he is implying, I never got it. My shopping is done on-line I have ordered everything from computers, TV's to clothing why would I lie about 2 19.99 ottomans. I asked for a replacement or refund. They stopped replying to my emails.

Desired Settlement: I really wanted those 2 ottomans. but I'm beginning to just want my money back. I'll accept what ever is easiest for them. And if they can fire Jamar while their at it. That would just be a bonus.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/28) */ Thanks for contacting us. We have submitted a lost package claim with FedEx. I don't know yet what the outcome will be since the parcel tracks as delivered. Nevertheless, I went ahead and issued you a full refund for your order. Feel free to repurchase the item(s) if you would still like them. The ottomans are still available via our ******* storefront. Sorry again for the carrier mistake.

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Deal Genius
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart