Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Quality Leather Restoration, Inc.

Phone: (847) 719-2934 Fax: (847) 719-2935 217 North Trail, Lake Zurich, IL 60047 http://www.QualityLeatherRestoration.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quality Leather Restoration, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Leather Restoration, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Quality Leather Restoration, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 2006 Business started: 06/13/2002 Business started locally: 06/13/2002 Business incorporated 06/13/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Nelson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Nelson, President
Business Category

Leather Restoration Leather Goods - Repair Office Furniture & Equipment - Repair & Refinishing Leather Vinyl Repair Furniture Repair & Refinish Leather Cleaning Footwear and Leather Goods Repair (NAICS: 811430)

Alternate Business Names
Color Glo

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Quality Leather Restoration, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 217 North Trail

    Lake Zurich, IL 60047

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov XX XXXX, I received ****** ******,owner of Quality Leather Restoration in my house. After explaining his procedures, and agreeing in color and finished product, he proceeded to work on my Winchester Sofa. Three hours later when he completed his task, I had an all wet piece of furniture with a far darker color than agreed, full of marks and stains. The bottom fabric had been cut open to reattach some loose buttons but it was let all opened,with only a few staples and the dangling fabric could be clearly seen. I was alarmed seeing what seemed to me as an extremely careless and unskillful job. But he put few more staples on the bottom and assured me that it all will be as accorded when the sofa will get dry. Then I paid him $950.00 in cash. Invoice ***** which said that his business was a franchise of ColorGlo International. After the sofa dried what he promised did not happen. The color was off, full of dark patches, irregularly applied and all stained. The leather lost its smoothness and began to crack. I called him back so he could see the disaster with his own eyes. He wanted to "repair" the damage but I needed him to answer mine and my husband's questions before touching our sofa again. But he could not do that, instead he decided to yell at us, non stop, not listening, not letting us talk, and apparently not even seeing what he had done. Then he became very agitated, too loud, accusative and defensive. I told him that all I wanted was my money back, because I saw he couldn't see the problem,end of discussion. He left. We wrote a polite letter to his wife, the person I initially negotiated with and told her how we felt and that we really wanted our money back. Mr. ****** answered that he tried to fix it but we wouldn't let him; he had complied with his obligations, therefore, no money back. Now the leather is crackling, the appearance horrible, all I have is a fine piece of furniture ruined and I have to reupholster it again which costs $3200.00 The bottom line is that I had called Mr. ****** to avoid the expense for upholstery. Now I have to come up with that money and lost 950.00, all my savings of 2013.

Desired Settlement: I think that Mr.******* not only should refund the 950.00 that he received from me, he should also contribute half of the cost of renewing the sofa to his original state. I called him to avoid having to spend a large amount of money for upholstery that I don't have.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/28) */ Contact Phone:************* Contact Email: *********@comcast.net This customer had a tufted leather sofa that was very old, rough areas down to raw leather, very faded with missing buttons, with oily stains on it. (before photo available) Before starting the work, we explained that with aniline leather sometimes stains do not come out completely. In that case, we would redye slightly darker to blend in any remaining stains. We spent a full day in their home cleaning it, treating it with degreaser, re-attaching buttons and then redyeing the sofa. The color was darker than when we arrived, as that is part of the process- to redye the faded leather. I explained that it usually dries a bit lighter, and sometimes the color can be uneven because leather is an organic material and the dye may absorb differently on different areas of a used sofa depending on wear, sun exposure, heating vent exposure etc. I told her to call and we would return if it needed retouching after it dried. A few days later, when we received an email stating that the sofa dried unevenly and was darker than the customer wanted, we agreed to return to make corrections. We scheduled a full work day's time to return and make any needed corrections- again, not an unusual situation. When we returned, I entered greeted the customers and started to unpack my tools to get to work. I don't know what questions she wanted answered, I could have easily done that while I worked, I'm sorry if she perceived me to be agitated, I was not, and I did not raise my voice. I would never do that to a customer. I was anxious to get to work to be sure I could make all the needed corrections to the furniture. We stand behind our work, and make every effort to please our customers. In this case, we have invested 3 full days (the original canceled day, the day of doing the work, and the day set aside for the corrections). I feel it is unfair for the customer to demand a refund when she refused to allow us to complete the job. The customer refused to allow us to do the corrections. We have been in business for over 12 years with thousands of satisfied customers. In the very rare case (maybe 2 or 3 in 12 years) where a piece of furniture may have been "beyond" our restoration capabilities and still does not look good even after a second visit to adjust / correct, we have refunded the customers money. In this case, the customer would not cooperate to allow us to finish the job so we did not issue a refund. It's only fair to allow a craftsman to "make it right". Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2014/03/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ******'s assertion that our sofa was badly stained to begin with is not true. Our sofa was faded in color, had several loose tuft buttons, and a single stain, and an mark left by a ball point pen. Also, Mr. ******'s assertion that he invested 2 work days is not true. As I explained before, his craftsmanship was shoddy at best. Although Mr. ****** did fix the buttons, everything else he tired to do produced an unprofessional and unacceptable result. The first day he worked on the sofa I had to pay for him to park his truck in the building's garage which took almost an hour. He spent three hours fixing the buttons, and another two or three hours working on the leather. When he finished working on the leather, the sofa was spotty and dark. Mr. ****** told me that the color would lighten up as it dried. That never happened. Dark veins and spots soon appeared, and after several days the leather began to dry out and crack. Most troubling was that Mr. ****** left the bottom liner hanging in multiple places, and the few staples he applied were not seated well, and remained sticking out of the wood, producing a cut hazard. Several days later I complained to Mr. ****** via emailed. He scheduled a follow up visit to correct the problems about which I complained. This time I did not have to pay for him to park his truck. When I answered the door to greet him, he barged into my apartment, and without much conversation began to fix the problem of the dangling liner and hazardous staples. When he had finished with the staples, most of which still remained sticking out of the wood, I tried to engage him in conversation about what could be done with the leather. Mr. ****** seemed agitated. He would not let me finish a sentence. He would not clearly explain to me what he was going to do, nor how the appearance of my totally trashed sofa was going to get better. This impasse ********* for about twenty minutes until my spouse had had enough, and asked Mr. ****** to leave. Not only does Mr. ******'s craftsmanship leave much to desire, his professionalism is equally lacking. I continue to believe that Mr. ****** created a larger problem for me than what I had before he began to work on my sofa. Not only do I want all of my money returned, I expect him to reimburse me for fifty percent of what I had to pay to reupholster my sofa. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/03/24) */ As per item #11 of our "Term and Conditions" on our invoice/work order, "The maximum liability of Color Glo and/or its agents in the event of unsatisfactory results and/or inability to repair any item will be limited to the quoted fee." On very rare occasions when both parties have cooperated in good faith, and this has occurred we promptly refund our clients' restoration fees. In this case, Mrs. ******* refused to cooperate and allow us to finish the project. That is why we are not refunding her money. We will let our record of over 12 years in business with thousands of cooperative, satisfied customers that go on on to praise our craftsmanship and professional service. I have attached a "before" photo of her couch which shows it to be badly faded, stained and worn.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Quality Leather Restoration, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart