BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2008

Lightology

Phone: (773) 883-6111Fax: (773) 248-7231215 W Chicago Ave, ChicagoIL 60654-5606 Send email to Lightology

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Request a Free Quote

Request a quote from Lightology.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2008

BBB has determined that Lightology meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lightology's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lightology

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased over $5000.00 worth of lighting products for my home from the company. Two of the lights were specifically for a shower and a wet area kit came with them. I later learned they could not be used in a shower because we were using tile. Our builder and tile man tried to contact the manufacturer with no response. When they finally spoke to them weeks later they confirmed that they were not for a shower.
I was told by Lightology that I should have known it and would not accept a return. The electrician had installed the lights and because of that they would not take them back. It is new construction so the lights were taken out of a box and nailed to rafters with no drywall near them.
After several e-mails there was a lot of internal finger pointing with me in the middle. Very unprofessional and poor customer service. When they sell a light with a wet area kit what would you think. I was completely misled and they know it.
I have an entire e-mail chain if you need more documentation.
**** ******

Desired Settlement
Accept the 2 lights returned or issue a refund.

Business Response
response to case # XXXXXXXX
1 message
**** ******* <********@lightology.com>Mon, Jan 13, 2014 at 12:47 PM
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>

Ms. *******



I recently received the attached letter detailing this complaint.



I personally handled this customer's issue and attached you **** find a copy of my communication with Mr. ******.



Mr. ******'s claim that he was sold a fixture that could not be used in a shower is false. He purchased a wet location certified product and that is what he received.



The product purchased is a high end plaster in product and the product manufacturer requires every purchaser of the product sign a form stating they have watched the installation video before they will ship the product, because they will not accept returns of installed product. This manufacturer goes over and above to ensure the customer understands the product purchased before they install the fixture, so once Mr. ****** installed the fixture his electrician realized the fixture was supposed to be plaster in and would not look right if they tiled over it, so they wanted to return the product even though they installed it and signed off on watching the installation video showing the proper installation of the fixture. The acknowledgement form Mr. ****** submitted is attached to the email communication I had with him.



I offered Mr. ****** some very good discounts on new purchases, but he declined and unfortunately the product could not be returned because it was installed and they signed the manufacturer's form stating they understood the proper installation.



If you have any questions on this please feel free to give me a call.



**** *******



Lightology

Controller/IT Director

773.770.1147



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is not accurate. Our builder and tile man called the company with questions and did not receive a call back. They called again and finally after several weeks spoke to someone who said they cannot be used in a tile shower. The sales associate never told me that. Again I am the homeowner and would expect them to clearly tell me it could not be used in a shower. When they sold me wet location product what would you have thought. I purchased 5 of these lights with 2 as wet locations.
Our builder,tile man and electrician watched the video. They did there homework and called to clarify with no response. The 2 lights in question were taken out of the box and partially installed in an open ceiling. They should take them back. Their offer of a discount on additional products was insulting.
I was misled and they didn't take responsibility. Very poor customer service for any customer but when you spend $5000 you would think they would be more helpful instead of trying to pin blame.


Final Business Response
Customer did not call and talk to my company about technical support...I am a distributor, not the product manufacturer...all technical questions on product installation are directed toward the manufacturer of a product as we distribute for over 300 different manufacturers my customer service team is not qualified to answer in depth technical questions on every single one of the hundreds of thousands of products that we sell which is why those types of questions are directed to the technical department of the company that makes the fixture.

I have no idea if the customer called the manufacturer 1 time or 10 times, as once the customer begins a technical conversation with the manufacturer we have no idea what the outcome of those conversations are.

I do know that my salesperson was only told the product was being installed in a shower and was only asked for a product that was wet location certified and that is exactly what he sold. At no point was my salesperson informed that the customer intended to tile his ceiling as that is a pretty rare installation. the customer has to accept some responsibility in telling the salesperson about unusual installation details, we cannot ask every possible question to determine if the product is perfect for the customer.

A simple fact of this is that every single document we print in relation at every order, quote, acknowledgement, pick ticket, and invoice has printed on it that we cannot accept returns of installed fixtures, there is no such thing a partially installed fixture, once affixed to wall, ceiling, etc... that fixture is installed.

But in this case the customer, his electrician and his tile person all watched a video that showed the product as a plaster in, NOT tile over product before they were allowed to receive the product. Yet they still proceeded with their installation. I cannot control the responsiveness of ever vendor I have, nor can I verify if there is any truth to how much effort the customer put in to obtaining answers to questions from the manufacturer, but I do know the customer made the decision to install the fixtures without obtaining the answers to the questions they had and they want to take no responsibility for their decision to install even though every step of the way in this purchase the customer was informed that once installed the fixtures are not returnable.

We offered replacement fixtures at 50% off normal prices, which is below our cost and that is the only resolution I can offer, because we cannot except the return of installed fixtures and the customer was made aware of this every step of the way.

12/26/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased lighting for our art gallery from Lightology over the phone on 6/11/2013, order XXXXXX-XX, and the gallery owners AmEx was charged in the amount of 3,229.20. We were told that delivery would occur in 6 to 8 weeks. We received half of our order after approximately 8 weeks time but were told that 4 Orbit Ledino lights were on back order and we would be informed of the progress. A date in September 2013 was named but passed and I had to email Lightology to get a further update that the back order was extended to November. Last month the date passed again and after not hearing from Lightology I again contacted them and was told that the order was again pushed back to December. The date passed again this month with no contact from Lightology, I have tried contacting ************, the original sales rep for the order as well as *** ******** and ************* who would occasionally respond to inquiries but I have had no reply. I wrote an email stating my intention to cancel the remainder of the order for the amount of $1,592.00 for the lights we have not yet received. I began calling the phone numbers listed for Lightology but have not been able to reach anyone and it seems that a number of the phone voice mail boxes have been disconnected. I have become worried that Lightology has closed and the owner of our gallery, Mr *************** has begun an inquiry through AmEx. Please advise what recourse we might have to recover the charges for the products we have not received and to file this complaint formally.

Thank you,

****** *******

Director of Operations
***** ********* *******
*** **** **** St
New York, NY XXXXX
XXX XXX XXXX
******@brycewolkowitz.com

Desired Settlement
We are seeking the refund of $1,592.00 to Mr *********'s AmEx card for the products we did not receive from our order.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* - controller
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@lightology.com
I have spoken to Mr. ******* and resolved his issue. He did order a product that was on an extended backorder and several weeks before this complaint Mr ******* was informed that his order would be ready to ship mid-December. When he called for a status we were having issues with our phone system and he assumed the worst and thought we had closed and kept his money.

I was able to get his order delivered on XX-XX-XX and I can send proof of delivery if you need it. I also gave Mr. ******* a $200 partial refund for his trouble in having to wait such a long time for his order.

Mr. ******* offered to contact you to retract this complaint, but I told him I would take care of it rather than have him waste any more of his time.

If you require any additional information to close this complaint please let me know.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
**** ******* did intervene to complete my order after I informed the company that we had filed a complaint with the BBB and begun an inquiry with our credit card. I did receive the remainder of the order shortly after my exchange with Mr ******* and he did credit our account $200 for our trouble though we do not ever plan on using Lightology again after the amount of trouble we experienced dealing with this company.

06/07/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lighting Fixtures - Retail, Lighting Systems & Equipment, Lighting Fixtures - Supplies & Parts, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/07/2004Business started: 01/18/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2001, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Bill Nichols (Controller)Mr. Gregory Kay (President/Owner)Ms. Amanda Kirvan (Manager)
Business Category

Lighting Fixtures - Retail, Lighting Systems & Equipment, Lighting Fixtures - Supplies & Parts, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Lightology, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lightology

215 W Chicago Ave

Chicago, IL 60654-5606

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 215 W Chicago Ave 

    Chicago, IL 60654-5606(773) 883-6111

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lightology is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Lighting Fixtures - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.